The Official Skybox Thread: Take 2

DMan7

Re: The Official Skybox Thread: Take 2

Postby DMan7 » April 24th, 2022, 2:35 pm

Oh yea I heard about those skyboxes that lets you buy your stuff online through them and pay for it one time. Never done it myself seems like a perfect opportunity to get shafted on price.

Postby bluefete » April 24th, 2022, 3:04 pm

DMan7 wrote:Oh yea I heard about those skyboxes that lets you buy your stuff online through them and pay for it one time. Never done it myself seems like a perfect opportunity to get shafted on price.

Absolutely right.

The charges are ridiculous. You are better off buying it yourself online and paying the charges when it arrives - MUCH CHEAPER.

Postby Kenjo » April 24th, 2022, 3:22 pm

No aeropost issue isn’t a matter of purchasing through them specifically . Since early this week credit cards had been compromised and the Banks probably now figured out it’s the aeropost database was stolen. Visa will easily reimburse you and give you a new card . The main issues are loss of use of credit card and if there is a cost to the replacement card . Aeropost reset everyone’s saved credit card on the system if you check their app / website .they should have fessed up earlier rather than random early a Sunday morning hoping that no one would notice the email . They are a big a$$ company so it’s to identify who was doing their security for saved credit cards all this time

Postby VexXx Dogg » April 24th, 2022, 3:57 pm

Yup I got hit with this BS on Thurs. 1K USD on my card outta nowhere.

Aeropost only sent the email today, AFTER I already reported to my bank so I forwarded the email to them so it's part of their investigation documentation

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » April 24th, 2022, 4:00 pm

Also good thing I only have a $250 USD limit on my credit card. :lol:

Postby Kenjo » April 24th, 2022, 5:48 pm

DMan7 wrote:Also good thing I only have a $250 USD limit on my credit card. :lol:

It doesn’t matter . The credit card clears it within a couple days

dogg

Postby dogg » April 24th, 2022, 5:58 pm

Doesn't Pricesmart own Aeropost?

Are cards on Pricesmart's systems compromised too?

Strugglerzinc wrote:Warning for anyone with your CC saved on Aeropost. I got a $263 USD unauthorized charge on my Republic CC. Now i have to fight with Republic to get that back.

Your credit card may have been compromised

Dear Customer,

We regret to inform you that the credit card you have on file may have been compromised in a recent data breach. Although our systems safely store your credit card information encrypted, it may be possible that enforcers attempt to run transactions.

To prevent from further damage to be done, we recommend the following:

1.- Check your credit card statement for fraudulent transactions and report them to the credit card issuer.

2.- Request a credit card replacement.

As a preventive measure, we have reset your Aeropost account credentials and deleted your credit cards stored in our system.

In addition, know that Aeropost’s email communications regarding this incident will never ask you to provide personal or sensitive information.

We are truly sorry this incident occurred and sincerely regret any inconvenience it may cause you.

Thank you for your patience and loyalty to aeropost.com. If you have any further questions about this incident, send us an email to payments@aeropost.com.

The Aeropost Team

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » April 24th, 2022, 6:06 pm

Kenjo wrote:
DMan7 wrote:Also good thing I only have a $250 USD limit on my credit card. :lol:

I mean so I wouldn't lose as much as others in here if it ends up compromised.

Postby S_2NR » April 24th, 2022, 7:23 pm

DMan7 wrote:
Kenjo wrote:

You're not losing anything. The banks will forgive whatever the amount is after their investigation.

Postby j.o.e » April 24th, 2022, 7:29 pm

Got the email but so far nothing suspicious in credit card. Will cancel and replace this week

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » April 24th, 2022, 7:53 pm

S_2NR wrote:
DMan7 wrote:
Kenjo wrote:

You're not losing anything. The banks will forgive whatever the amount is after their investigation.

Well it's better not to go through the trouble either way.

Postby Kenjo » April 24th, 2022, 7:54 pm

DMan7 wrote:
S_2NR wrote:
DMan7 wrote:
Kenjo wrote:

If you are with them your card data has been compromised . It’s not if it’s been let out but a matter of when the hackers will use your card.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » April 24th, 2022, 7:59 pm

Kenjo wrote:
DMan7 wrote:
S_2NR wrote:
DMan7 wrote:
Kenjo wrote:

If you are with them your card data has been compromised . It’s not if it’s been let out but a matter of when the hackers will use your card.

I ain't with them though, thankfully enough.

Zalos

Postby Zalos » April 24th, 2022, 9:13 pm

Yeah I had gotten some charges on the 17th and reported it to the bank, still waiting on the replacement.
And later on I have 2 padnas get take too, 19th and yesterday.

But for something on this level, Aeropost could do better than an apology letter...

Blaze d Chalice

Postby Blaze d Chalice » April 24th, 2022, 10:57 pm

How aeropost end up with ollor cc number though?

When I join, the only option was cash.
It specifically said so.

Unless ollor was buying things from the website itself?

Postby Strugglerzinc » April 24th, 2022, 11:08 pm

Blaze d Chalice wrote:How aeropost end up with ollor cc number though?

