The Official Skybox Thread: Take 2

Re: The Official Skybox Thread: Take 2

Postby Strugglerzinc » June 29th, 2021, 6:35 pm

wagonrunner wrote:Any issues importing Li-ion Camera Replacement Canon LP-E8 Batteries?
If yhere were no issues, how recently? with which skybox service? any extra steps had to be done?

I have brought various li-ion batteries and they sometimes get classed as dangerous goods others no additional classification. Dangerous goods have no extra charges but is usually delayed as it uses the same flight as hazmat.

Collected one today for my DJI drone from Aeropost that was on hold in Miami for more than a week. I had no duty and VAT but shhhh. $8.50 usd freight only.

Postby Chimera » June 29th, 2021, 6:39 pm

Cellphone batteries shouldn't be a issue.
But ezone and them does be on real flabbergastery too.

Just yesterday I collect a package of 50 iphone batteries from websource. No hazmat or any other issues
DMan7 wrote:Hmm I hope the same thing don't happen with me. I ordered a phone battery over a week now through eZone.

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » June 29th, 2021, 7:38 pm

wagonrunner wrote:Any issues importing Li-ion Camera Replacement Canon LP-E8 Batteries?
If yhere were no issues, how recently? with which skybox service? any extra steps had to be done?

I brought in a mobile phone battery last week and it did take extra time because standalone batteries are designated as 'dangerous goods' and require more inspection/regulations.

trinigamer

Postby trinigamer » June 29th, 2021, 8:02 pm

The package that was taking awhile with Aeropost was a laptop battery, took nearly a month to reach and clear, no extra charges tho.

Kronik

Postby Kronik » July 1st, 2021, 7:15 am

st7 wrote:
Gem_in_i wrote:
st7 wrote:man what i realised with amazon is that they list the full price of the item, and add the discounts below. so no way skybox/customs gonna know it cost less with the price you actually paid for it.

any way to deal with this?

The amazon invoice dont show price paid?

it shows the full retail price, not the Deals price.

So if you bought a $1000 phone for $600 as it was on sale, it will display $1000, then you'll see the 400 subtracted from the total as a 'lightning deal'. of course, if you purchased the item separately, it easy to see, but when you buying a bunch of things at the same time you can't tell anything.
That's why now when I ordering stuff, instead of just adding plenty items to the cast and then ordering, I just batch them by types of items, like anything that would be duty free I put them together, so price don't matter, and other things I try to do them individually so I could prealert properly.

My shipping costs not affected cuz it's free shipping anyhow, and not like I could consolidate anyhow

Kronik

Postby Kronik » July 1st, 2021, 7:17 am

I ordered one of those vehicle li-ion jumper packs and a battery tender that also has a battery, it was on hold for 2 days in Miami, when I called them they said it just had to be inspected by an agent, and then it was shipped, no issues, no extra charges

Postby st7 » July 1st, 2021, 4:32 pm

Kronik wrote:
st7 wrote:
Gem_in_i wrote:
st7 wrote:man what i realised with amazon is that they list the full price of the item, and add the discounts below. so no way skybox/customs gonna know it cost less with the price you actually paid for it.

any way to deal with this?

The amazon invoice dont show price paid?

it shows the full retail price, not the Deals price.

So if you bought a $1000 phone for $600 as it was on sale, it will display $1000, then you'll see the 400 subtracted from the total as a 'lightning deal'. of course, if you purchased the item separately, it easy to see, but when you buying a bunch of things at the same time you can't tell anything.
That's why now when I ordering stuff, instead of just adding plenty items to the cast and then ordering, I just batch them by types of items, like anything that would be duty free I put them together, so price don't matter, and other things I try to do them individually so I could prealert properly.

My shipping costs not affected cuz it's free shipping anyhow, and not like I could consolidate anyhow

yeah i feel i'll have to do that self next time

Postby wagonrunner » July 1st, 2021, 11:13 pm

Kronik wrote:
I ordered one of those vehicle li-ion jumper packs and a battery tender that also has a battery, it was on hold for 2 days in Miami, when I called them they said it just had to be inspected by an agent, and then it was shipped, no issues, no extra charges

ordered some time before with no issues, but wanted to verify.
got email confirming, so replacements already inbound.

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » July 3rd, 2021, 6:41 pm

I’ve bought in (at different times, with other items in the same order) replacement laptop batteries, cell phone batteries, automotive battery jump starters and large mobile power banks with no hazmat notifications, additional delays or additional charges.

