Info on maxillofacial/jaw surgery

shady23

Info on maxillofacial/jaw surgery

Postby shady23 » April 13th, 2015, 6:22 am

Has anyone done this locally? Correction for overbite, open bite, asymmetrical jawline etc? Apparently it's common abroad but haven't really heard of anyone performing it locally.

Any info would be appreciated :)

neexis

Re: Info on maxillofacial/jaw surgery

Postby neexis » April 13th, 2015, 7:13 am

While the local guys might be able to do it, not sure how many they actually do per year and what their experience is.
Properly managed cases like usually require a coordinated plan with your dentist, orthodontist and the maxillofacial surgeon.
Usually your orthodontist will recommend the surgeon he works with.
I know one guy who did it. PM for more info

Postby pugboy » April 13th, 2015, 7:27 am

there is a popular doc opposite Brooklyn bar, Roberts st woodbrook
a lot of dentists and orthos send patients by him
I don't think there are many doctors like him

he driving a Porsche, so you know how deep your pockets need be

shady23

Postby shady23 » April 13th, 2015, 8:09 am

neexis pm sent.

pugboy I heard about that surgeon but couldn't get a name either. And I think they work by referrals so not sure if he will want to do a consultation just like that.

I was checking out some places abroad and it seems quite common, and yeah I know it's something very expensive.

gfbl

Postby gfbl » April 13th, 2015, 8:11 am

Marcus Daniell #84 Robert Street Woodbrook, 628-3223

Postby MG Man » April 13th, 2015, 9:21 am

^^^^he self...did two procedures on me over the years....very professional, top notch

area6

Postby area6 » April 13th, 2015, 9:28 am

There are good places in panama and Colombia that offers this corrective surgery , will see if I can get more info for you

shady23

Postby shady23 » April 13th, 2015, 9:35 am

gfbl wrote:Marcus Daniell #84 Robert Street Woodbrook, 628-3223

Thanks man. I heard about him a while ago. Will give him a call and see if I can get an appointment.

shady23

Postby shady23 » April 13th, 2015, 9:38 am

MG Man wrote:^^^^he self...did two procedures on me over the years....very professional, top notch

Mind sharing some info on what was done? Procedure, cost, recovery time etc? You can pm if you want to keep it private.

Postby MG Man » April 13th, 2015, 9:54 am

extraction of impacted wisdom teef years ago...they had to be surgically removed, and required cutting of jaw bone.....can;t remember the cost, but basically went in, fell asleep, woke up, tried to take their blankie, went home.....pain and pain meds for a week, back to mostly normal in abut two weeks
last year, had to have an incisor surgically repaired, which required cutting back the gum right up at the top of the inner lip, exposing the root by cutting the bone, sealing the root (root canal done about 23 years ago and began having issues)....same thing; fall asleep, wake up, go home, pain for a few days...hadda rummage for the receipt to see how much it cost....

One thing, MAKE SURE your insurance company does not process your claim as dental, which they will always try to do....all of his procedures are surgical, and claims should be treated as such

Postby dougla_boy » April 13th, 2015, 10:05 am

well arent u a wealth of knowledge

Postby MG Man » April 13th, 2015, 10:24 am

nah, that's my limit for the week....gonna be all downhill from here

shady23

Postby shady23 » April 13th, 2015, 1:09 pm

MG Man wrote:extraction of impacted wisdom teef years ago...they had to be surgically removed, and required cutting of jaw bone.....can;t remember the cost, but basically went in, fell asleep, woke up, tried to take their blankie, went home.....pain and pain meds for a week, back to mostly normal in abut two weeks
last year, had to have an incisor surgically repaired, which required cutting back the gum right up at the top of the inner lip, exposing the root by cutting the bone, sealing the root (root canal done about 23 years ago and began having issues)....same thing; fall asleep, wake up, go home, pain for a few days...hadda rummage for the receipt to see how much it cost....

