THE OFFICIAL **ALL THINGS CNG** THREAD

STORM1234

THE OFFICIAL **ALL THINGS CNG** THREAD

Postby STORM1234 » March 3rd, 2015, 7:27 am

it was $1.07 per litre, now it is $1.00 per litre.

me so glad, now it even cheaper than diesel.

Sad though that gasoline cannot drop in price. :mrgreen:
Last edited by STORM1234 on March 19th, 2015, 3:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Re: price of cng has dropped

Postby redmanjp » March 3rd, 2015, 9:15 am

kits still expensive though- govt not offering rebates?

Postby *$kїđž!™ » March 3rd, 2015, 9:27 am

I am sure installation cost is still pretty high and wondering if fulling time is still the line up and long wait?.....

Also how much distance can one travel before needing another full up.....

OP can you advise.....thanks

STORM1234

Postby STORM1234 » March 3rd, 2015, 10:03 am

I know a guy $8000 total cost (lenny 7532682), and this is the better kits (sequential type) with brain box and fuel pump. not the ACL kits. (venturi type)

filling times is considerably shorter, i take about 3 minutes to fill up. this is with the new nozzle of course.

31 kilometres cost me $1.65, mostly on the highway. from freeport to sando. I usually top up every 4 days or so, costs me about $10 to $11 to top up. Tank takes about 15 dollars to fill from empty. A tank would give an average of 300 kilometres or so.

Postby Chimera » March 3rd, 2015, 10:11 am

didnt the government remove all vat and duty from cng kits?

thats awesome tho, $11 fuel for the week.

STORM1234

Postby STORM1234 » March 3rd, 2015, 10:34 am

ABA Trading LTD wrote:didnt the government remove all vat and duty from cng kits?

thats awesome tho, $11 fuel for the week.

well it's more like $17 or so (including weekends), but still very easy on your pocket. Plus i spend about $40 per month on super gasoline to keep the normal fuel system working properly, I usually start the car on gasoline and run it for 5 mins or so and then switch over to cng after.

So total cost for the month (cng and super gasoline) is $110.

Postby AllTrac » March 3rd, 2015, 10:47 am

how much space the tank taking up? and hows your suspension handling the added constant weight?

STORM1234

Postby STORM1234 » March 3rd, 2015, 11:04 am

AllTrac wrote:how much space the tank taking up? and hows your suspension handling the added constant weight?

never actually measured it, I bought an y11 ad wagon with the kit already installed, but from my guesstimation the tank is about 36 inches long and the diameter is 18 inches or so.

is an ad wagon so suspension can handle it with no problems.

Postby Chimera » March 3rd, 2015, 11:07 am

redmanjp wrote:kits still expensive though- govt not offering rebates?

Kit probAbly paying for itself after two years if you spend $100 a week on gas

I use super and spend about that.

STORM1234

Postby STORM1234 » March 3rd, 2015, 11:16 am

The thing is the price people pay at the pump is appealing, so people go out and buy and install it, but then when they see the lack lustre performance, the cng kit slowly looses it's appeal and they end up removing it and selling it. So alyour have to factor this into consideration, people in trinidad like dey speed, so unless you want to sacrifice speed for fuel economy, then I wouldn't recommend getting this done to your car.

but it never bothered me none, because all the vehicles I drove before were cars with beat out diesel engines that were slow pokes on the road, so this was a welcome upgrade for me.

level cng fyazzzz :mrgreen:

Postby RBphoto » March 3rd, 2015, 3:46 pm

Wonder if the pug could take that? Might blow up or something :?

Postby rollingstock » March 3rd, 2015, 4:04 pm

RBphoto wrote:Wonder if the pug could take that? Might blow up or something :?

One can only wish.

Postby SmokeyGTi » March 3rd, 2015, 4:35 pm

lost to all wrote:I know a guy $8000 total cost (lenny 7532682), and this is the better kits (sequential type) with brain box and fuel pump. not the ACL kits. (venturi type)

filling times is considerably shorter, i take about 3 minutes to fill up. this is with the new nozzle of course.

