Tyre choice help

Anotrin

Tyre choice help

Postby Anotrin » December 6th, 2013, 11:05 am

Ok tuners I need some assistance in choosing a tyre here. Replacing tyres in stock 14 rims. Need highway type treadwear. The options I have are dunlops yom 2013 tread 340 trac and temp A -set 500 each.or Bridgestone potenza yom 2011 tread 180 temp and trac A-@ 525 . Dunlops have better figures on paper but some tyre guy was telling me that bridgestones made in costa rica are of lower quality than thr japanese dunlops. I need sone help possibly from users of these said tyres.any reviews would be appreciated.
Thanks

Anotrin

Re: Tyre choice help

Postby Anotrin » December 6th, 2013, 1:57 pm

Recommendations? Anyone

ADONI

Postby ADONI » December 6th, 2013, 2:49 pm

I had a pair of 14" dunlops that lasted 13 months, that was presha yes, was expecting a 2 years out of them. I agree tyres are manufactured in different locations and vary when it comes to lifespan, but how can we tell the location a tyre was manufactured. Also had some 14" BF Goodrich that lasted 14 months...
Right now I have four Bridgestone Dueler on my van, two was bought by one place and six months after other two by another and it seems that one pair is wearing out more than the other...

d_sunnyboi

Postby d_sunnyboi » December 6th, 2013, 4:26 pm

maxxis victra z4s or the lower threadware ma-z1 i think is the code, cheap and works very well, for traction both are AA, they are 420 and 280thwr respective

SPK1983

Postby SPK1983 » December 6th, 2013, 5:23 pm

^ I can attest to the victra z4s. Been using them for more than 18 months now on my vehicle, and the front tyres have somewhat worn down, but the back tyres are still in surprisingly good condition. Compared to where I would normally change tyres every 12 months, it's definitely good life for their cost.

air wick

Postby air wick » December 6th, 2013, 5:25 pm

I use the ma-z1 best performance tyre on a budget. Excellent traction in the wet.

Anotrin

Postby Anotrin » December 6th, 2013, 5:27 pm

Whas the price on one of those and where

d_sunnyboi

Postby d_sunnyboi » December 6th, 2013, 5:32 pm

there are evo's that use the ma-z1 in drag and wind, initially i wanted the ma-z1 but did not get them as the person i was buying it from was out of stock, but from experiencing the z4s which works excellent, in braking, acceleration and cornering i could imagine how well the ma-z1 will work.

air wick

Postby air wick » December 6th, 2013, 5:32 pm

I buy from a dealer in south Singh's 380-6626

-Roach-

Postby -Roach- » December 7th, 2013, 7:15 am

Check elvin's rim world.... They carry 'Rapid' brand and its very durable and price is affordable... If you want the best and money isnt an issue they also have the maxxis brand... (Best tyre i ever used)....

Toyopet

Postby Toyopet » December 7th, 2013, 8:22 am

-Roach- wrote:Check elvin's rim world.... They carry 'Rapid' brand and its very durable and price is affordable... If you want the best and money isnt an issue they also have the maxxis brand... (Best tyre i ever used)....

I think Rapid is one of those cheap brands. And Maxxis are cheaper than Dunlop, last longer and grip just as well. Singh in Charlo Village is the distributor

trent

Postby trent » December 7th, 2013, 8:27 am

any1 knows the price of those Maxxis, 205-40-17 / 215-45-17 ?

Postby Strugglerzinc » December 7th, 2013, 11:17 am

-Roach- wrote:Check elvin's rim world.... They carry 'Rapid' brand and its very durable and price is affordable... If you want the best and money isnt an issue they also have the maxxis brand... (Best tyre i ever used)....

I can see how you would think this when moving from Rapid to Maxxis.

KURMAman

Postby KURMAman » December 7th, 2013, 12:12 pm

it have a very extensive tyre thread.. just search

IBTL

Anotrin

Postby Anotrin » December 7th, 2013, 12:12 pm

Thanks for the info and those links. Seems that I shus get the bridgestone despite the low treadwear rating. Traction is more imp than longevity. 2yr old tyre canr be that bad right!

eurotuner

Postby eurotuner » December 7th, 2013, 1:02 pm

I had had Donlop dz101's on my car for two years and i drive allot.
Made aprox. 65k + miles on them.

Anotrin

Postby Anotrin » December 7th, 2013, 1:08 pm

Had those and currently have dunlops on my pickup.they are great but on wet roads scary. If it weren't for that aspect I would buy them again.

Postby cinco » December 7th, 2013, 3:31 pm

Anotrin wrote:Had those and currently have dunlops on my pickup.they are great but on wet roads scary. If it weren't for that aspect I would buy them again.

How d ask everyone does bawl tyres scary in the wet? Slow thefackdown steups. I know alot of 101 users who have no complaints from speed demons to grandma drivers.
I guess driving within the limit of the car is hard to do

powerbass12

Postby powerbass12 » December 7th, 2013, 3:34 pm

Anybody no where I could get Diamound back tyres ASAP ?

Anotrin

Postby Anotrin » December 7th, 2013, 3:45 pm

Driving at 30km is breakneck speed I agree. Just bought the potenza will swe how it holds up.

Postby Strugglerzinc » December 7th, 2013, 4:11 pm

Scary at 30kph does not compute on ANY tyre.

Anotrin

Postby Anotrin » December 7th, 2013, 4:16 pm

Which is why you would not expect a tyre to fail at traction.:roll:

Postby cinco » December 7th, 2013, 5:17 pm

Never had an issue at 30kmph on direzzas. Of course i wouldnt drive 30km tru standing water either