FIFA Officials Arrested on Corruption Charges

Re: FIFA Officials Arrested on Corruption Charges

Postby bluefete » July 11th, 2019, 6:28 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:Jek will have the last laugh, nobody getting a brown 5c from he

THIS!!!!

Postby mero » July 11th, 2019, 7:12 am

Ent he was we acting Prime Minister already?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 11th, 2019, 7:35 am

Yup^
JW might die before paying anything though

Postby zoom rader » July 11th, 2019, 7:42 am

He not paying one Damm cent.

This is Trinidad we may have bannana republic mentally but we are a republic and not a part of the US.

Postby bluefete » October 9th, 2021, 7:29 pm

SPECIAL REPORT: Bribe-giving, vote-rigging and criminal lengths were taken to bring the 2022 World Cup to Qatar... now, a new documentary reveals how the famous tournament was bought

By NICK HARRIS FOR THE MAIL ON SUNDAY

PUBLISHED: 22:31 BST, 9 October 2021 | UPDATED: 22:33 BST, 9 October 2021

Phaedra Almajid recalls the day in early 2010 when three members of FIFA’s executive committee entered a hotel room in Luanda, Angola, to meet the team behind the Qatar World Cup bid.

As the media specialist for the campaign, Almajid had no inkling as to the motivation for the clandestine conversations. But when her colleagues offered each official a $1.5 million bribe in return for their vote, she could do nothing but guffaw at the brazenness of it all.

‘I just started laughing hysterically,’ says Almajid, flicking through her diaries from the time. ‘It was at that point I understood what was happening, that this was bribes. There was nothing extraordinary about the moment for those men. As a watcher, bystander, it was an extraordinary moment that I’ll never forget.’

Eleven years ago Qatar shocked world football after winning the right to host the World Cup

Almajid, a whistleblower with whom The Mail on Sunday has worked extensively in the past, is speaking on the upcoming documentary The Men Who Sold The World Cup.

The two-part discovery+ feature, to which this newspaper has been granted extensive access, details the criminal lengths to which the Qataris went to ensure they hosted next year’s tournament.

As well as speaking to Almajid, former FIFA president Sepp Blatter and the chair of the Qatar bid team Hassan Al Thawadi — who denies any wrongdoing — the film-makers secured interviews with an FBI agent who helped to bring football’s ruling body to their knees and a British intelligence officer employed as a spy by England’s 2018 World Cup bid team.

Chris Steele, 57, was once an MI6 operative in Moscow and ran their Russia desk in London from 2006 to 2009. He then worked for England’s 2018 bid via his intelligence firm, Orbis, and learned of such high-level collusion between Qatar and Russia that he told the FA their hopes were doomed.

‘Vladimir Putin eventually realised that Russia’s 2018 World Cup bid was a prestige project, and required winning at all costs for political reasons,’ says Steele.

‘Modern Russia’s default mode is to engage in corruption and underhand dealings.’

Steele says collusion between Qatar and Russia began in earnest when Russia’s deputy Prime Minister, Igor Sechin, and Russia’s World Cup bid team all flew to Doha, Qatar in April 2010.

Now, a new documentary casts a light on the criminal lengths undertaken to win the bid

Steele’s sources told him Qatar would invest billions in a deal to develop oil fields on Russia’s Yamal Peninsula, and the two nations would do whatever necessary to gain support for each other’s bids to stage the 2018 and 2022 World Cups. Qatar’s Mohammed bin Hammam, a member of FIFA’s executive committee (ExCo) at the time, helped to broker this Doha pact.

‘The Yamal Peninsula deal, I think, says it all,’ says Steele. ‘This is how the operation was conducted and the sort of assets that Russia and Qatar brought to bear. The World Cup is bound up with the unseen way in which the world really works. Unseemly, I would say, and unseen.’

Steele went on to assist the FBI in bringing down FIFA, first, via intelligence he gathered during the 2018-2022 bid process; and second, with proof of corruption by another ExCo member, America’s Chuck Blazer.

