Netflix Is Cracking Down On VPN 'Pirating'

Re: Netflix to block VPN's

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 22nd, 2019, 1:24 pm

^ smartdnsproxy.com works with Netflix as well, can toggle it on and off also.

infinite_RPM

Postby infinite_RPM » March 22nd, 2019, 2:41 pm

I am able to install the ExpressVPN app on my Firestick, and toggle it on/off easily when I need it. Sometimes local Netflix has a show/movie which US does not.[/quote]I find I get a better ping with Washington DC on express vpn

computercentral

Postby computercentral » March 22nd, 2019, 2:54 pm

Express VPN works for me installed in router and can select which device on vpn and not

Postby st7 » March 23rd, 2019, 1:42 am

NordVPN works bess as well.

Postby DVSTT » March 24th, 2019, 9:04 am

So between Ivacy and Nord, ivacy is better ?

Bargain deals

Postby Bargain deals » March 27th, 2019, 12:23 am

I watch Netflix for free, lifetime. It runs flawless

angelus

Postby angelus » March 27th, 2019, 1:21 am

How?
Bargain deals wrote:I watch Netflix for free, lifetime. It runs flawless

Jamesccv

Postby Jamesccv » April 30th, 2019, 9:32 am

Netflix can be used with a VPN...Netflix by itself never blocks vpn...no matter in any country you are you can access netflix...even though in china through a china vpn.

Postby Dizzy28 » April 30th, 2019, 9:41 am

Serious question - what is the content we don't get here based on region?
I watch Netflix sporadically as time allows however anything I want to see it is there r.e. their original series, standup comedy specials and movies

Postby VexXx Dogg » April 30th, 2019, 10:51 am

Dizzy28 wrote:Serious question - what is the content we don't get here based on region?
I watch Netflix sporadically as time allows however anything I want to see it is there r.e. their original series, standup comedy specials and movies

it's a give and take.
some shows get released here first for some reason, and other shows remain after they've been dropped from the US.

But I think the US list is more (and better)
Dunno if there's a site for comparison, but I don't bother to switch back and forth. US content works for me

Postby ronsin1 » May 6th, 2019, 7:17 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ smartdnsproxy.com works with Netflix as well, can toggle it on and off also.
For the xbox Netflix starting to block it has been blocked for about 2 months

All other devices are working properly

Postby VexXx Dogg » May 6th, 2019, 9:29 am

ronsin1 wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ smartdnsproxy.com works with Netflix as well, can toggle it on and off also.

might have device specific instructions to set.

Postby ronsin1 » May 6th, 2019, 9:33 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:
ronsin1 wrote:

might have device specific instructions to set.
Tried manual settings on the device as well as per instructions from smartdnsproxy didn't work

At the end of the discussion smartdnsproxy is the one stated that they have issues once the app is updated on the xbox

Postby VexXx Dogg » May 6th, 2019, 9:33 am

gotcha. They're usually pretty responsive when I email them.

Postby ronsin1 » May 6th, 2019, 12:27 pm

Yea I get back a response same day once I email them
Their live chat is decent as well

Nightshield

Postby Nightshield » May 19th, 2019, 7:49 am

is express VPN still working the best? Thinking about a subscription

Parvin

Postby Parvin » November 3rd, 2019, 11:49 am

Can anyone recommend a sure working service that I could use to change regions for different content?

pinkz

Postby pinkz » November 3rd, 2019, 12:09 pm

I does use homing solutions 'always home' von..its abt 5usd a month but it works..can download it on playstore

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 3rd, 2019, 12:13 pm

Parvin wrote:Can anyone recommend a sure working service that I could use to change regions for different content?

Check this article
https://www.comparitech.com/blog/vpn-pr ... ix-region/

Seems Express VPN does a good job of changing regions

Bargain deals

Postby Bargain deals » November 6th, 2019, 12:38 am

Try nordvpn

Blaze d Chalice

Postby Blaze d Chalice » November 6th, 2019, 9:00 am

Express Vpn doesnt work with all ISP though.
I using an ISP that completely blocks connecting to Express vpn.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 6th, 2019, 10:01 am

Blaze d Chalice wrote:Express Vpn doesnt work with all ISP though.

Which ISP is that?
Does any other VPN work with that ISP?

Blaze d Chalice

Postby Blaze d Chalice » November 6th, 2019, 12:59 pm

Blaze d Chalice wrote:Express Vpn doesnt work with all ISP though.

Which ISP is that?
Does any other VPN work with that ISP?

Well up to recently when I was in TT, it was working with both Flow and Massy.
(Don't know bout Digicel or Greendot and the rest)

Now they have me using UPC Broadband, and the "connecting" icon reaches like 1/3 of the circle (33%) and just sticks there for a while and says 'couldnt connect' .
And I tried it using all the settings - UDP, TCP, IKEv2, L2TP, PPTP - and same result.

However if I use my Vodafone Sim/phone as a tether, it works which I think is strange since Vodafone owns UPC.

I just putting it out that ExpressVPN doesn't work with some ISPs. I never tried with the Digicel/GD/AirLink/etc so I don't know if anybody experienced that with any of those, and think it was something on their end.

