Orchid lovers a min plz

MonsterPower

Orchid lovers a min plz

Postby MonsterPower » January 3rd, 2014, 8:19 am

Was given this plant for Christmas and I noticed this shoot seperate from the plant,now it's like a piece of stick with roots at either end and leaves in the middle.question is can I cut the middle and plant it or will the plant die if I do that?
Last edited by MonsterPower on January 3rd, 2014, 9:18 am, edited 1 time in total.

Re: Orchid lovers a min plz

Postby SMc » January 3rd, 2014, 9:10 am

MonsterPower wrote:Was given this plant for Christmas and I noticed this shoot seperate from the plant,now it's like a piece of stick with roots at either end and leaves in the middle.question is can I cut themiddleandpkantitor will the plant die if I do that?

I want to answer but that word has trown off my thought process...

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » January 3rd, 2014, 9:16 am

sorry there .. still trying to cope with fat fingers and ipad. i meant cut the plant in the middle and plant it or the plant will die if i do that

Postby tr1ad » January 3rd, 2014, 9:18 am

i tawt this was about pack joose

Postby eliteauto » January 3rd, 2014, 10:53 am

from the pic I can't see if you've got 2 shoots there or one, best bet is to cut a bit of the dry part on the right and plant the rest as is, are you potting or growing on a post/stick/tree? That piece is searching for food so get some rotting wood and charcoal/clay and pot it in an orchid pot, you can get orchid mix and a pot at the plant shop

New_SPECIES

Postby New_SPECIES » January 3rd, 2014, 12:34 pm

tr1ad wrote:i tawt this was about pack joose

Postby SMc » January 3rd, 2014, 1:12 pm

In the past I would 'plant' something like that in half a dry coconut. I used take out seed/shell and put some gravel and charcoal in the space, put the orchid on that then wrap a piece of chicken wire over it to keep it together and just leave as is until well established.

Some of them going for over 15 years in the same coconut shell, even though the entire thing covered in roots.

Postby gastly369 » January 3rd, 2014, 2:02 pm

Happy birthday !! orch... oh wait nvm

Postby Spitfir3 » January 3rd, 2014, 2:31 pm

^^ :lol:

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » January 3rd, 2014, 6:46 pm

elite and smc thanks for the replies.. the shoot was apiece of stalk with branches in the middle and roots on either end .. what i ended up doing is cutting it in the middle and potting it with coconut husk ,charcoal and gravel mixture .

what about watering schedule? all my other plants get a daily watering do i continue with the same or do they require a special treatment?

Postby X_Factor » January 3rd, 2014, 7:04 pm

anyone interested in trading orchid plants?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 4th, 2014, 2:20 pm

yh^^...now trying to collect

@opee,that's a fresh plant,it's very easy to just pull the plant from the root and set it elsewhere.pulling the entire root with plant attached would do no harm...I have done it several times.

Trini_Gyul

Postby Trini_Gyul » January 4th, 2014, 3:10 pm

If you have it on the husk, once it's still moist you don't need to water. Overwatering can rot the roots. X_Factor, I don't mind trading!

Trini_Gyul

Postby Trini_Gyul » January 4th, 2014, 3:22 pm

If you have it on the husk, once it's still moist you don't need to water. Overwatering can rot the roots. X_Factor, I don't mind trading!

doublesman

Postby doublesman » January 4th, 2014, 4:17 pm

To prevent bacteria from getting to the cut portions of the stalk you cut, apply some cinnamon powder to the cut parts. Always use sharp, clean shears when cutting. I'm interested in trading as well. Check out CJ's orchids on fb. They are located close to Pricesmart in chaguanas.

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » January 4th, 2014, 6:27 pm

doublesman thanks for the ideas will look for them .
trinigyul i will keep that in mind.

i bought some shredded coconut husk at the agro shop , was inexpensive as well as various sizes of clay pots. will try my hand and see how lucky i am at orchids.my mum has the hand as she has lots and lots of plants.
My real love is roses tho .

Postby X_Factor » January 4th, 2014, 7:27 pm

i'll post some pics
we sold about 50 plants shoots like what MP posted before xmas
but ppl only pay 15$ for a shoot

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 4th, 2014, 11:09 pm

pics be nice...been planting orchids a few years and I notice they adapt well to coals and red bricks...idk d science behind it doh

doublesman

Postby doublesman » January 4th, 2014, 11:44 pm

Ppl who buy orchids should really check out the ppl I mentioned earlier. They have some of the best prices I've seen in the whole of Trinidad. Very nice plants too. Btw, what alyuh have to trade? Post pics nah.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 5th, 2014, 10:23 am

example of prices^?

doublesman

Postby doublesman » February 25th, 2014, 6:45 pm

Dendrobiums with flower from as low as $50. Phals with flower- hybrids from $100. That's good prices man.

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » February 25th, 2014, 7:28 pm

Bought from her many times, she's a joy to deal with really.