Vote-rigging and bribe-giving saw the likes of Mohamed bin Hammam disgraced

That in turn, the MoS can reveal, had been provided to him via investigative reporter Andrew Jennings, who wrote about it in these pages in 2015 while not naming Steele.

‘Blatter was really the Godfather of a corrupt system that he had created and overseen,’ says Steele.

The extraordinary and suspicious events that unfolded in the votes for 2018 and 2022 were forecast in these pages before they happened and have been documented extensively here since.

On the last Sunday of November, 11 years ago, The Mail on Sunday published a special report, informed by Almajid — we protected her identity at the time — who predicted a little-known Middle Eastern state called Qatar was about to shock the world and win the right to host the 2022 World Cup.

‘The footballing heritage of Qatar, a lowly 113th in the game’s world rankings, is virtually non-existent,’ we wrote. ‘But the Qataris have used their petrodollar millions to gain power and influence in the game’s international circles.’

[img][https://i.dailymail.co.uk/1s/2021/10/09/18/48964381-10075815-image-a-30_1633800827709.jpg/img]
The former ExCo member was found to have bribed fellow voters for their support of Qatar

Almajid was quoted anonymously: ‘I don’t think Qatar will win 2022. I KNOW they will.’

And so it came to pass. On a fateful Friday in Zurich at the start of December 2010, one of the most corrupt sporting electorates in history — the 22 men who then comprised FIFA’s ExCo — voted to send the 2018 World Cup to Russia, and the 2022 event to Qatar.

In the intervening years, the MoS has repeatedly exposed the corruption and bribery that had festered behind the scenes in the 2018-2022 process, and barely anyone came out clean: not England’s 2018 bid nor the Spain-Portugal bid for the same year, nor South Korea’s for 2022, nor Australia’s.

England and Australia, for example, both effectively tried to bribe ExCo member Jack Warner, a notorious criminal from Trinidad, when unsuccessfully soliciting his vote. Spain meanwhile were in cahoots with Qatar over their own forbidden voting pact, and their bid leader was later censured for refusing to take part in an official inquiry into the matter.

Jack Warner (L), a notorious criminal from Trinidad, was subject of bribe attempts from a number of hosting hopefuls including England and Australia

But the most audacious episodes of vote-rigging and bribe-giving were delivered by shadowy forces working to make sure Russia 2018 and Qatar 2022 became realities — even as their official bid teams to this day insist they never engaged in any activities that were against FIFA rules.

Former FBI agent Michael Gaeta helped to gather evidence that millions of dollars of bribes were paid. ‘What has been revealed so far is a Mafia-style crime syndicate,’ says Gaeta, whose job, the viewer is told, was more typically to dismantle New York’s mob families. ‘My only hesitation in using that term is that it’s almost insulting to the Mafia.’

The hard evidence for the illicit payments include details of wire transfers of millions of dollars that were revealed in US indictment papers last year. Warner was said to have received a $5m bribe (£3.7m) to vote for Russia, funnelled via offshore accounts uncovered by the FBI and IRS, the United States tax authority, from shell companies connected to Russia 2018. Warner, who denied wrongdoing, is still fighting extradition to the US.

Michel Platini (R) voted for Qatar due to pressure from French president Nikolas Sarkozy (L)

Warner’s ExCo colleague Rafael Salguero was offered a $1m bribe to vote for the same bid. The 2020 indictment papers also detailed how Nicolas Leoz of Paraguay (who died in 2019), Argentina’s Julio Grondona (who died in 2014) and the serially corrupt Ricardo Teixeira of Brazil, all ExCo members, received millions of dollars to vote for Qatar 2022.

An Argentinian sports marketing CEO, Alejandro Burzaco, who pled guilty to bribing many football officials, gave testimony that Grondona himself had admitted to him the Qatar 2022 bribery episode.

