Re: The Official Skybox Thread: Take 2

Postby TrinbagoMan » January 3rd, 2020, 10:23 am

Is there any skybox that consolidates?

Postby *KRONIK* » January 3rd, 2020, 11:43 am

Jsl speedpak
TrinbagoMan wrote:Is there any skybox that consolidates?

TrinbagoMan

Postby TrinbagoMan » January 3rd, 2020, 2:03 pm

They have some bad reviews, so I am hesitant to go with them. They look less than professional. They have a whole website and no contact info on it.

I prefer to go with a more reputable company.

Postby *KRONIK* » January 3rd, 2020, 2:40 pm

Lol

They a lil old school
TrinbagoMan wrote:They have some bad reviews, so I am hesitant to go with them. They look less than professional. They have a whole website and no contact info on it.

I prefer to go with a more reputable company.

stroke

Postby stroke » January 29th, 2020, 3:26 pm

Does anyone know if I can bring in a 2 part, 1 gallon tabletop epoxy kit, I.e. base and hardner?

Postby *KRONIK* » January 29th, 2020, 3:42 pm

Depends on the skybox hazmat policy
stroke wrote:Does anyone know if I can bring in a 2 part, 1 gallon tabletop epoxy kit, I.e. base and hardner?

Postby Dave » January 29th, 2020, 7:43 pm

That sounds hazmatish. Call your provider and see.

casper

Postby casper » January 30th, 2020, 8:01 am

anyone else using Tropical Express in POS and thinks that after your package reaches their Miami warehouse that it takes ridiculously long to reach the ready to pick up stage in Trinidad?

with Websource after it reaches their warehouse it usually used to take 2-3 days and id have the item in hand...with tropical even after i get the email from UPS saying they delivered the items, i get the email from tropical like 2 days after saying they receieved the packages in their Miami warehouse...after that, it takes like roughly a week to actually get my items in hand. Dont know whats going on with Tropical these days but they've gotten realllllly slow

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » January 30th, 2020, 1:45 pm

boy i was studyin to go tropical despite that yearly fee that only dem have but hearing this it seems all dem sky and seabox ppl except websource just not reliable.
Another bad seabox experience here to compound my dissatisfaction with them, package bought since Black Friday, reach seabox since Dec 3rd and yet as of today folks i cannot receive my package and totally non-existent communication. There excuse thus far is my contact # is wrong on file, mind you as part of same purchase some other packages were received by me since December 20th and the courier had no problem contacting me.
Their story now is Monday 3rd February i will receive a call from the courier to receive my package, thats 2 months exactly since reaching miami, allyuh cud tell me about these clowns and dem. Stick to Websource and pay d lil xtra fees wi, dem always does deliver and ontime and with generous discounts on valuations always.

Postby *KRONIK* » January 30th, 2020, 2:36 pm

Tropical getting me mad these days

Thing taking literally a whole week to come.

And they recently switched to volumetric weight for their ocean service, so that just $hit up their service even more.

d.d.s.

Postby d.d.s. » January 30th, 2020, 9:12 pm

casper wrote:anyone else using Tropical Express in POS and thinks that after your package reaches their Miami warehouse that it takes ridiculously long to reach the ready to pick up stage in Trinidad?

with Websource after it reaches their warehouse it usually used to take 2-3 days and id have the item in hand...with tropical even after i get the email from UPS saying they delivered the items, i get the email from tropical like 2 days after saying they receieved the packages in their Miami warehouse...after that, it takes like roughly a week to actually get my items in hand. Dont know whats going on with Tropical these days but they've gotten realllllly slow
Same with Jetbox now yes.
Emails late.
Taking a week or more from Miami to Trinidad.
Never sends invoice.
Closed on weekends.
At least they're still answering the phone.

Postby pugboy » January 30th, 2020, 9:18 pm

That must be some kind of mixup
I use seabox all the time and a good few times since Black Friday.

daxt0r wrote:boy i was studyin to go tropical despite that yearly fee that only dem have but hearing this it seems all dem sky and seabox ppl except websource just not reliable.
Another bad seabox experience here to compound my dissatisfaction with them, package bought since Black Friday, reach seabox since Dec 3rd and yet as of today folks i cannot receive my package and totally non-existent communication. There excuse thus far is my contact # is wrong on file, mind you as part of same purchase some other packages were received by me since December 20th and the courier had no problem contacting me.
Their story now is Monday 3rd February i will receive a call from the courier to receive my package, thats 2 months exactly since reaching miami, allyuh cud tell me about these clowns and dem. Stick to Websource and pay d lil xtra fees wi, dem always does deliver and ontime and with generous discounts on valuations always.

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » January 31st, 2020, 9:16 am

A mixup does cause CSRs to take 2 days to respond to an email or not notice a problem until i complain i not receiving my package?

i figure dey jus braksin from coming south and looking for excuse, i for one will just pay d extra wit websource in future seaboxtt too disgusting and customer support nonexistent.

Postby gastly369 » February 29th, 2020, 11:46 am

Sooooo anyone got issues with items requiring 3rd party broker for clearing of items now?

This is a major fkup for small business

Postby paid_influencer » February 29th, 2020, 5:52 pm

gastly369 wrote:Sooooo anyone got issues with items requiring 3rd party broker for clearing of items now?

yup. that is the latest tactic for the 1% to kill competition from skybox companies.

I brought in two packages from Amazon, each about 1lb and with $20 US worth of stuff each. Cost to clear:

$100 TTD for freight
$80 TTD for duty/tax
$600+ TTD for third-party customs brokerage/entry fees/cheques

:drinking:

Postby supercharged turbo » February 29th, 2020, 6:16 pm

What 3rd party broker?Last package I received was earlier this month and it didn't have anything like that
paid_influencer wrote:
gastly369 wrote:Sooooo anyone got issues with items requiring 3rd party broker for clearing of items now?

yup. that is the latest tactic for the 1% to kill competition from skybox companies.

I brought in two packages from Amazon, each about 1lb and with $20 US worth of stuff each. Cost to clear:

$100 TTD for freight
$80 TTD for duty/tax
$600+ TTD for third-party customs brokerage/entry fees/cheques

:drinking:

Postby paid_influencer » February 29th, 2020, 6:25 pm

supercharged turbo wrote:What 3rd party broker?Last package I received was earlier this month and it didn't have anything like that

packages earlier this month were fine.

the 'new thing' is for customs to bond courier packages to business customers, pending an entry. Your either wait for the skybox company to get to it (was told several weeks, they are severely backlogged) or get your own broker to do it, which costs time and money.

Postby supercharged turbo » February 29th, 2020, 7:01 pm

What the actual f*ck you saying.That is rel nonsense.

Postby The_Honourable » February 29th, 2020, 7:15 pm

Saw this floating on fb

Postby gastly369 » March 1st, 2020, 11:15 am

Killed to online shopping for the regular person....

2020 and we catching ass the buy online. Ooo great t&t

Postby adnj » March 1st, 2020, 11:54 am

gastly369 wrote:Killed to online shopping for the regular person....

If you are importing for resale to the public, a value of more than TT$20,000, for use in your own business or office, or quantities that appear to be for resale, your shipment will likely be bonded and require a broker for clearance.

Postby gastly369 » March 1st, 2020, 12:23 pm

Quantities that appear for resale....
So if u bring in something in bulk for personal use... Promotional items etc for giveaways how would that work?

As other person above also got the issue with something simple as $20usd item

adnj wrote:
gastly369 wrote:Killed to online shopping for the regular person....

If you are importing for resale to the public, a value of more than TT$20,000, for use in your own business or office, or quantities that appear to be for resale, your shipment will likely be bonded and require a broker for clearance.

Postby paid_influencer » March 1st, 2020, 12:46 pm

bonding high-value shipments (over $2,500 USD) or large commercial quantities is not new.

The bonding of almost all courier shipments to business customers is definitely new.

It is absurd and backward that customs is asking for a broker for tiny items and small packages now.

Postby Chimera » March 1st, 2020, 1:00 pm

Your skybox company is suppose to be your broker though. Wtf you paying them all that money per lb for

Postby The_Honourable » March 1st, 2020, 1:07 pm

Letter to the editor

Postby pete » March 1st, 2020, 3:46 pm

What I'd suggest.. Change your account to personal and pay the OPT on small $ items? Have a separate account for large $ purchases and negotiate with a customs broker for decent rates.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 3rd, 2020, 5:27 pm

Postby pugboy » March 3rd, 2020, 5:33 pm

I never knew a skybox registered under business was opt free
Well it is obvious persons will exploit that.

Postby supercharged turbo » March 3rd, 2020, 7:09 pm

pugboy wrote:I never knew a skybox registered under business was opt free
Well it is obvious persons will exploit that.

snow7940

Postby snow7940 » April 5th, 2020, 11:59 am

anyone ever use skybox .net i was wondering who they deliver with in trinidad