Is it possible to tile over tile

Cowboy

Is it possible to tile over tile

Postby Cowboy » February 27th, 2015, 7:18 pm

Hi any Tuners ever put floor tiles over floor tiles successfully? If so what’s the procedure. Any advance would be greatly appreciated.

Re: Is it possible to tile over tile

Postby pugboy » February 27th, 2015, 7:31 pm

If original tiles stuck very good yes itis possible but you still need to chip them with a chipping hammer drill and use a binding agent.

Postby 88sins » February 27th, 2015, 9:05 pm

not only possible but done relatively often.

the polished/smooth ceramic finish of the original tile must be removed first or the thinset to have something to bind to first tho.

It's done more often for floors, only ever seen it done for walls once.

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » February 27th, 2015, 9:28 pm

there is thinset now which will bond directly to tiles even glazed ones
but I will still chip the surface

Postby VexXx Dogg » February 27th, 2015, 9:42 pm

risky, unless the original tiles were laid flawlessly.
suggest removal, reprep and lay fresh

axe

Postby axe » February 27th, 2015, 10:42 pm

use concrete board then tile over

Postby ruffneck_12 » February 27th, 2015, 10:55 pm

if is glazed tiles you hadda rel chip it up

wont be so hard tho, tiles easy to chip

Give some children a couple big stone and let them pelt the ground, and drag up bricks an ting

Postby nervewrecker » February 27th, 2015, 11:48 pm

hong kong phooey wrote:there is thinset now which will bond directly to tiles even glazed ones
but I will still chip the surface

badandy

Postby badandy » February 28th, 2015, 8:16 am

To be safe, use a sds hammer drill [chisel bit] to chip /jagger the existing floor tile. Drill some holes on the corners and center of the existing floor tile.
A 10x10 room should take 45 mins. Clean up the area and apply some polyV. Let Dry and start to tile with thePREMIUM thinset.
Saw a friend do this in a bathroom/shower and still holding up 3 yrs later.
Last edited by badandy on February 28th, 2015, 12:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.

idlemind

Postby idlemind » February 28th, 2015, 8:36 am

I did this last year to 80% of my home and it's still holding up well. I suggest you find a tile man that has experience doing this.

Even though the original tile was not glazed, we still roughed it up with a drill and chisel bit and a couple hammers. If any tile or any area sounds hollow, dig it up completely. Give a brief sweep out then apply muriatic acid to the entire area for 15 mins to remove any impurities from the ground. You'll want to get good breathing mask. Wash down with a hose and when dried, apply polyVseven to the area and let dry. Apply the Premium MicroMilling Thinset and not the regular Thinset and tile away.

Try not to cut corners coz you really don't want to dig back up tiles and replace in a few months.

neexis

Postby neexis » February 28th, 2015, 8:59 am

Was also wondering about this.

What about instances where the tiles were laid down on some very uneven floors so that few flat surfaces exist.

Is it possible to cover the whole thing over with a thin layer of concrete to even out the whole thing (esp in deficient areas) and then tile on top of that?

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » February 28th, 2015, 11:04 am

it will be alot more work but proper way is to remove it ...

Soundwave

Postby Soundwave » February 28th, 2015, 11:14 am

tileception...

Cowboy

Postby Cowboy » February 28th, 2015, 11:48 am

Thanks fellas really appreciate it. I will try to remove first if not go the other way.....

Postby pugboy » February 28th, 2015, 12:21 pm

as mentioned a good sds max combi hammer rotary drill like a hilti te56
is best thing to remove or jag up the tiles.

Keep in mind too that if you remove the tiles you may need to do a light plaster after to
have a smoothish surface to then lay the tiles on

Postby 88sins » February 28th, 2015, 1:44 pm

I think pugboy means surface need only be level.
surface doesn't need to be smooth.

Postby pugboy » February 28th, 2015, 3:27 pm

Yeah, if removing tiles it is usually easier to take them out rough and plaster back level and smoothish than try to take them out clean

saltydog
CARS Member

Postby saltydog » February 28th, 2015, 3:27 pm

The is a coating called ecoprep which you just paint on the tile and then tile over as normal. Widely used without a problem

Postby ismithx » February 28th, 2015, 8:03 pm

pugboy wrote:If original tiles stuck very good yes itis possible but you still need to chip them with a chipping hammer drill and use a binding agent.

cosigned, my family did this not too long ago

Jerry84

Postby Jerry84 » February 28th, 2015, 9:36 pm

What about countertops with tiles already.... how do you retile it

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » February 28th, 2015, 9:48 pm

Removal.
Dont go cheap folks. Its a floor that im sure you want to last a while

Postby *KRONIK* » March 1st, 2015, 7:36 am

since we on this topic, whats the procedure to tile over terrazo??

Postby 88sins » March 1st, 2015, 8:10 am

I only see 1 shortcut for prep b4 tiling over terrazo. they used a chemical stripper to remove the polish first, then covered the floor with sone type of acid to rough it up

if not going this route, yuh have REAL chippin & strippin to do :lol: