Jowelle making election bid

Postby AllTrac » October 9th, 2014, 2:44 pm

Is Trinidad and Tobago ready for this? Transgender Animal rights Activist representation in Parliament

http://www.newsday.co.tt/news/0,199813.html

By VASHTEE ACHIBAR Sunday, August 31 2014

Prominent San Fernando hair-stylist, and animal rights activist Jowelle Taylor de Souza has been awarded the Humming Bird Medal Bronze. The national award is given to persons for loyal and devoted service to Trinidad and Tobago. In her case it is given for community service for her work as an animal rights activist.

Jowelle, who was born male, shot into the spotlight several years ago after undergoing what is said to be the first sex reassignment surgery in Trinidad and is well known for her outspokenness on national issues and her passion for animals.

Speaking at her Independence Avenue, San Fernando Hair Salon yesterday, Jowelle who paused from her work to sit down for the interview said she was delighted to know her work is being recognised.

“It means a lot to me, that they are awarding something of that nature. I am pleased. Animals are important to me. In first world countries animals are well-taken care of. ”

She was careful to point out that the award is not about her but what she is doing for abandoned animals. Jowelle is the founder of “Animals Alive” a shelter for over 300 dogs and cats and is located at Ralph Narine Trace, South Oropouche.

She said her objective is to save as many animals as possible that are abandoned or ill- treated. “We do not run a “kill centre”. Our animals are well cared for and we encourage adoption.

“I would also like to encourage volunteers to come to the centre to assist.” She said her staff of at least 12 persons work long hours to take care of the animals and that operating costs are high.

“I work hard and I hope that one day people would see what I am doing and join in.” She receives an annual subvention from government to help with salaries but says the bulk of the funding comes from her business. Jowelle who starts work at 6am said she works at least 12 to 16 hours a day. Some of her clients include former Attorney General Ramesh Lawrence Maharaj but she confesses to doing the hair of Presidents and other prominent persons including former US First Lady Hillary Clinton.

Jowelle said she is not fazed by negative comments that some may make about her sexuality. “ I would not change a single thing in my life and if I had to live all over again I would do exactly what I did before, she said. Among her plans for the future is to contest the San Fernando West seat as an Independent candidate in the 2015 general elections.

Re: Jowelle making election bid

Postby rfari » October 9th, 2014, 2:46 pm

He gonna split the UNC vote

Postby Les Bain » October 9th, 2014, 3:01 pm

rfari wrote:He gonna split the UNC vote

Is she, yuh nasty cisgender scum.

Postby rfari » October 9th, 2014, 3:06 pm

Pardon my faux pas sir.
Allow me to rephrase.
She will split the UNC vote because they into that funnyman ting

Postby TRAE » October 9th, 2014, 3:12 pm

lawd.... seriously tho

Postby 1UZFE » October 9th, 2014, 3:14 pm

Ken Valley replacement..

Postby dougla_boy » October 9th, 2014, 3:16 pm

meem seeing a problem here

Postby Chimera » October 9th, 2014, 3:16 pm

Did she really say she eh guh change a single thing in she life :lol:

Postby RBphoto » October 9th, 2014, 3:20 pm

Jowelle is a very nice person and I would vote for her if it was my constituency. Will be actively supporting her campaign. Anyone have anything disparaging to say about her, try this.. scratch your ass. If your finger don't get stick from a national award pin, gtfo. If it does, that is the only place you could pull one out of anyway.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 9th, 2014, 3:26 pm

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » October 9th, 2014, 3:27 pm

rfari wrote:Pardon my faux pas sir.
Allow me to rephrase.

Who was in more funnyman thing than a former PNM finance minister? Steups

:evilbat:

Postby rfari » October 9th, 2014, 3:28 pm

toyota2nr wrote:
rfari wrote:Pardon my faux pas sir.
Allow me to rephrase.

Who was in more funnyman thing than a former PNM finance minister? Steups

:evilbat:

Dbu funnyman

lalloboy101

Postby lalloboy101 » October 9th, 2014, 3:37 pm

Possible Minister of Gender Affairs?

Postby TRAE » October 9th, 2014, 3:38 pm

how can you trust someone with your area that eh know if they wanna be a dude or a chick

Postby j.o.e » October 9th, 2014, 3:41 pm

If it's one thing...she's open to change.....

bu-dum-ching

Postby goalpost » October 9th, 2014, 4:02 pm

TRAE wrote:how can you trust someone with your area that eh know if they wanna be a dude or a chick

jowelle identifies herself as a she, not so? so then what sheit u talking, jowelle eh know if wanna be a dude or a chick.

Postby rfari » October 9th, 2014, 4:06 pm

I can see UNC absorbing her into the party

Postby TRAE » October 9th, 2014, 4:06 pm

its a he dude- its still a he

Postby TRAE » October 9th, 2014, 4:18 pm

MUAHAHAHHA

Postby Chimera » October 9th, 2014, 4:40 pm

in all honesty, i sure she's gonna be a better candidate than most alternatives

Postby Habit7 » October 9th, 2014, 4:44 pm

I am a Sando West constituent, and Jowelle will not be getting my vote and it has nothing to do with his gender.

Postby RBphoto » October 9th, 2014, 4:55 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:in all honesty, i sure she's gonna be a better candidate than most alternatives

How so?

Postby hustla_ambition101 » October 9th, 2014, 5:09 pm

rfari wrote:I can see UNC absorbing her into the party

Reabsorb you mean.....don't know who they trying to fool, is a ploy to remove Carolyn

Postby rspann » October 9th, 2014, 5:36 pm

She got the balls to do the job?

Postby pioneer » October 9th, 2014, 5:42 pm

Politics can really change a person.

Postby j.o.e » October 9th, 2014, 5:42 pm

rspann wrote:They should make it a law that you could only do sex change if you good looking. That there dude is one ugly mofo!

Brah, brah.......you know you gay right? :lol:

Postby rspann » October 9th, 2014, 5:49 pm

Nah, I not gay,cuz I doh watch it with lust in meh heart, but my pardner was living with that for years,and he is a tuner too! Anybody call name I go whistle.

Postby 1UZFE » October 9th, 2014, 5:58 pm

Would hit...

Postby rspann » October 9th, 2014, 6:02 pm

You ent serious?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 9th, 2014, 6:17 pm

j.o.e wrote:
rspann wrote:They should make it a law that you could only do sex change if you good looking. That there dude is one ugly mofo!

Brah, brah.......you know you gay right? :lol:

LOL you make rspann delete he post oui.