Best MBA in Trinidad? Need help choosing

Re: Best MBA in Trinidad? Need help choosing

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 6th, 2020, 12:17 pm

death365 wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Another piece of my 2 cents...I have been in conversations with mangers and hr people...when hiring they tend to look for graduates from arthur lok jack first because according to them, ALJ is more recognised and not watered down like

Sams
Sital
Sbcs etc

All this sheit about masters in a year blah blah

ah sorry but yuh wong. i can honestly tell u where i work; in both permanent and contract positions - the check list just says a degree or masters or what ever . no considerations with respect to where and level aka 1st or 2nd class.

Different companies, different concepts

Postby The_Honourable » January 6th, 2020, 2:36 pm

agent007 wrote:Thanks for the feedback guys. Honestly all have unique pros and cons. It all boils down to what your priorities are. For established people, they may not need those expensive ones. For those not so established but really want to spruce up their resume then going all the way out with HWU and ALJGSB might be a good option for you.

It's never a bad decision to improve your academic skills whether it brings forth immediate financial returns for you or not. Education is power. Go for it.

Thank you for the valuable posts agent007... much needed information in this ched.

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » January 8th, 2020, 11:35 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:there are thousands of people with masters and their salary aint cross 10k yet..if you want to do a masters just for the sake of saying "I have ah masters" then fix up....unless you or your family are well known and you can score a good job, suck salt with yuh masters

My mind is blown. Is that 10K a month or 10K bi-weekly? It's been several years since I've lived in TT. I was hoping a working class salary would amount to about 20K a month at minimum.

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » January 8th, 2020, 11:39 pm

agent007 wrote:I still cannot add value to your concerns without having a proper background on yourself and what you truly expect. So to be broad, let me summarize it as this from a T&T viewpoint:

Most highly ranked MBA available: HWU - SBCS
Best indigenous MBA: ALJGSB
Most affordable MBA: UoB - CTS, SHEL, SITAL
Best MBA facilities: ARU - SAM
Most parking: ALJGSB
Best lecturer to student support: ARU - SAM
Best library: ALJGSB
Best customer service: UoB - CTS
Most appreciated MBA for career advancement locally: ALJGSB
Most appreciated MBA for career advancement regionally and internationally: HWU - SBCS

If you like exams then HWU - SBCS.
If you like a combination of coursework and exams then ARU - SAM.
If you like coursework - UoB - CTS, SHEL, SITAL

Cramming for exams is typical and some can leave HWU - SBCS without a clue as to what they’ve done. I’m talking about retention of what was learnt. Getting the opportunity to makeup marks via exam from coursework or vice versa is important for some also and that means ARU - SAM would be your practical choice. If you just like to type, and do a lot of it, then the UoB trio would be your choice.

I like the practicality and contemporary topics offered by UoB. I like the array of options available via HWU and I like the intensity of ALJGSB. Lastly, I like the ARU approach as it’s the most mind friendly one of this bunch.

Concerning the USC MBA, I guess if you have an allegiance to the SDA church then maybe that’s the one for you but I can’t go any further.

Costs subject to confirmation:

ALJGSB:
$128,060. IMBA
Figure includes programme costs, student services fees and registration fees.

SBCS:
$98,244. General MBA
$120,076. Specialist MBA
Figures include tuition, registration and university fees.

SAM:
$81,071.
Figure include tuition, executive support (optional), registration, thesis and university fees.

CTS:
$44,774.
Figure includes tuition, registration and university fees. A discount of $6,000. will be given to specially qualified attendees of the free information session.

Good luck.

Thanks for the detailed information. So it pretty much boils down to HWU or ALJGSB. Which is the best school for finance (ie the Wharton of the Caribbean)?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 9th, 2020, 6:45 am

AbstractPoetic wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:there are thousands of people with masters and their salary aint cross 10k yet..if you want to do a masters just for the sake of saying "I have ah masters" then fix up....unless you or your family are well known and you can score a good job, suck salt with yuh masters

My mind is blown. Is that 10K a month or 10K bi-weekly? It's been several years since I've lived in TT. I was hoping a working class salary would amount to about 20K a month at minimum.

10k per month(when taxed, about 8k) and that is considered real good by some

Postby bluefete » January 9th, 2020, 2:14 pm

It really has been a while for you, AP. People who make money with MBA's are those who know what to do with it.

