Re: SC Dana Seetahal murder - 11 men charged Pg.34

Postby kaylex » July 28th, 2015, 10:32 am

ABA Trading LTD wrote:They could be conspiring while in jail tho

thanks...

Postby rspann » July 28th, 2015, 12:50 pm

Dole was home when they kill the baboolal family, still was hanged. Look up felony murder.

Postby bluefete » July 28th, 2015, 6:41 pm

UML wrote:Imagine jfk bombing suspect and murder accused of 4 free in trini :lol::lol::lol::lol:

And his record was coincidentally wiped clean.

real Bourne Identity business

Stopped reading after this :|

That part I cannot figure out.

ps://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2007_John_F. ... ttack_plot

I think she might have meant Lance Small who was extradicted to the USA and then released due to poor health.

Lance Small extradited to the US

FRANCIS JOSEPH Thursday, November 25 2004

SECURITY was tight and there was a buzz around Piarco International Airport yesterday afternoon as two United States Marshals left with Jamaat Al Muslimeen member Lance Small who is wanted in Fort Lauderdale, Florida, on firearms charges. From the moment Small lost his habeas corpus application before Justice Rajendra Narine last Thursday, everything was put in place to have him extradited to face the charges in Florida. Attorney General John Jeremie signed the warrant on Monday for Small’s extradition and the US authorities were contacted. It was shortly after midday yesterday that Sgt Wendell Williams of the local Interpol branch went to the Maximum Security Prison at Arouca with the warrant for Small’s extradition. Security was extremely tight. Even prisoners and prison officers showed surprise on their faces when the entourage pulled up at the prison.

At 1.55 p m, four heavily-tinted green vans left the prison, one of them carrying Small. These vehicles were escorted by two jeeps from the Guard and Emergency Branch (GEB) with heavily-armed personnel, along with three other unmarked police cars with plainclothes officers. As they sped along Golden Grove Road, a national security helicopter hovered overhead to ensure there were no incidents along the short journey. The security details pulled into the airport five minutes later, carrying one of the most high-profile prisoners to ever leave these shores. Small, 70, also known as Olive Enyahooma-El, was booked on American Airlines flight 1668 at 3.47 p.m. Small was taken into a room until the flight was ready to depart. Security officers guarded the western end of the terminal building.

What was more surprising was when ten members of the GEB pulled up outside the terminal building and blocked pedestrians from walking on the pavement. People soon became curious wondering why the police were guarding an empty white vehicle. The AA flight coming from Miami landed at Piarco at 2.56 p.m and then everything was put in place for Small’s departure. Passengers were invited to board the aircraft around 3.30 pm. Small was then handed over to US Marshals in the terminal building. He was then escorted onto the aircraft where he sat between the two law enforcement officers in a very comfortable area. By that time, word spread around the airport that Small was leaving on a jet plane, not knowing when he will be back again. The flight eventually took off at 4.25 p.m. When contacted, AG Jeremie said his decision to return Small to the US followed an extradition request from US Attorney General John Ashcroft.

“The signing of the warrant is in keeping with Trinidad and Tobago’s extradition treaty signed with the United States on March 4, 1996 and is consistent with the decisions of the local courts, which gave the prisoner every opportunity to be heard.” Small’s attorney Pamela Elder SC said yesterday she received a letter from the Attorney General indicating that he had signed the warrant for extradition. She said she sent one of her juniors to see Small at the prison on Tuesday. On September 21, Senior Magistrate Joanne Connor, presiding in the Port-of-Spain Magistrates’ Court, ordered Small’s extradition to the United States. During the period April 17, 2000, and May 30, 2001, it is alleged that Small, also known as “Fires,” conspired with persons known and unknown to possess firearms — 60 AK-47 rifles, ten MAC-10 machine guns and ten machine gun silencers. Small faces ten years in jail if he is convicted.

Lance Small kept in ‘Muslim’ prison

Sun, 2009-11-01 19:48 — Anonymous
Byline Author:
Francis Joseph
- See more at: http://www.guardian.co.tt/archives/news ... rVjI4.dpuf

Former Jamaat al Muslimeen member, Lance Small, who is serving 151 months in a US prison for terrorist activities, is among 30 Muslim prisoners detained at a special prison in Indiana, United States, dubbed, “Little Guantanamo.”

