Question on roofing

sc@rf@ce

Question on roofing

Postby sc@rf@ce » April 26th, 2014, 10:20 am

So i just changed my roof to new wave. Budget couldn't go standing seam. While screwing down roof the guy missed the purlin a few times(5) so where there supposed to have 1 theres 2. Now to prevent leaks what can i do

LalChun

Re: Question on roofing

Postby LalChun » April 26th, 2014, 10:45 am

Chewing gum

Postby skylinechild » April 26th, 2014, 10:57 am

sc@rf@ce wrote:So i just changed my roof to new wave. Budget couldn't go standing seam. While screwing down roof the guy missed the purlin a few times(5) so where there supposed to have 1 theres 2. Now to prevent leaks what can i do

you can use the caulking / moulding they use to seal off bathrooms and such
fill it from below so the excess will come out ontop and give a mushroom head - then level it off and let dry- you can also spray a bit of sealant on the top

doesnt necessarily need to be the brand in the pic any sort of waterproof sealant will do the trick.
you can even use the spray they use for bedliners for those 4X4's... :lol:

Postby 1UZFE » April 26th, 2014, 11:18 am

Good info skylinechild

sc@rf@ce

Postby sc@rf@ce » April 26th, 2014, 1:07 pm

Thanx

Postby The_Honourable » September 7th, 2024, 3:35 pm

Tuners need an opinion...

So i replaced my roof from galvanize to standing seam (snap-lock) earlier in the year. Did not change the wooden rafters as they were still in very good condition after 45 years. Old sheets removed and standing seam sheets installed successfully. Work is clean, no leaks, stood up to gusty winds as I took the opportunity to install hurricane straps.

The issue i'm having is that the roof is noisy during the day from late morning to late evening. Noise ranges from crackling to the occasional banging like if something fell on the roof. In the night you will hear the occasional odd noise every few hours. I realized that i'm experiencing thermal expansion noises.

Anybody experienced this? are there any future concerns with this issue? and what remedies can be done to reduce the noise?

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » September 7th, 2024, 3:42 pm

The_Honourable wrote:Tuners need an opinion...

So i replaced my roof from galvanize to standing seam (snap-lock) earlier in the year. Did not change the wooden rafters as they were still in very good condition after 45 years. Old sheets removed and standing seam sheets installed successfully. Work is clean, no leaks, stood up to gusty winds as I took the opportunity to install hurricane straps.

The issue i'm having is that the roof is noisy during the day from late morning to late evening. Noise ranges from crackling to the occasional banging like if something fell on the roof. In the night you will hear the occasional odd noise every few hours. I realized that i'm experiencing thermal expansion noises.

Anybody experienced this? are there any future concerns with this issue? and what remedies can be done to reduce the noise?

You will get use to it

wing

Postby wing » September 7th, 2024, 3:43 pm

It's probably expansion due to heat. If you experience it during morning and evening but not during the day or especially with sudden temperature changes like during sudden heavy rainfall, then it's probably that.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » September 7th, 2024, 3:56 pm

Hmmmm....Have you called an exorcist?

Skillys

Postby Skillys » September 7th, 2024, 4:00 pm

Have the same problem it’s due to temperature change, you will get use to it…

Postby Dizzy28 » September 7th, 2024, 4:09 pm

I have standing seam installed last year and it makes a snapping noise during the morning period. It's all steel and aluminium now replacing a wooden frame roof and I just chalked it up to expansion.

matix

Postby matix » September 7th, 2024, 4:11 pm

Nothing much can be done

Postby pugboy » September 7th, 2024, 4:18 pm

i have it also, not major noise
does your roof have adequate venting?

hindian

Postby hindian » September 7th, 2024, 4:48 pm

Not Standing Seam but new wave sheeting on a C/Z purlin frame and the creaking and popping noise happens only during the morning time

Postby j.o.e » September 7th, 2024, 4:57 pm

Same. Used to hear it before … still happens but I just grew accustomed to it.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 7th, 2024, 5:52 pm

the ceiling should buffer most of that noise.
It helps if there is a good bit of space and insulation between the roof and ceiling

Postby pugboy » September 8th, 2024, 8:30 am

there is actually a lot of debate on screwing down this type of sheets
some say the screws should be placed in the low flat and not crowns as the crowns may flex and results in slackness under the screw

hindian wrote:Not Standing Seam but new wave sheeting on a C/Z purlin frame and the creaking and popping noise happens only during the morning time

Postby goalpost » September 8th, 2024, 1:55 pm

Nothing beats flashband

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » September 8th, 2024, 2:57 pm

j.o.e wrote:Same. Used to hear it before … still happens but I just grew accustomed to it.
Same here. This reminds me of writing exams in uwi spec. The invigilators used to have to tell everyone up front to expect strange noises from the roof during the exams.