Never tried NordVPN, or another one called CyberGhost so I don't know further than what reviews say.
https://www.vpnmentor.com/blog/cyberghost-works-with-netflix/

Bargain deals

Postby Bargain deals » November 6th, 2019, 4:59 pm

This is account that I use. Paid one payment and since then till now, working flawlessly. No vpn using. I only use VPN when I surfing the onion router. I have multiple accounts, all premium so it's an easy switch. Nordvpn and Express vpn are best!
Screenshot_20191026-121411_Netflix.jpg

Coppershot

Postby Coppershot » November 6th, 2019, 6:11 pm

Bargain deals wrote:Try nordvpn

Nordvpn recently had security issues.
Minor breach on one of their servers but they basically tried to cover it up.

Parvin

Postby Parvin » November 8th, 2019, 7:03 pm

Parvin wrote:Can anyone recommend a sure working service that I could use to change regions for different content?

Check this article
https://www.comparitech.com/blog/vpn-pr ... ix-region/

Seems Express VPN does a good job of changing regions

Had some issues when testing a couple of servers but the online chat fixed them immediately. Working good so far.

Still wondering if its worth the price tag just to watch a few different movies :roll:

Bargain deals

Postby Bargain deals » November 10th, 2019, 1:17 pm

So wait....since when u have to pay every month to watch a movie? It have all different sites or apps to use ie cyberflix or typhoon tv, movie HD etc. They have the latest movies. Netflix on have the cleanest movies

Parvin

Postby Parvin » November 10th, 2019, 1:46 pm

Most of the sites I used to stream movies from have not been updated for a very long time. If I can find new sites with latest content that would be great.

Or for Christmas I could probably invest in an android box and use those apps you mentioned. (I’ve never had the opportunity to use any of those apps eh)

Postby redmanjp » November 11th, 2019, 11:29 am

netflix want to ban password sharing:

https://finance.yahoo.com/news/password-sharing-crackdown-netflix-hbo-210830952.html

Streaming giants and cable companies, led by Netflix (NFLX) and HBO (T), are reportedly considering ways to crack down on password sharing among streaming users.

“You’re not scared, are you?” Netflix Co-Founder & First Netflix CEO Marc Randolph told Yahoo Finance’s YFi PM, later adding: “You know there’s abuse and that’s not fair.”

It’s common among streamers to share platform passwords with their friends and family to cut costs and ensure easy accessibility— but Randolph says now the time has come for a crackdown because of what he calls “broad cases of flagrant abuse.” According to a recent research note from MoffettNathanson, about 14% of Netflix users report they are using a password from “someone outside of my household.”

TORONTO, ON - MAY 16: Netflix user Curtis Khan poses for a photo with his tablet where he often accesses his Netflix account, Thursday MAY 16. For Marc Saltzman feature on the rise of services like Netflix that are either cheap or free. (Tara Walton/Toronto Star via Getty Images)View photos
Netflix user Curtis Khan poses for a photo with his tablet where he often accesses his Netflix account, Thursday MAY 16. (Photo: Tara Walton/Toronto Star via Getty Images)
More
Several measures are being considered to try to stop this from happening, including “requiring customers to change their passwords periodically or texting codes to subscribers’ phones that they would need to enter to keep watching,” according to Bloomberg. And if those tactics don’t work, Bloomberg noted, subscription services may turn to using thumbprints for logging in.

“I don’t think we’re talking about people coming into your apartment and putting you up against the wall and saying: ‘Show us your credentials,’” Randolph said.

Randolph explained that from Netflix’s inception, it was meant to be flexible and easily accessible.

“There’s abuse and that’s not fair,” he said. “But the whole time you want to make it easy for people to be flexible.”

‘I pay for all of my accounts’
Password sharing deprives the streaming giant of at least $2.3 billion in revenue on an annual basis, Yahoo Finance previously reported. Among all of the pay-TV industry, an estimated $6.6 billion could be lost by the end of 2019 from password sharing and piracy and could grow to $9 billion by 2024.

As the streaming wars heat up, cracking down on password sharing could be a potential opportunity for these streaming platforms to increase revenue. At the same time, though, this might deter people from returning to the service if they are unwilling to pay for their own account.

Getting new subscribers hasn’t been an issue for Netflix. In its third-quarter earnings report last month, the company disclosed there were 6.8 million new subscribers. Netflix is expecting a total of 7.6 million global subscribers for the final quarter of the year.

For users who aren’t sharing their passwords on streaming services en masse, Randolph stressed that they should not be penalized by companies implementing new policies trying to prevent it.

“You know we travel, we have family who’s living in different places and so the problem — the very beginning was like this, you don’t want to put in place barriers that impede people who are trying to do the right thing,” he said. “Again, I don’t know what the policy is specifically, but I’m not worried. Well, I pay for all of my accounts.”

Kristen Despotakis is an associate social media editor for Yahoo Finance. Follow her on Twitter @krisdespotakis.

Blaze d Chalice

Postby Blaze d Chalice » November 11th, 2019, 4:42 pm

For a moment I see the name "randolph" and thought something else.

Anyway, how you will ban password sharing?
Ent you allowed to have a certain amount of connections (4 or something) from the main account?

And for Duane, I tried a different ISP and Yes it seems to work.