Small, also called Olive Enyahooma-El, was sentenced in the US Federal Court in Broward, Fort Lauderdale in 2006, after he was found guilty of conspiracy to export firearms and ammunition to Trinidad. Small, 76, was accused of attempting to export 60 AK-47 rifles, ten Mac-10 machine guns and ten silencers in 2001. He was extradited to the US in 2004 and faced trial two years later. In a six-page letter sent to the T&T Guardian, Small is appealing to the United Nations and Amnesty International to help him. Small said he was being kept at the Communications Management Unit (CMU) at Terre Haute, Indiana. He described the facility as a former federal prison which used to house death row inmates.

He said the facility was condemned 30 months ago, but was reopened for a group of Muslim prisoners who were shuttled secretly from prisons around the US to be housed under strict conditions. Small said there were 30 Muslim prisoners from 15 countries. “I share my tragic story before my countrymen in Trinidad and Tobago, and all the world to see,” he said. Small said he was the victim of political persecution. “On July 27, 1990, I stood shoulder to shoulder with a group of Muslims as part of a political movement to end the tyranny and injustice against fellow Muslims,” he said. “The civil uprising ended with an amnesty deal to all those participating. However, despite high court ruling protecting us, the government had other plans for the country’s Muslim community. “Twenty years later, I am a political prisoner, held captive in the US, lonely, isolated and sequestered away thousands of miles from my wife, children, grandchildren and great-grandchildren.”

He blamed strong-armed tactics to frame him after 9/11 and the so-called War on Terror. After he was released with 113 others for their roles in the attempted coup, Small said he travelled to the United States in 1993, establishing a small cosmetics company in Brooklyn. He said due to complications with official documentation and the long, expensive legal battle with the US Immigration and Naturalisation Service, he returned to Trinidad in 1998, leaving behind his wife, children and grandchildren. Small said while in Trinidad, he formed an international collection company with a business partner. “I later found that this company attracted the attention of US intelligence, although the business was completely lawful and legitimately profitable,” he said. Small said in 2004, the T&T Government fabricated a conspiracy of weapons charges against him, accusing him of trying to purchase weapons to import into Trinidad.

The former Gonzales resident said he was eventually extradited to the US in 2004. He said an attempt was made to coerce him into implicating and framing Jamaat leader, Yasin Abu Bakr. He said: “I was subjected to a circus—a politically-charged trial—and was falsely convicted for events that never took place. I was then subjected to an exaggerated and harsh sentence of 151 months in the US Federal Prison.” He said all appeals had been denied without explanation. Small said despite his age and nature of the charges,he was secreted away and persecuted even further with other Muslim prisoners, being placed in the old death row cells in Indiana. The former Jamaat man said he had been subjected to a number of abuses, including limited visits, and a ban on him saying his prayers. Small said he believed that the prison was bugged for sound and video. He stated that his constitutional rights had been infringed, and there is a cover-up of the abuses at the prison facility. He said in some cases, contact with wives and children had been blocked.
- See more at: http://www.guardian.co.tt/archives/news ... rVjI4.dpuf

Postby bluefete » July 28th, 2015, 6:52 pm

Dana played a major role in this case.

Small: Jamaat persecution, crooked justice and corrupt gov’t officials
posted by Otancia Noel | Wednesday 22 July 2015 | In View Point | 99 Comments

Former Jamaat-al-Muslimeen lieutenant Lancelot Small offers a wandering, indirect defence for himself, his brother and detained Imam Yasin Abu Bakr, who was held for questioning in relation to slain attorney Dana Seetahal:

They are at it again.

In 1990, the ANR Robinson Administration drove the Jamaat-al-Muslimeen to the point of no return. Twenty-five years later, desperate for re-election, the Kamla Persad-Bissessar Administration seems bent on taking up where Robinson and company left off.

How else can we explain the decision to detain Jamaat-al-Muslimeen leader Yasin Abu Bakr on suspicion of involvement in the murder of Dana Seetahal?

What does that have to do with the Imam?

So, little has changed in the 25 years since 1990. In fact, in some ways, little has changed in the 50-plus years since Independence.

