The Official Skybox Thread: Take 2

Re: The Official Skybox Thread: Take 2

Postby nemisis » July 25th, 2020, 9:40 pm

Ok so periodically we get goods to review, how to go about having not having to pay duties on msrp of free items being sent to us to review?

Postby Strugglerzinc » July 25th, 2020, 11:11 pm

This is Trinidad. There is no such thing.

Postby stev » July 26th, 2020, 1:17 am

altec wrote:Bought electrical glands for 11.00 USD on AMAZON. Its weight is about a pound (10 oz to be exact). Tropical charged me $181.00. Their own calculator says $59.00. I used websource's calculator as a second opinion which said $92.00. Where did the extra 90.00 come from? Oh.... I pre-alerted to avoid this $#!t. They will have to explain cost when I go to collect.

their rates never changed over the years from my experience....how does the breakdown look?

PapaC

Postby PapaC » July 26th, 2020, 6:58 pm

Took three weeks but was able to clear the laptop on Saturday.
6lbs, costed $967 US and I paid $1237 to clear.

Postby zoom rader » July 26th, 2020, 8:12 pm

PapaC wrote:Took three weeks but was able to clear the laptop on Saturday.
Only because of elections you got it , after elections under PNM it's back to normal.

agent007

Postby agent007 » July 26th, 2020, 8:18 pm

My rough calculation is $7,900. Given what you purchased, would you say it was still good value?

LAKERS-_-BOSS-_-24

Postby LAKERS-_-BOSS-_-24 » July 26th, 2020, 8:34 pm

Ezone or which one?

Postby nervewrecker » July 26th, 2020, 11:13 pm

I wanna bring a 30 pound ladder and some carbon fiber.
Need a new coring bit cuz I lend a technician mine and it come back with no teeth. Serious talk.

PapaC

Postby PapaC » July 27th, 2020, 12:20 pm

agent007 wrote:My rough calculation is $7,900. Given what you purchased, would you say it was still good value?

Definitely.
Similar priced items locally was aroung $10k.
Depending on where you go, you may not get the 2020 new model as well.

@LAKERS-_-BOSS-_-24 This was with Tropical Shipping.

LAKERS-_-BOSS-_-24

Postby LAKERS-_-BOSS-_-24 » July 27th, 2020, 1:14 pm

PapaC wrote:
agent007 wrote:My rough calculation is $7,900. Given what you purchased, would you say it was still good value?

Definitely.
Similar priced items locally was aroung $10k.
Depending on where you go, you may not get the 2020 new model as well.

@LAKERS-_-BOSS-_-24 This was with Tropical Shipping.
Thanks

Kronik

Postby Kronik » July 27th, 2020, 4:52 pm

nervewrecker wrote:I wanna bring a 30 pound ladder and some carbon fiber.
Need a new coring bit cuz I lend a technician mine and it come back with no teeth. Serious talk.
I hope when I ready for the rest of units you have the new bit, buy about 3 to keep spares

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » July 27th, 2020, 5:02 pm

Packages reahed Miami since Monday last week on Aeropost and no update since, saying Assinged to Next flight a whole week now.

Postby Strugglerzinc » July 27th, 2020, 8:26 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:Packages reahed Miami since Monday last week on Aeropost and no update since, saying Assinged to Next flight a whole week now.

Ah know I does defend Aeropost but this sheit does happen. Still "delayed" as at now.

Capture.JPG

Situation in Florida + Situation with customs :|

PapaC

Postby PapaC » July 27th, 2020, 9:01 pm

Now i feeling comfortable. Aeropost isn't some super freigh forwarder who don' have to face Customs

Postby gastly369 » July 28th, 2020, 3:43 am

Same with websource atm have 5 packages "in transit" since
Dohplaydat wrote:Packages reahed Miami since Monday last week on Aeropost and no update since, saying Assinged to Next flight a whole week now.

Postby Chimera » August 5th, 2020, 6:56 pm

got a package bonded through websource monday night
expected usual tax- $1500

after paying broker and getting shafted by customs officers- $4500

Postby gastly369 » August 5th, 2020, 6:57 pm

Jahh

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 5th, 2020, 8:04 pm

Wow i would suggest you sign up for a company other than websource or tropical

Them does go by the rules so they will shaft you hard like Rocco Siffredi

I recommend you try any of the other skybox especially the ones who dont play by rules and instead does grease customs cacah0le.

