Police Station Finder Mobile web App

krs13

Police Station Finder Mobile web App

Postby krs13 » December 16th, 2013, 4:57 pm

Hey Guys,

I'm working on a mobile web app that shows a list of police stations in T&T, listing either alphabetically or by proximity, by using your phone GPS. It's a personal project and while it works its still in beta. If you try it let me know what you think - any feedback is welcome.

http://sachabeharry.com/app/

Last edited by krs13 on December 16th, 2013, 7:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.

sonygoup

Re: Police Station Finder Mobile web App

Postby sonygoup » December 16th, 2013, 5:08 pm

Awesome will take a look see good app for drivers to have!

Xander_25

Postby Xander_25 » December 16th, 2013, 5:27 pm

You left out Old Grange Police Station in Tobago. 639-8888. They are located just before PennySavers supermarket in Carnbee on the right side if coming from Scarborough. They moved to that location after the station in Old Grange became unsuitable for them to work in.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 16th, 2013, 6:04 pm

Why not just use Waze?
Also with Waze anyone can add in a police station or police post location, even a mobile post to ensure it is always up to date.
Waze can also give you turn by turn directions to the nearest police station: very useful if you get into an accident in a location you are not too familiar with.
1387231434520.jpg

Skuld

Postby Skuld » December 16th, 2013, 6:07 pm

^ Oh goar Duane, give de man a chance nah.

Nice app bro, just make sure all (or close to 100%) of police stations are mapped.

sonygoup

Postby sonygoup » December 16th, 2013, 6:09 pm

Yea but it would ne more useful to someone who doesnt want to use waze and jus want a lite application

krs13

Postby krs13 » December 16th, 2013, 6:14 pm

Thanks for the feedback. I will add the station to the app soon.

I see the station located on Google maps below. The map has the street address as: Auchenskeoch Buccoo Bay Road. Is this correct?

https://www.google.tt/maps/preview#!dat ... 11.1694035

krs13

Postby krs13 » December 16th, 2013, 6:24 pm

Yeah, I agree: Waze, Google Maps are all very good for this. However, one thing I am trying to achieve with the app is non-reliance on internet for it to be useful - once you download the app, the data is stored locally on your phone. This way, even without internet service, the phone gps can be used to tell you the nearest police station to your present location.

The app really is a project to practice mobile app design and development and not be too feature heavy. I chose the police station finder because it [1] uses public open data provided by the TTPS, [2] provides a good case for using GPS/mapping with mobile apps, and [3] could be a useful app to the community of T&T.

Postby rollingstock » December 16th, 2013, 9:36 pm

krs13 wrote:Hey Guys,

I'm working on a mobile web app that shows a list of police stations in T&T, listing either alphabetically or by proximity, by using your phone GPS. It's a personal project and while it works its still in beta. If you try it let me know what you think - any feedback is welcome.

http://sachabeharry.com/app/

Funny, St. Clair Police Station isn't there anymore.
At least till the station is rebuilt.

Postby pioneer » December 16th, 2013, 9:50 pm

OP maybe you can do one for crime hotspots?

Postby cinco » December 16th, 2013, 10:26 pm

pioneer wrote:OP maybe you can do one for crime hotspots?

That go be real easy.
One big red dot

Postby javishm » December 16th, 2013, 11:09 pm

nice going

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 16th, 2013, 11:45 pm

krs13 wrote:Yeah, I agree: Waze, Google Maps are all very good for this. However, one thing I am trying to achieve with the app is non-reliance on internet for it to be useful - once you download the app, the data is stored locally on your phone. This way, even without internet service, the phone gps can be used to tell you the nearest police station to your present location.

The app really is a project to practice mobile app design and development and not be too feature heavy. I chose the police station finder because it [1] uses public open data provided by the TTPS, [2] provides a good case for using GPS/mapping with mobile apps, and [3] could be a useful app to the community of T&T.
good stuff

I guess there are still smartphone users that don't have data.

In an extreme situation where cell service and/or data is down and you need to get to the nearest police station the app can be very useful!

Postby wagonrunner » December 16th, 2013, 11:58 pm

so once you have bmobile phone it is a must have. :|

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 17th, 2013, 1:02 am

wagonrunner wrote:^^
so once you have bmobile phone it is a must have. :|
not sure what kind of phone you have but I don't get data problems with bmobile... or digicel for that matter.

krs13

Postby krs13 » December 17th, 2013, 8:13 am

Guys, really appreciate all the feedback so far.

Funny, St. Clair Police Station isn't there anymore.
At least till the station is rebuilt.

