King George V VS Nelson Mandela

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » July 17th, 2014, 10:46 am

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Geo ... 34551.html
Residents of St Clair say they were not consulted before a decision was taken to rename George V Park in St Clair.
The park, which is to be renamed in a ceremony scheduled for tomorrow, will be called Nelson Mandela Park, in honour of the late South African freedom fighter and president.
The decision to rename the Park comes three months after discussion among members of the Port of Spain City Corporation to pay tribute to Mandela, who died last year at the age of 95 after suffering from a respiratory infection.
Describing the renaming of the Park as a “surprise”, councillor for the area, Cleveland Garcia, said the Woodbrook Community Association, through the Ministry of Tourism, had erected a marble plaque detailing the history of George V Park and would like the plaque to remain in place at the park.
“Whilst we may have our views about the changing of the name of the park, I would really like them to leave the History of George V Park there for our future generations and perhaps construct another plaque with the History of Nelson Mandela,” Garcia said in a news release.
Port of Spain Mayor Raymond Tim Kee could not be reached for comment yesterday.

I really cant identify with anything King George has done to improve my life, but I'm sure residents in that area should have a say, thoughts?

Halfbreed07

Re: King George V VS Nelson Mandela

Postby Halfbreed07 » July 17th, 2014, 10:47 am

edit *double post*
Last edited by Halfbreed07 on July 17th, 2014, 11:21 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby teems1 » July 17th, 2014, 11:16 am

meh, leave it as George V.

If they want a NM park, build one and name it then.

Postby UML » July 17th, 2014, 11:29 am

so it was a decision made by the 15 people on the panel?

what about naming it after Sparrow/Kitchener/Sundar Popo/Brian Lara/Noor Hassanali?

why not name it after a local person who contributed to our country?

what had Nelson Mandela done for Trinidad?

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » July 17th, 2014, 11:39 am

UML wrote:so it was a decision made by the 15 people on the panel?

what about naming it after Sparrow/Kitchener/Sundar Popo/Brian Lara/Noor Hassanali?

image is everything.....

PapaC

Postby PapaC » July 17th, 2014, 1:30 pm

this...

Postby pugboy » July 17th, 2014, 4:18 pm

Nothing a can of bomb spray cant fix

Postby j.o.e » July 17th, 2014, 4:30 pm

I will probably still call it by the old name...so they can do what they want

Postby zoom rader » July 17th, 2014, 5:03 pm

Sat Maraj park sounds better

Postby VexXx Dogg » July 17th, 2014, 5:20 pm

jimmies rustled, I see

Postby pioneer » July 17th, 2014, 7:00 pm

He was great in Dark Knight.

Postby desifemlove » July 17th, 2014, 7:20 pm

Change it. doh see what the issue is.

Postby K74T » July 17th, 2014, 7:20 pm

Would be better if renamed after Jack Warner

aspsounds

Postby aspsounds » July 17th, 2014, 8:16 pm

what we talking about again....is this the Kim K butt ched?

Postby UML » July 18th, 2014, 9:54 am

Lee Sing: Consultation needed

Widespread consultation is needed before renaming King George V Park, says former Port-of-Spain mayor Louis Lee Sing. “A matter like this needed consultation and wider airing so that the people who are affected by it, like the residents around the park, would have been apprised as to why the change is being done. I’m hoping that that happened. “This is a fundamental change and under my tenure we would have taken something like this to a town meeting,” he added.

On the suitability of naming the park after Nelson Mandela, he said, “I wonder if we are not riding the Mandela thing. What about Toussaint L’Ouverture? He is more relevant to be given pride and place. He was a Caribbean man who came long before Mandela and he did all the things Mandela did.” Lee-Sing said authorities needed to be cautious not to be hasty when renaming places.

“Many people approached me when I was mayor to rename places and institutions, but there are many things to take into consideration, like the history and the significance of the person. Is it that every time a government changes we change the name of something?”
http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2014-07- ... on-mandela

nismoid

Postby nismoid » July 18th, 2014, 10:08 am

What has Nelson Mandela ever done for the people of Trinidad and Tobago? as opposed to people like Sparrow, Kitchener and other LOCAL Distinguished People who has and in my opinion deserved the same recognition, not some South African Politician who don't give a $hit about anyone here

Postby UML » July 18th, 2014, 10:11 am

If Nelson Mandela why not Mahatma Ghandi? :|

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » July 18th, 2014, 10:23 am

UML wrote:If Nelson Mandela why not Mahatma Ghandi? :|

Ghandi has a square in POS already, its a home to may a societal destitute

Postby VexXx Dogg » July 18th, 2014, 10:26 am

Surprise renaming is better than surprise buttsecks

Postby Redman » July 18th, 2014, 10:31 am

I really cant identify with anything King George has done to improve my life, but I'm sure residents in that area should have a say, thoughts?

To have made it to a vote of the City Council there had to be a process which includes a petition signed by residence..

it was a decision made by the 15 people on the panel?

You know we in a mess when UML making real sense :? :shock: :? :shock:

Postby UML » July 18th, 2014, 11:31 am

Redman wrote:

To have made it to a vote of the City Council there had to be a process which includes a petition signed by residence..

it was a decision made by the 15 people on the panel?

You know we in a mess when UML making real sense :? :shock: :? :shock:

there was no discussion with residents. it was decided and passed by them only.

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » July 18th, 2014, 12:10 pm

UML wrote:If Nelson Mandela why not Mahatma Ghandi? :|

rename the st michael home for boys in honor of ghandi since dey doz engage in pedo.behaviour too

Postby crazybalhead » July 18th, 2014, 12:14 pm

Postby bushwakka » July 18th, 2014, 3:11 pm

Like poor Jean Pierre too

Postby Country_Bookie » July 18th, 2014, 10:39 pm

When is this fight happening? My $$ is on KGV to win. After all, he lived his life as a king, while Nellie was locked up for 27 yrs.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » July 18th, 2014, 10:45 pm

First time hearing about that place today but I think it should stay as it is seeing that it was like that for so long.

And what did Mandela do for Trinidad anyways???

TriniAutoMart

Postby TriniAutoMart » July 18th, 2014, 10:48 pm

This makes more sense ^^^

Postby sliderz1 » July 19th, 2014, 12:02 am

thought it was epic rap battles :/

Postby K74T » July 19th, 2014, 7:53 am

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1405770845.408847.jpg

tourniquet