Most recently as this week (automotive jump starter) and last month (cell phone battery). Those were all with websource.

I’ve also brought these in with seabox and, as you might expect with ocean freight, they weren’t subject to hazmat.

Postby wagonrunner » July 4th, 2021, 3:19 pm

WS normally takes this long to provide updates? Over a week for some packages to have any inforamtion regarding their status.

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » July 4th, 2021, 3:30 pm

In recent months thats the norm :(

Postby st7 » July 4th, 2021, 4:07 pm

wagonrunner wrote:WS normally takes this long to provide updates? Over a week for some packages to have any inforamtion regarding their status.

yeah sometimes. i noticed that years now. sometimes they update, sometimes they dont

Postby Gem_in_i » July 4th, 2021, 5:13 pm

Last week the Company I with said that they awaiting an appointment at Customs.

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » July 4th, 2021, 6:00 pm

now you have to order things a month in advance yes...steups

Postby Chimera » July 4th, 2021, 8:50 pm

Like them eh get any clearance appointment for 2 weeks

I have about 15 packages since 15th June arrived at websource.
Only 2 of them awaiting clearance and all d other still in miami
wagonrunner wrote:WS normally takes this long to provide updates? Over a week for some packages to have any inforamtion regarding their status.

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » July 4th, 2021, 11:06 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:Like them eh get any clearance appointment for 2 weeks

I had 2 packages delivered to websource Miami address on June 14. Got them delivered to me Wednesday gone.
Had 2 other packages delivered to their Miami address on June 21. Got the invoice amounts for them last nite, and the website saying pre-selected for delivery tomorrow *shrugs*

Postby Redman » July 5th, 2021, 7:20 am

I have stuff delivered to IBC since the 24th.

Calls to IBC say they in customs.

Postby Chimera » July 5th, 2021, 7:55 am

dredman1 wrote:

I had 2 packages delivered to websource Miami address on June 14. Got them delivered to me Wednesday gone.
Had 2 other packages delivered to their Miami address on June 21. Got the invoice amounts for them last nite, and the website saying pre-selected for delivery tomorrow *shrugs*

you does prealert your packages/send invoices?

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » July 5th, 2021, 11:58 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:
dredman1 wrote:

I think by now, most experienced and even novice skyboxers pre alert...cause we cyar tek the delays

dogg

Postby dogg » July 5th, 2021, 12:04 pm

I switched to rpmexpresscouriers.com recently and have had no issues so far.

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » July 5th, 2021, 12:29 pm

dogg wrote:I switched to rpmexpresscouriers.com recently and have had no issues so far.

how long is it taking from Miami for you to get a package in hand these days?

dogg

Postby dogg » July 5th, 2021, 12:47 pm

christopherwilliams2 wrote:
dogg wrote:I switched to rpmexpresscouriers.com recently and have had no issues so far.

In the past month I've had two shipments delivered on the Wednesday after a Friday warehouse receipt.

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » July 5th, 2021, 1:15 pm

dogg wrote:
christopherwilliams2 wrote:

In the past month I've had two shipments delivered on the Wednesday after a Friday warehouse receipt.

Postby wagonrunner » July 5th, 2021, 2:16 pm

christopherwilliams2 wrote:I think by now, most experienced and even novice skyboxers pre alert...cause we cyar tek the delays

and you assume they weren't prealerted because...................?

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » July 5th, 2021, 3:26 pm

Any good skyboxes with a UK address? Thanks.

Postby Kenjo » July 5th, 2021, 3:32 pm

Is it that aeropost taking so long because they a foreign company and can’t bless the customs agents as the local companies ? Might just change to local and done

Postby VexXx Dogg » July 5th, 2021, 3:41 pm

aeropost stuff stuck in customs too. My stuff reach here about 12 days ago and the status eh change from "received in destination country"

Kronik

Postby Kronik » July 5th, 2021, 3:49 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:aeropost stuff stuck in customs too. My stuff reach here about 12 days ago and the status eh change from "received in destination country"
At least mine saying delayed in customs since Thursday

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » July 5th, 2021, 5:23 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:
dredman1 wrote:

Yep - all. Apart from it supposedly allowing for quicker clearance, I don't want to chance customs bonding my packages for lack of an invoice.

Just got the June 21 packages delivered to me today also.

Postby wagonrunner » July 5th, 2021, 7:51 pm

problem due to them reducing the teoretical working hours to regular hours.
they need to post the actual working hours.