Technology aimed at speeding

IvanTerrors

Technology aimed at speeding

Postby IvanTerrors » November 23rd, 2013, 7:22 pm

if ypu have too do 80kmph on the highway yuh hadda leave for wrk earlier. what im saying is nobody does 80 average is 120kmph.. even deluxe coach goes over the speed limit. if everybody does 80 traffic like vow on the highway. then add misery the bottle neck it has.

kjaglal76

Re: Technology aimed at speeding

Postby kjaglal76 » November 23rd, 2013, 7:24 pm

Yes i do am confine for the past 8yrs awaiting trial am not perfect but only with fault for the time i hav spent i hav learn frm my mistakes an use it 2help me be a better man 2day its hard 2deal with ppl who dont hav a mind of their own an quick 2judge without knowing me when ppl hear or know ur in here they think of u in a very negative way an use it 2judge u for the person they think u are when they really dont knw who u are an what u hav become!

Postby r3iXmann » November 23rd, 2013, 8:11 pm

kjaglal76 wrote:Yes i do am confine for the past 8yrs awaiting trial am not perfect but only with fault for the time i hav spent i hav learn frm my mistakes an use it 2help me be a better man 2day its hard 2deal with ppl who dont hav a mind of their own an quick 2judge without knowing me when ppl hear or know ur in here they think of u in a very negative way an use it 2judge u for the person they think u are when they really dont knw who u are an what u hav become!

En Anglais, s'il vous plait? :|

Postby nervewrecker » November 23rd, 2013, 8:22 pm

4:30am crew checking in...

TheBoostLord

Postby TheBoostLord » November 23rd, 2013, 8:24 pm

i can confirm i was the speed limit

greggle71

Postby greggle71 » November 23rd, 2013, 8:42 pm

Not that they have to, but the authorities should consider adjusting the speed limit given the extensive expansion of the road networks, I not saying what it should be but over the last 5 to 10 years single lanes have turned into dual carriageways and two lanes have expanded to 3. All these allow for a naturally faster flow of traffic especially north to south. Unfortunately east to west traffic is still constrained by traffic lights so the natural start stop nature will not justify increases. It will be a serious national debate when the issue arises. Recent road incidents won't help the case of an increase but technically shouldn't be part of the criteria.

IvanTerrors

Postby IvanTerrors » November 23rd, 2013, 9:05 pm

exactly what im saying the limit has to increase becuz yuh prob allowed +5 give or take. that north south highway is tears on a morning taxi drivers dont do 80km bus drivers also. well is best yuh park up yuh car and take public transport or leave extra early. becuz in no way im seeing gov raising the limit.

Postby skylinechild » November 23rd, 2013, 9:24 pm

nervewrecker wrote:4:30am crew checking in...

4:45am crew checking in as well..

my 0.02cents...* installs flame suit.
the speed limit should remain @ 80 kmh.we should however learn to drive better and show a bit more courtesy on the rd. imagine a simple rule as keep left when overtaking. some fool will jump up an say "well once i get on the highway - i does stick to the extreme right lane and i good dey"
another simple example is no right turn from the left lane.. simple thing as observing a STOP sign - i watched a man almera get clear away by a b13 in work.

if you know you have to reach for a certain time - leave yuh damn house early.
no driving on the shoulder of the highway.
taking you time and driving also saves on wear and tear on suspension parts on your car- yes sooner or later you will need to change parts..but it will last longer driving a bit slower.

and yes i DO drive 80kmh..

Postby stev » November 23rd, 2013, 9:30 pm

so increasing the speed limit will solve the traffic problem?

do you know the purpose of a speed limit?

do u know why the speed limit is 80kmph?

do u know the process of increasing the speed limit? (not that simple)

actually the speed limit should be decreased based on our current infrastructure as well as increasing number of cars on the road.

zcarz

Postby zcarz » November 23rd, 2013, 9:34 pm

kjaglal76 wrote:Yes i do am confine for the past 8yrs awaiting trial am not perfect but only with fault for the time i hav spent i hav learn frm my mistakes an use it 2help me be a better man 2day its hard 2deal with ppl who dont hav a mind of their own an quick 2judge without knowing me when ppl hear or know ur in here they think of u in a very negative way an use it 2judge u for the person they think u are when they really dont knw who u are an what u hav become!

couldn't have said it better myself

Postby Trini Hookah » November 23rd, 2013, 10:22 pm

Yuh feel Duane does offer confessional services too awa?

kg494EJ-1

Postby kg494EJ-1 » November 23rd, 2013, 10:49 pm

skylinechild wrote:
nervewrecker wrote:4:30am crew checking in...