The Justice system in Trinidad and Tobago has not improved a little bit. Indeed, instead of improving, things have gone from bad to worse. Justice, which should be about being fair to all citizens of the nation, nowadays is, in fact, about who can sign the bigger cheque, about who has the larger pool of money to spend to pay a battery of lawyers.

In this country, there is nothing like human rights; there are only human wrongs. There is nothing like being innocent until proven guilty; you are guilty until you can prove your innocence. That is still the reality of the law and justice in Trinidad and Tobago in 2015.

Photo: Jamaat-al-Muslimeen leader Yasin Abu Bakr. (Courtesy Jyoti Communication)

Ask the Imam, now suffering in the State’s prison despite his complete innocence of the crime with which they seem to be planning to charge him.

So I tell this story, my story, with almost complete contempt and disdain for what passes for justice in Trinidad and Tobago.

My name is Clive Lancelot Small aka Olive (pronounced OH-LEAVE) aka Olive Enyahooma-El. In 2004, I was extradited to the United States to face gun-related charges.

I was represented by Pamela Elder, SC, who is currently the State Prosecutor in the Jack Warner extradition matter. My case was heard by Justice Sebastian Ventour, who not so long ago was in the news for resigning on principle from the Integrity Commission.

He ruled that, at the time of commission of the alleged offences, there was no law under which I could be charged with those offences.

According to Justice Ventour, at the time of commission of the alleged offences, the schedule of offences for the Extradition Act under which a person could be extradited to face trial in a foreign country did not include the offence Conspiracy to Export Arms. He gave the State 24 hours to find such a law or release me.

Photo: Justice Sebastian Ventour quit as deputy chairman of the Integrity Commission. (Courtesy i95.5FM)

They found a law. Just for me, they made a law, released me and re-arrested me. Now it has to be noted too that I was held without a warrant and, as far as I am aware, without any evidence.

If the Trinidad and Tobago authorities had any evidence of my alleged wrongdoing, they never shared it with me. And I was not allowed bail.

I think I can say truly that my arrest and extradition were part of a government plan to get rid of anyone who was or was suspected of being involved in the 1990 attempted coup. It was, in my view, a government entrapment exercise. You might think that is laughable but is it?

When Lolita “Daughter” Saroop was sent to the US Virgin Islands to be tried for drug trafficking and conspiracy charges, was there an authentic bilateral treaty between the US and T&T? Was there?

My extradition was news but, true to form, the media only reported what they thought would sell. So nobody remembers—few people know—that I won a wrongful arrest case against the State.

I was awarded over $350,000 in damages for having been illegally arrested and detained. But I was not able to collect my money before I, a full-fledged citizen of Trinidad and Tobago—like Ishwar Galbaransingh, like Steve Ferguson, like Jack Warner—was packed off unceremoniously to the States at the behest of the US Attorney General.

Photo: Health Minister Dr Fuad Khan (right) shares a tender moment with UNC financier Ish Galbaransingh who is wanted for corruption by the United States Government.

On my return almost a dozen years later, I naturally sought to collect the monies owed to me in the sum of $357.154.75.

At the High Court, I was told to check with the Office of the Attorney General. I did. Day after day. Week after week. All I have been getting is the runaround.

The staff there say that there is documentation to show that a cheque in my name was received. There is, they say, no documentation available to tell me the date of receipt or where the cheque is currently lodged. And they can’t tell me where such documentation can be found.

My senior counsel attorney remains merely politely interested in my case, it seems to me, but she can’t advise me where to find the documentation either. She seems content to leave the matter in the State’s hands. If Justice Ventour chooses to rock the boat when he can eat a food, that is his choice.

And when there was an authentic bilateral treaty between the US and T&T in existence and the US requested the extradition of UNC financiers Galbaransingh and Ferguson on charges stemming from a billion dollar plot, did the pair ever leave these shores? Well, did they?

Warner, the Ex-FIFA vice-president who was once a big jefe in the UNC but now has his own party which is threatening to split the votes in some key constituencies, is facing charges stemming from widespread corruption in FIFA. The US indictment talks about racketeering, wire fraud, money laundering and conspiracy in a 24-year-long scheme to enrich himself by corrupt means.

