Ole SChool Challenge....

Re: Chase Charlie Away!!

Postby RBphoto » May 17th, 2012, 1:20 pm

Peanut Punch wrote:ya i remember charlie lol ... & my quick bunny & the days when I would dig my little hands in the pan of klim milk powder just to find them lil toys :)

Frico had the space toys. Klim had toys?

I feddup try to drink my quick by sucking on the end of ths spoon used to mix it because I thought it was what the quick bunny was slurping with.

Postby ismithx » May 17th, 2012, 1:23 pm

cinco wrote:
Hook wrote::lol: remember the "eye in the sky" traffic report from the helicopter every weekday morning?

ole fart

yeah i can remember this....

Postby skylinechild » May 17th, 2012, 2:02 pm

Hook wrote:There used to be a story in the Republic Reader yuh know. Can't remember which one, might've been Book 5. The one with the story about cocaine in the LPG tank on the Tobago Ferry and the Roger Gibbon story. I'm not sure if students still use that book, but I'm certain it's there.

I have all 5 books. i will check and get back to you.

Postby Habit7 » May 17th, 2012, 2:28 pm

If allyuh get me vex I'll start "The only safe sex is maritial sex..."

Postby RBphoto » May 17th, 2012, 2:35 pm

"And if you don't have golden ray........"

Peanut Punch

Postby Peanut Punch » May 17th, 2012, 2:50 pm

Peanut Punch wrote:ya i remember charlie lol ... & my quick bunny & the days when I would dig my little hands in the pan of klim milk powder just to find them lil toys :)

You mean Frico don't you?

hhhmm maybe i was real little ... my mission was just to get that toy lol

Postby Hook » May 17th, 2012, 2:54 pm

there are 2nrs who still have those toys eh :lol:

Postby Morpheus » May 17th, 2012, 10:07 pm

"A swizzle stick?" :?

"BIG"

Postby Les Bain » May 17th, 2012, 10:14 pm

Habit7 wrote:

If allyuh get me vex I'll start "The only safe sex is maritial sex..."

How vex to get you if I want some Pullstones & Ahow strips?

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » May 17th, 2012, 10:39 pm

(...Rovin...) wrote:i bet 1\2 of tuner probably wasnt even born as yet when it had d charlie campaign , some ppl didnt know when it had only TTT & a handful of radio stations too .... :|

Not a handful, its only had two

i cant remember everything too good nah but iirc on A.M frequency it had a station too not so ? (was it 610 radio ?) , they had american top 40 on a sunday afternoon on that station

that nagib elias ad with d walking man was a classic indeed

i remember d gypsy\gulf 1 & d sprangalang lalls ads too ...

Postby cinco » May 17th, 2012, 10:47 pm

to me that gypsy ad wasnt so long ago

Postby Morpheus » May 17th, 2012, 11:40 pm

^^Yeah it was long ago. You've been hearing it recently because they've been using it again.

Chase Charlie Away!!

Postby Hook » May 18th, 2012, 12:16 am

Yeh, I think I heard the Gulf ad again recently as well...sounded like a newer recording tho

Postby Habit7 » May 18th, 2012, 12:29 am

Les Bain wrote:How vex to get you if I want some Pullstones & Ahow strips?

That is what you join tuner to post?

Hance Rampersad

Postby Hance Rampersad » May 18th, 2012, 7:46 am

How many if us remember :-

1. David Elcock in the morning show.
2. Faiz Ali and Sharon Pitt on radio 95

Real broadcasters with substance.

Those were the days when you needed to speak and write proper English in order to get a job in broadcasting. Now we have a set of illiterate broadcasters who think they are promoting culture by speaking broken English consistently on radio.

Postby Greypatch » May 18th, 2012, 8:37 am

a charlie will be most difficult to find...u could try a primary school to see if they have anything in their store rooms..

Postby Morpheus » May 18th, 2012, 11:54 am

1. David Elcock in the morning show.
2. Faiz Ali and Sharon Pitt on radio 95

^^Wheyyy David Elcock.......in the morrrning yes! LoL

Postby Hook » May 18th, 2012, 1:29 pm

I haven't heard anything of "Big Brother Dave" Elcock since he left the country many years ago. Is he still alive?

Postby rollingstock » May 18th, 2012, 1:39 pm

Hook wrote:I haven't heard anything of "Big Brother Dave" Elcock since he left the country many years ago. Is he still alive?

Yeah saw him at a comedy show recently.

btw who remembered when he tripped off on live radio?

Postby Dizzy28 » May 18th, 2012, 1:48 pm

An ad that stood out for me from back in the days was for one of them insurance companies with Kitch running from jumbies and thing and he end up in a grave (was in black and white)

Postby Hook » May 18th, 2012, 1:55 pm

Apparently he was here only a few years ago.

http://test.guardian.co.tt/index.php?q= ... oadcasting

Postby Hook » May 18th, 2012, 2:01 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:An ad that stood out for me from back in the days was for one of them insurance companies with Kitch running from jumbies and thing and he end up in a grave (was in black and white)

That was an old Guardian Life ad to the tune of "Love In The Cemetery". There was one with Sparrow using "Ten-to-One Is Murder" as well.

blacklight

Postby blacklight » May 18th, 2012, 2:35 pm

Chase Charlie Away is owned by the late Pat Bishop, she has all rights to the character. Who ever inherited her estate should be able to get you a copy. Otherwise check SWMCOL, they were affiliated with the campaign.

Postby SmokeyGTi » May 18th, 2012, 2:37 pm

Hook wrote:There used to be a story in the Republic Reader yuh know. Can't remember which one, might've been Book 5. The one with the story about cocaine in the LPG tank on the Tobago Ferry and the Roger Gibbon story. I'm not sure if students still use that book, but I'm certain it's there.

hoss yuh bringing back memories there...i remember the charlie bit. It was a pretty good campaign back then.

redsupra101

Re: Ole time snacks

Postby redsupra101 » October 25th, 2012, 11:38 am

Mopsy come back yo

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » October 25th, 2012, 11:45 am

I remember mopsy.. it was dry as fack!..

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » October 25th, 2012, 11:53 am

Who remembers this HI-C commercial?

Postby nervewrecker » October 25th, 2012, 1:40 pm

now maff my boss pack of mopsy...

genghis

Postby genghis » October 25th, 2012, 1:52 pm

ZOOMERS!

and ALL the Planters, not the ones it have now.
it was a very different taste!

I re discovered the coco rico in curacao.

you all remember when walls come out?

Postby nervewrecker » October 25th, 2012, 1:59 pm

where sells jawbreakers guys?