Fuel Subsidy/Gas Price Issues

ingalook

Fuel Subsidy/Gas Price Issues

Postby ingalook » July 23rd, 2013, 7:05 pm

In October we will hear a new budget, what are your hopes regarding the price of gas?

Should we get rid of the fuel subsidy?

Did the 44% increase in the price of premium increase the fuel subsidy or decrease it?

Should the price of premium be decreased?\

etc.

Re: Fuel Subsidy/Gas Price Issues

Postby Rory Phoulorie » July 23rd, 2013, 7:08 pm

The subsidy on gasoline should be removed in its entirety.

ingalook

Postby ingalook » July 23rd, 2013, 7:09 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:The subsidy on gasoline should be removed in its entirety.

Because?

Postby pioneer » July 23rd, 2013, 7:12 pm

I think people who have more than one child and unemployed should be jailed and children be put in homes/adopted.

ingalook

Postby ingalook » July 23rd, 2013, 7:13 pm

pioneer wrote:I think people who have more than one child and unemployed should be jailed and children be put in homes/adopted.

:lol: :?:

Postby Kenjo » July 23rd, 2013, 7:15 pm

6 effing children and one more in the oven this woman on Ian Allen had this evening!i real subsidizing other people in Trinidad already so the fuel prices could stay right dey

Postby Rory Phoulorie » July 23rd, 2013, 7:15 pm

It is a burden on the Government in that it is a loss of valuable revenue. People in T&T are wasteful. There is hardly any car pooling done. People do not chain their trips. Time for people to see what is the real cost of car ownership.

At the same time, the Government needs to provide/support a reliable form of mass transit as an alternative. They also need to clamp down on the maxi taxi mafia with how some of the owners/drivers "rob" passengers with this short drop foolishness.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 23rd, 2013, 7:15 pm

ingalook wrote:In October we will hear a new budget, what are your hopes regarding the price of gas?

Did the 44% increase in the price of premium increase the fuel subsidy or decrease it?

etc.
why not let us know your answers to those questions?

ingalook

Postby ingalook » July 23rd, 2013, 7:26 pm

ingalook wrote:In October we will hear a new budget, what are your hopes regarding the price of gas?

etc.

Well we know you refuse to answer question 3 on repeated occasion, doh worry... so did the Minister of Finance... he'll have to in October, dunno how they going to spin that one

To Rory Phoulorie - I certainly agree with your second point

After a few weeks in office our then Minister of Transport "Jack" targeted the PNM water taxi, planning to double fares and eventually phase it out, the public outcry was noted (around this time the PP actually cared what people thought) so the plans were cancelled

Other plans were also cancelled, the 4 smaller water taxi vessels were intended to go into service from Point to Sando, they were quickly sold (at a loss) and plans to run to Point seemingly ceased.

You see it turns out, its hard to sell a 7 Billion dollar highway to the population if water Taxi working like oil from Sando to Point

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 23rd, 2013, 7:28 pm

ingalook wrote:

etc.

Well we know you refuse to answer question 3 on repeated occasion, doh worry... so did the Minister of Finance... he'll have to in October, dunno how they going to spin that one
me?

I don't remember having that question asked to me, much less to refuse to answer it. But my answer is that I don't know.

What's your answer?

Postby Ted_v2 » July 23rd, 2013, 7:36 pm

gas prices should remain the same but have toll booths on necessary roads

Postby teems1 » July 23rd, 2013, 7:40 pm

Leave gas subsidy. It's around what? 4b TTD?

They can easily shave a 200-400m from each Ministry, who are probably going to waste their money anyway, to leave the subsidy.

What can the Ministry of National Security do with 4.5b dollars that it can't do with 5.

Postby pete » July 23rd, 2013, 7:53 pm

I think that installing a cng kit should be fully tax deductible. Maximum one every three years.