Photo: Former FIFA vice-president and Chaguanas West MP Jack Warner. (Copyright AFP 2015)

After an initial hiccup that forced him to spend a night behind bars, Warner was allowed to post bail. But tell me honestly, do you think Warner is going anywhere?

Mind you, I am not bashing Ish and Steve and Jack. What I am doing is asking the question about justice in this country.

In 2005, my brother, Lenville Small, had a matter before Madame Justice Amrika Tewarie in the Hall of Justice. The police claimed to have found in his house a note—a “hit list,” they called it—with the names of five people involved in my extradition. Next to the five names—John Jeremie, Dana Seetahal, David West, Douglas Mendes and Sherman McNicholls—there were amounts of money ranging from $800,000 to $200,000.

For six days, he was detained without charge and only on the sixth day was he charged under the Anti-Terrorism Act. His attorney, Jawara Mobota, made an ex-parte application seeking a writ of habeas corpus. But habeas corpus and everything else went out the window on the eleventh day when a phone call came through from on high.

My brother challenged the constitutionality of the legislation under which he had been held but the judge found nothing wrong with it. Making a forced connection between my brother and the 1990 attempted coup—his only connection to those events was me, his brother—the learned judge declared that “legislative efforts to protect the public interest by the proactive and focused targeting of such despicable conduct must be applauded and supported.”

What more evidence do we need that the system of justice in Trinidad and Tobago is corrupt? We are often told it is independent but a blind man can see that it is not. There are too many compromised people sitting in high places.

Elected representatives are put in place to govern, to regulate our affairs, to protect all citizens. We expect them to stand up for what is right. We expect them to ask questions when the rights and freedoms of our citizens are threatened. We do not expect them, elected or selected, to kowtow simply because the political directorate wishes X or Y to happen.

A few weeks ago, I heard David West—who was also in the news earlier in the year because he was brave enough to publicly support one politician and defy another—tell a reporter on the television that Mr Warner’s extradition can take as long as five years. Nobody told me that; I heard it with my own ears.

But in my case, the process did not take very long. West wrote the extradition warrant in his own hand and signed it. Later, on the witness stand, he made statements which were at least of questionable accuracy.

So I am grateful to Allah that he has granted me 80-plus years, long enough to see many of those who have been unjust to me go over to the other side. I watch with interest the latest attempt to use the Jamaat’s unpopularity to the government’s benefit.

I pray that I shall be around, Insha Allah, to see all those bent on the destruction of the Jamaat get their just deserts.

Photo: Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar (left) and Leader of Government Business Roodal Moonilal. (Courtesy Baltimore Post)

And I close with a reminder to the Prime Minister and her cronies that good always defeats evil and that, although God may nod, he NEVER sleeps.

Editor’s Note: This is the first of a series of articles from Jamaat-al-Muslimeen members that give their account of the 1990 attempted coup in the build up to the 25th anniversary of July 27.
About The Author

Otancia Noel is in the final year of a Literatures in English bachelor's degree at COSTAATT. Creative writing in general and journalism in particular are her passions. She grew up on the Jamaat-al-Muslimeen compound in Mucurapo and hopes to one day write about her experiences.

Postby bluefete » July 28th, 2015, 6:59 pm

History Continues To Haunt Us Today!

http://articles.sun-sentinel.com/2001-0 ... -muslimeen

Drummer Pleads Guilty In Arms Case Tied To Plot
September 20, 2001|By Jeff Shields Staff Writer

FORT LAUDERDALE — A New York man pleaded guilty to possession of firearms Wednesday in an alleged plot to smuggle 70 machine guns to an Islamic fundamentalist in the Caribbean nation of Trinidad and Tobago.

Keith Andre Glaude, 45, faces up to 10 years in prison after he was caught picking up weapons federal prosecutors say were intended for a high-level official of the Jamaat al Muslimeen. That group was behind a 1990 coup attempt in Trinidad that left 26 people dead.

Some of the guns used in that attempt came from the Fort Lauderdale area, according to the U.S. Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco and Firearms.

In U.S. District Court in Fort Lauderdale on Wednesday, Glaude admitted to picking up duffel bags filled with AK-47 and Mac-10 machine guns with silencers on behalf of Lance Small.

Glaude, a native Trinidadian, was a member of the Jamaat al Muslimeen in the 1980s, and apparently agreed to pick up the guns for Small because he owed him money.