I'm glad you pointed this out. I used the data provided by the TT Police Service website below, but it appears that its not 100% up to date. If you see any error in the app's police stations location/address/tel please let me know and I will correct.

http://www.ttps.gov.tt/AboutTTPS/Listof ... tions.aspx

OP maybe you can do one for crime hotspots?

This is not a bad idea, and I considered it when looking for an problem space for the app. Once this app has been released and I get some free time I will look into it again.

Postby sharkman121 » December 17th, 2013, 8:33 am

cinco wrote:
pioneer wrote:OP maybe you can do one for crime hotspots?

That go be real easy.
One big red dot

basically yea.. buh doh tell pios that, he doh believe it ha crime in Trincity.

OracleTnT

Postby OracleTnT » December 17th, 2013, 8:48 am

I'm a novice here, how do u download the app on an iphone4?

iSt@rr

Postby iSt@rr » December 17th, 2013, 10:39 am

This is pretty cool! I hope you complete it.
I just posted my fourth update to Police Post, which is available here
http://www.windowsphone.com/en-us/store/app/police-post/0f754a47-7b03-44f3-9ddf-b2db834d9d80

It provides offline access to police stations/posts with contact information and together with @bulletpoint_ data allows you to see hotpots by police station locality.

Glad to see more and more of these apps coming out.

krs13

Postby krs13 » December 18th, 2013, 12:28 pm

I'm a novice here, how do u download the app on an iphone4?

The app stores data on your phone's browser automatically when its first used. Next time you open the app in your browser it will use internet for map features and updates but, even if there is no internet, the app will still have a copy of the stations and their information and will continue to work.

For convenience, you can bookmark the app in your browser. You can also add website bookmarks to home screen on your iPhone. See below for more info:

iOS6:
http://www.pcadvisor.co.uk/how-to/mobil ... hone-ipad/

iOS7:
http://www.kook.com.au/what-were-talkin ... on-iphone/

This is pretty cool! I hope you complete it.

Thanks man, hopefully I will have it done soon. Trying to make sure the data is accurate and current.
Your app looks cool as well. I never got a chance to test mine on a Windows Phone - will have to look into that.

Xecutive

Postby Xecutive » December 18th, 2013, 2:21 pm

Rather than indicate the nearest police station alone, design it in such a way to refer you to a police station which governs that particular area of the incident. Or if the app could highlight the boundaries of each jurisdiction then that will be better. It will ease the headache when you go to a police station, an officer indicating that you have to go to another station to make a report because the area in which the incident occurred is not within their jurisdiction. Just a suggestion.

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » December 18th, 2013, 2:49 pm

unfortunately yea

but the more common scenario is where u have a really bad data connection or can only get edge... browsing maps then becomes a PITA

this looks like a cool app that will prolly not come to WP

i need to learn to make apps!

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » December 18th, 2013, 2:51 pm

iSt@rr wrote:This is pretty cool! I hope you complete it.
I just posted my fourth update to Police Post, which is available here
http://www.windowsphone.com/en-us/store/app/police-post/0f754a47-7b03-44f3-9ddf-b2db834d9d80

It provides offline access to police stations/posts with contact information and together with @bulletpoint_ data allows you to see hotpots by police station locality.

Glad to see more and more of these apps coming out.

d/l now to check out... didnt know this existed

Postby cinco » December 18th, 2013, 2:55 pm

Xecutive wrote:Rather than indicate the nearest police station alone, design it in such a way to refer you to a police station which governs that particular area of the incident. Or if the app could highlight the boundaries of each jurisdiction then that will be better. It will ease the headache when you go to a police station, an officer indicating that you have to go to another station to make a report because the area in which the incident occurred is not within their jurisdiction. Just a suggestion.

there is no have to go to another station anymore
any station is supposed to take the incident
take the officers badge number and make a complaint to authorities

Xecutive

Postby Xecutive » December 18th, 2013, 3:03 pm

Usually I would hope that's the case but u know how some of those officers does operate....some of them rell dunce too

Postby redmanjp » December 18th, 2013, 3:53 pm

krs13 wrote:Yeah, I agree: Waze, Google Maps are all very good for this. However, one thing I am trying to achieve with the app is non-reliance on internet for it to be useful - once you download the app, the data is stored locally on your phone. This way, even without internet service, the phone gps can be used to tell you the nearest police station to your present location.

good stuff

In an extreme situation where cell service and/or data is down and you need to get to the nearest police station the app can be very useful!

well in an emergency u don't want to wait for anything to load over a data connection that may be slow especially if u only have edge

Postby redmanjp » December 18th, 2013, 4:40 pm

would be cool if it can point out location of vehicles but u would need the gps data- then they can't say they doh have any when u call them