It specifically said so.

During Covid lockdown when curbside pickup was the way to go, you had to register a card to pay before collecting. Continued to use that arrangement for delivery to have minimal interaction with the driver.

Now i back to COD.

The Official Skybox Thread: Take 2

Postby S_2NR » April 24th, 2022, 11:13 pm

DMan7 wrote:This is the best approach. However I don't know if it will work for buying something online which requires you to pre-pay.

I dont mind pre-paying US companies like amazon, ebay (with paypal), apple etc because there is more accountability and better customer service there.

Local companies is always cash on delivery in case they wanna play up in dey mc. If things don't go well, then is no money. And I walk away without raising my blood pressure.

Postby Kenjo » April 24th, 2022, 11:27 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:

It specifically said so.

During Covid lockdown when curbside pickup was the way to go, you had to register a card to pay before collecting. Continued to use that arrangement for delivery to have minimal interaction with the driver.

Now i back to COD.

Aeropost always had the ability to store your credit card and they charge on arrival into the country after customs clearance . I’m pretty sure it’s more than a decade that option there . It was especially convenient if it’s just for someone at home to collect your package and they don’t have to fight up to find a card or cash to pay

Zalos

Postby Zalos » April 25th, 2022, 10:09 am

Kenjo wrote:
Strugglerzinc wrote:

It specifically said so.

Now i back to COD.

Aeropost always had the ability to store your credit card and they charge on arrival into the country after customs clearance . I’m pretty sure it’s more than a decade that option there . It was especially convenient if it’s just for someone at home to collect your package and they don’t have to fight up to find a card or cash to pay

Especially how they closed some branches so to go collect and pay yourself was more hassle.
Wonder if theyll take paypal now

Postby j.o.e » April 25th, 2022, 10:17 am

Zalos wrote:Yeah I had gotten some charges on the 17th and reported it to the bank, still waiting on the replacement.

But for something on this level, Aeropost could do better than an apology letter...

More than an apology required for real. Because the cost and inconvenience is falling on the customer. My bank said because I am initiating the cancellation fees for reapplication and delivery are mine to bear. They said Aeropost hasn’t informed them and they’re still trying to ascertain the scope and nature of breach.
I’m also traveling soon and need my credit card so it’s either I risk card not being ready in time or fraudulent transactions start to pop up while I’m abroad. The people who are getting their card replaced automatically are those who already got hit

Zalos

Postby Zalos » April 25th, 2022, 10:22 am

j.o.e wrote:
Zalos wrote:Yeah I had gotten some charges on the 17th and reported it to the bank, still waiting on the replacement.

More than an apology required for real. Because the cost and inconvenience is falling on the customer. My bank said because I am initiating the cancellation fees for reapplication and delivery are mine to bear. They said Aeropost hasn’t informed them and they’re still trying to ascertain the scope and nature of breach.
I’m also traveling soon and need my credit card so it’s either I risk card not being ready in time or fraudulent transactions start to pop up while I’m abroad. The people who are getting their card replaced automatically are those who already got hit

Yeah I havent gotten called yet for replacement, so is a week now I without...
They tell me 3-5days, so the 5th day would be today.
Plus I have to pay the replacement fee.

Last time I waited a whole month to get a card...

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » April 25th, 2022, 10:28 am

^I've been using Paypal for Aeropost auto-payments for over a year, no issues thus far.

Zalos

Postby Zalos » April 25th, 2022, 11:05 am

shaneelal wrote:^I've been using Paypal for Aeropost auto-payments for over a year, no issues thus far.

Nice, I'll set that up then.

Postby Chimera » April 25th, 2022, 11:10 am

Postby VexXx Dogg » April 25th, 2022, 11:16 am

If FCB charging me for a replacement, I'm going to demand that Aeropost cover it.

I'll make a big stink for spite. That's just poor cybersecurity, so their insurance better cough up

Postby Chimera » April 25th, 2022, 11:19 am

Sometimes the banks does tell you that your reward miles or points are linked to your existing credit card. If you change the card you lose the miles/points.

So make sure and find out about that when you getting replacements

Postby j.o.e » April 25th, 2022, 11:26 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:If FCB charging me for a replacement, I'm going to demand that Aeropost cover it.

I'll make a big stink for spite. That's just poor cybersecurity, so their insurance better cough up

It was FCB I spoke to.

Postby VexXx Dogg » April 25th, 2022, 4:26 pm

I have just written them to request compensation of $100 for the card replacement. I said this compensation does not factor in the inconvenience of being without a card until a new one is re-issued, nor does it account for the reduced spending power while the investigation is ongoing.

I have time on my hands and badmind in meh skull, and I will keep you all posted as to what they say.

Postby S_2NR » April 25th, 2022, 4:43 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:I have just written them to request compensation of $100 for the card replacement. I said this compensation does not factor in the inconvenience of being without a card until a new one is re-issued, nor does it account for the reduced spending power while the investigation is ongoing.

I have time on my hands and badmind in meh skull, and I will keep you all posted as to what they say.

Well done

agent007

Postby agent007 » April 25th, 2022, 6:52 pm

I concur!