31 kilometres cost me $1.65, mostly on the highway. from freeport to sando. I usually top up every 4 days or so, costs me about $10 to $11 to top up. Tank takes about 15 dollars to fill from empty. A tank would give an average of 300 kilometres or so.

hmm.. what size engine?

STORM1234

Postby STORM1234 » March 3rd, 2015, 9:49 pm

SmokeyGTi wrote:
lost to all wrote:I know a guy $8000 total cost (lenny 7532682), and this is the better kits (sequential type) with brain box and fuel pump. not the ACL kits. (venturi type)

hmm.. what size engine?

qg15 as in 1500cc.

Postby AllTrac » March 4th, 2015, 6:46 am

$80 a week on diesel so not really worth the hassle for me

STORM1234

Postby STORM1234 » March 4th, 2015, 7:38 am

AllTrac wrote:$80 a week on diesel so not really worth the hassle for me

I agree, the savings for you won't justify getting the kit installed.

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » March 4th, 2015, 8:10 am

$90 since last monday, 450 km's and still have 1/4 tank. Cyah beat diesel. :mrgreen:

Postby Chimera » March 4th, 2015, 8:16 am

If you decide to switch over and use regular fuel, is the performance hampered in any way? Know of anyone using those kits in Benz/Audi/bmw/Sorento/ etc? Vehicles that you normally have to use premium gas?

Postby Rainman » March 4th, 2015, 8:19 am

90 dollars in diesel gives me 800+ kilos

Postby Chimera » March 4th, 2015, 8:25 am

Rainman wrote:90 dollars in diesel gives me 800+ kilos

Daz how much diesel the pirogue takes to get to vene to pick up 800 kilo?

STORM1234

Postby STORM1234 » March 4th, 2015, 8:26 am

DrunkenMaster16 wrote:

$90 since last monday, 450 km's and still have 1/4 tank. Cyah beat diesel. :mrgreen:

actually $90 cng would get me 1700 kilometres easy :lol: , i leave out diesel ah while now and I aint going back.

Postby Rainman » March 4th, 2015, 8:43 am

lost to all wrote:
DrunkenMaster16 wrote:

actually $90 cng would get me 1700 kilometres easy :lol: , i leave out diesel ah while now and I aint going back.

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » March 4th, 2015, 8:54 am

80 diesel give me only 400k

old diesel with no ecu ftl

Postby AllTrac » March 4th, 2015, 10:31 am

lost to all wrote:
DrunkenMaster16 wrote:

wot?

Postby SMc » March 4th, 2015, 10:42 am

I average about 42mpg with my diesel..depending on where and how I drive I get between 300 & 500 miles per 50 ltr tank. that is way below the recommended but I happy with it.

STORM1234

Postby STORM1234 » March 4th, 2015, 10:43 am

AllTrac wrote:
lost to all wrote:
DrunkenMaster16 wrote:

wot?

my calculation is based on the observation that I get 31 highway kilometres on $1.65 worth of cng or 1.65 litres of cng.

90/1.65 x 31

54.54 x 31 = 1690 kilometres

Postby pete » March 4th, 2015, 10:49 am

How many km do you get from a full tank?

STORM1234

Postby STORM1234 » March 4th, 2015, 10:59 am

ABA Trading LTD wrote:If you decide to switch over and use regular fuel, is the performance hampered in any way? Know of anyone using those kits in Benz/Audi/bmw/Sorento/ etc? Vehicles that you normally have to use premium gas?

well the performance is actually marginally better when you switch over to the super gasoline, I don't know of anyone who has these kits in Benz/Audi/bmw/Sorento/ etc?
Last edited by STORM1234 on March 4th, 2015, 11:36 am, edited 1 time in total.

STORM1234

Postby STORM1234 » March 4th, 2015, 11:26 am

pete wrote:How many km do you get from a full tank?

never actually ran the tank to empty and checked the mileage, so i can't say.

Postby nervewrecker » March 4th, 2015, 11:37 am

Rainman wrote:90 dollars in diesel gives me 800+ kilos

wtf? :shock:

Set my odo to monitor mileage this week and filled up. Took pics as reference. Last I clocked was over 1100km on a full tank ($96.00).

Already did 250km on 1/4 tank and that was with high rev's, spirited driving, traffic and ac on right through.