4:45am crew checking in as well..

my 0.02cents...* installs flame suit.
the speed limit should remain @ 80 kmh.we should however learn to drive better and show a bit more courtesy on the rd. imagine a simple rule as keep left when overtaking. some fool will jump up an say "well once i get on the highway - i does stick to the extreme right lane and i good dey"
another simple example is no right turn from the left lane.. simple thing as observing a STOP sign - i watched a man almera get clear away by a b13 in work.

if you know you have to reach for a certain time - leave yuh damn house early.
no driving on the shoulder of the highway.
taking you time and driving also saves on wear and tear on suspension parts on your car- yes sooner or later you will need to change parts..but it will last longer driving a bit slower.

and yes i DO drive 80kmh..

I agree with 100% however I will admit I don't always drive at 80 but sometimes 50 and 30 depending on the zone. Seriously though I do drive over 80 at times but the driving culture of TnT has to change on a daily I see people running the lights more the 10secs after it changes and are quite comfortable, its to the point where you wonder if they even recognise that there are other drivers on the road.

Raising the speed limit is not the answer at this moment while the general infrastructure has changed, notice I said changed, it has not improved gone are the days of what my grandfather called smooth turtle back designed roads to one, two hole or one, two air pocket to bumpy bumpy highways that gather water. Basic infrastructure is at an all time low and increasing the speed limit is not going to help.
This is the only country where I have heard that road design doesn't cause accidents. :? :?

Postby skylinechild » November 24th, 2013, 12:02 pm

kg494EJ-1 wrote:
I agree with 100% however I will admit I don't always drive at 80 but sometimes 50 and 30 depending on the zone. Seriously though I do drive over 80 at times but the driving culture of TnT has to change on a daily I see people running the lights more the 10secs after it changes and are quite comfortable, its to the point where you wonder if they even recognise that there are other drivers on the road.

Raising the speed limit is not the answer at this moment while the general infrastructure has changed, notice I said changed, it has not improved gone are the days of what my grandfather called smooth turtle back designed roads to one, two hole or one, two air pocket to bumpy bumpy highways that gather water. Basic infrastructure is at an all time low and increasing the speed limit is not going to help.
This is the only country where I have heard that road design doesn't cause accidents. :? :?

well is 80 on the highway but you have to use your discretion. for example yes i drive 80 but if the car in front doing 60 i will have to overtake then go back on the left.

another example is that after endeavor flyover there's the turn off- motorists slow down on the leftmost lane in order to make the turn - when approaching i go onto the center lane to give them enough room for exiting and entering the highway and before the 1st walkover i'm already back on the left side.

culture needs to change...not the speed limit. yes there are times when i press out - but thats when i know i have ALOT of space in front and no one behind me and all 3 lanes are clear.

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » November 24th, 2013, 12:40 pm

U guys complain about 80kmh... We have to deal with 50kmh on our "highway" which absolutely NOBODY listens to...

I believe that it would be better to raise the limit on trinidad highways to 100kmh and 80 in Tobago.

Reason being that it will give a little more leeway than what is present whithin being reasonable.

Average speed I see people going along in Trinidad would be 100-120 and over here in Tobago 80 -100

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » November 24th, 2013, 1:35 pm

stev wrote:so increasing the speed limit will solve the traffic problem?

actually the speed limit should be decreased based on our current infrastructure as well as increasing number of cars on the road.

No, no, no, no. But I interested to know .

Postby SMc » November 24th, 2013, 4:00 pm

fokhan_96 wrote:

I kinda agree with Steve-e, other than decreasing the maximum limit and increasing the number of cars....actually I dont think I do agree.

