wtk: house aircondition electrical

sc@rf@ce

wtk: house aircondition electrical

Postby sc@rf@ce » April 28th, 2014, 5:49 pm

doing some upgrades to my home and gonna install ac in spare room.
question is what size breaker would be sufficient for a 12000 btu split unit
thanx

Re: wtk: house aircondition electrical

Postby ronsin1 » April 28th, 2014, 6:29 pm

your electrician and AC tech should be able to advise

Postby supercharged turbo » April 28th, 2014, 6:47 pm

ronsin1 wrote:your electrician and AC tech should be able to advise
If you doing it yourself and you don't know,bess yuh hire ah electrician

sc@rf@ce

Postby sc@rf@ce » April 28th, 2014, 9:52 pm

Electrician doing installation but for my knowledge wanted to know before hand. Not all electricians on same level

Postby javishm » April 29th, 2014, 1:28 am

quietdevil wrote:Sometimes even your electrician does not know, you should use a 30amp double breaker since you would need 230v and use at least 6mm square wire

Sounds about right

rmrunner

Postby rmrunner » April 29th, 2014, 2:01 am

12000btu will work with a double pole 30A breaker. A 4mm will be able to handle the load

Postby ronsin1 » April 29th, 2014, 5:13 am

quietdevil wrote:Sometimes even your electrician does not know

You get what you pay for

Postby javishm » April 29th, 2014, 9:36 am

ronsin1 wrote:
quietdevil wrote:Sometimes even your electrician does not know

You get what you pay for

True

ADONI

Postby ADONI » April 29th, 2014, 10:01 am

rmrunner wrote:12000btu will work with a double pole 30A breaker. A 4mm will be able to handle the load

Correct!

nissan4life

Postby nissan4life » April 29th, 2014, 11:14 am

^^^Agreed.
Double 30A Breaker each phase carries 110 so 110x2=220.
220 v outlet which has two hot/positive leads and one negative
4mm wire (always buy more that you need)
OP duh play hero and try it yourself if you have no electrical background.
Electrical Panel go get the better of you, with you sweaty palms and shaky hands.

sc@rf@ce

Postby sc@rf@ce » April 29th, 2014, 12:47 pm

So i opened up panel box and here's the problem. Here's the scenario 2 ac units to be installed means 4 slots in panel box an there is only two available. Guess one room will never have ac. Hand me down houses again eh. Any advice

ADONI

Postby ADONI » April 29th, 2014, 1:26 pm

So the box full of half size breakers or full size?

sc@rf@ce

Postby sc@rf@ce » April 29th, 2014, 1:37 pm

Full of half size, 1 full size and two free slots

sc@rf@ce

Postby sc@rf@ce » April 29th, 2014, 8:30 pm

Bump

demented

Postby demented » April 29th, 2014, 10:42 pm

Use a 60A breaker and send to an isolator box or sub panel. using 10mm wires or 10mm Armoured cable. In the isolator box or sub panel put your 2 separate 30A breakers and send to the 2 A/C units using the 4mm wire. Could also use 16mm instead of 10mm and use 70A breaker.

This is providing your mains could accommodate all this load.

Postby ronsin1 » April 30th, 2014, 4:42 am

sc@rf@ce please have a qualified electrician assess you electrical system and make the proper recommendations.

while some of the advice above is good. Only a qualified electrician will give you the right advice

Again you get what you pay for

demented

Postby demented » April 30th, 2014, 8:18 pm

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1398903432.534451.jpg

Postby nervewrecker » April 30th, 2014, 8:26 pm

The man with the hook up already post in here you know.

Postby pugboy » April 30th, 2014, 8:48 pm

if your panel is short of space you can get breakers which are two single pole in one to free up the space taken by 110v single breakers
but you still need to make sure the panel is balanced loadwise

btw it is best practice to run also run a separate breaker box at the unit location which the a/c guy connects his wires to so it can be switched off with the breaker there if need be, this way he does not have to mess with main panel
normally use one of those little weatherproof boxes which takes 2 breakers in it

Postby ronsin1 » May 1st, 2014, 5:21 am

nervewrecker wrote:The man with the hook up already post in here you know.

that guy gave some OK advice it is up to OP to deal with it the proper way
As I said before up get what you pay for

demented

Postby demented » May 1st, 2014, 7:30 am

^^ ok. thanks.
The A/C specs there was for 110v (20A) window units though.

Postby ronsin1 » May 1st, 2014, 6:35 pm

I am saying once again get a qualified licensed electrician to deal with don't play penny wise and pound foolish

Postby pete » May 1st, 2014, 9:04 pm

4mm for 110 plugs in a house or a huge building? Sounds like eil just wants you to use bigger more expensive cable.

devsingh

Postby devsingh » May 1st, 2014, 11:54 pm

12,000 Btu split unit single phase uses 6A

the unit comes with a 20A tandem male plug
therefore the female of that plug is also rated 20A

the rating of the breaker should never exceed the current carrying capacity of any of the components.

the wire rating of 2.5mm is 25A- more than sufficient

an isolator/ switch or removable plug outlet should be a distance no greater than 1.3m from the appliance.

Please get a licensed electrician to handle this

and don't forget to update the schedule on the panel

sc@rf@ce

Postby sc@rf@ce » May 2nd, 2014, 9:35 pm

Got a licensed electrician. I am gonna need to get a sub panel box