WTK : MAINTANANCE OF AN INTEX ABOVE GROUND POOL

jsr

WTK : MAINTANANCE OF AN INTEX ABOVE GROUND POOL

Postby jsr » February 22nd, 2014, 7:53 am

I have one of those large 15 foot INTEX above ground pools however it seems as i amy need to add some treament to keep the inside of the pool walls from feeling slimy.

anyone with these pools to give some advice?

-Roach-

Re: WTK : MAINTANANCE OF AN INTEX ABOVE GROUND POOL

Postby -Roach- » February 22nd, 2014, 8:15 am

Empty the pool and give it a nice scrub out and pressure wash... Then...

Invest in one of these...

http://www.amazon.com/Intex-15-Foot-Rou ... 8F8KKHY0RN

And this..

http://www.amazon.com/Intex-Pool-Mainte ... B003D88VTI

When the pool is not in use then use the cover... It helps alot...

As far as chemicals in concerned, there's a place in trincity mall that deals with the intex brand... I believe they will have what you looking for or can advise you according...

jsr

Postby jsr » February 22nd, 2014, 9:09 pm

thanks the pool came with a cover but i did not use it as yet

Postby wagonrunner » February 23rd, 2014, 1:29 am

don't empty the pool. it is a pain to scrub empty.
scrub while the pool is up. use your skimmer and filter, chlorine tablets or even bleach when pool is going to be inactive for days.

for the average "dirty" pool, if you can bathe in a river, your pool would cleaner.

jsr

Postby jsr » February 24th, 2014, 7:42 am

thanks

WM_Tuner

Postby WM_Tuner » February 24th, 2014, 9:02 am

You need to
- add algicide to the pool, a shock treatment of 10-12 oz. A bottle costs about $150 for 24oz.
- add chlorine tablets to the pool, you need a chlorine dispenser for this, it floats in the pool while the tablets dissolve, and you leave this in all the time.
- run the filter pump for 8 hrs after this, clean out the filter.
If you don't treat it soon, the slimy will get worse, and the water will turn green on you...then you'll end up having to empty and refill. The pool is a lot of work to keep clean, but if you do regular maintenance it will keep the water clean for a long time.

jsr

Postby jsr » February 24th, 2014, 10:40 am

thanks again

Postby gastly369 » December 23rd, 2021, 12:13 pm

Yeh peeps like nobody have 5in1 3" chlorine tablets... checked paradise pool, surfside, goupauls, allied and water source

Anywhere else may have that I can check?

Postby eliteauto » December 23rd, 2021, 12:27 pm

Is that the one with the blue flecks in it? Super Quality supermarket had recently, I buy the regular tabs by Surfside and use the liquid shock

Postby gastly369 » December 23rd, 2021, 12:59 pm

eliteauto wrote:Is that the one with the blue flecks in it? Super Quality supermarket had recently, I buy the regular tabs by Surfside and use the liquid shock
Yeh with the specks in it

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 23rd, 2021, 1:14 pm

gastly369 wrote:Yeh peeps like nobody have 5in1 3" chlorine tablets... checked paradise pool, surfside, goupauls, allied and water source

Anywhere else may have that I can check?

Bhagwansingh's Trincity has regular chlorine tabs and I bought some in Allied this month - $20 for one though

Postby pugboy » December 23rd, 2021, 1:28 pm

yuh could always switch to a saltwater system
much nicer experience

Postby eliteauto » December 23rd, 2021, 1:38 pm

Anyone upgraded and have an old Intex pump? Looking for one working or non working

Postby gastly369 » December 23rd, 2021, 1:57 pm

pugboy wrote:yuh could always switch to a saltwater system
much nicer experience
Considering it in the future... But the 5in1 is almost maintenance free tbh keeps water crystal clear since never had cloudy water

But I do daily checks and every other day I vacuum

nismotrinidappa

Postby nismotrinidappa » January 26th, 2022, 12:32 pm

Where can I get something suitable as a ground cloth? I put a blue crocus bag type thin tarpaulin and new pool get a big hole and pin hole. So I empty and hang up and found the holes after a quick inspection. Should I get the thick tarpaulin like what transport drivers use?