I drive in other countries regularly that have the ability to impose (and penalise those that dont follow) variable speed limits during different times of the day dependant on traffic levels, accidents, adverse weather conditions etc...reason for doing so is that the overall traffic moves better through bottlenecks (like when the M25 moves from 5 lanes to 3 in the space of 1 1/5 miles).

Can you imagine everyone reaching the lighthouse at the same time and the epic traffic that would result..oh wait, having to leave home at 5:30 for work.nices

Crazydriver

Postby Crazydriver » November 24th, 2013, 4:07 pm

SMc wrote:
fokhan_96 wrote:

I kinda agree with Steve-e, other than decreasing the maximum limit and increasing the number of cars....actually I dont think I do agree.

I drive in other countries regularly that have the ability to impose (and penalise those that dont follow) variable speed limits during different times of the day dependant on traffic levels, accidents, adverse weather conditions etc...reason for doing so is that the overall traffic moves better through bottlenecks (like when the M25 moves from 5 lanes to 3 in the space of 1 1/5 miles).

Can you imagine everyone reaching the lighthouse at the same time and the epic traffic that would result..oh wait, having to leave home at 5:30 for work.nices

true @the level of traffic(time of day/day of week) weather conditions and location need to be taken into account
but some random out of UWI engineer going to come and say 'just give them a lane again and tell them drive slow..:/

EXODUS

Postby EXODUS » November 24th, 2013, 6:14 pm

Once a teif, always a teif. ..ghee back the man he moosic

IvanTerrors

Postby IvanTerrors » November 25th, 2013, 9:53 pm

it should be given some consideration. becuz the road traffic woes on the solomon hochoy highway i tears on any given morning

Postby Aaron 2NR » November 25th, 2013, 9:57 pm

Increase makes no sense..

IvanTerrors

Postby IvanTerrors » November 25th, 2013, 10:14 pm

what does?

Postby Aaron 2NR » November 26th, 2013, 5:03 am

Our roadways were never designed for the volume of traffic they face, look at the speed limit in the us on a highway, only the interstate highways cross 100km/hr.
In trinidad drivers want to leave home late and try to make up time on the roadways.
Too often I've experienced any little space you attempt to leave from the car infront you, someone would always try to squeeze in.

Everyone in a hurry to get somewhere in the shortest time without realizing they are endangering their life and other commuters. Our highways are not what they were years ago, almost every hour there is an accident or traffic pile up or some sort of congestion

DooMRR

Postby DooMRR » November 26th, 2013, 6:08 am

SMc wrote:I kinda agree with Steve-e, other than decreasing the maximum limit and increasing the number of cars....actually I dont think I do agree.

This I agree with. There was an episode of Top Gear where I believe the road commissioner (something Ladyman) was interviewed. You all should take a listen to what he had to say. It's pretty much as SMc said. Now I have no idea if the speed limit was designed around this concept (which I highly doubt), but the speed limit is to help with bottleneck. If everyone drives at 80km/h, you realize the traffic will take much longer to build up since not everyone is ending up at the same place at the exact same time. This in effect makes the traffic lights more 'efficient' and not causing massive pileups. I do encourage all who commented and going to comment to search YouTube for that video and watch it first. I will look for it and post it once I get home. Trinidad should do some research into that.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » November 26th, 2013, 6:17 am

Aaron 2NR wrote:Our roadways were never designed for the volume of traffic they face, look at the speed limit in the us on a highway, only the interstate highways cross 100km/hr.
In trinidad drivers want to leave home late and try to make up time on the roadways.
Too often I've experienced any little space you attempt to leave from the car infront you, someone would always try to squeeze in.

Everyone in a hurry to get somewhere in the shortest time without realizing they are endangering their life and other commuters. Our highways are not what they were years ago, almost every hour there is an accident or traffic pile up or some sort of congestion

Sense here.

People do not even know how to merge, yield or even wait. Six, seven vehicles breaking the light now instead of the one speedster who couldn't stop in time and behind those who have right of way, some impatient jackarse blowing up their horn as soon as they see green