One thing, MAKE SURE your insurance company does not process your claim as dental, which they will always try to do....all of his procedures are surgical, and claims should be treated as such

Damn. Thanks. My situation might be a lil more intensive though as I have multiple jaw issues :|

Will give Dr. Daniel a call and see if I can get a consult.

Postby teems1 » April 13th, 2015, 1:21 pm

shady23 wrote:
Damn. Thanks. My situation might be a lil more intensive though as I have multiple jaw issues :|

I think you have to get a referral from your regular dentist. My dentist sent over the file with my latest X-Rays etc.

Back in 2008 I took out my 4 wisdom teeth with him.

3 were impacted and required surgery. 1 was a regular extraction. I remember he used absorbable stitches so I didn't have to go back to get them removed.

Cost like 6600 inclusive of the anesthesia.

Postby S_2NR » April 13th, 2015, 1:34 pm

Never did this procedure but Dr. Scipio is good. It will cost however. Good thing not cheap

shady23

Postby shady23 » April 13th, 2015, 1:44 pm

teems1 wrote:
shady23 wrote:

I think you have to get a referral from your regular dentist. My dentist sent over the file with my latest X-Rays etc.

Back in 2008 I took out my 4 wisdom teeth with him.

3 were impacted and required surgery. 1 was a regular extraction. I remember he used absorbable stitches so I didn't have to go back to get them removed.

Cost like 6600 inclusive of the anesthesia.

Yeah I heard that as well but just wanted to call and hear what he'd say. I actually had braces over 15yrs ago and my problem wasn't as bad then. The orthodontist mentioned it and said one jaw might cost about 40k. That was back then :|

Postby MG Man » April 13th, 2015, 2:21 pm

you have TMJ?

alex jj

Postby alex jj » April 13th, 2015, 3:16 pm

i surgically removed my wisdom teeth by dr daniel by cutting into jaw bone as well.. cudd only have soup for a couple weeks... he came highly recommended by my orthodontist

shady23

Postby shady23 » April 13th, 2015, 7:08 pm

MG Man wrote:you have TMJ?

Nah thankfully. No pain or anything. I have an open bite (none of my upper or lower molars touch when my mouth closed), under bite, and slightly asymmetrical jawline. From my last orthodontist I heard I had ankylosed(sp) molars as well. Yeah the world of problems :(

jojokeitha

Postby jojokeitha » September 3rd, 2016, 12:19 pm

Hi, i dnt know if this thread is still active. I live in St Vincent,and i was looking for information online and stumbled on it. I have an open bite (my top and bottom four incisors dont meet) and i have a slight underbite. I went to Dr Dwight Angus (he comes to st vincent every month) he said my problem cannot be fixed with only braces and said he will refer me to Dr Scipio in Trinidad. Does anybody have any info on Dr. Scipio? thanks in advance.

Postby bluefete » September 3rd, 2016, 12:32 pm

Dr. Ebenezer Scipio
36 Ana St, Woodbrook
Trinidad and Tobago

1-868-627-3927

You can also try Dr. Marcus Daniel whose info is somewhere above.

Postby Kenjo » September 3rd, 2016, 3:30 pm

Dr Scipio is probably the best in terms of Maxillofacial surgery in Trinidad so he is highly recommended . He did my surgery for a tooth buried in my jaw .

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » September 3rd, 2016, 5:38 pm

Good info.

jojokeitha

Postby jojokeitha » June 10th, 2017, 2:06 pm

Kenjo wrote:Dr Scipio is probably the best in terms of Maxillofacial surgery in Trinidad so he is highly recommended . He did my surgery for a tooth buried in my jaw .

Hi thanks! Never realised people answered. I actually had my info sent to Doctor Scipio by Dr Angus.
Someone called today actually to schedule my consultation with Dr Scipio. So I'll be heading there in a couple months.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 10th, 2017, 3:23 pm

Dr Scipio ftw...prepare to spend some $$ doh..