Other ExCo voters accused of improper conduct in relation to Qatar include Jacques Anouma of Ivory Coast, who has always denied receiving a cash bribe; Hany Abo Rida of Egypt, a close associate of Bin Hammam who once accompanied him on a trip to the Caribbean when $40,000 cash bribes were given to local football officials to support a FIFA presidential bid by the Qatari; and Worawi Makudi of Thailand, also on that trip and later banned from football for forgery and falsification of accounts. All three are believed to have voted for Qatar 2022.

READ THE REST:

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/footb ... d-Cup.html

Postby zoom rader » October 9th, 2021, 7:34 pm

England and Australia, for example, both effectively tried to bribe ExCo member Jack Warner, a notorious criminal from Trinidad,

So England and Oz tried to bribe Jack and Jack gets labelled a criminal?

Postby MaxPower » October 9th, 2021, 7:49 pm

Don’t see what the issue is.

Jack Warner is a notorious criminal from Trinidad.

Postby pugboy » October 9th, 2021, 8:08 pm

Not a criminal at least yet

He and others who fighting extradition know they will likely not be convicted based on our slow archaic legal system which will drag on and likewise they will not be extradited to USA

Postby zoom rader » October 9th, 2021, 8:19 pm

MaxPower wrote:Don’t see what the issue is.

England and Oz tried to bribe a criminal who never went to jail.

Yup what's the issue

Postby zoom rader » October 9th, 2021, 8:20 pm

pugboy wrote:Not a criminal at least yet

He and others who fighting extradition know they will likely not be convicted based on our slow archaic legal system which will drag on and likewise they will not be extradited to USA
What is surprising is that England and Oz tried to bribe a criminal .

So who is the real criminal?

Postby MaxPower » October 9th, 2021, 8:28 pm

Jack Warner is the real criminal.

Postby zoom rader » October 9th, 2021, 8:31 pm

MaxPower wrote:Jack Warner is the real criminal.
How much jail he make ?

Postby MaxPower » October 10th, 2021, 2:47 pm

How much jail he make ?

How much jail your red government MPs make?

Postby zoom rader » October 10th, 2021, 4:18 pm

How much jail he make ?

How much jail your red government MPs make?
Still awaiting Marlene case but the red government counts running slow.

Plus email gate was a cover up

Then we had Landate and cleaver heights cover up.

Postby MaxPower » October 10th, 2021, 4:22 pm

^ k bro

Postby De Dragon » October 10th, 2021, 10:43 pm

MaxPower wrote:Don’t see what the issue is.

England and Oz tried to bribe a criminal who never went to jail.

Yup what's the issue

Yuh hadda remember that to Dotish7 and the rest of the LFD RFD PNM jacktunts, a charge is a conviction, but only if izza UNC. :roll:

Postby Dizzy28 » July 8th, 2022, 9:59 am

BELLINZONA, Switzerland (AP) — Sepp Blatter and Michel Platini were acquitted on charges of defrauding FIFA by a Swiss criminal court on Friday, a rare positive outcome for the pair who were among soccer’s most powerful figures before being embroiled in corruption investigations.
The case was centered around a $2 million payment from FIFA to Platini with Blatter’s approval in 2011, for work done a decade earlier. The verdict followed an 11-day trial last month at the Federal Criminal Court of Switzerland in Bellinzona.

“First of all, I have to say that I’m very happy man,” the 86-year-old Blatter told reporters on the courthouse steps. “I am a happy man because I also have to express thanks to the court today, to this city, for people in the court, the way they have analyzed the situation and they have explained why both of us we haven’t done anything.”

Swiss prosecutor Thomas Hildbrand had requested a 20-month suspended sentence for both Blatter and Platini. Instead both were cleared and were also awarded a sum for costs during the trial, while Blatter also received 20,000 Swiss francs ($20,500) compensation for being morally wronged, the court said.
https://apnews.com/article/soccer-sport ... ce=Twitter

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » July 8th, 2022, 1:46 pm

But they still have other charges?