A working class salary in T&T, for many people with an MBA, is no where near $20K per month.

It is also a question of supply and demand. GATE allowed many people to do their graduate degrees. The market, however, cannot sustain, so many.

I guess you would not be coming back in a hurry! LOL.

AbstractPoetic wrote:

pyromaniax

Postby pyromaniax » January 13th, 2020, 12:37 pm

Doing an MBA or Msc is not a waste of time.

I worked in Management Trainee positions with my undergrad, after about 2 and a half years of working I started my Msc at UWI. While I was completing my practicum I got offered a pretty good Management position in a company with plenty of upward movement options and have been doing great since.

I only got this opportunity due to taking the initiative to further my education and pursue the Msc. If i listened to people telling me it was a waste of time and didn't do it I would not be in the position I am today.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » January 13th, 2020, 12:53 pm

pyromaniax wrote:Doing an MBA or Msc is not a waste of time.

I worked in Management Trainee positions with my undergrad, after about 2 and a half years of working I started my Msc at UWI. While I was completing my practicum I got offered a pretty good Management position in a company with plenty of upward movement options and have been doing great since.

I only got this opportunity due to taking the initiative to further my education and pursue the Msc. If i listened to people telling me it was a waste of time and didn't do it I would not be in the position I am today.

I think if you intend to stay and live locally doing an MBA or MSc is good.

People have this misconception that HR doesn't care (only experience matters) or that it's a waste of time and money.

Learning is never a waste. Knowledge you gain in an MBA can be applied to your job, making you better at it (far better than jus having experience is having a proven track record of performance).

However, our post grad degrees done through UWI or Lok Jack don't improve your international credibility since they're not internationally accredited (honestly not sure about Lol Jack, but no UWI MSc is).

I have a master's from UWI and one from Kings College. While I know Kings is one of the best in the world, it made the UWI MSc look like like CXC general vs A-Levels (GCSC). Chalk and cheese they say.

pyromaniax

Postby pyromaniax » January 13th, 2020, 12:59 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:

People have this misconception that HR doesn't care (only experience matters) or that it's a waste of time and money.

Learning is never a waste. Knowledge you gain in an MBA can be applied to your job, making you better at it (far better than jus having experience is having a proven track record of performance).

However, our post grad degrees done through UWI or Lok Jack don't improve your international credibility since they're not internationally accredited (honestly not sure about Lol Jack, but no UWI MSc is).

I have a master's from UWI and one from Kings College. While I know Kings is one of the best in the world, it made the UWI MSc look like like CXC general vs A-Levels (GCSC). Chalk and cheese they say.

I have had my Bachelors and Masters from UWI internationally assessed and the Msc is internationally accredited

Ryan197912

Postby Ryan197912 » January 13th, 2020, 6:37 pm

Lok Jack MBA'S are triple accredited

death365

Postby death365 » January 13th, 2020, 7:37 pm

Accredited and recognised is 2 complete different things...

It's like saying I have Mit Msc vs a Uwi...

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » January 13th, 2020, 7:46 pm

pyromaniax wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:

I have had my Bachelors and Masters from UWI internationally assessed and the Msc is internationally accredited

Dude I'm telling you, not all are. It's a fact, the UWI MSc standard is pitiful. The level or research, dedication of the student, quality of materials is woefully lacking.

UWI MSc is mostly a gimmick.

tarzan

Postby tarzan » September 7th, 2021, 5:13 pm

I still cannot add value to your concerns without having a proper background on yourself and what you truly expect. So to be broad, let me summarize it as this from a T&T viewpoint:

Most highly ranked MBA available: HWU - SBCS
Best indigenous MBA: ALJGSB
Most affordable MBA: UoB - CTS, SHEL, SITAL
Best MBA facilities: ARU - SAM
Most parking: ALJGSB
Best lecturer to student support: ARU - SAM
Best library: ALJGSB
Best customer service: UoB - CTS
Most appreciated MBA for career advancement locally: ALJGSB
Most appreciated MBA for career advancement regionally and internationally: HWU - SBCS

If you like exams then HWU - SBCS.
If you like a combination of coursework and exams then ARU - SAM.
If you like coursework - UoB - CTS, SHEL, SITAL

Cramming for exams is typical and some can leave HWU - SBCS without a clue as to what they’ve done. I’m talking about retention of what was learnt. Getting the opportunity to makeup marks via exam from coursework or vice versa is important for some also and that means ARU - SAM would be your practical choice. If you just like to type, and do a lot of it, then the UoB trio would be your choice.

