Tablet for Kids. Suggestions?

Re: Tablet for Kids. Suggestions?

Postby pete » November 1st, 2013, 2:59 pm

http://news.cnet.com/8301-13579_3-57609 ... et-survey/

Scores from Samsung and Apple are almost the same. So doesn't really matter which one you prefer to get.

Strauss

Postby Strauss » November 1st, 2013, 3:24 pm

pete wrote:http://news.cnet.com/8301-13579_3-57609795-37/samsung-edges-apple-in-j.d-power-tablet-survey/

Scores from Samsung and Apple are almost the same. So doesn't really matter which one you prefer to get.

From the link you posted:

Notice the most important for kids: ease of use

LovinDiva

Postby LovinDiva » November 1st, 2013, 3:36 pm

WM_Tuner wrote:Barnes and Noble have a 10" nook hd+ tablet selling for 150US, will cost roughly 1000TT with shipping. Tablet is good if you are on a budget, durable and can take some roughing up from kids. Can run applications from google play store as well as kindle application. good for books, and kids apps.

This don't seem to have a camera. So no Thanks.

Postby S_2NR » November 1st, 2013, 4:03 pm

LovinDiva wrote:
WM_Tuner wrote:Barnes and Noble have a 10" nook hd+ tablet selling for 150US, will cost roughly 1000TT with shipping. Tablet is good if you are on a budget, durable and can take some roughing up from kids. Can run applications from google play store as well as kindle application. good for books, and kids apps.

This don't seem to have a camera. So no Thanks.

You need a front facing camera for skype or a rear facing camera to look out of place taking pictures in public?

Postby pete » November 1st, 2013, 4:19 pm

Wouldn't ease of use be most important to old people? I think kids would be able to figure out Android fairly easily. Will find out when my daughter starts to use mine. Right now it's just something to try to chew on.

Strauss

Postby Strauss » November 1st, 2013, 7:14 pm

pete wrote:Wouldn't ease of use be most important to old people? I think kids would be able to figure out Android fairly easily. Will find out when my daughter starts to use mine. Right now it's just something to try to chew on.

LOL. I miss talking with you at doubles lime. Look how we got OLD :)

My daughter started on the iPhone as an infant playing games. By the time she got the iPad Mini at 2yrs she was already opening her favorite apps and watching YouTube videos if her choice.

The iPad is MUCH easier to pick up hence why so many preschools and lower grades are using them in the US. The abundance of free learning tools is another factor (apps, iBooks, iTunesU). Couple that with an AppleTV and wow.

We need to link up. Let's make a doubles line before year end.

Postby pioneer » November 1st, 2013, 7:31 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:Yup. I only know about this newfangled credit card.

And everyone has a credit card, right?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 1st, 2013, 7:33 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:Probably because you dont need an idiotic special card for the play store? Do you buy Amazon cards as well?
You can also use your credit card in the Apple AppStore. Some people just prefer to use a gift card since they signed up for the US Store.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 1st, 2013, 7:40 pm

Strauss wrote:
pete wrote:http://news.cnet.com/8301-13579_3-57609795-37/samsung-edges-apple-in-j.d-power-tablet-survey/

From the link you posted:

Notice the most important for kids: ease of use
from that graphic Samsung scored 73% and Apple scored 90% - how is that almost the same?

Apple only lost points because the cost was high, which is what JD Power frowns upon. But iPad sales show that people are willing to pay the price to have full marks in all the other categories.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 1st, 2013, 7:59 pm

LovinDiva wrote:Hi All,
I'm looking for an Android Tablet suitable for kids that would most likely have games. For a child 5 1/2 years old.
check this news story from 4 days ago:

iPad accounts for 94 percent of tablets in schools.

October 29, 2013

It would be undisputed that Apple own the tablet market in schools.. .It should be evident to us however that publishers creating educational content would be clearly aiming their product at the iPad due to it's dominance in this market.

Education is a huge hook for technology companies as it offers an annual stream of fresh money to keep supplies moving but also exposes children to new technologies that can be adopted into home and future work opportunities. - See more at: http://edgalaxy.com/journal/2013/10/29/ ... uyXGr.dpuf

check this video (all iPad BTW)

and another very cool feature of using an iPad is that later on you can buy a US$99 AppleTV and wirelessly show anything on your iPad on your TV. Your Kid will love to use the PBS Kids app to watch Curious George educational activities on the larger TV screen etc. It's also a great way to monitor what your child is doing on the iPad by you watching everything mirrored from the iPad on the TV while you are in the living room or kitchen and they are in their room - better than having to hover over them to see what they are up to - I know, I have a 6yr old son who uses my wife's iPad ALOT.

Postby pioneer » November 2nd, 2013, 5:43 pm

So dey doh use the various models/versions of samsung/android tablets in schools?

Postby nervewrecker » November 2nd, 2013, 6:05 pm

Nexus 5 sell out as it release. Apple fanboys.....make this a 20 page thread nao!

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 2nd, 2013, 6:23 pm

^ Nexus 5 is a different beast.

