CORPORATE TRINIDAD PLEASE HELP THE MOTORSPORT PEOPLE

DurzoBlint1

CORPORATE TRINIDAD PLEASE HELP THE MOTORSPORT PEOPLE

Postby DurzoBlint1 » September 8th, 2015, 12:33 pm

Hi guys

Just a plea on behalf of all fans and racers who work hard to prep cars and hire crew and entertain the people. Please comment and show support if you agree. Constructive criticism welcome also. Even though times tough (hopes it gets better) I am appealing to all business people to help sponsor prize money or trophies or even products to these guys who do whatever form of motorsports be it drag racing, drifting, rally, time attack or circuit or even cart racing. Just as football and cricket need support motorsports needs support. So if anybody out there works for one of those big companies I am sure we would appreciate this help in the motorsport community. It would be a rewarding experience for the sponsor in that they will be a leader in supporting motorsports in T&T.

A concerned fan.

lostboys crew

Re: CORPORATE TRINIDAD PLEASE HELP THE MOTORSPORT PEOPLE

Postby lostboys crew » September 8th, 2015, 1:06 pm

You hit the nail on the head there. Big business been neglecting Motorsport for years now. With the amount of world class drivers we have repping T&T i am surprised we have not built a decent circuit or drag strip yet.

Postby wagonrunner » September 8th, 2015, 2:02 pm

do you invest significant amounts into a sport with no longterm plans?
even most of the functioning clubs don't know what they will be doing two years from now, how does that appeal to an investor?

Postby zoom rader » September 8th, 2015, 2:28 pm

OP now is not the time to invest in Motor sports. This Govt sees Motor sport as a non PNM ppl sport.

bumblebeetuna

Postby bumblebeetuna » September 8th, 2015, 3:10 pm

Corporate Trinidad and the Government should sponsor the CMRC Teams that pay out of their own pockets to represent Trinidad and Tobago at the various International Circuits.

Our motorsport organization are supposed to organize this.

Postby wagonrunner » September 8th, 2015, 3:37 pm

bumblebeetuna wrote:Our motorsport organization are supposed to be able to organize this.

but they renamed a circuit instead. priorities.

DurzoBlint1

Postby DurzoBlint1 » September 8th, 2015, 3:56 pm

How does that appeal to an investor? When you consider the fact that investing in people (especially talented) people can have a multiplier effect (by that I mean that these same people could help to groom the future racers eg. up and coming cart racers) then that is more than enough reason to invest. You see it in cricket, football and even the music industry. I am sure you will agree. Its about people NOT MONEY!!!!. The money will come, but we need to focus on the talented people and the up and coming. That is the point we need to get accross to sponsors.

link

Postby link » September 8th, 2015, 4:20 pm

:deadhorse:

allyuh operatin' like 'fixin' T&T'.............
fix yourself FIRST...........thats what the motor sport fraternity isn't doing......

Postby brams112 » September 9th, 2015, 2:54 am

Why don't you go around to businesses that profit from the sport for sponsorships opie?because only those business profit from them.

Postby X2 » September 9th, 2015, 12:01 pm

Just land on the scene huh ?

lol.... granted motorsport at least has a start with Wallerfield back on the map... but to put it realistically... I sign off on marketing and 'sponsorship' for certain aspects of my company... and I am a weekend racer (so I tell myself)... and I don't even 'sponsor' my vehicle because even with the tax opportunity... the organization of local motor racing is still a very shaky 'investment' for most corporate funding.

Just because I, as an enthusiast, am willing to waste thousands on a 'racecar'... doesn't mean that people with a lick of business sense would be willing to throw the same money as a sponsor....the investment has to have some form of payback whether it's tangible or not. You'd be hard pressed to prove value to a company that doesn't sell food, alco, lubricants or car parts, etc....

webb

Postby webb » September 9th, 2015, 12:59 pm

zoom rader wrote:OP now is not the time to invest in Motor sports. This Govt sees Motor sport as a non PNM ppl sport.

What is your point exactly

Postby Monk BANzai » September 11th, 2015, 9:26 pm

i been saying for YEARS.... make motorsport attractive to other ministries (trade and industry)and you've done half the bullwork.... look at the Drag S13 they use (Ram's own I think) at UTTs Camden Campus. Thats a step. If Trade and Industry can see the essence of using Wallerfield as a learning tool (teaching of safety driving, car handing dynamics, inclusion of each as a prequel to getting a license) then your precious track that we live in fear of losing will be kept.

Develop programs that allow for testing of alternate fuels in local cars...where? At wallerfield. But it must be done from the Sportsman side. And have the business and other elements fine tuned to suit the needs of the people. Parents and others alike must see the plus sides of using Wallerfield to not only save lives, but to develop our country's resources.

But if you do the opposite: use the track for bragging rights, leave the place in disarray when done, litter the location, show no regard for the sport that you love, then, pooof!...

Been saying it for years. NO one listens, or cares to invest in proposals to affect such. We only do hand-outs when we think we're going to lose.

Postby desifemlove » September 11th, 2015, 9:37 pm

zoom rader wrote:OP now is not the time to invest in Motor sports. This Govt sees Motor sport as a non PNM ppl sport.

you lost...give it up.... 8-) even if she court appeal wins, no guarntee she will win again.

Postby desifemlove » September 11th, 2015, 10:04 pm

thing is, what in it for them? Firms do a lot of CSR now, but only for like poverty alleviation, housing, diseases, etc. For sport, not really. A racetrack may need some state backing on some level, unless you can convince local firms to have some multi-purpose facility. Or if one of yuh group does run a business, good way to gain a brand/publicity/awareness by funding and/or running a track.

Postby X2 » September 14th, 2015, 6:57 pm

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:....
Develop programs that allow for testing of alternate fuels in local cars...where? At wallerfield...

When we run out of oil and gas maybe...