Glaude, a drummer who lives in New York City, has maintained all along that he was not involved in a conspiracy, but was an unwitting mule for Small, whom he spoke to during a February trip to a festival in Trinidad.

"I got into this by going to Carnival to play music, and the guy Lance Small told me there were these guns," Glaude told U.S. District Judge Wilkie Ferguson Jr. "This is my first time in trouble in my life, your honor. If possessing this gun is what I did, I'm guilty."

Ferguson scheduled sentencing for Nov. 30. Glaude, who has no criminal past, is expected to get a large reduction in sentence from the maximum.

Although leaders of the Muslimeen in Trinidad have denied any connection with Glaude, Prime Minister Basdeo Panday has pointed to the case as evidence of an imminent insurrection.

Newspapers in Trinidad were quoting U.S. Intelligence sources in reports this week Osama bin Laden has a terrorist cell there. One U.S. official, speaking on condition of anonymity, said no link with bin Laden has been established in the Glaude case.

Glaude was arrested May 31 by agents for the U.S. Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco and Firearms. ATF agent Steve McKean, working with an informant, had arranged the deal with Small over the phone in February. Then Small, who had loaned Glaude $2,500, approached him for a favor, Glaude said.

Glaude met undercover ATF agents at a restaurant in Fort Lauderdale, then drove to a warehouse at Davie Boulevard and Andrews Avenue. The agents showed him duffel bags filled with 60 AK-47 machine guns, 10 Mac-10 machine guns, and 10 machine gun silencers. Glaude was arrested after helping to load the Mac-10s into his van.

Assistant U.S. Attorney Roger Powell said the investigation is ongoing, but declined comment on whether the United States would seek to extradite Small from Trinidad and Tobago. Ramesh Maharaj, the attorney general of Trinidad and Tobago, could not be reached for comment.

Jeff Shields can be reached at jshields@sun-sentinel.com or 954-356-4531.
Featured Articles
Do Heat appreciate magnitude of Game 5?

Postby bluefete » July 28th, 2015, 8:22 pm

FOURTEEN YEARS AGO!!!!!!!!!

http://articles.sun-sentinel.com/2001-0 ... -muslimeen

Coup Concerns Percolate
June 20, 2001|By Bert Wilkinson Special Correspondent

GEORGETOWN, Guyana — Trinidad and Tobago Prime Minister Basdeo Panday hadn't reached his second week in office before he told Parliament that someone was fomenting a plot to overthrow him.

Since his Hindu-dominated United National Congress (UNC) won a second five-year term in oil-rich Trinidad and Tobago in December, the prime minister has repeatedly expressed fears of a coup.

He has pointed to elements in the black-supported opposition People's National Movement (PNM), local drug cartels and the Jamaat al Muslimeen, a radical group of black Muslims, as his enemies.

Aware of growing tension between blacks and Indians in Trinidad and Tobago, the Caribbean's most southerly islands, the prime minister seems especially worried about the discovery of several caches of arms, including Israeli rifles and boxes of ammunition by police in the twin-island republic in recent months.

Panday's fears grew further after Abu Bakr, the Jamaat's leader who has ties to Libya, threatened an uprising.

"The Jamaat al Muslimeen will raise up every civic-minded, moral person in this country to ensure there is rule of law," said Bakr on a radio call-in program in February.

The arrival of two armored SUVs in the country in April also fueled the prime minister's concerns.

In early June, Keith Glaude, 45, a Trinidadian, was arrested at a Hooters Restaurant in Fort Lauderdale by agents from the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco and Firearms, after he tried to buy arms from an ATF undercover agent. Both Trinidad police and ATF agents said Glaude was a member of the Muslimeen. He was charged and placed on $150,000 bail for attempting to purchase 60 AK-47 rifles and 10 MAC-10 sub machine guns with silencers, all destined for Trinidad according to ATF Special Agent Eddie Halley.

At a UNC meeting two months ago, Panday attacked the opposition PNM saying he would "deal with the PNM plot to discredit the government and to incite anarchy."

So far the prime minister has not furnished any concrete proof of plans to overthrow his administration, but mindful of the Muslimeen coup attempt in 1990, he is closely watching the group's activities and especially Bakr, its leader.