I like the practicality and contemporary topics offered by UoB. I like the array of options available via HWU and I like the intensity of ALJGSB. Lastly, I like the ARU approach as it’s the most mind friendly one of this bunch.

Concerning the USC MBA, I guess if you have an allegiance to the SDA church then maybe that’s the one for you but I can’t go any further.

Costs subject to confirmation:

ALJGSB:
$128,060. IMBA
Figure includes programme costs, student services fees and registration fees.

SBCS:
$98,244. General MBA
$120,076. Specialist MBA
Figures include tuition, registration and university fees.

SAM:
$81,071.
Figure include tuition, executive support (optional), registration, thesis and university fees.

CTS:
$44,774.
Figure includes tuition, registration and university fees. A discount of $6,000. will be given to specially qualified attendees of the free information session.

Good luck.

does this still stand ????.....in the market for MBA now, kinda topped out on my BSC

Postby VexXx Dogg » September 7th, 2021, 7:23 pm

Really work out the ROI on that MBA.
Prices would have gone up, check the various schools sites for updated tuition costs. Factor in GATE or the lack thereof.

FrankChag

Postby FrankChag » September 8th, 2021, 3:32 am

Dohplaydat wrote:
pyromaniax wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:

Dude I'm telling you, not all are. It's a fact, the UWI MSc standard is pitiful. The level or research, dedication of the student, quality of materials is woefully lacking.

Not sure which faculty or programme specifically you're referring to, but I think you are mischaracterizing it a bit. The academic rigour is there in the programmes and the lecturers. It's the quality of students coming in, which is what I believe you're saying.

GATE brought in lots of folks (A LOT) who, let's say, shouldn't be doing an MSc, or any kind of Masters for that matter. The lower quality intake does affect the outcome though... failures, and less than interesting class product/discussions, etc. I suspect the other tertiary schools are similarly affected (Henley.. Herriot What??).. but I'm sure they would have barely if not all noticed the drop in quality academics/students.

Postby VexXx Dogg » September 8th, 2021, 8:13 am

Dohplaydat wrote:
pyromaniax wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:

Interesting statement. Source? Or is this a case of armchair analysis/rumshop hypothesis?

sam1978

Postby sam1978 » September 8th, 2021, 1:15 pm

A tuner has an MBA in BA and he not contributing to the thread?

Postby hover11 » September 8th, 2021, 1:34 pm

Speaking from experience don't do it unless you weighed the pros and cons, doesn't make sense you pursue a MBA and limited opportunities or deemed over qualified when you apply for positions. If you wish to still pursue it, don't just have a MBA just to work for someone else, harness the skills and theories acquired ,apply it to your own ventures to build your goals.

Animal Pak

Postby Animal Pak » September 8th, 2021, 1:46 pm

Always think about what outcome you want.

If you are in a company and want to switch from operations to corporate AND the company is willing to pay for it for you then go ahead.

If the company you are in gives you a salary increase for higher education AND helps pay for it then go ahead.

Don’t do something like this stand alone and definitely don’t do this if your company has no upward mobility.

I have HR friends. Not one of them ever hired someone based on the fact that they have an MBA.

A basic degree with experience and good people skills will get you way way way further than an MBA ever will.

Why invest time and money into something that may or may not work in your favor.

I know people who are senior managers with MBAs. The truth is, all of them have gotten to those same positions based on links and playing office politics and only did the MBA after.
It is what it is.

thelem-again

Postby thelem-again » September 8th, 2021, 2:48 pm

As always. Some good take aways and some good garbage on this particular thread.

However, despite the negative opinions, an MBA is really supposed to be used have an understanding of corporate governance and business/management functions.

Its not meant to propel you or make you a manager or supervisor or for you to get a boost in salary. Completing an MBA programme is really better situated for someone who is already at a managerial or executive level, so that they can improve their critical thinking skills and apply the theories learnt to real working-conditions and scenarios.

So when you have a person with a first degree and an MBA without any applicable work experience (be it supervisory or managerial), the MBA does not hold any weight or merit.

Compare that to a person with a first degree with various managerial/supervisory work experience and possessing an MBA, it shows that not only does the person has the necessary competence and experience, but also that they have the skills required which can result in them applying the theories they learnt into practice.

