Tablet for Kids. Suggestions?

Re: Tablet for Kids. Suggestions?

Postby crazybalhead » December 5th, 2013, 9:56 am

LOL@ 7 years old and fine motor skills. Mine practicing letters on the ipad since he was two.

We also, ride bikes, throw balls, paint, draw etc. with regular crayons, balance is key!

Strauss

Postby Strauss » December 5th, 2013, 10:05 am

crazybalhead wrote:LOL@ 7 years old and fine motor skills. Mine practicing letters on the ipad since he was two.

We also, ride bikes, throw balls, paint, draw etc. with regular crayons, balance is key!

Fruit doh fall far from de tree aye.
He drifting yet?

Postby shogun » December 5th, 2013, 10:07 am

Magazine: An ipad that doesn't work

livewire

Postby livewire » December 5th, 2013, 10:33 am

crazybalhead wrote:LOL@ 7 years old and fine motor skills. Mine practicing letters on the ipad since he was two.

Exactly! Mine actually had to move from preschool 1 to preschool 2. "His motor skills and knowledge was far more advanced than his peers",Principal's exact words. I don't mind he saved me a years' tuition. 8-)

He also has been using an ipad since he was two.

Postby pioneer » December 5th, 2013, 10:44 am

Android men does find any reason to beatup

Postby X_Factor » December 5th, 2013, 5:13 pm

you'd be amazed to know how many kids under 7 who knows an ipad/tablet/phone inside out
and they cannot write properly in the red/blue line book, as well as continuously bounce a ball for more than 5 times or even hop on one leg without falling over

many parents use the tablet like the replacement parent when they are too busy, tired or just fed up of doing things

a simple thing you all can do, is get a jig saw puzzle appropriate for the child's age and let him/her try to build it.....observe what happens

would anyone post up pics of their kid's handwriting?

since i am curious to see the impact of using a tablet on basic things

Postby maj. tom » December 5th, 2013, 7:07 pm

lol, but here's the story to make you aww:
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-cambridgeshire-25229341

Strauss

Postby Strauss » December 6th, 2013, 6:52 am

X_Factor wrote:

you'd be amazed to know how many kids under 7 who knows an ipad/tablet/phone inside out
and they cannot write properly in the red/blue line book, as well as continuously bounce a ball for more than 5 times or even hop on one leg without falling over

many parents use the tablet like the replacement parent when they are too busy, tired or just fed up of doing things

a simple thing you all can do, is get a jig saw puzzle appropriate for the child's age and let him/her try to build it.....observe what happens

would anyone post up pics of their kid's handwriting?

since i am curious to see the impact of using a tablet on basic things

These parents are not downloading the educational apps for their children. Most young children are indeed learning faster with an iPad - this also includes reading and writing.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 10th, 2013, 11:45 am

Postby eliteauto » December 10th, 2013, 11:52 am

both my children (2 and 12) are getting tablets for Christmas, my son already has the Gov't issued laptop and a Macbook Pro, yet he's an active reader and athlete as is his younger sister, it seems some ppl are using collective failed parenting as an excuse, it's up to individual parents to determine how their children develop

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 10th, 2013, 12:11 pm

^ exactly, my 6yr old is very experienced with the iPad which he has been using since he was 3 or 4 and he has a Google Chromebook laptop which he got last Christmas - he is very active, likes to read books, build lego, ride bike, and also does swimming and gymnastics at school etc

because you're a bad parent is not an excuse to stifle your child from the technology that will be a major part of his future.

Strauss

Postby Strauss » December 11th, 2013, 2:50 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:because you're a bad parent is not an excuse to stifle your child from the technology that will be a major part of his future.

triniboi49

Postby triniboi49 » March 25th, 2014, 8:34 pm

You can get a Galaxy Tab 3 shipped for about 1k

de_dougla_smurf

Postby de_dougla_smurf » March 25th, 2014, 8:59 pm

I remember when chirren used to pitch marble and make chiki chong.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » October 20th, 2021, 7:35 am

:bump:

Anyone has recommendations for a tablet computer for a toddler around 2 years of age? Preferably, I would like the recommendations to be based on your real world experience, and not some article that you read.

Thanks.

Postby Dave » October 20th, 2021, 7:41 am

I know a few people with the Fire tabs made especially for kids.
It isn't something retroed for kid use but made specifically for kids.
With the advent of online learning and our new norm, kids are wearing glasses even earlier so something to keep in mind.

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 20th, 2021, 9:34 am

The amazon fire kids work good for basic use. 10"
Pros: Comes with a protective case and full replacement warranty for 2 years. Very hard to beat value wise.
Amazon store, but can be "hacked" for android store easily for additional apps.
Battery life is excellent even after 2-3 years.
Takes a beating/toddler abuse, esp with that case.

Cons: If they loading their own apps, pay attention to storage. It gets slow when bloated with too much content. Take the largest internal storage version and add on a phone/camera spec 64-128g microSD card. Class 10 or better i think.
Uses the old style micro USB charger, so if they roughing up the charging cord/port, you might have to fix it. Costs about 300
UI is clunky, but for a kid they shouldn't care too much.