Trinidad has had two attempted coups in the past 30 years, the first involving members of the then-Black Power Movement and a few disgruntled soldiers. And in July 1990, the Muslimeen stormed Parliament, accusing the government of oppressing the poor. They held several assemblymen hostage for five days.

Ray Robinson, prime minister at the time and now the country's ceremonial president, was among those held. He was beaten and shot in the leg. At the end of the five-day rampage, more than 20 people were killed and several buildings in downtown Port of Spain were destroyed by fire.

Panday, then the deputy prime minister, was not in the Parliament building when it came under siege, but he remains wary of the Muslimeen, calling it "a terrorist organization."

Last month, the customs department seized two Lincoln Navigator SUVs because they were outfitted with inch-thick windows, smoke-emitting devices, a bomb shield on the underside and gun holsters inside.

The vehicles had arrived in the country from the United States on Holy Thursday for two New York-based brothers, Troy and Clint Gockings.

"We have intercepted what is believed to be the first two of a fleet of luxury vehicles converted into deadly attack vehicles with rocket launching capabilities," Panday said last month.

Attorney General Ramesh Maharaj said the SUVs will be given to the army or police, even as an attorney for the Gockings plans to sue the state for the return of the trucks.

Trinidad law permits the importation of such vehicles, a point underscored by the Trinidad Guardian and Express newspapers.

Acting Police Chief Everald Snaggs has called the vehicles "a security concern."

In recent months, police have found several large caches of guns and ammunition, ranging from Uzis to pistols to shotguns in the city and in southern Trinidad. In one case, fishermen off southwestern Trinidad found a large box of ammunition for Israeli Galil assault rifles.

Last month Snaggs publicly linked the arms caches to a possible plot to destabilize the administration. Several suspects have been held.

Postby K74T » July 28th, 2015, 8:24 pm

Dude spoiler that sheit nuh, cluttering the thread.

Postby The_Honourable » July 29th, 2015, 5:41 pm

Interesting case put forward by Rowley.

Postby RASC » July 29th, 2015, 6:38 pm

The sheep will deny... And somehow find a way to mention the PNM.

antlind

Postby antlind » July 29th, 2015, 7:25 pm

The_Honourable wrote:Interesting case put forward by Rowley.

Interesting indeed.

Postby RASC » July 30th, 2015, 1:58 am

^^^But everybody knows this.
How can you not be aware that all of these individuals were birthed out of the I'll fated LIFESPORT program endorsed by their Lord and Savior KAMALA and pushed forward by her own little pitbull-Anil Roberts.

These things are not secrets. You have to be a real sheep to now put these things together.

Notice no real national announcement by the PM?
What is she suddenly "being advised" because she "wasn't aware" of what was happening all this time. Time for these people to pack up shop and GO.

DO NOT BE SURPRISED if a second state of emergency is called to delay this election even further! Mark my words people!

Postby janfar » July 30th, 2015, 3:08 am

streetbeastINC. wrote:http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2015-07-30/security-source-jailbreak-part-bigger-plot

If this was the case why didnt they follow through with the plan to set off the additional explosions resulting in chaos?

Don't know what ti believe in this country anymore.

Postby Chimera » July 30th, 2015, 5:51 am

janfar wrote:
streetbeastINC. wrote:http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2015-07-30/security-source-jailbreak-part-bigger-plot

If this was the case why didnt they follow through with the plan to set off the additional explosions resulting in chaos?

If its true, they probably were determinimg the success of the jailbreak by explosion from jail. Police intercept them fellas seconds away and kill the first one.....it wasnt rly a clean getaway.

Idk if to believe that article na....it real worrying tho. Wanna know whos d businessmen and where the rest of weapons.
Why bakr didnt want ian alleyne in his mosque that friday?

Postby janfar » July 30th, 2015, 8:09 am

ABA Trading LTD wrote:
janfar wrote:

If its true, they probably were determinimg the success of the jailbreak by explosion from jail. Police intercept them fellas seconds away and kill the first one.....it wasnt rly a clean getaway.

Idk if to believe that article na....it real worrying tho. Wanna know whos d businessmen and where the rest of weapons.
Why bakr didnt want ian alleyne in his mosque that friday?

