*** The official car accident thread***

Re: *** The official car accident thread***

Postby nervewrecker » February 25th, 2016, 8:42 am

Kumho and Dunlop user checking in. Both work pretty good and are good value for $$$

Sent from my ONE E1005 using Tapatalk

daas

Postby daas » February 25th, 2016, 8:54 am

Wey my atrezzo fittin een bai?

Advent

Postby Advent » February 25th, 2016, 8:58 am

nervewrecker wrote:Kumho and Dunlop user checking in. Both work pretty good and are good value for $$$

Sent from my ONE E1005 using Tapatalk

Pirelli user checking in

src1983

Postby src1983 » February 25th, 2016, 9:46 am

Toyo poxies going good for now, holding up pretty good.

INHUMAN

Postby INHUMAN » February 25th, 2016, 9:55 am

dunlop direzza is rubbish...switched to proxes 4 and never looked back

Postby Les Bain » February 25th, 2016, 10:06 am

Kumho is good for standard, responsible daily driving, right?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » February 25th, 2016, 10:14 am

Post allyuh tyre ratings instead of the brand. Brand makes no sense to post without context.

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » February 25th, 2016, 10:15 am

Proxy 4 is crap..had them on my passat and noisy as hell..tire wall to soft so cornering was aweful

Continental contisport 3 and Michelin pilot super sport are the best to use for summer tires

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » February 25th, 2016, 10:16 am

Proxy 4 is crap..had them on my passat and noisy as hell..tire wall to soft so cornering was aweful

Continental contisport 3 and Michelin pilot super sport are the best to use for summer tires

src1983

Postby src1983 » February 25th, 2016, 10:29 am

Proxies 4 plus 245 /40r18 97y

src1983

Postby src1983 » February 25th, 2016, 10:33 am

jhonnieblue wrote:Proxy 4 is crap..had them on my passat and noisy as hell..tire wall to soft so cornering was aweful

Man them going cool for me, but then I does drive 100-110km

Advent

Postby Advent » February 25th, 2016, 10:49 am

http://www.tyrereviews.co.uk/Tyre/Pirel ... o-Nero.htm

Pzero Nero in the front and some sheit in the back (westlake or something so)

INHUMAN

Postby INHUMAN » February 25th, 2016, 11:26 am

strange...my proxes t1r significantly reduced my tyre noise and inc handling from them chupid direzza/nexen n5000/. nankang ns2 was a good tyre i used as well

Postby rollingstock » February 25th, 2016, 1:35 pm

My Nexen Su4 are probably better than most of the tyres available locally. Brand has sheit to do with it, that's just for nuthuggers to feel better about themselves.

Postby wagonrunner » February 25th, 2016, 1:50 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Post allyuh tyre ratings instead of the brand. Brand makes no sense to post without context.
Tire ratings such as treadwear, temperature, traction?
Those aren't industry standards. Those are standard only to each manufacturer. A treadwear 180 Traction AA tire by one manufacturer can have less friction than a treadware 260 Traction A tire from another maker.

http://www.tirerack.com/tires/tiretech/techpage.jsp?techid=48
Typically, comparing the Treadwear Grades of tire lines within a single brand is somewhat helpful, while attempting to compare the grades between different brands is not as helpful.

Postby K74T » February 25th, 2016, 1:55 pm

acesinghshit strikes again.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » February 25th, 2016, 1:59 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Post allyuh tyre ratings instead of the brand. Brand makes no sense to post without context.
Tire ratings such as treadwear, temperature, traction?
Those aren't industry standards. Those are standard only to each manufacturer. A treadwear 180 Traction AA tire by one manufacturer can have less friction than a treadware 260 Traction A tire from another maker.

http://www.tirerack.com/tires/tiretech/techpage.jsp?techid=48
Typically, comparing the Treadwear Grades of tire lines within a single brand is somewhat helpful, while attempting to compare the grades between different brands is not as helpful.

It's still a way better place to be than buying a tyre based on brand name alone. Also Tirerack does comparisons between the tyres so you get an idea of how the ratings reflect the actual performance.

Postby Trini Hookah » February 25th, 2016, 3:13 pm

Q: Is "bess" a rating?

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » February 25th, 2016, 3:14 pm

I am under the impression that the Dunlop's / Falken's (both part of the sumitomo group) we get are cheaper versions of the actual Sumitomo branded equivalent. Since they're cheaper than Sumitomo there has to be a reason why from a business perspective or is this all marketing bs? We had the Dunlop Direzza DZ102's in our previous car (215/45/17) and those performed exceedingly well. We just found they are a bit too noisy.

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » February 25th, 2016, 3:28 pm

How may times some so easily take a thread focused on ACCIDENTS, and skew it to their own personal "likes".

Press on folks.

Postby wagonrunner » February 25th, 2016, 3:55 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:It's still a way better place to be than buying a tyre based on brand name alone. Also Tirerack does comparisons between the tyres so you get an idea of how the ratings reflect the actual performance.

some here are speaking based on their experience. why not talk about an even more important factor like tire age? that's stamped on every tire

Postby Trini Hookah » February 25th, 2016, 3:59 pm

Q: Is "bess" a rating?

Postby rollingstock » February 25th, 2016, 4:01 pm

Trini Hookah wrote:Q: Is "bess" a rating?

Of course, cause one it bess it bess

Postby wagonrunner » February 25th, 2016, 4:03 pm

AutoSport wrote:How may times some so easily take a thread focused on ACCIDENTS, and skew it to their own personal "likes".

Press on folks.
well if the example set by Arrive Alive is proceeding unchecked............................. ?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » February 25th, 2016, 4:33 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:It's still a way better place to be than buying a tyre based on brand name alone. Also Tirerack does comparisons between the tyres so you get an idea of how the ratings reflect the actual performance.

some here are speaking based on their experience. why not talk about an even more important factor like tire age? that's stamped on every tire

Yeah well that too. Still more important than brand name.

Postby Trini Hookah » February 25th, 2016, 4:42 pm

Trini Hookah wrote:Q: Is "bess" a rating?

Of course, cause one it bess it bess

Whew

DanBoss

Postby DanBoss » February 25th, 2016, 9:21 pm

Does anyone have footage of the fatal accident with the Nissan March and the Ford Ranger that occurred November 10th 2015 at Morvant Junction?

DanBoss

Postby DanBoss » February 25th, 2016, 9:24 pm

Does anyone have footage of the fatal accident with the Nissan March and the Ford Ranger that occurred November 10th 2015 at Morvant Junction?

Postby pugboy » February 25th, 2016, 9:32 pm

look like all the hoopla has died down and we back to normal business now
until next deadly accident involving car crossing median

DanBoss

Postby DanBoss » February 25th, 2016, 9:38 pm