Trinbagonian Role Models

Postby timelapse » March 2nd, 2015, 9:55 am

I'm watching a video on youtube the other day that was about finding mentors and rolemodels if you are unsure of how you want to further your personal development.Funny thing is, I can't think of any Trinbagonians that are "role models" that aren't sportsmen or dead.Who are your role models and do you have mentors, that personally affect your lives that you are still in contact with?

Yofoot

Re: Trinbagonian Role Models

Postby Yofoot » March 2nd, 2015, 10:02 am

I know you are most likely referring to public figures, but maybe we should start at home and parents should be role models to their kids.

When i was small my dad would come home and stay home, he never went out the road to lime with the boys, I have never seen him smoke or drink in his life and guess what? Both my brother and i don't smoke or drink and my parents never told us not to. I think back to that as i am now an adult and it is the little things that matter.

Postby Slartibartfast » March 2nd, 2015, 10:10 am

What about your parents, or teachers? Don't see why mentors have to be famous or well known.

Postby RBphoto » March 2nd, 2015, 10:15 am

I am a roll model. I so fat, I don't walk, I roll. :|

Postby Dizzy28 » March 2nd, 2015, 10:47 am

When I grow up I wanna be like MGMan!!

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » March 2nd, 2015, 10:48 am

stop lookin to ppl to be a proper influence to yur kids, daz not dey job

Cooloh

Postby Cooloh » March 2nd, 2015, 10:49 am

Lurbz

Postby Slartibartfast » March 2nd, 2015, 11:00 am

When I'm MGman I wanna be like i grow up!!!!

STORM1234

Postby STORM1234 » March 2nd, 2015, 11:00 am

RBphoto wrote:I am a roll model. I so fat, I don't walk, I roll. :|

a high roller that is!

Postby RBphoto » March 2nd, 2015, 11:04 am

lost to all wrote:
RBphoto wrote:I am a roll model. I so fat, I don't walk, I roll. :|

a high roller that is!

I don't do drugs thank you very much sir.

MsStar

Postby MsStar » March 2nd, 2015, 11:05 am

Wayne Kublalsingh....i'm serious

Also, pg.1 spot for sale.

STORM1234

Postby STORM1234 » March 2nd, 2015, 11:05 am

Slartibartfast wrote:When I'm MGman I wanna be like i grow up!!!!

wey sah! like MG is d origianl fat man here on tuner bai.

The Paleontologist

Postby The Paleontologist » March 2nd, 2015, 12:19 pm

Rowley

Postby MG Man » March 2nd, 2015, 12:26 pm

lost to all wrote:

Postby ruffneck_12 » March 2nd, 2015, 12:32 pm

Yofoot wrote:I know you are most likely referring to public figures, but maybe we should start at home and parents should be role models to their kids.

When i was small my dad would come home and stay home, he never went out the road to lime with the boys, I have never seen him smoke or drink in his life and guess what? Both my brother and i don't smoke or drink and my parents never told us not to. I think back to that as i am now an adult and it is the little things that matter.

my dad drinks on occasion, gave me a sip or 2 but I don't really drink now

He smokes like a chimney too, gave me a pull one time, I coughed like coal miner... That's probably why I don't smoke :lol:

STORM1234

Postby STORM1234 » March 2nd, 2015, 12:40 pm

lost to all wrote:

:sick: ah guess yuh cyah beat ah original.

Postby MG Man » March 2nd, 2015, 12:42 pm

it have at least one broseph who obsessed wid mih formerly perky manboobs...man have like ah hundred and seventy-two fantasies about mih

Postby RBphoto » March 2nd, 2015, 12:45 pm

MG Man wrote:it have at least one broseph who obsessed wid mih formerly perky manboobs...man have like ah hundred and seventy-two fantasies about mih

Oh.. so that is what your face looks like. Never did look over the mountain to see it.. badman.. etc.

STORM1234

Postby STORM1234 » March 2nd, 2015, 12:51 pm

The shades really do make the man 8-)

Postby MG Man » March 2nd, 2015, 2:18 pm

thinkin about getting the nips pierced but the piercing dude say they too small :(

Postby desifemlove » March 2nd, 2015, 3:38 pm

politically, Panday.

artistically, Destra, Nisha B

sports, of current sportspersons Keshorn, retired Lara.

CoobalsinPls

Postby CoobalsinPls » March 2nd, 2015, 5:14 pm

Trevor Sayers

alex jj

Postby alex jj » March 2nd, 2015, 6:05 pm

desifemlove wrote:politically, Panday.

panday's integrity was of such a high level that u consider him a role model...well good for u

Postby Slartibartfast » March 2nd, 2015, 6:25 pm

Panday when he was young. He was not a stupid man and did a lot that was commendable in the earlies. But he went out in a bad state. But no.... I would consider myself a much better role model than him.

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » March 3rd, 2015, 5:44 am

Nicki 'Minjai'
Trinidad James

Postby desifemlove » March 3rd, 2015, 8:12 am

alex jj wrote:

panday's integrity was of such a high level that u consider him a role model...well good for u

cos he got jail? and? his UNC govt was far more able than this current one, and it was a performing govt. and he showed how to go from humble roots to become a noted figure. jus cos you'z PNM, be a lil objective, nah....

Postby RBphoto » March 3rd, 2015, 8:30 am

Keith Rowley.

Postby Slartibartfast » March 3rd, 2015, 8:31 am

desifemlove wrote:
alex jj wrote:

cos he got jail? and? his UNC govt was far more able than this current one, and it was a performing govt. and he showed how to go from humble roots to become a noted figure. jus cos you'z PNM, be a lil objective, nah....

Yeah.... how about you let your kids find a role model that didn't go to jail. Besides, what is so wrong with humility that one must strive to escape it at all costs?

I think you must first find a role for yourself before searching for a model to aim towards. Otherwise it just become "famous/rich people worship"

Postby desifemlove » March 3rd, 2015, 8:46 am

Slartibartfast wrote:
desifemlove wrote:
alex jj wrote:

Yeah.... how about you let your kids find a role model that didn't go to jail. Besides, what is so wrong with humility that one must strive to escape it at all costs?

I think you must first find a role for yourself before searching for a model to aim towards. Otherwise it just become "famous/rich people worship"

I doh have kids....but then yep, it's wrong to have people one admires, ent? :lol: :lol: perhaps not see the world in black and white terms.

Postby RBphoto » March 3rd, 2015, 8:49 am

Sat Maraj.

Whoever imports Kangen water.