It's pretty obvious why.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » December 11th, 2015, 8:10 am

Prisoner separated from co-accused

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2015-12- ... ign=buffer

One of 11 men charged with the murder of Senior Counsel Dana Seetahal has given a statement implicating the others and admitting to his role in the crime, and may likely be used as a witness against the others.

But in order to protect the accused, whose identity has not been released, he was separated from the others and taken away by a convoy of officers attached to the Criminal Gang and Intelligence Unit yesterday, shortly after a brief court appearance in the Port-of-Spain Magistrates’ Court.

The prisoner asked Chief Magistrate Marcia Ayers-Caesar not to send him back to the Port-of-Spain Prison, saying he now feared for his safety.

Sources said last night that immediate steps were also taken to protect the co-accused’s family. No decision has yet been taken on whether he will in fact be used as a witness, nor has any deal been offered to him in exchange for his testimony, reliable sources said.

At best, legal sources said, investigators will have to weigh his evidence carefully and consult the Office of the Director of Public Prosecutions before arriving at any decision. Legal sources said the prisoner, if co-operative, will be allowed to consult an independent attorney before making his decision.

This means the case against the ten, all members of the Carapo mosque of the Jamaat-al-Muslimeen, can get a boost if the prisoner pleads guilty to the crime, since previously it was primarily based on scientific, forensic and wire tap evidence. But top legal sources said while the potential evidence was worthy of consideration any pronouncement of a deal being reached was premature.

Agents from United States Federal Bureau of Investigations and other foreign agencies assisted a specially selected team of local officers in the murder probe.

Legal sources said last night that a similar scenario to what happened in the 1996 case of Dole Chadee and his gang of nine, after one of the accused, Levi Morris, pleaded guilty to the Baboolal quadruple murders and agreed to testify against the others, can now unfold.

Chadee and the others were convicted and eventually executed by the State for their crimes and Morris was given a new identity and placed in a witness protection programme in the United States. Similarly, in this case, the prisoner will have to plead guilty to the crime, give evidence against his co-accused and then be sentenced.

In court yesterday, there was no hint of the new development. Instead, Director of Public Prosecutions Roger Gaspard, SC, requested a warrant to be issued for the arrest of a 26-year-old Carapo man who escaped police custody last month on a charge of being a members of a gang, and possession of a bullet-proof vest.

The prisoner, Peter Solaimon, managed to squeeze his body through the food slot of the cell and walked out of the Central Police Station on St Vincent Street, Port-of-Spain, on November 9. He has not been seen since.

Once arrested, Solaimon is expected to be also charged with escaping lawful custody. He will join Stacy Griffith, Deon Peters and David Ector, who were charged with gang offences. During yesterday’s brief hearing, the Chief Magistrate gave instructions on the filing of submissions on an application from the accused men, who are asking her to recuse herself from the case.

They are contending that Ayers-Caesar should step down on the basis of apparent bias, as her security detail had comprised officers of the Criminal Gang and Intelligence Unit (CGIU), who led the investigation into Seetahal’s murder.

Ayers-Caesar has already recused herself from another case, in which some of the men charged with Seetahal’s murder, including reputed gang leader Rajaee Ali, are separately accused of conspiring to murder radio announcer Kevaughn “Lerbz” Savory.

Attorney Criston J Williams, who as representing most of the accused men on both charges, was told to file his submissions by Christmas Eve, with Gaspard being given five days in which to respond. Ayers-Caesar is expected to give her decision by the next hearing on January 6.

Seetahal was shot dead after being ambushed by gunmen while driving along Hamilton Holder Street, Woodbrook, on May 4. She was returning to her home at One Woodbrook Place after leaving at Ma Pau Casino, Ariapita Avenue. The group was eventually charged on July 27 this year.