But in terms of tablets the new Ipad Mini retina is better than Nexus 7

though its almost double the price there is no value for money. I however would spend the money for its slimmer bezel compared to the new N7 the vertical bezels are awkward.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 2nd, 2013, 6:30 pm

nervewrecker wrote:Nexus 5 sell out as it release.
depends on the quantity they released.

Google is known for releasing limited quantity of the Nexus line every so often which sells out very quickly. It's pure luck to get a Nexus 4 at $199 when they have them on google.com/nexus

Postby pioneer » November 2nd, 2013, 6:34 pm

Just like they released 100 pcs of Chromecast then claimed it was "sold out".

Perfect marketing strategy for the unawares.

Postby nervewrecker » November 2nd, 2013, 6:38 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:^ Nexus 5 is a different beast.

But in terms of tablets the new Ipad Mini retina is better than Nexus 7

though its almost double the price there is no value for money. I however would spend the money for its slimmer bezel compared to the new N7 the vertical bezels are awkward.

What is this you telling me this hour the night here? *holds hand on galaxy tab*

Postby Ronaldo95163 » November 2nd, 2013, 8:25 pm

Men spending so much money on chirren these days???
*cringes
What use does a child that's 5 1/2 years old have for a Tablet???

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 2nd, 2013, 9:35 pm

Ronaldo95163 wrote::shock:
Men spending so much money on chirren these days???
*cringes
What use does a child that's 5 1/2 years old have for a Tablet???
ALOT!
read through the thread again.

A tablet is an excellent educational tool and entertainment device.

Postby nervewrecker » November 2nd, 2013, 9:37 pm

Cable remote.....

Postby Ronaldo95163 » November 3rd, 2013, 10:57 am

Sorry but can't see myself spending so much money for something for a child @ that age :|

Postby pete » November 3rd, 2013, 11:25 am

Well unlike other toys it is something they can and will use until it stops working.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 3rd, 2013, 11:59 am

Ronaldo95163 wrote:Sorry but can't see myself spending so much money for something for a child @ that age :|
do you have any kids?

Adults of today that grew up with a computer at home (commodore 64, Amiga, IBM, Apple IIc, Macintosh, Amstrad etc) turn out to be far more comfortable around computers and technology today.

when a toddler today is ready for the workplace it will be 2030. By that time we would be considerably further ahead and more surrounded by technology than we are today. They will need to be even more comfortable with using technology than we needed to be around desktop computers. Instead of having them have to take or struggle through computer courses later on, let them be comfortable with it from the start.

This is why many schools and pre-schools around the world are currently using iPads and computers in classrooms, not just in computer study class, but ALL subjects.

Postby pioneer » November 3rd, 2013, 12:23 pm

Duane you have to understand most of these chunas only recently got their first computer much less internet.

They didn't grow up with a computer at home.

Hell I even work with people who still don't have a computer at home.

Strauss

Postby Strauss » November 3rd, 2013, 1:27 pm

LOL. See why we have problems in education?

A child is never too young to get a computer. Any responsible parent will get an iPad mini as their child turns 1 year old.

(There are even apps on the iPad for your cats and other pets if you have no children.)

Postby pioneer » November 3rd, 2013, 1:33 pm

"we never grow up wid computah"

"check how expensive dem ting is, nah man"

"dem killin poor people out here"

*doesn't have a problem shelling out +$5,000 for carnival costume or big screen TV*

Daz why the education system flooded with one setta duncee head chiren who jealous of the fortunate chiren.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » November 3rd, 2013, 2:54 pm

What tewts allyuh talking???

Chirren not even putting the laptops that the gubberment give them to good use. Most of them watching blues on it and beasting game on it in their free time.

So wth would you even consider forking out +$1000 on an iPad or any other tablet or anything for a ONE YEAR OLD child. It's a wasting money plain and simple.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 3rd, 2013, 3:39 pm

Ronaldo95163 wrote:What tewts allyuh talking???

Chirren not even putting the laptops that the gubberment give them to good use. Most of them watching blues on it and beasting game on it in their free time.

So wth would you even consider forking out +$1000 on an iPad or any other tablet or anything for a ONE YEAR OLD child. It's a wasting money plain and simple.
so you are going to prevent your child from using a well proven educational tool just because of the actions of some wayward children and their incompetent parents who can't monitor them?

Postby pioneer » November 3rd, 2013, 3:50 pm

Incompetent parent identified

Strauss

Postby Strauss » November 4th, 2013, 2:15 am

Ronaldo95163 wrote:What tewts allyuh talking???

This is ignorance.

How can children have a proper future if parents think like this? If the child abuses the technology, the problem is the PARENT.

Also I don't believe you really understand what an iPad does and why it is replacing laptops in early learning or used to teach infants.

I bet my daughter 3 year old can show you a few things in Photoshop. Or how to edit a video in iMovie.

WM_Tuner

Postby WM_Tuner » November 4th, 2013, 9:36 am

OP: To clarify the nook hd+ does not come with any cameras, also it does not have GPS. At the budget $1100 TT you may have to look at getting something along the lines of an ipad 2 used for those features. If you are getting it for kids, I'd recommend getting a sturdy case for protection.