SunMoon

Blu Phones

Postby SunMoon » August 16th, 2014, 9:18 am

good day,

what do you all think of Blu phones like the Blu Advance or Blu Dash,

I have seen alot of them with cracked screens and reviews online was not generally good.

I am comapring it to the Samsung galaxy Ace or Blackberry 9320.

Re: Blu Phones

Postby Spitfir3 » August 16th, 2014, 10:10 am

blu phones aren't very good i mean they're good if you're getting it like dog cheap and you just need a backup or a "toss about" phone
but as an avid daily user unless your 14 i'd say No

they also tend to have "paper specs" meaning it looks promising on paper but when you actually use the phone you would realize the performance is sorely lacking for what should be a decently spec'd phone

lastly typing on a blu phone is just off, i suck at typing on a phone but i can hit practically every key flawlessly on an iphone but with a blu uhh NO, tried using different keyboards,settings etc but screen\typing really isn't responsive

As for the blackberry don't even bother its 2014 just don't

Out of all the options you've listed the Ace is the best bet but its also very outdated and might not cut it for anything other than very basic use, you should state your budget so we can advice you on what phone best fits it

Postby Bizzare » August 16th, 2014, 10:56 am

Never had issues with Samsung or Apple handsets....Experienced both software and hardware issues with all my blu phones. You get what you pay for.

Postby streetbeastINC. » August 16th, 2014, 11:24 am

I bought ah nifty lil blue phone with a tv and fm radio, never used it as a fone, ...just got it for use as such

Postby desifemlove » August 16th, 2014, 2:35 pm

Compared to another Android low-end phone, it ent bad. Don't expect iPhone specs/performance it called low-end for a reason.

Samsung Galaxy Ace ent got tops specs...but if you only want e-mail (Exchange and Gmail), Play Store connectivity, basic browsing, then the Blu holds up well.

As for build quality......Most Android makers IMHO have shitty build quality. If yuh ever dropped a galaxy 5, it would smash lol... or at least get a chip. Apple still has this over Samsung, iPhones cost more, but then dey sturdier.

virusfound

Postby virusfound » August 18th, 2014, 1:15 pm

using a blu life 8 couple weeks now, no issues, an i'm a heavy phone user

searchingone

Postby searchingone » August 18th, 2014, 1:30 pm

virusfound wrote:using a blu life 8 couple weeks now, no issues, an i'm a heavy phone user

viewtopic.php?f=4&t=500519

virusfound

Postby virusfound » August 18th, 2014, 1:51 pm

searchingone wrote:
virusfound wrote:using a blu life 8 couple weeks now, no issues, an i'm a heavy phone user

viewtopic.php?f=4&t=500519

snypaz

Postby snypaz » August 18th, 2014, 2:28 pm

Their newer devices are not that bad. I have been using a BLU Life Pro for the past 4 months without any issues. Beautiful phone. And I am a Heavy user as well. My wife has one as well with about 60 apps and she too has no issues whatsoever.

speedist

Postby speedist » August 18th, 2014, 11:32 pm

Price of the blu life? Not to hijack the thread but anybody have experience with alcatel? Looking at getting an Alcatel C1 Pop for someone. Basically looking for a good beginner smartphone for her.

salvation4U

Postby salvation4U » August 18th, 2014, 11:43 pm

the samsung s4 is good for downloading movies hehe

but in serious, i had a blu phone, the one with the press button and looks like a mini black berry, those are strong. I was working offshore it fell out my pocket, fell about 14ft hit those steel grating and almost fell into the sea lol. And all that drama and it still working.