Postby De Dragon » July 9th, 2022, 9:16 pm

Blatter borrow Palpitine hands or wha"?

Postby bluefete » October 30th, 2022, 4:18 am

Brits still toting!

EXCLUSIVE: Disgraced ex-FIFA official Jack Warner - who robbed England of the chance to host a World Cup and is accused of taking a $5m 'bribe' to back Russia in 2018 - apologises for misleading Prince William and David Beckham over his vote

By ROBERT DINEEN and CAROLINE GRAHAM FOR THE MAIL ON SUNDAY
PUBLISHED: 22:30 GMT, 29 October 2022 | UPDATED: 01:32 GMT, 30 October 2022

In the tatty surroundings of a newspaper office on the paradise island of Trinidad, wearing a dishevelled shirt and surrounded by broken chairs, Jack Warner is a pale imitation of the man who once led the high life as one of world football’s true power brokers.

For three decades, Warner was a massive presence in the global game, a first-class flier to five-star hotels who rubbed shoulders with presidents, prime ministers and princes.

But that was before the spectacular fall from grace, before the allegations of widespread corruption started to seep out, before the FBI fraud charges, and before he was barred from all football.

Jack Warner has broken his silence of England's failed 2018 World Cup bid with Russia winning

And before Saturday night’s extraordinary apology for robbing England of the chance to host the 2018 World Cup and allowing Prince William to believe he had supported the bid.

‘I failed, I erred and I apologise profusely for that,’ Warner said. ‘But I thought it was Russia’s time to host a World Cup and I have no regret.’ (LOLZ)

Warner, 79, whom FIFA barred from football for life in 2015, is widely considered the kingpin whose alleged corruption allowed Qatar to ‘buy’ its way into hosting this year’s tournament.

The former FIFA vice-president is fighting extradition to the US on multiple corruption charges

The former FIFA vice-president is fighting extradition to the United States on multiple corruption charges, including accusations he pocketed a $5million (£4.3m) ‘bribe’ to support Russia’s winning bid.

On Saturday night, he broke years of silence to admit he understands the hatred towards him in England — yet ironically also says he will be supporting the team in Qatar.

In an extraordinary interview from the offices of the local newspaper he runs in his native Trinidad — a country he has not left since the US filed 29 charges of fraud, corruption and money-laundering against him in 2015 — he said: ‘Where I failed is I should have told England very early of what my intention was. I did not do that and therefore they were led along to believe I was supporting them.

Warner’s half-hearted apology was described as ‘too little, too late’ by one insider with knowledge of his dealings during the England World Cup bid. ‘He agreed to support England, told everyone he was supporting England and then, at the last minute, he took the bribe from Russia,’ the source said. ‘The guy has never spoken so kudos to you [the MoS] for getting him to speak.’

In December 2010, FIFA hosted the elections to decide who should host both the 2018 and 2022 World Cups, with the FA putting together a star-studded bid team for the first tournament.

They lost out to Russia while Qatar stunned the football world by winning the right to stage this year’s tournament.

Warner bragged about meeting the late Queen, Prince William and David Beckham, who flew to Trinidad and hosted coaching classes in the hope of winning Warner’s support for the UK bid.

The former head of the Confederation of North, Central America and Caribbean Association Football (CONCACAF) said: ‘I met the Queen, I met her husband. The Queen gave me her plane to go to Ireland. England was very good to me.’

Referring to his meeting with Prince William, he said: ‘I never said [to him] that I would vote for them. I said, of course, I would give it some serious thought.

‘Even when the English team came here [to Trinidad] and Beckham came and did coaching courses and so on, they asked me to make a statement that Jack Warner of CONCACAF now supported the England bid.

‘I didn’t do it. I never made a public endorsement of anything.’

