Town and country planning approval

Biggs3ne

Re: Town and country planning approval

Postby Biggs3ne » August 6th, 2014, 7:15 am

Can someone build a property on land in a residential area then get it T&C approved?

Is this Illegal?
Is there a penalty for this?

Postby pugboy » August 6th, 2014, 7:31 am

no, you can be reported to the local city council and stopped

link

Postby link » August 6th, 2014, 8:43 am

but...who will report u ?? & even if 'someone' does that (like I did) NOBODY WILL TAKE U ON...unless u have 'connections' *effers*

Biggs3ne

Postby Biggs3ne » August 7th, 2014, 12:39 pm

The House is already built and I highly doubt that the person got T&C approval...oh well

Seeker

Postby Seeker » August 7th, 2014, 4:05 pm

This thread is really informative. I am looking to formulate plans to build but it looks like
real headache with the powers that be. Hmmmm.

Postby pugboy » August 7th, 2014, 5:53 pm

if land is leasehold land and the local city corporation controls the lease then they can very easily take action and make you stop and sort out the formalities first.
I believe the new Toyota sando location had some issues before they were opened.

if land is freehold then less likely.

link wrote:but...who will report u ?? & even if 'someone' does that (like I did) NOBODY WILL TAKE U ON...unless u have 'connections' *effers*

konartis

Postby konartis » September 25th, 2014, 3:07 pm

My plans finished today, yhe guy have to submit them for approvals, hope it doesnt take long!

jcrew

Postby jcrew » September 25th, 2014, 7:21 pm

Who did your plans? Can you recommend them?
Pm me the infor. Thanks

konartis

Postby konartis » September 27th, 2014, 3:20 pm

jcrew wrote:Who did your plans? Can you recommend them?
Pm me the infor. Thanks

Sure..he did a great job...from south tho
Sent pm

Postby SmokeyGTi » September 29th, 2014, 7:47 am

SmokeyGTi wrote:Situation:

you have submitted documents for T&C approval and have now decided to sell the land - you do not want the new owner to use the plans you have submitted.

Question:
Is there anything that needs to be done to ensure that when the new owner submits his own documents there is no conflict?

anybody?

air wick

Postby air wick » September 29th, 2014, 7:53 am

SmokeyGTi wrote:

you have submitted documents for T&C approval and have now decided to sell the land - you do not want the new owner to use the plans you have submitted.

Question:
Is there anything that needs to be done to ensure that when the new owner submits his own documents there is no conflict?

anybody?

I'm not too sure but look at it this way. The approved T&C plans are in YOUR name and not the new owner, so morally the new owner should not use your plans.

Give them a call and find out 652-2141

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » September 29th, 2014, 9:24 am

Another viewpoint. Would the land be worth what you sold for without having gone through some sort of approval process ?
Why would you not want the new owner using them?

livewire

Postby livewire » September 29th, 2014, 2:26 pm

SmokeyGTi wrote:

Question:

anybody?

They cannot unless you give the plans to them or give them permission to collect it on your behalf. I am assuming its a house plan your referring too.

drunkenscorpion

Postby drunkenscorpion » September 29th, 2014, 3:41 pm

Question here....forgive me. Already living in a residential area for a couple years all relevant documents etc. I have a back lawn that I am renovating, tearing up, tiling off, and adding a visitors toilet on the back or side of the existing house, so visitors wont have to go inside my house when liming in the back area. Do I need T&C approval for the additional toilet? Its a sewered area. Gated community. Also would I need approval if I decide to put in a pool later on?

Mad Cone

Postby Mad Cone » September 29th, 2014, 8:02 pm

The Town & Country Order states:

...Subject to this Order, development of any class specified in the Schedule shall be
permitted and may he undertaken without the permission of the Minister upon land to
which this Order applies...

The improvement or other alteration of a dwelling house so long as the cubic content of the original dwelling house (as ascertained by external measurement) is not increased and so long as the area defined by the external walls of the original building remains the same in both content and location, except in the case of the addition of a W.C., a bathroom or a kitchen.

So, yeah... if you adding bathroom outside of the original structure (or even inside) you have to get approval.

