Refusal to transfer vehicle.

Halfbreed07

Refusal to transfer vehicle.

Postby Halfbreed07 » August 15th, 2014, 10:02 am

What are my options if the person I sold my car to has refused to make any attempt to transfer the vehicle, he has infact stopped answering my calls or messages. First he said the car got in an accident days after he got it and could not be driven, this was months ago, so I would expect by now the car was repaired.
Sadly its a tuner, I hope he reads this.

HSA

Re: Refusal to transfer vehicle.

Postby HSA » August 15th, 2014, 10:06 am

Get a police padna to ruff im up or hire a hitman to teach him a lesson...your options alone the illegal path are limitless....

Some ppl like to just drive cars with no transfer or cert. copy....pay him a visit home?
Last edited by HSA on August 15th, 2014, 10:17 am, edited 1 time in total.

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » August 15th, 2014, 10:12 am

steupes

Lance

Postby Lance » August 15th, 2014, 10:12 am

What's the transfer cost?

Seems like a hand to mouth tuner that buy a car and can't afford to put gas, much less pay for transfer.

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » August 15th, 2014, 10:16 am

vehicle is a '97 model, meen sure, bout $100 to transfer?

AdamB

Postby AdamB » August 15th, 2014, 10:27 am

isnt it that legally the previous owner is responsible for the transfer?

Postby j.o.e » August 15th, 2014, 10:30 am

Well if u sold the car to him...and he don't want to transfer it. Go and take your car..its technically still yours. That should make him wise up.
Yuh doh have a spare key? lol

Postby pioneer » August 15th, 2014, 10:30 am

It really that hard to transfer the vehicle same day payment is exchanged???

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » August 15th, 2014, 10:31 am

well how can i transfer if the new owner refuses to?
you see my issue now?

Postby skylinechild » August 15th, 2014, 10:38 am

Halfbreed07 wrote:well how can i transfer if the new owner refuses to?
you see my issue now?

you can make a report in the police station as well as a report to L.O - i not use if they will entertain such a report. but ensure you get a report receipt.

iirc there is a certain amount of time that a vehicle should be transferred.

that way if any shady deals happen with said car and other individuals - the CYA process is in full force

CYA - cover your ass

paparazzi

Postby paparazzi » August 15th, 2014, 10:45 am

Halfbreed07 wrote:What are my options if the person I sold my car to has refused to make any attempt to transfer the vehicle, he has infact stopped answering my calls or messages. First he said the car got in an accident days after he got it and could not be driven, this was months ago, so I would expect by now the car was repaired.

1) Ensure you have evidence that you sold the car. E.g copy of payment cheque or a receipt issued by you.

2) write to the commissioner of transport indicating that you sold the vehicle registered xxxxx on xxxx date and to date the purchase has refused to facilitate the transfer registration. Keep a copy of the letter

Legally your responsibility for the car ended the day that you sold the car i.e the day that he paid you and (presumably) you delivered the car to him.

However, prima facie, there is a presumption that you are the legal owner of the vehicle as your name continues to appear as the registered owner of the vehicle.

It is a rebuttable presumption which can be displaced by evidence of the sale. This is why it is important that you keep your records of the sale.

Postby black start » August 15th, 2014, 10:45 am

I think there's a place called "license office" that deals with transfering of ownership of vehicles. Maybe you could check them and inform them of your situation.

Postby Chimera » August 15th, 2014, 10:46 am

he's not the new owner.

you're still the owner

report the vehicle stolen and tell police where to find it

Postby skylinechild » August 15th, 2014, 10:56 am

ABA Trading LTD wrote:he's not the new owner.

you're still the owner

problem with this approach is it will end up like this:-

seller: calls police tells them where to find vehicle

police: finds vehicle and impounds it

buyer :shows up @ police station proving receipt to show he bought vehicle - argument ensues between 3 parties - seller buyer and police

police: holds seller and charges them for wasting police time - even though seller tells sad story of buyer not willing to transfer. police holds buyer and charges him with not transferring vehicle within stipulated time frame.

any other variation of story?? feel free to add on..

