"H" can u drive it :/

tropi_flakes

"H" can u drive it :/

Postby tropi_flakes » June 29th, 2014, 9:01 am

Did some searching an nothing turned up so doh ban meh, just wanted to find out if a vehicle is registered for hire can it be driven by someone who does not have there taxi badge ? Even if there is no intention to work it as a taxi, until a reliable driver is found

Jade_Inc.

Re: "H" can u drive it :/

Postby Jade_Inc. » June 29th, 2014, 9:05 am

I don't think so.. U need taxi badge to drive an H car.

vtec-ghost

Re:

Postby vtec-ghost » June 29th, 2014, 9:25 am

No, taxi badge is a must

matthewmazda

Re:

Postby matthewmazda » June 29th, 2014, 3:34 pm

yep you must have a taxi badge to drive any H vehicles

Re:

Postby Rainman » June 29th, 2014, 3:36 pm

Yep.....taxi badge. Licensing and insurance is different for a H car.

badandy

Re:

Postby badandy » June 29th, 2014, 7:29 pm

"Failure to produce a taxi driver badge" is a charge...so no you can't drive it legally.

tropi_flakes

Postby tropi_flakes » July 9th, 2014, 8:30 pm

Seeing that were on the topic, is the driving test for a taxi badge the same as the one done when applying for a drivers permit ? Eg. 3 point turn an road test ?

shotta 20

Re:

Postby shotta 20 » July 9th, 2014, 8:38 pm

Do what I did... Make over P number plates and drive. Just don't get caught.

triston

Postby triston » July 9th, 2014, 8:43 pm

Yes taxi badge is same process. Just difference is that u need cert of character an medical. Also the regulations is just couple different question.

zoelikescheese

Re:

Postby zoelikescheese » July 9th, 2014, 9:02 pm

once again, everybody is wrong
you can drive it if you know your laws

im sure rs can relate to this

Postby hustla_ambition101 » July 9th, 2014, 9:09 pm

cjsplayboy wrote:once again, everybody is wrong

Well post the law oh wise one

triston

Postby triston » July 9th, 2014, 10:56 pm

Waiting for this reply too.. Cause i have my taxi badge an i know regulations clearly states that only person allowed to drive any "h" must possess a valid taxi badge.

tropi_flakes

Postby tropi_flakes » July 9th, 2014, 11:00 pm

Reason I'm asking tho is I got some cars on the road "pulling bull" but I'm going the legal way now an getting "H" vehicles the thing is tho I don't want to end up in trouble with the law if police pull me over in one of them, an if i am driving one it will only be me in the vehicle..

Re:

Postby SMc » July 10th, 2014, 4:02 pm

Why not look into getting a taxi badge for yourself, I cant imagine it being that expensive or difficult to get. Plus seeing that you are doing the right thing by 'running taxi' legally I dont think you would have a problem getting one.

I dont think people realise the risk they take when travelling in a 'PH' and something goes wrong...anyway good luck

triston

Postby triston » July 10th, 2014, 4:22 pm

Taxi badge took me 2 weeks.. That is including regulations an driving test. Cost me $75 for badge. Driving test depending on how much a school charge u an pic an medical. I didn't spend more than 500. Better get yr badge. Just better for business especially yr kind of business.

tropi_flakes

Postby tropi_flakes » July 10th, 2014, 5:51 pm

Was the driving test the same as going for yur permit an the written? Cuz I getting a lot of different stories, will be going to sort it out tho

zoelikescheese

Re:

Postby zoelikescheese » July 10th, 2014, 7:01 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:
cjsplayboy wrote:once again, everybody is wrong

Well post the law oh wise one

in emergency cases
i cant remember the other reason right now but i will post it as soon as i do

bossmann

Postby bossmann » July 10th, 2014, 11:26 pm

In speaking to an officer today about this I was told that you can drive the vehicle however you CANNOT ply for hire. He also said some officers are more reasonable than others...
Last edited by bossmann on July 11th, 2014, 12:52 am, edited 1 time in total.

triston

Postby triston » July 11th, 2014, 12:23 am

Driving test is same thing. Just couple question different from normal license. I looking for regulations booklet home. Will pm u when i do an u can collect it. I have no use for it.

Richard Marshall

Postby Richard Marshall » July 11th, 2014, 12:50 am

bossmann wrote:In speaking to an office today about this I was told that you can drive the vehicle however you CANNOT ply for hire. He also said some officers are more reasonable than others...

To whom you spoke to about this? I'd like to know if what you're saying is true.

bossmann

Postby bossmann » July 11th, 2014, 12:52 am

Sorry that should have been officer... Corrected.

Richard Marshall

Postby Richard Marshall » July 11th, 2014, 1:13 am

bossmann wrote:Sorry that should have been officer... Corrected.

What kind of officer and rank? I have an H car. But only have my private license. I need to be sure your info is solid.

bossmann

Postby bossmann » July 11th, 2014, 1:26 am

Richard Marshall wrote:
bossmann wrote:Sorry that should have been officer... Corrected.

What kind of officer and rank? I have an H car. But only have my private license. I need to be sure your info is solid.

It was a police sergeant. I was told that by 2 officers and someone driving maxi for a few years. At the end of the day though as stated before your best bet is to acquire your taxi permit.

Richard Marshall

Postby Richard Marshall » July 11th, 2014, 1:29 am

Thanks for clearing that up.

bossmann

Re:

Postby bossmann » July 11th, 2014, 1:33 am

In reading the Motor Vehicles and Road Traffic Act however it says the following:
111. (1) No person shall drive on any road a taxi registered as
such unless he is the holder of a taxi driver’s licence issued to
him by the Licensing Authority under these Regulations.

119. The provisions of regulation 111(1) and of regulation 116
shall not apply in relation to any taxi when it is on a road or is
being driven on a road for the purpose of test by any garage
keeper or any employee of any garage keeper and is not being
used for hire or reward.

tropi_flakes

Postby tropi_flakes » July 11th, 2014, 9:53 am

This clears things up so I will be able to drive them, thanks for the info (still goin an get the badge tho )

JoeBama

Re:

Postby JoeBama » July 11th, 2014, 10:34 am

i believe a "P" license holder can drive a "H" car once there is a off duty sign that is visible...

Richard Marshall

Postby Richard Marshall » July 11th, 2014, 10:50 am

Want the facts. Need to be sure. I'm only getting mixed views on the topic.

Re:

Postby SMc » July 11th, 2014, 1:56 pm

Richard Marshall wrote:Want the facts. Need to be sure. I'm only getting mixed views on the topic.

Go to licencing office and find out, then come back an let everyone know since it is that important to you.

bossmann

Postby bossmann » July 11th, 2014, 2:11 pm

Richard Marshall wrote:Want the facts. Need to be sure. I'm only getting mixed views on the topic.
if you have any real interest in having concrete evidence go LO or read the act. As what I quoted is in the act. The fact is that YOU can't be sure if what anyone says via the net is true...