Knight Rider

Postby Knight Rider » November 17th, 2014, 8:41 pm

Sort of off topic. I currently have two businesses operating in my street which is a residential area. I believe they need to make changes to certain aspects of their property as they are infringing laws or acts. How do I pursue getting these things rectified?

Knight Rider

Postby Knight Rider » November 18th, 2014, 2:32 pm

Yea well this country is a dream to live in because rules and laws clearly have no meaning

Postby Chimera » November 18th, 2014, 3:05 pm

triniwildmeat

Postby triniwildmeat » December 5th, 2014, 4:04 pm

Anyone with a link for chaguanas borough corp? Pm me please :)

Postby pugboy » December 5th, 2014, 4:58 pm

There was a notice by pos city corp of plans to demolish a newly constructed building in woodbrook
Last week on deverteuil street, same st as el pecos.

Waiting to see if anything happens

sotf

Postby sotf » December 5th, 2014, 5:12 pm

Years ago, we called T&C to report a neighbour's infringement. The T&C man that showed up said that he knew the neighbour (i.e. friends with the people) so he was not going to put anything negative in his report. And that was the end of that. This is the nonsense that goes on.

Postby Kenjo » December 5th, 2014, 5:37 pm

how exactly do you get a copy of the deed for a piece of land or find out who is the owner,besides putting up a sign of land for sale on the piece of land :shock:

Postby Chimera » December 5th, 2014, 6:20 pm

Kenjo wrote:how exactly do you get a copy of the deed for a piece of land or find out who is the owner,besides putting up a sign of land for sale on the piece of land :shock:

Post the address of the land. Someone might tell you who's the owner or show you the deed

krazeevic

Postby krazeevic » December 11th, 2014, 4:41 pm

Tuner gurus

I need some assistance. Getting documents and plans together to submit to T&C for approval.

Have gotten most of the info off the .gov.tt website.

However I have some questions that I need some answers to , if there is anyone that can help.
Any assistance will be appreciated.

1. The website states that I need a Utilization of land form ( LHA-2 )
I went to the city corporation for this and they gave me a "Building Form" .Nowhere on the form states LHA-2 or utilization of land...when I asked about it, the person responded that this is what she thinks I need.
Is this what I need....are they the same document...is the LHA-2 document different.

2. Is the location sketch that is required basically a map of of to get to the land? Using lp , streets , address , mm etc...

3. Is the isometric drawing all that is required if there is sewage connection and no cesspit ?

Thanks for any help in advance. I have been to city corp and T&C and have gotten no help from the ppl that I met with.

subie_2NR

Postby subie_2NR » December 11th, 2014, 7:27 pm

Will let you know tomorrow I got to look at my original package that was submitted. All I could remember from the top of my head is that the application was submitted in triplicate.

air wick

Postby air wick » December 12th, 2014, 9:02 am

This is what I had submitted to T/C and I got approval with no hassle

1) Form TCP/1
2) Proof of ownership or evidence of notification to owner that the application is being made
3) Cadastral Sheet

Drawings (13 pages):

Site Plan Layout
Location Plan Layout (You can sketch from the closest major road and move forward to where land is located. Include LP numbers, building landmarks etc.
Left side and Front Elevation
Right side and Rear elevation
Floor Plans (Ground, First.... etc)
Framing and Foundation Plan
Beam Details
Roof Details
General Details ( showing stiffeners, lintol, sill, auger piling depts... etc)
Stair well details
Section Elevation
Septic Tank Details
Isometric layout showing plumbing and waste lines

krazeevic

Postby krazeevic » December 12th, 2014, 9:13 am

Thanks for the info guys...Appreciated :smile:

konartis

Postby konartis » January 6th, 2015, 12:37 pm

Just came from t&c in south...they needed the cadestrial sheet for my area to plot out the plans....or somthing like that...anyways, right upstairs is the lands an surveys dept...however they dont give it for private land only state lands...so i have to go to fredrick street.....

pmurs

Postby pmurs » May 24th, 2016, 11:53 am

Bump. Any other experience on how long it takes to get all relevant approvals to build on residential land?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 24th, 2016, 7:12 pm

These days town and country is like 6mths and counting.(office in Tunapuna is real failure).