Those charged with murdering Seetahal and with gang offences:
1. Rajaee Ali, 29, of Rose Drive, Carapo;
2. Devaughn Cummings, 29, of Poui Lane, Malabar, Arima;
3. Ishmael Ali, 30, of Pinewood Drive, Carapo, Arima (brother of Rajaee Ali);
4. Ricardo Stewart, 30, of Rose Drive, Carapo, Arima;
5. Earl Richards, 48, of Waterhole, Cocorite;
6. Stephan Cummings, 33, of Rose Drive, Carapo;
7. Gareth Wiseman, 33, of Caledonia Road, Lange Park, Chaguanas;
8. Hamid Ali, 34, of Melodians Crescent, Malabar, Arima, (brother of Rajaee Ali);
9. Kevin Parkinson, 28, of Waterhole, Cocorite;
10. Leston Gonzales, 28, of Malabar, Arima; and,
11. Roget Boucher, 29, of Rose Drive, Carapo.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 11th, 2015, 10:48 am

So we have an idea of who did the shooting..

What about the person that call the shot?

Postby S_2NR » December 11th, 2015, 5:43 pm

Dana Seetahal who? Christmas and carnival just now. Wine wine wine wine

Postby SMc » December 11th, 2015, 8:25 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:So we have an idea of who did the shooting..

What about the person that call the shot?

^^the people that called the hit should be properly exposed them bunch of felles are really only providing a mask to cover the real shituation.

Postby shogun » December 11th, 2015, 8:43 pm

Those are just foot soldiers. Shot caller[s] too influential/affluential to be touched... for now.

I don't even like to enter this thread, nuh. They kill meh girl, dred!

Still can't believe she gone.

Postby K74T » January 20th, 2016, 8:44 am

Dana’s murder SUV for auction*

Published on Jan 19, 2016, 8:33 pm AST

THE sport utility vehicle (SUV) inside which senior counsel Dana Seetahal was murdered will go on the auction block next week Saturday.
According to Seetahal’s will, her vehicle is to be sold and the proceeds divided among the staff who were employed with her for more than a year.
Seetahal’s Volkswagen Touareg SUV, registration number PCN 6, will be put up for auction on January 30 at 10 a.m.
Deputy Police Commission Glen Hackett yesterday said the sale would not have any “deleterious effect on the prosecution’s presentation” in the ongoing Seetahal murder case.
The public auction will take place at Seetahal’s former law office, El Dorado Chambers, at 120A St Vincent Street in Port of Spain. Certified auctioneer Edward Soon will conduct the auction.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20160119/news/dana8217s-murder-suv-for-auction

antlind

Postby antlind » January 20th, 2016, 9:38 am

K74T wrote:

THE sport utility vehicle (SUV) inside which senior counsel Dana Seetahal was murdered will go on the auction block next week Saturday.
According to Seetahal’s will, her vehicle is to be sold and the proceeds divided among the staff who were employed with her for more than a year.
Seetahal’s Volkswagen Touareg SUV, registration number PCN 6, will be put up for auction on January 30 at 10 a.m.
Deputy Police Commission Glen Hackett yesterday said the sale would not have any “deleterious effect on the prosecution’s presentation” in the ongoing Seetahal murder case.
The public auction will take place at Seetahal’s former law office, El Dorado Chambers, at 120A St Vincent Street in Port of Spain. Certified auctioneer Edward Soon will conduct the auction.

Isn't this vehicle still evidence? I don't understand how it could be sold until the trial is complete.

Postby DVSTT » January 20th, 2016, 9:49 am

antlind wrote:
K74T wrote:

Isn't this vehicle still evidence? I don't understand how it could be sold until the trial is complete.

I don't see why anyone would buy a vehicle that's involved in a murder.

Postby S_2NR » January 20th, 2016, 10:14 am

Assassination is a better word than murder.

Postby DVSTT » January 20th, 2016, 10:19 am

S_2NR wrote:Assassination is a better word than murder.

That's even worse.

Postby S_2NR » January 20th, 2016, 10:22 am

That is the reality unfortunately.

Postby pugboy » January 20th, 2016, 2:59 pm

we haven't heard the top cop say "investigations are ongoing and at sensitive stage"
in a long time

Postby shogun » January 20th, 2016, 4:27 pm

Wouldn't mind at least an update as to where the ongoing investigations are leading them.

Postby pugboy » January 20th, 2016, 5:11 pm

if they are at a sensitive and ongoing stage they would not be at liberty
to reveal anything to jeopardize any suspects

Postby shogun » January 20th, 2016, 7:21 pm

Nuh, no specific details. Just updating the public on the general direction/scope of the investigation.

OhGoarr!!! at least let the public know she's not gone and forgotten.