I dont want to give away my skybox cause them does geease customs cacah0le good and proper. If i say their name i go sell them out but i recently brought something through them and only paid $56 TT tax when I should have paid $600 TT got the package yesterday and was pleasantly surprised that they still have the art of greasing.

Websource and tropical does play by the rules, them not greasing no bottom

Blaze d Chalice

Postby Blaze d Chalice » August 5th, 2020, 8:11 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:Same
Blaze d Chalice wrote:I have a few things reach the Tropical Meeyami address almost 2 weeks now and up to now it saying "In Transit/Customs" - not "Processing (Trinidad)" so meem know what going on there but I not in a hurry.

Still waiting 15 days later and everything park up on "In Transit/Customs"

I have some heavy things to bring in soon, I feel I will give this "Xivoya" thing a try and see what going on there.

Postby Chimera » August 5th, 2020, 9:03 pm

smalls, i've been using websource for several years and its 1 in every 500 or 600 packages something like this would happen.

cant complain, they are the best and most reliable

Blaze d Chalice

Postby Blaze d Chalice » August 5th, 2020, 11:30 pm

Nah well it turns out that 8 more items reach over the days, and all just collecting up in that Transit/Customs list.
So some there a month now, some there about 5 days now but nothing moving.

On another note I bought some small phone parts from Aliexpress and delivery time was 40 days minimum, however in less than a week it reach to a US address and remain there for about 3 weeks with some note in the tracking details saying "waiting for USPS"

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 6th, 2020, 10:43 am

Strugglerzinc wrote:

Ah know I does defend Aeropost but this sheit does happen. Still "delayed" as at now.

Capture.JPG

Situation in Florida + Situation with customs :|

That delayed in customs thing mean they gonna query your value.
I had a couple packages that came thru no delay and the one that was delayed was "revalued"

Postby Chimera » August 6th, 2020, 11:42 am

Not always. They just not getting a slot to get the items cleared.
Customs moving slow and deliberate now

PapaC

Postby PapaC » August 8th, 2020, 8:36 am

So how simple is it to query customs duties? I bought two air pods separately, and one came through with no duties, while I was charged for the second one.
Same Tropical Shipping. Anyone here queried and for through could chime in please.

Postby adnj » August 8th, 2020, 9:19 am

PapaC wrote:So how simple is it to query customs duties? I bought two air pods separately, and one came through with no duties, while I was charged for the second one.
Same Tropical Shipping. Anyone here queried and for through could chime in please.

Bluetooth headsets (designed for taking calls, usually mono, can be used for music) are 0% duty.

Headphones, even Bluetooth headphones, (designed for music, always stereo, can be used for calls) are 20% duty.

Airpods are classified as headphones by Apple. One shipment was classified incorrectly as a "headset" and you were charged no duty.

https://www.apple.com/lae/airpods/

airuma

Postby airuma » August 8th, 2020, 3:08 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Wow i would suggest you sign up for a company other than websource or tropical

Them does go by the rules so they will shaft you hard like Rocco Siffredi

I recommend you try any of the other skybox especially the ones who dont play by rules and instead does grease customs cacah0le.

I dont want to give away my skybox cause them does geease customs cacah0le good and proper. If i say their name i go sell them out but i recently brought something through them and only paid $56 TT tax when I should have paid $600 TT got the package yesterday and was pleasantly surprised that they still have the art of greasing.

Websource and tropical does play by the rules, them not greasing no bottom

Pal, yuh have that greasing concept wrong.... is two things.... grease the wheels/ gears for it to move faster and Vaseline for the one who paying the bribe..... not the one who taking the bribe!

PapaC

Postby PapaC » August 19th, 2020, 11:37 am

So question guys, how we handling new cellphones?
I for one don't want to try and use a sky box, that would be too much lube.

PapaC

Postby PapaC » August 19th, 2020, 11:37 am

So question guys, how we handling new cellphones?

randolphinshan

Postby randolphinshan » August 19th, 2020, 11:58 am

PapaC wrote:So question guys, how we handling new cellphones?

Do without then bro or go buy a lil Samsung for 1000 and ress yourself up

Musical Doc

Postby Musical Doc » August 19th, 2020, 1:34 pm

My wife's package came in on Sunday but websource sent an email saying it will be delayed in customs for estimated 6 days