The Official Skybox Thread: Take 2

mitch1980

Re: The Official Skybox Thread: Take 2

Postby mitch1980 » May 9th, 2022, 1:52 pm

Zalos wrote:I havent heard anything from republic yet, go call them tomorrow.

So I had to replace CC with RBl as there 2 attempted purchases with my card on file with Aeropost.
RBL knew of the hack by Aeropost.

INDAVID WORKSHOP

Postby INDAVID WORKSHOP » May 9th, 2022, 2:56 pm

mitch1980 wrote:
Zalos wrote:I havent heard anything from republic yet, go call them tomorrow.

So I had to replace CC with RBl as there 2 attempted purchases with my card on file with Aeropost.
RBL knew of the hack by Aeropost.

Same with my RBC card, hacked via the issue with Aeropost. Expect replacement card this week

Zalos

Postby Zalos » May 10th, 2022, 2:14 pm

For those that tried Seabox, how long did it take from them recieving the package to deivery?

Postby hover11 » May 10th, 2022, 2:16 pm

Zalos wrote:For those that tried Seabox, how long did it take from them recieving the package to deivery?
Usually for me it takes two weeks however due to cost reduction exercises such as instead of weekly sailings they have fortnightly sailings now it has pushed back to three weeks to a month

Zalos

Postby Zalos » May 10th, 2022, 2:22 pm

hover11 wrote:
Zalos wrote:For those that tried Seabox, how long did it take from them recieving the package to deivery?
Usually for me it takes two weeks however due to cost reduction exercises such as instead of weekly sailings they have fortnightly sailings now it has pushed back to three weeks to a month

Fortnightly you say.
Well I testing them out. Waiting on something that ship since 27th April.

Thanks for the info.

Postby Kenjo » May 10th, 2022, 4:45 pm

hover11 wrote:

Correct

Postby Chimera » May 10th, 2022, 6:12 pm

What went on with the fellas who waiting 8 months for their bluesky stuff

Postby *KRONIK* » May 11th, 2022, 6:38 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:What went on with the fellas who waiting 8 months for their bluesky stuff
They musbe still waiting

Postby Dave » May 11th, 2022, 6:41 am

Blue sky's office in Chaguanas does seem busy. Wonder what they are busy doing?
Maybe one day for kicks will walk in and pretend to be a potential customer.

Postby pugboy » May 11th, 2022, 6:56 am

part of the delay is the customs officer appointment system for clearing goods/containers, adds a few days well
but tbh I would not be surprised if they ship less frequently

Kenjo wrote:
hover11 wrote:

Correct

Postby Kenjo » May 11th, 2022, 7:35 am

pugboy wrote:part of the delay is the customs officer appointment system for clearing goods/containers, adds a few days well

Kenjo wrote:
hover11 wrote:

Correct

They stated in emails the shipping is less frequently

Postby pugboy » May 11th, 2022, 7:47 am

ok, i didnt read those emails but last few times I went to collect you could see it is a lot less volume in the warehouse

Kenjo wrote:
pugboy wrote:part of the delay is the customs officer appointment system for clearing goods/containers, adds a few days well

Kenjo wrote:
hover11 wrote:

Correct

They stated in emails the shipping is less frequently

Postby Chimera » May 11th, 2022, 9:27 am

Dave wrote:Blue sky's office in Chaguanas does seem busy. Wonder what they are busy doing?
Maybe one day for kicks will walk in and pretend to be a potential customer.
If I'm not mistaken they do local courier service/shopping.
You can order groceries through them locally as well as use them to transport packages locally.

The issue where people are waiting 8 months for items is specific to one container load of items. Everything else is shipping as normal

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » May 12th, 2022, 10:41 am

So I know all computer peripherals are now exempt from customs duties and VAT after gov’t implemented the legislation.

However does this apply regardless of the value of the item?

So say a network switch costing US$3,000 is brought in, would it be exempt from duties and vat?

Note it is being billed to a company (commercial). Would that have any impact on it now being subject to duties and vat?

Postby Rory Phoulorie » May 12th, 2022, 10:59 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:What went on with the fellas who waiting 8 months for their bluesky stuff

I was waiting for a few months, but not 8 months.

They eventually delivered the item. But the charges to me were much less than I expected given that I was truthful with the invoice amount and item description. Probably they gave me a discount for the inconvenience. The item was not time critical, so it was not too much of an inconvenience.

Postby Chimera » May 12th, 2022, 11:11 am

dredman1 wrote:So I know all computer peripherals are now exempt from customs duties and VAT after gov’t implemented the legislation.

However does this apply regardless of the value of the item?

So say a network switch costing US$3,000 is brought in, would it be exempt from duties and vat?