Warner met the late Queen, Prince William and David Beckham when they flew to Trinidad

Speaking to Prior Beharry of AZPNews.com, Warner — who reportedly may have made up to $100m in bribes during his more than two-decade career at the pinnacle of football — admitted he gave Team England the impression he would be supporting them.

‘That’s where I erred. I gave them that impression and I should not have. And that’s where I erred and possibly I am paying a price for that today.’

Today he is a pale imitation of the man whose vice-like grip on the game made him both feared and despised. Wearing a crumpled shirt, he speaks in the rundown offices of ‘Sunshine Today’, a local newspaper he set up shortly after US authorities filed charges in 2015.

Broken chairs litter the room. A plastic table with dried flowers sits in the corner. His life today could not be further away from his glory days travelling the world in first class, staying at five-star hotels and hobnobbing with world leaders whose names he rattles off at will.

‘There is nobody in the Western world who has travelled more than I, who has met national leaders from Mandela to Putin from Joe Biden to Bill Clinton and Barack Obama. I have sat with all of them.’

His appeal against extradition to the US was turned down by the Appeals Court in Trinidad and is now being heard by the Privy Council in the UK, the highest appeal court for a Commonwealth country. Warner, who faces spending the rest of his life in jail if convicted in the US, says he believes he will get a fair hearing at the Privy Council.

‘They have no axe to grind. I feel safe and sound that I shall be judged fairly before them and, at the end of the day, I am just waiting to see what the outcome shall eventually be.’

Warner rarely watches football any more, saying: ‘I don’t look at football. I look at cricket. I am a cricket fanatic now.’

Ironically, he will be supporting England when they take on the US in the group stages in Qatar.

‘It doesn’t matter to me who wins but if you ask me that twice I’ll tell you [I support] England because America has done damage to me and my family and therefore I am pained with America so I hope they get knocked out first. But beyond that, I don’t care.’

He accepts British fans hate him: ‘Yes, they hate me. But hatred doesn’t last forever. At some point in time they have to come back to reality. When you hate somebody so much it tends to consume you and that is what affects you in the end.’

Speaking about a £10m Netflix documentary series ‘FIFA Uncovered’ which airs next month and is expected to ‘eviscerate’ Warner and his pivotal role in the massive bribery scandal surrounding the 2018 and 2022 World Cup tournaments, he said: ’It doesn’t interest me. I will be involved in it, they say.

‘I’ve stopped looking at football. I say to Netflix: “Get a life!”. If they believe that this will help them make some money, go ahead.

‘I have insulated myself from criticism and [from] football. If not I would have been dead already. I won’t watch it and I don’t even want to hear about it. I live deliberately in a kind of cocoon. I have internally migrated, for want of a better term, and therefore these things don’t worry me any more.’

Warner spends his days rising early. He walks daily from 3.30am to 4.30am, with armed bodyguards, before working at his cluttered desk inside his newspaper offices in a poor part of a town where he claims he was once a local hero.

‘There are guys who consider me there to be a demigod, a semi-god, because I fix their roads, their bridges,’ he said. ‘I went to their functions. I gave scholarships for children of cane farmers. You name it I did it. Wherever a problem arose I was present.’

After work he drinks with his cronies in a local bar playing his favourite card game. There is no sign of the massive wealth he is said to have accrued. He claims to have lost $2m during the pandemic from lost rental earnings on properties he owns on the islands of Trinidad and Tobago.

But he refuses to be drawn on claims he has stashed away millions in off-shore accounts.

A person who knows him well says: ‘He used to live large. Now, he still has a nice house, the same house he’s always lived in, but he’s a sad figure. If he has money stashed away, which we all think he has, then he’s not using it. Maybe he’s spending it all on lawyers to stop spending the rest of his days in prison?

‘He’s become something of a pathetic figure. He used to be so powerful. He is still arrogant. He stood in the local parliamentary elections recently and lost. Here on the islands he is still respected by some people.

‘He was kind to poor people. He tried to portray himself as a Robin Hood-type of character. In his defence, he did do good for the very poor.