Postby TRAE » August 19th, 2014, 11:16 am

Spitfir3 wrote:blu phones aren't very good i mean they're good if you're getting it like dog cheap and you just need a backup or a "toss about" phone
but as an avid daily user unless your 14 i'd say No

they also tend to have "paper specs" meaning it looks promising on paper but when you actually use the phone you would realize the performance is sorely lacking for what should be a decently spec'd phone

lastly typing on a blu phone is just off, i suck at typing on a phone but i can hit practically every key flawlessly on an iphone but with a blu uhh NO, tried using different keyboards,settings etc but screen\typing really isn't responsive

As for the blackberry don't even bother its 2014 just don't

Out of all the options you've listed the Ace is the best bet but its also very outdated and might not cut it for anything other than very basic use, you should state your budget so we can advice you on what phone best fits it

Exactly- them Huawei phones are garbage as well- but blu phones outperform alot of the cheaper choices, and paper specs? thats right as well- use a S4 then use an iPhone 5s and see which is better even tho the specs are near identical.

INHUMAN

Postby INHUMAN » August 19th, 2014, 3:59 pm

Wud never buy an ipackofsh1t....android ftw...no clone, chinese knockoff brands... U get what u pay for

Postby TRAE » August 19th, 2014, 9:36 pm

INHUMAN wrote:Wud never buy an ipackofsh1t....android ftw...no clone, chinese knockoff brands... U get what u pay for

this guy is void of experiences

INHUMAN

Postby INHUMAN » August 19th, 2014, 10:20 pm

shogun wrote:
TRAE wrote:that does nothing for me - but i guess when you're sheltered like you fall for anything--- lesbos dont want you--- how is that turning you on

I highly doubt the chick in your avatar wants you. Or is that in fact an unusually over sized tattoo of your username across her stomach?... either way, quoted for new favorite retarded thing posted in this ched.

contain ur fruity nature to one thread nah...jeez

vtec-ghost

Postby vtec-ghost » August 19th, 2014, 10:39 pm

Blu Life View for about 3-4 months now, no issues thankfully. Heavy user as some ppl say.

Also know someone with the Dash 5.0 for about 6 months and no issues really (but this phone is really low end)

The blu 'life series' are the better of the bunch and some are priced reasonable

Postby TRAE » August 20th, 2014, 11:43 am

INHUMAN wrote:
shogun wrote:
TRAE wrote:that does nothing for me - but i guess when you're sheltered like you fall for anything--- lesbos dont want you--- how is that turning you on

I highly doubt the chick in your avatar wants you. Or is that in fact an unusually over sized tattoo of your username across her stomach?... either way, quoted for new favorite retarded thing posted in this ched.

contain ur fruity nature to one thread nah...jeez

youre pro fruity man- doh blame me

Postby Spitfir3 » August 20th, 2014, 12:16 pm

vtec-ghost wrote:Blu Life View for about 3-4 months now, no issues thankfully. Heavy user as some ppl say.

Also know someone with the Dash 5.0 for about 6 months and no issues really (but this phone is really low end)

The blu 'life series' are the better of the bunch and some are priced reasonable

how much does those life series run for? right now the best bang for buck phone is the moto g which is around $1500 i think

Kinday

Postby Kinday » August 20th, 2014, 12:26 pm

Coming from a decent Nokia I decided to test the BLU Dash Music 4.0 for a previous project which needed very heavy phone and data usage. Phone isn't the best build quality...lots of plastic, looks cheap but at least its not an ugly phone. My phone is rooted and I've also downloaded tons of apps and games. The internal memory isn't large and the phone can run a tad slow opening other apps while quite a few other apps are still open (about 10-14). As a result I found myself downloading RAM and performance enhancement apps as well...something you would hardly ever find necessary with high end phones, if ever. I'm a heavy phone user and tbh the phone hasn't disappointed me to date. Does what is supposed to well, Battery life is really quite good and volume is decent. The downsides are

1) Camera quality is horrendous.
2) Display is ridiculously unable to view in open sunlight
3) No front camera on this model
4) No gorilla glass business here....glass will scratch or break easily. Screen protector NEEDED.
5) Colour display is not dynamic

Beyond that the phone itself is a rugged performer. I purchased only on a superb deal as well as researching the online reviews. I was surprised that they rated this model quite highly (phone scoop, gsmarena, etc). All in all its a pretty decent phone, well worth the price if you get it on a good deal. If you just want the basic to midrange features I'd say go for one. I still use mine