Tablet for Kids. Suggestions?

LovinDiva

Tablet for Kids. Suggestions?

Postby LovinDiva » October 24th, 2013, 11:47 am

Hi All,
I'm looking for an Android Tablet suitable for kids that would most likely have games. For a child 5 1/2 years old. If anyone can recommend any it would be nice. Looking on Google I've read several reviews on the following if anyone knows which is the better or have any suggestions please feel free to let me know.

LeapPad2
Toys R U Taebo
Kurio
Innotab
Nabi 2
XO Kid's Tablet PC
VTech InnoTab 2 Learning App Tablet

Tablet must be able to have internet capabilities but must also be kid friendly with interactive games.

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Re: Tablet for Kids. Suggestions?

Postby RapToR » October 24th, 2013, 11:48 am

get an iPad

Postby Rainman » October 24th, 2013, 11:52 am

My kid is 13 months old and she uses an ipad mini with a lifeproof case. There are tons of interactive apps that she can use, i even save youtube playlists with sesame street and baby tv, she doesn't show much interest in these though.

When shes not on it my wife uses it for mail/surfing etc.

LovinDiva

Postby LovinDiva » October 24th, 2013, 11:57 am

RapToR wrote:get an iPad

Like a normal Ipad, Ipad? I'm sorry I don't know much about this Ipad, Tablet business.

RapToR

Postby RapToR » October 24th, 2013, 12:01 pm

LovinDiva wrote:

Like a normal Ipad, Ipad? I'm sorry I don't know much about this Ipad, Tablet business.

any iPad will do

If you have a budget to work with

Let me know and I will get cost to suit

Postby Rainman » October 24th, 2013, 12:01 pm

LovinDiva wrote:

Yes a normal ipad, you can get a 16gb wifi only version to save some money.

Postby noshownogo » October 24th, 2013, 12:08 pm

I share Rainman's opinion, my 13month old also uses an iPad Mini but mostly for musical Apps, Piano, Guitar and Drums.

LovinDiva

Postby LovinDiva » October 24th, 2013, 12:08 pm

Also my budget is $1100.00 TTD

cphider

Postby cphider » October 24th, 2013, 12:40 pm

I got a Nexus 7 for my 3 year old daughter, and she loves it. Just get a durable case and you should be fine. At $230 USD its a bit more than your budget but worth it!

She had galaxy tab 2 7.0 before which was also very good and is about $170 USD on amazon at this time.
Reason for upgrade - someone wanted to buy the Tab 2 7.0, and I had no problem parting with it and upgrading to the Nexus.

moti

Postby moti » October 24th, 2013, 12:41 pm

LovinDiva wrote:Hi All,
I'm looking for an Android Tablet suitable for kids that would most likely have games. For a child 5 1/2 years old. If anyone can recommend any it would be nice. Looking on Google I've read several reviews on the following if anyone knows which is the better or have any suggestions please feel free to let me know.

LeapPad2
Toys R U Taebo
Kurio
Innotab
Nabi 2
XO Kid's Tablet PC

Tablet must be able to have internet capabilities but must also be kid friendly with interactive games.

LeapPad2 - Sucks especially with the downloading of apps and the availability of the app cards (works like prepaid) locally. ( I got the cards from walmart )

Don't have experience with the others.
We also have Ipad and Kindle at home and my son uses both and loves them.
Especially to watch his shows on Netflix as he can rewind/fast forward when he wants.

Strauss

Postby Strauss » October 24th, 2013, 12:52 pm

Those tablets listed by the OP are all crap for a young mind.
Maybe it could have been cool in 1990.

Consider an iPad Mini (more/better apps for kids and education) or a Nexus 7 (cheaper) and give the child something the won't get fed up of after 3 months.

LovinDiva

Postby LovinDiva » October 24th, 2013, 12:54 pm

moti wrote:

LeapPad2
Toys R U Taebo
Kurio
Innotab
Nabi 2
XO Kid's Tablet PC

LeapPad2 - Sucks especially with the downloading of apps and the availability of the app cards (works like prepaid) locally. ( I got the cards from walmart )

Especially to watch his shows on Netflix as he can rewind/fast forward when he wants.

This is the one we were looking at, but tell me does this have internet capabilities?

Postby kurpal_v2 » October 24th, 2013, 12:58 pm

Strauss wrote:Those tablets listed by the OP are all crap for a young mind.

Consider an iPad Mini (more/better apps for kids and education) or a Nexus 7 (cheaper) and give the child something the won't get fed up of after 3 months.

This.

Nexus 7 or one of those kindles fit op budget and requirements

searchingone

Postby searchingone » October 24th, 2013, 1:00 pm

You may get a blackberry playbook for your budget. But don't buy it. I have one and I must say, it has a severely limited amount of apps compares to android/iOS.

You will get an android tablet for that price but don't expect it to be as fast and responsive as an ipad or nexus tablet.

If you get something too slow though, the child may grow up with anger issues :|

LovinDiva

Postby LovinDiva » October 24th, 2013, 1:03 pm

Is this the Google brand?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 24th, 2013, 1:04 pm

LeapPad2
Toys R U Taebo
Kurio
Innotab
Nabi 2
XO Kid's Tablet PC

all of those tablets are cheaply made and not as responsive as an iPad, plus most of them you have buy content for it.