Postby alfa » January 26th, 2022, 12:42 pm

nismotrinidappa wrote:Where can I get something suitable as a ground cloth? I put a blue crocus bag type thin tarpaulin and new pool get a big hole and pin hole. So I empty and hang up and found the holes after a quick inspection. Should I get the thick tarpaulin like what transport drivers use?

Main thing is to smooth out the ground first and remove any large stones. Then apply a layer of fine sand about an inch thick. As for the ground cover I used normal hardware vinyl

nismotrinidappa

Postby nismotrinidappa » January 28th, 2022, 9:10 am

I cast the ground and level it. But I saw one or two areas where a lil stone in the concrete embedded. So I will have to hit them some small sledge and smooth it back. And still looking for thicker vinyl. There is a drain nearby so dont really want to use the sand to wash away

Postby gastly369 » January 28th, 2022, 9:15 am

I put down foundation and got 2 rolls rubber matting from dumore enterprise sando.. Covered entire base used the tarp ontop the rubber and put down pool after

Postby gastly369 » January 28th, 2022, 9:17 am

IMG_20211011_144602.jpg

Postby gastly369 » January 28th, 2022, 9:20 am

IMG_20220106_131226.jpg

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 28th, 2022, 9:22 am

gastly369 wrote:.
IMG_20220106_131226.jpg

Nice!
What brand of pool is that?

Postby gastly369 » January 28th, 2022, 9:27 am

gastly369 wrote:.
IMG_20220106_131226.jpg

Nice!
What brand of pool is that?
That's the intex ultra XTR
Did full automated pump, lights etc

Keyser Soze

Postby Keyser Soze » January 28th, 2022, 2:02 pm

OP and others, in my humble opinion and experience if you don't change the original filter and pump for one of a higher GPH then you are doomed to always clean and drain often. was trying to upload pics of mine but was getting an error.
2500 GPH pump, 15ft diameter intex, regular chlorine treatment, daily filter clean, change when needed, hasn't been drained for almost a year. crystal clear water.

Postby gastly369 » January 28th, 2022, 2:14 pm

Get a nice hayward good gph pump and sand filter can't go wrong
Paradise pools have decent options
Skimmer is a life saver upgrade as well with cleaning

nismotrinidappa

Postby nismotrinidappa » April 11th, 2022, 1:13 pm

Keyser Soze wrote:OP and others, in my humble opinion and experience if you don't change the original filter and pump for one of a higher GPH then you are doomed to always clean and drain often. was trying to upload pics of mine but was getting an error.
2500 GPH pump, 15ft diameter intex, regular chlorine treatment, daily filter clean, change when needed, hasn't been drained for almost a year. crystal clear water.

True. I bought a 7 x10 pool. It came with a little baby pump . Real pressure with that. I got a bigger pump using the A size filter but the big seal missing. Anybody know where I can get a seal kit. And the pool cleaning kit reasonable

Postby alfa » April 11th, 2022, 1:49 pm

nismotrinidappa wrote:
Keyser Soze wrote:OP and others, in my humble opinion and experience if you don't change the original filter and pump for one of a higher GPH then you are doomed to always clean and drain often. was trying to upload pics of mine but was getting an error.

True. I bought a 7 x10 pool. It came with a little baby pump . Real pressure with that. I got a bigger pump using the A size filter but the big seal missing. Anybody know where I can get a seal kit. And the pool cleaning kit reasonable

Pool cleaning kit and supplies in gopaul lands marabella in the toy store section. Not sure about the seal

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 11th, 2022, 2:16 pm

Looking for a 16ft Intex round pool
16ft 48" or 52"
Only seeing 15ft and 18ft in stock locally

Postby Ben_spanna » April 11th, 2022, 2:25 pm

Get a good Water submersible pump and a 5 gallon pail bucket, make your own gravity filter , easy scrub of vinyl inside then throw in a half a gallon of regular bleach and leave it over night, yuh good to go tomorrow.

Postby gastly369 » April 11th, 2022, 2:39 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Looking for a 16ft Intex round pool
16ft 48" or 52"
Only seeing 15ft and 18ft in stock locally
Goupauls lands have the 16x48 ultra xtl atm best pool in its class

Did a little deck floor print
Point%20Blur_Apr112022_143726.jpg