Note it is being billed to a company (commercial). Would that have any impact on it now being subject to duties and vat?

you wouldnt have to pay duties or vat once its exempted but anything over 2600 or 2700 US, that is close to $20,000 TT in value
Customs will bond it and you will have to do a customs entry and get an appointment to clear customs
this could take 1 to 3 weeks and you will have to pay storage fees everyday its there

after this, they might charge you $10 in customs fees and $350 to $1000 in storage fees

so keep in mind...anything over 2600 US..is delays

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » May 12th, 2022, 11:25 am

^^^ Thanks

Blaze d Chalice

Postby Blaze d Chalice » May 12th, 2022, 11:42 am

I still send up the invoice for Aeropost because they use that to calculate the insurance.

Postby Chimera » May 12th, 2022, 12:52 pm

Anyone ship with websource recently?
I eh use them long time but are they still taking 2 weeks?

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » May 12th, 2022, 2:53 pm

Just had 2 packages delivered to their MIA office - one last week friday and one yesterday, and have a third one scheduled to be delivered to them on Monday.

Their email acknowledging receipt of the first package said it scheduled to arrive in T&T on Wed 12th, and the second package said scheduled to arrive Friday 13th, but both if them also said a further 6 to 8 day delay with clearance after that *shrugs*

I’ll update on timeframes here once I get them.

Postby st7 » May 12th, 2022, 4:13 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:Anyone ship with websource recently?
I eh use them long time but are they still taking 2 weeks?

i ordered an item last month.

It reached websource on monday 18th, websource send me an email on thursday 21st

received item on the 27th.

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » May 13th, 2022, 7:05 am

dredman1 wrote:Just had 2 packages delivered to their MIA office - one last week friday and one yesterday, and have a third one scheduled to be delivered to them on Monday.

Their email acknowledging receipt of the first package said it scheduled to arrive in T&T on Wed 12th, and the second package said scheduled to arrive Friday 13th, but both if them also said a further 6 to 8 day delay with clearance after that *shrugs*

UPDATE: Invoice for the first item received last nite. Status was saying “Pre-selected delivery” so it should be received today.

Musical Doc

Postby Musical Doc » May 13th, 2022, 11:25 am

dredman1 wrote:
dredman1 wrote:Just had 2 packages delivered to their MIA office - one last week friday and one yesterday, and have a third one scheduled to be delivered to them on Monday.

UPDATE: Invoice for the first item received last nite. Status was saying “Pre-selected delivery” so it should be received today.

I had one delivered miami on the 6th and was supposed to come to trinidad on the 10th. Site still saying that it in miami..... I thought it woulda be clearing from customs all now :/

Zalos

Postby Zalos » May 13th, 2022, 11:42 am

Seabox delivering my package today.

Not bad

Musical Doc

Postby Musical Doc » May 13th, 2022, 1:31 pm

Musical Doc wrote:
dredman1 wrote:

I had one delivered miami on the 6th and was supposed to come to trinidad on the 10th. Site still saying that it in miami..... I thought it woulda be clearing from customs all now :/

Queried it with websource and they confirmed that it is still in miami awaiting the next available flight in. First time this happened to me. Hoping this doesn't happen for the other packages I have on the way

trintee

Postby trintee » May 13th, 2022, 5:41 pm

typically how long does a package stay in transit for through tropical?

eurotuner

Postby eurotuner » May 16th, 2022, 7:06 am

How guys, I was going through the thread and not sure if I missed it,
but is there anyone who can ship odd size packages for a reasonable cost?
I have a package that is long and thin 54" long x 6 x 6
Getting some issues finding the right shipping company,
any recommendations?

Kronik

Postby Kronik » May 16th, 2022, 10:13 pm

eurotuner wrote:How guys, I was going through the thread and not sure if I missed it,
but is there anyone who can ship odd size packages for a reasonable cost?
I have a package that is long and thin 54" long x 6 x 6
Getting some issues finding the right shipping company,
any recommendations?
That not too odd shaped, I shipped down a crankshaft already, box was about 8x8x42. And I see many packages that smaller than 6x6 and is like 6-7ft long.

They will just calculate the volumetric weight or actual weight (depending on who is your skybox), and charge you for which ever is bigger

Postby Dave » May 18th, 2022, 6:28 am

Have things been getting better? Item reached Miami Friday last and today, Wednesday out for delivery.
Typically it was a week turnaround.

greggle71

Postby greggle71 » May 18th, 2022, 6:58 am

Question - does any local skybox companies do outbound shipping? I have a package to send to Orlando. DHL trying to dig out meh eye with cost, I don’t need 3 day delivery to justify the cost.