FrankChag

Postby FrankChag » September 9th, 2021, 3:10 am

thelem-again wrote:As always. Some good take aways and some good garbage on this particular thread.

However, despite the negative opinions, an MBA is really supposed to be used have an understanding of corporate governance and business/management functions.

Its not meant to propel you or make you a manager or supervisor or for you to get a boost in salary. Completing an MBA programme is really better situated for someone who is already at a managerial or executive level, so that they can improve their critical thinking skills and apply the theories learnt to real working-conditions and scenarios.

So when you have a person with a first degree and an MBA without any applicable work experience (be it supervisory or managerial), the MBA does not hold any weight or merit.

Compare that to a person with a first degree with various managerial/supervisory work experience and possessing an MBA, it shows that not only does the person has the necessary competence and experience, but also that they have the skills required which can result in them applying the theories they learnt into practice.

The matriculation for most MBAs, at least the ones at UWI, require professional experience, but not necessarily managerial. MBAs are really for folks who never did any management/business admin, and need that understanding, as you're saying. Someone with a BSc in Management Studies for instance would be wasting their time doing an MBA because it's basically the same thing (actually the BSc Mgt might actually be more intense), and would probably be better off persuing an MSc or MPhil, or MSc in another field, like data science; but I don't see why recruiters and management shouldn't use MBAs or Masters in general for selection or promotion decisions.

Postby De Dragon » September 9th, 2021, 6:41 am

Animal Pak wrote:Always think about what outcome you want.

If you are in a company and want to switch from operations to corporate AND the company is willing to pay for it for you then go ahead.

If the company you are in gives you a salary increase for higher education AND helps pay for it then go ahead.

Don’t do something like this stand alone and definitely don’t do this if your company has no upward mobility.

I have HR friends. Not one of them ever hired someone based on the fact that they have an MBA.

A basic degree with experience and good people skills will get you way way way further than an MBA ever will.

Why invest time and money into something that may or may not work in your favor.

I know people who are senior managers with MBAs. The truth is, all of them have gotten to those same positions based on links and playing office politics and only did the MBA after.
It is what it is.

This has mostly been my experience in the industry

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 9th, 2021, 6:58 am

Imo...msc, mba etc etc is a waste of time and $ if you working in a ministry or some govt entity. If you working in an organization where upward mobility is reliant on such qualifications...so be it. My lil experience is...who yuh know and who know yuh to get by..

If you wish to be different...a 2nd language trumps all!!. Being a certified tradesman with good work ethic can carry you places as well.

khandman

Postby khandman » June 13th, 2022, 2:04 pm

It is what it is.

Bumping this thread for 2022 perspectives. Thinking about the logistics and supply chain mba at either CTS or SAMS. Main reason is because they are the most affordable and they are both uk universities. Any feedback from knowledgeable persons are appreciated.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 13th, 2022, 2:51 pm

1: If you can afford it....then by all means go educate yourself!

2: If a promotion is based on this piece of paper...go for it

3: if you now looking for a job here....forget that. All them fancy mba etc have no weight in trinidad unless you know people or people know yuh mudda/fadda! The job market atm is terrible, best you take that $ and invest in something else...

Thats just my 1cent

Postby VexXx Dogg » June 13th, 2022, 3:23 pm

khandman wrote:

It is what it is.

Bumping this thread for 2022 perspectives. Thinking about the logistics and supply chain mba at either CTS or SAMS. Main reason is because they are the most affordable and they are both uk universities. Any feedback from knowledgeable persons are appreciated.

A themed MBA will help career wise if you already in the field and looking for some leverage for upward mobility. If you planning to break into logistics and supply chain management without the experience, and hope this is the trump card you'll prb be disadvantaged a bit.

It's an investment (time/life/money), so try to strategise the best solution for your long term goals.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » June 13th, 2022, 3:30 pm

Did the OP choose a MBA in the past 9 years yet?

Postby st7 » June 13th, 2022, 6:13 pm

DMan7 wrote:Did the OP choose a MBA in the past 9 years yet?

let's hope tuner's MBA expert can help out

*fingers crossed

Postby Dave » June 13th, 2022, 6:18 pm

Do an MBA when you can/need to use an MBA otherwise you would just be pricing yourself out the market.

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » June 13th, 2022, 6:26 pm

Is an MBA at a mid to low tier university in the US worth it?