After going through many vTech, Leapster, Mobigo etc for my 6yr old kid I can tell you that NONE of them can compete with the absolute awesomeness of an iPad as a learning tool for a toddler / kid.
The amount of free content is also incredible.

Either an iPad or a Nexus 7 should do well as the same apps should be available for both iOS and Android.

Personally I have experience with the iPad.
An iPad 2 should be just fine. I would avoid an iPad 1 as it will not support the new OS and some apps.

This user has an iPad 2 for sale for $1700
viewtopic.php?f=11&t=535972

you can look around in the Misc Bargain Center for used iPads for sale that will fit your budget (I don't recommend buying an iPad 1; get the iPad 2 or higher)

moti

Postby moti » October 24th, 2013, 1:05 pm

LovinDiva wrote:
moti wrote:

LeapPad2
Toys R U Taebo
Kurio
Innotab
Nabi 2
XO Kid's Tablet PC

This is the one we were looking at, but tell me does this have internet capabilities?

The LeapPad does not have internet capabilities....heck just to download an app you have to connect it to your PC via usb cable......cause it does not even have bluetooth.
Also it works with 4 AA batteries so you may want to purchase the packs from pricesmart.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 24th, 2013, 1:12 pm

LovinDiva wrote:

Is this the Google brand?
yes it's branded Google but made by Asus.

http://www.google.com/nexus/7/

LovinDiva

Postby LovinDiva » October 24th, 2013, 1:12 pm

Ok Will do.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 24th, 2013, 1:14 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:

This.

Nexus 7 or one of those kindles fit op budget and requirements
I wouldn't advise on a Kindle device as they can only run apps that are approved by Amazon. You do not get the full Android experience with the Kindle

LovinDiva

Postby LovinDiva » October 24th, 2013, 1:16 pm

RapToR wrote:
LovinDiva wrote:

any iPad will do

If you have a budget to work with

Let me know and I will get cost to suit

Yes mu budget is $1100.00 TTD

Postby pioneer » October 24th, 2013, 1:17 pm

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 24th, 2013, 1:25 pm

LovinDiva

Postby LovinDiva » October 24th, 2013, 1:29 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:she can also get these cases to make it more fun for the kid

http://www.amazon.com/i-Blason-ArmorBox ... 00B2SLE7C/

or this
http://www.amazon.com/Speck-Products-iG ... 00A35O1LQ/

Hey Thanks.

LovinDiva

Postby LovinDiva » October 24th, 2013, 1:31 pm

So from the Suggestions I've got an Ipad mini, Ipad 2 or Nexus 7.

LovinDiva

Postby LovinDiva » October 24th, 2013, 1:32 pm

moti wrote:
LovinDiva wrote:
moti wrote:

LeapPad2
Toys R U Taebo
Kurio
Innotab
Nabi 2
XO Kid's Tablet PC

The LeapPad does not have internet capabilities....heck just to download an app you have to connect it to your PC via usb cable......cause it does not even have bluetooth.
Also it works with 4 AA batteries so you may want to purchase the packs from pricesmart.

Yeah I've read the reviews on that but you know kids they want things that "looks" like fun.

RapToR

Postby RapToR » October 24th, 2013, 1:33 pm

iPad mini 16gb wifi only

estimated $2500

Postby K74T » October 24th, 2013, 1:42 pm

Go with the iPad mini.

Strauss

Postby Strauss » October 24th, 2013, 1:44 pm

I got my daughter an iPad Mini when it was released last year (TT$ 2400).

Up to now she can't put it down. The kids section is just so HUGE. Not to mention having Siri. She has apps from blackboards (even simulating the chalk sounds) to all the Disney apps, her favourite TV show apps, counting, drawing, memory games, driving, putting on make up / celeb mirrors, virtual cash registers (that read real bar codes). She watches YouTube, read children books and interactive books… just so many kids stuff on iOS.

Many of the apps are just not on Android or are of poorer quality. WIth iCloud, all her apps and contacts are sync'd to her iPhone. I can chat with her on Skype from the office… She also has her own mac and accounts on the other Macs in the house. All her stuff is synced across the board. Because the Mac's mouse is multi-touch, she moves between iPad, iPhone and iMac with ease.

And she's only 3 years old.

Postby Spitfir3 » October 24th, 2013, 1:47 pm

like these guise said already an ipad 2 or ipad mini would be the way to go
since your on a tight budget i would more lean towards a used ipad2 which has the bigger screen and you can get it cheaper on these forums and besides being an older generation of ipad it can still run pretty much anything on appstore + LOTS of free apps..should note doh ipad mini has the better quality screen

ive used cheap branded tablets already and while the price is appealing they just don't stack up in terms of performance no matter how good the specs look on paper
and lastly i lean more towards the ipad because of the ios which is pure simplicity more ideal for a kid that's my opinion

comparison here
http://www.apple.com/ipad/compare/
Last edited by Spitfir3 on October 24th, 2013, 2:03 pm, edited 3 times in total.