Purchasing Caroni Land

soldier_sss

Purchasing Caroni Land

Postby soldier_sss » May 12th, 2015, 5:16 pm

Hi can someone explain the process in purchasing a lot of land from a Caroni worker.

I am skeptical since I have read that you cannot obtain a mortgage for the land or building.

Thank you in advance.

10-01

Re: Purchasing Caroni Land

Postby 10-01 » May 12th, 2015, 6:53 pm

all u can do is pay cash for the land , and get a letter of comfort or agreement of sale , i heard a few caroni peeps got ther deeds im not sure , dont think its transferable if u purchase it ....

K.S.R

Postby K.S.R » July 2nd, 2015, 9:36 am

Anybody have more info on this?
I seeing a lot of Caroni lands coming up for sale now. I read that the government made it legal to sell and transfer the lands now:
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Car ... 75511.html

Has anyone on here actually bought a lot and transferred successfully?

Postby DVSTT » July 2nd, 2015, 10:08 am

In for info.
Heard that lots are cheap but I'm unclear as to what qualifies one to be able to purchase.

Postby MG Man » July 2nd, 2015, 10:18 am

man offered me a 5k sq/ft caroni lot in McBean yesterday for 400k O_O

Postby DVSTT » July 2nd, 2015, 10:28 am

MG Man wrote:man offered me a 5k sq/ft caroni lot in McBean yesterday for 400k O_O

Didn't they sell as low as 25k?

Postby VexXx Dogg » July 2nd, 2015, 10:31 am

yep, caroni residential lots are now 300k minimum. I've seen lots in Couva for as much as 550k for 5000sqft.

Postby MG Man » July 2nd, 2015, 10:33 am

this land thing getting insane.......anybody remembers when Lange Park was 100psf?

Postby Dizzy28 » July 2nd, 2015, 10:36 am

Dan I remember when Orchard Gardens was $30 psf........and even at that price my father couldn't afford to have bought some lot(s).

Postby MG Man » July 2nd, 2015, 10:39 am

^^^back then, people were turning up their nose at land in chaguanas....as long as people willing to pay these prices, shht just gonna keep going up and up

K.S.R

Postby K.S.R » July 2nd, 2015, 10:46 am

I not seeing anything under $300k and most in the $400k range. Some of the areas not bad though and I could see the value shooting up once it start to develop more.

Postby DVSTT » July 2nd, 2015, 11:11 am

As long as people keep borrowing to meet the insane prices land prices will not fall.

Postby MG Man » July 2nd, 2015, 11:14 am

dunno how ppl could sleep wid 30 years of a whole monthly paycheck committed to a monthly payment nuh :-/

Postby DVSTT » July 2nd, 2015, 11:17 am

MG Man wrote:dunno how ppl could sleep wid 30 years of a whole monthly paycheck committed to a monthly payment nuh :-/

Dunno how people sleep buying land for 35k and selling for 400k.
Everybody wants to be a millionaire.

Postby MG Man » July 2nd, 2015, 11:23 am

that too :-/

Postby Chimera » July 2nd, 2015, 11:56 am

DVSTT wrote:
MG Man wrote:dunno how ppl could sleep wid 30 years of a whole monthly paycheck committed to a monthly payment nuh :-/

Dunno how people sleep buying land for 35k and selling for 400k.
Everybody wants to be a millionaire.

they sleep pretty good i`m sure, that kind of profit can buy you plenty comfort

and yup you can buy the land but there are alot of scammers out there

make sure you buying the land from someone who actually has the deed for the land, preferably the actual EX caroni worker

Postby *$kїđž!™ » July 3rd, 2015, 1:01 am

in for info...seeing a good few lots caroni...up for sale

Postby zoom rader » July 3rd, 2015, 6:45 am

Isn't caroni worker lands are leasehold. ?

K.S.R

Postby K.S.R » July 3rd, 2015, 7:08 am

zoom rader wrote:Isn't caroni worker lands are leasehold. ?

Correct. According to deed for a lot I was checking, the state leased the land to Caroni for 200years from 2011.

Postby zoom rader » July 3rd, 2015, 7:42 am

K.S.R wrote:

Correct. According to deed for a lot I was checking, the state leased the land to Caroni for 200years from 2011.

Then how can that be sold?

Postby DVSTT » July 3rd, 2015, 8:20 am

K.S.R wrote:

Money talks BS walks?

K.S.R

Postby K.S.R » July 3rd, 2015, 8:23 am

K.S.R wrote:

Caroni basically sub-leased the land to the ex-workers. They are now selling this lease.
I don't fully understand it myself. I'm dealing with a lawyer to try and get some more information so hopefully he will clear it up.

I find the land expensive for leasehold land but ppl buying like hot bread so the price only going up.

Postby Chimera » July 3rd, 2015, 8:24 am

It's completely legal. It has a provision in the updated deeds that they can be sold transferred etc.....last year sometime kamla allowed them to sell the land.....that's why price jump from 25k to 300k overnight

Postby Chimera » July 3rd, 2015, 8:25 am

But as I said be very very careful when buying, 3-4 men buying and paying for one piece of land and getting robbed.people showing you land and saying it's theirs but they eh have any proof of that.....

Postby A172 » July 3rd, 2015, 8:36 am

fair price

Postby MG Man » July 3rd, 2015, 11:08 am

no sufferers comment?
I am disappoint

Postby zoom rader » July 3rd, 2015, 11:15 am

ABA Trading LTD wrote:But as I said be very very careful when buying, 3-4 men buying and paying for one piece of land and getting robbed.people showing you land and saying it's theirs but they eh have any proof of that.....

Ppl still buying land without a deed.

K.S.R

Postby K.S.R » July 3rd, 2015, 11:35 am

ABA Trading LTD wrote:It's completely legal. It has a provision in the updated deeds that they can be sold transferred etc.....last year sometime kamla allowed them to sell the land.....that's why price jump from 25k to 300k overnight

ABA why are banks not giving loans to buy these lands? Or so i was told anyway. That alone makes it sound suspect.

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » July 3rd, 2015, 8:34 pm

K.S.R wrote:
ABA Trading LTD wrote:It's completely legal. It has a provision in the updated deeds that they can be sold transferred etc.....last year sometime kamla allowed them to sell the land.....that's why price jump from 25k to 300k overnight

ABA why are banks not giving loans to buy these lands? Or so i was told anyway. That alone makes it sound suspect.

maybe because its leasehold, but these lands are prime imho, no shakedown houses in the area

Sent from my D6503 using Tapatalk

Postby Chimera » July 3rd, 2015, 8:38 pm

Not sure about the loans thing. It's only in October last year kamla allowed them to sell and transfer and right now they are processing thousands of deeds...so perhaps in time to come the banks will be offering loans to buy them