Where in Trinidad offers auto electric and mechanic courses

Jahflame

Where in Trinidad offers auto electric and mechanic courses

Postby Jahflame » July 6th, 2013, 12:16 pm

I want to learn to do as much for myself as possible with my car. Where can I go to learn?

wagontuner

Re: Where in Trinidad offers auto electric and mechanic cour

Postby wagontuner » July 6th, 2013, 12:35 pm

Maybe Academy of Auto Mechanics
http://autoacademy.net/about.html

sr20ve

Postby sr20ve » July 6th, 2013, 12:49 pm

Nope the academy is the worst place......

Apollo Trinidad

Postby Apollo Trinidad » July 6th, 2013, 2:06 pm

^please explain? was looking to so something with them also.

Jahflame

Postby Jahflame » July 6th, 2013, 4:04 pm

Yes please elaborate

bluespeed

Postby bluespeed » July 6th, 2013, 4:53 pm

NESC point lisas

Postby black start » July 6th, 2013, 9:49 pm

UWI open campus has a basic course in auto mechanics offered like twice a year. I hear it's not too bad....

SweeP

Postby SweeP » July 7th, 2013, 12:21 am

sr20ve wrote:Nope the academy is the worst place......

take dis man advice !!!! i went to dat waste of time school!

yuh better off trying the UWI open campus in auto mechanics

Postby javishm » July 7th, 2013, 1:32 am

hands on experience is the best

bluespeed

Postby bluespeed » July 7th, 2013, 10:19 am

javishm wrote:hands on experience is the best

gone are the days of mango tree mechanics bro...

with cars now..... you need to have a good theory base in order to be proficient in their repairs....

Mandrake

Postby Mandrake » July 7th, 2013, 11:01 am

^ ^ Word !

ShaqThom

Postby ShaqThom » July 7th, 2013, 8:38 pm

right now I doing a free course offered by min. of community development and it's really good! Its a 20 week course but there is only about 4 more weeks to go until we get our certificates and have graduation!! It really helped me understand indepth and basic car maintenance.
Our tutor keeps both theory and practical classes at his garage and we get hands on experience while learning the theoretical parts of auto mechanics.
we changed transmissions within the space of 2hrs.
we learned to do simple maintenance like change filters, oils and fluids and diagnose when these oils and fluids and filters need changing
also we learned to change brake pads and shoes and drums etc and bleed the braking system
so it was a really nice experience! I not too sure if they having another round of classes this year again but you can call the min. of community development and ask them about their 20 week courses for more info

Postby black start » July 7th, 2013, 8:54 pm

^I was actually going to the basic electrical offered in my area, but it was a bit too basic as I already knew a lot more than what was being taught....

Postby Ted_v2 » July 7th, 2013, 8:55 pm

NESC and trinizuela is the best i came across.

Might go either

ShaqThom

Postby ShaqThom » July 7th, 2013, 9:32 pm

black start wrote:^I was actually going to the basic electrical offered in my area, but it was a bit too basic as I already knew a lot more than what was being taught....

mine was supposed to be a basic course too but the tutor realized that the students are a bit advanced therefore he ran through the basics like oil change etc for the novice students and for us advanced ones we learned to change transmissions and scraped down engines etc
so is really up to the tutor

Zim

Postby Zim » January 18th, 2016, 4:08 pm

Hmm, anybody GT with the UWI Open Campus on this?
I ent seeing any updated courses.

Thanks in advance :)

Postby black start » January 18th, 2016, 7:01 pm

Ever so often its advertised on the express...

Postby shogun » January 18th, 2016, 7:15 pm

This topic interests me

Zim

Postby Zim » January 19th, 2016, 4:27 pm

black start wrote:Ever so often its advertised on the express...

ok ,thanks, let me know if u see anything, tried calling but was unsuccessful

10-01

Postby 10-01 » January 19th, 2016, 4:59 pm

NESC - autotronics offered at point lisas & woodford lodge

Postby Ted_v2 » January 21st, 2016, 4:48 am

debe also.

Zim

Postby Zim » January 26th, 2016, 1:26 pm

10-01 wrote:NESC - autotronics offered at point lisas & woodford lodge

Thanks, the Pt Lisas branch is by the roundabout? U know the costs off hand? If not, no scene

Postby Ted_v2 » January 27th, 2016, 4:56 am

just before the roundabout,
its something like 1500$ for a entry fee, this is for coveralls boots ect and necessary paperwork.
but its a full time course for the time being, they wanted to do it part time but idk if they doing it yet.
9 months full time.

it pays a monthly fee of 1600$ for u to attend school

Zim

Postby Zim » January 27th, 2016, 12:55 pm

^THANKS!!! :D
Good, well then I saw it already, will definitely check out it