Postby The_Honourable » September 8th, 2024, 3:39 pm

Thanks tuners!

So yeah, i guess i have to get use to it. There is some buffering but ceiling close to the roof so will hear it.

Wondering if the workmen walked on the roof too much after installation causing superficial bends contributing to the noises during thermal expansion. I'll send someone on the roof once in a while just to check on the clips. to put my mind at ease.

hindian

Postby hindian » September 9th, 2024, 8:25 pm

pugboy wrote:there is actually a lot of debate on screwing down this type of sheets
some say the screws should be placed in the low flat and not crowns as the crowns may flex and results in slackness under the screw

hindian wrote:Not Standing Seam but new wave sheeting on a C/Z purlin frame and the creaking and popping noise happens only during the morning time

Serious? Never experienced that when I used to do that trade. My old man taught us to screw on the crown and never on the flat as over Time the rubber washer could deteriorate and you’ll have a hell of a time finding that leak because the water will run in the purlin and pour out elsewhere making you think that where the leak is when it’s actually not. We also never walked on the crown, always on the flat and on the purlin underneath.

Postby pugboy » September 9th, 2024, 9:44 pm

https://www.metalroofingsource.com/inst ... fasteners/

endless debate on youtube

hindian wrote:
pugboy wrote:there is actually a lot of debate on screwing down this type of sheets

Serious? Never experienced that when I used to do that trade. My old man taught us to screw on the crown and never on the flat as over Time the rubber washer could deteriorate and you’ll have a hell of a time finding that leak because the water will run in the purlin and pour out elsewhere making you think that where the leak is when it’s actually not. We also never walked on the crown, always on the flat and on the purlin underneath.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 10th, 2024, 6:19 am

Have standing seam....but with lots of venting in the under ceiling. Perforated suffit was used like every 3 feet or so, the noise is little or next to none.

Postby timelapse » September 10th, 2024, 9:52 am

The foil bubble insulation helps quite a lot too if installed correctly between the sheet and the purlin. End to end duct tape where they overlap

Postby alfa » September 10th, 2024, 10:16 am

I feel standing seam is the only guaranteed way to avoid leaks over time. I build my home only 6 years ago and have a minor drip leak over one of the eaves whenever really heavy rain falls from nu wave sheets.
Long ago there was a roofing system called shingles. Not sure if people still have that but I can't recall anyone saying it leaked

Postby timelapse » September 10th, 2024, 10:20 am

alfa wrote:I feel standing seam is the only guaranteed way to avoid leaks over time. I build my home only 6 years ago and have a minor drip leak over one of the eaves whenever really heavy rain falls from nu wave sheets.
Long ago there was a roofing system called shingles. Not sure if people still have that but I can't recall anyone saying it leaked

That leaked like hell after a while

Postby pugboy » September 10th, 2024, 10:23 am

funny thing is shingles is most common in florida usa

Postby pugboy » September 10th, 2024, 10:24 am

below purlin is best
above purlin next to roof sheet is useless

timelapse wrote:The foil bubble insulation helps quite a lot too if installed correctly between the sheet and the purlin. End to end duct tape where they overlap

Postby timelapse » September 10th, 2024, 2:13 pm

pugboy wrote:below purlin is best

timelapse wrote:The foil bubble insulation helps quite a lot too if installed correctly between the sheet and the purlin. End to end duct tape where they overlap

Below purlin does fall off

Postby pugboy » September 10th, 2024, 2:17 pm

yuh hatta screw it with strips

timelapse wrote:
pugboy wrote:below purlin is best

Below purlin does fall off