AdamB

Postby AdamB » August 15th, 2014, 10:58 am

you're still the owner

i sold a car to a police officer 7 yrs ago and he hasnt transferred because the fee was too high. should i still report to the police?

pal jus go on with your life and forget it nah...once you have your copy of the receipt to prove that it was sold to cya...

paparazzi

Postby paparazzi » August 15th, 2014, 10:59 am

you're still the owner

That's not correct. The buyer is the legal new owner he's just not registered as the new owner

lalloboy101

Postby lalloboy101 » August 15th, 2014, 11:01 am

go tek back de civic ahready dey bai

HSA

Postby HSA » August 15th, 2014, 11:07 am

skylinechild wrote:

you're still the owner

problem with this approach is it will end up like this:-

seller: calls police tells them where to find vehicle

police: finds vehicle and impounds it

buyer :shows up @ police station proving receipt to show he bought vehicle - argument ensues between 3 parties - seller buyer and police

police: holds seller and charges them for wasting police time - even though seller tells sad story of buyer not willing to transfer. police holds buyer and charges him with not transferring vehicle within stipulated time frame.

any other variation of story?? feel free to add on..

Don't report it stolen bro...remember you sold it to him and the issue here is transferring.With your receipt i hope which has your both signatures and id info... inform licensing and police of the transfer problem and hear their advise.you may get a lil rough up but it better than spreadin yuh bamsee in a jail cell...

zoelikescheese

Postby zoelikescheese » August 15th, 2014, 11:40 am

Halfbreed07 wrote:What are my options if the person I sold my car to has refused to make any attempt to transfer the vehicle, he has infact stopped answering my calls or messages. First he said the car got in an accident days after he got it and could not be driven, this was months ago, so I would expect by now the car was repaired.

How long after you sold the vehicle you tried to contact the guy?

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » August 15th, 2014, 12:04 pm

call name

fass4drs

Postby fass4drs » August 15th, 2014, 12:25 pm

Please read paparazzi response.and take the necessary action..hopefully you still have your receipt...

Had a similar situation ..police encouraged the buyer to transfer .

Postby pioneer » August 15th, 2014, 12:27 pm

Halfbreed07 wrote:well how can i transfer if the new owner refuses to?
you see my issue now?

Then why you took his money?

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » August 15th, 2014, 12:49 pm

oh goar boi u didn hav to make me out so.
I cudda do it same day but di gyul really wanted dat dinner special.

Postby Ted_v2 » August 15th, 2014, 12:50 pm

2nr yesss

shottah_crew

Postby shottah_crew » August 15th, 2014, 1:02 pm

Not sure, but depending on how bad the car was hit, wouldn't it have had to be repaired before transfer? Btw, u remove your insurance when it was sold right?

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » August 15th, 2014, 1:06 pm

OP the only person to blame is you

geodude

Postby geodude » August 15th, 2014, 1:11 pm

OP The answer is the same as always, brush he mudda, sister, daughter, grannie and dog, not necessarily in that order but you get the point

Postby Dizzy28 » August 15th, 2014, 1:19 pm

paparazzi wrote:

you're still the owner

That's not correct. The buyer is the legal new owner he's just not registered as the new owner

But a coworker here sold her car about 9 years ago. The new owner never transferred the car into their name and apparently also never took out insurance or stopped paying it soon after. Long story short the car was involved in an accident a few years ago after the sale and early this year the coworker got a lawyer letter for a court date as the insurance company saying she as owner has to stand liability.

paparazzi

Postby paparazzi » August 15th, 2014, 1:23 pm

paparazzi wrote:

you're still the owner

But a coworker here sold her car about 9 years ago. The new owner never transferred the car into their name and apparently also never took out insurance or stopped paying it soon after. Long story short the car was involved in an accident a few years ago after the sale and early this year the coworker got a lawyer letter for a court date as the insurance company saying she as owner has to stand liability.

Which is why it's important to retain evidence of the sale. As I mentioned before the presumption that you are the legal owner (because you are the registered owner) is rebuttable by production of evidence of the sale.

Your co-worker should produce the receipt for sale.

Postby SMc » August 15th, 2014, 1:24 pm

^^^That is my understanding