Postby Ted_v2 » July 23rd, 2013, 7:56 pm

i heard from a good source that almost 15 CNG equipped gas stations will be created before the ending of 2014. All government vehicles will also be swapped to CNG.

ingalook

Postby ingalook » July 23rd, 2013, 8:18 pm

Duane, you duck that question twice in the last thread... no comment

Anyone who owns a gas station/goes to a gas station to full gas will know that premium consumption has fallen by at least 60%

Premium was the LEAST subsidized fuel by a large margin, the subsidy on premium was less than 50 cents, those people didn't evaporate, they switched to super, which was subsidized by about $1.50

Using your legendary powers of deduction Duane, what happened to the fuel subsidy since the last budget?

DTAC

Postby DTAC » July 23rd, 2013, 8:26 pm

Forget CNG and just make hybrid and electric cars vat and duty exempt.

Postby VexXx Dogg » July 23rd, 2013, 8:42 pm

I expect premium to raise again, possibly a 15-30% increase in super.

I don't expect a great increase in diesel because of possible price spike in public transport and most goods due to transport overhead.

For the subsidy to be mostly removed, government needs to put a reliable mass transit solution in place, with easy access from rural areas.

They'll push CNG via duty free and vat free kits, but the kits are still expensive - price gouging by major suppliers?

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » July 23rd, 2013, 8:43 pm

pioneer wrote:I think people who have more than one child and unemployed should be jailed and children be put in homes/adopted.

well said

ingalook

Postby ingalook » July 23rd, 2013, 8:45 pm

http://www.energy.gov.tt/content/LG_Pet ... dy_Act.pdf

General info... just so you know... premium is the only fuel currently NOT being subsidized...

Postby hustla_ambition101 » July 23rd, 2013, 8:47 pm

Before hybrids are introduced we need charging stations, that said, the diesel subsidy should be gradually cut especially those who do not own commercial diesel vehicles. In the case of CNG, gov't needs to convert all those high end SUVs and pickups used by ministries as trendsetters, not just lip service and promises.

Postby rspann » July 23rd, 2013, 8:48 pm

If the subsidy is removed,more money for them to waste/thief.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » July 23rd, 2013, 8:50 pm

they gonna thief anyway

ingalook

Postby ingalook » July 23rd, 2013, 8:53 pm

If the government had just increased the price of super to $3.00 from $2.70 (about 9%) they would have made a dent in the subsidy.

Instead they raise Premium by 44% and end up paying more in subsidy - cause only Audi and BMW does use premium, I full super normel normel in my dad Audi, the next day, almost a year later running only super - no issues, meanwhile men with Yaris and Corolla crying long long tears

Postby rspann » July 23rd, 2013, 8:55 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:they gonna thief anyway

True, but at least we will benefit a little.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 23rd, 2013, 8:57 pm

ingalook wrote:Duane, you duck that question twice in the last thread... no comment
not answering because I don't know and admitting I don't know is ducking the question?

"I don't know" is an answer.

Postby X2 » July 23rd, 2013, 8:58 pm

rspann wrote:If the subsidy is removed,more money for them to waste/thief.

Leave the subsidy right effin dere...

Otherwise, you putting pressure on private business to increase wages, increase prices without real cause... then you start losing staff to government jobs where the people learn nothing and hurry to rush out the door every afternoon so they could make de last water taxi...

Postby rspann » July 23rd, 2013, 9:10 pm

X2! X2.

ingalook

Postby ingalook » July 23rd, 2013, 9:47 pm

ingalook wrote:Duane, you duck that question twice in the last thread... no comment
not answering because I don't know and admitting I don't know is ducking the question?

"I don't know" is an answer.

If you still doh know after all I just posted then you almost as intelligent as A172... or just playing stupid... I'd like to believe the latter

Postby A172 » July 23rd, 2013, 9:51 pm

boy war kine ah lose argument is dar

ingalook

Postby ingalook » July 23rd, 2013, 9:54 pm

A172 wrote:boy war kine ah lose argument is dar

:D Good job little buddy, really good job :D