Warner has been accused of accepting bribes from Vladimir Putin to host the 2018 World Cup

‘But he was always corrupt, he spent 30 years being corrupt. There are many people who hope he will finally be brought to justice but he’s escaped it so far so that hope is tempered in reality.’

Warner remains unrepentant about switching his vote to Russia after President Vladimir Putin personally lobbied him — and allegedly paid him millions via off-shore shell companies to ‘buy’ his vote.

In the US indictment he is accused of accepting $5m in bribes from Putin and his cronies. Warner continues to deny he was bought off and vehemently denies all charges against him.

‘In the end when I sat down I realised that England had hosted World Cups before,’ he said, seemingly ignorant to the fact the country has hosted just one, in 1966.

'Russia had never hosted a World Cup and I felt it was Russia’s turn. When I sit back now and reflect I have no cause for grief because I believe honestly I did the right thing.’

The Privy Council has not set a date on when it will rule on whether Warner should be extradited to the US. Sources in America say, because of his age, Warner will be put on a ‘fast track’ for trial.

A legal source with knowledge of the case said: ‘It’s shameful that this crook, one of the most corrupt men ever in football, is still walking around.’ Warner is free on $2.5m bail.

‘If he loses his appeal against extradition, expect things to move quickly. The Feds have wanted this guy for a long time. He’s in their sights. They believe they have a rock solid case against him and are determined justice will be done.’

The FBI declined to comment on Saturday night, saying they never comment on active cases. Two of Warner’s sons pleaded guilty to corruption charges.

Warner claims he has been ‘harassed’ by international media since the FIFA corruption scandal erupted. The BBC and others have been met with silence, something he understands will make this — his first interview since charges were brought — explosive.

He said: ‘The media hates me. I can never get a fair trial. So that is why I have never spoken.’

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/footb ... lence.html

Postby MaxPower » October 30th, 2022, 5:58 am

Ok Jack….

OK.

Postby pugboy » October 30th, 2022, 6:40 am

but we are forever grateful for him carrying us to wc2006
who remembers the joy and soca warriors unifying the country

Postby maj. tom » October 30th, 2022, 6:53 am

when the book coming out?

Postby MaxPower » October 30th, 2022, 7:41 am

pugboy wrote:but we are forever grateful for him carrying us to wc2006
who remembers the joy and soca warriors unifying the country

Joy or Joke?

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » October 30th, 2022, 8:16 am

I see UWI grad was in Centre of Excellence, ent that money going straight to Jack pocket?

Postby mero » October 30th, 2022, 1:48 pm

Jack Warner - "I wwwww will work for ssssssalary of one dollar"

UNC supporters, applause and cheers.

Kamla also made Jack Warner acting as PM in this country.

Imagine the dirt he sweep under the rug as PM?

Postby MaxPower » October 30th, 2022, 1:51 pm

Why does he speak as if he is illiterate?

Funny how his classmates knew him as a cheater for his exams.

Uhuhuhuh duhduhduhduh muhmuhmuh

Postby maj. tom » October 30th, 2022, 2:06 pm

A stutter or other speech disorder is something to make fun of in 2022.

Postby hover11 » October 30th, 2022, 2:09 pm

MaxPower wrote:Why does he speak as if he is illiterate?

Funny how his classmates knew him as a cheater for his exams.

Uhuhuhuh duhduhduhduh muhmuhmuh
Say what you will about him, ppl call him monkey man , they make fun of how he speaks nothing could take away the fact he is a brilliant and wealthy individual. For a black man who originated from a Caribbean county to reach VP status on FIFA says alot ....

Postby Country_Bookie » October 30th, 2022, 2:15 pm

I'm sure the Privy Council will rule against him. Does he have any more cards to play to depart extradition? Will he escape to Russia?
Or strike some deal with the US to pay a fine and avoid jail?

Can't imagine jack in jail for the rest of his life.