Moving back to Trinidad

danny101

Moving back to Trinidad

Postby danny101 » October 22nd, 2015, 9:10 am

I'm a born Trinidad but left at a young age and I now live in Canada. I was planning to move back to Trinidad to do my post-secondary studies (to do psychology) however, I contacted a few psychologist in Trinidad and I was told by most its best to get my schooling abroad. But I truly miss my home and want to come back, what I would like to know now is if I wanted to open my own starter up business in Trinidad, what would be some good industries to go into that I could potentially make a good earning? Also if I do move back what should be some things things that I should expect moving back to Trinidad after all these years (I have a ton of family members in Trinidad).

All responses are greatly appreciated. :)

Re: Moving back to Trinidad

Postby Habit7 » October 22nd, 2015, 9:15 am

Firstly, dont think that you are coming back with magnificent 1st world super powers that will awe everyone. Be prepare to start from the bottom and work your way up.

danny101

Postby danny101 » October 22nd, 2015, 9:23 am

Habit7 wrote:Firstly, dont think that you are coming back with magnificent 1st world super powers that will awe everyone. Be prepare to start from the bottom and work your way up.

Trust me that was never my expectation or the mentality I have moving back, I am a hard worker and I won't let that hinder my success in Trinidad.

Thanks for your response :)

Postby desifemlove » October 22nd, 2015, 11:43 am

in which branch? you prepared to give up homesickness for less wages, shittier living standards and shittier economy and shittier health system?

Postby 88sins » October 22nd, 2015, 12:38 pm

op, here's my advice

don't

Postby ruffneck_12 » October 22nd, 2015, 12:43 pm

boy stay there boy

You not missing out on anything.

Free MC health care in Canada and you wanna come down here? You want to end up in a nursing home for a fat nurse to stand up on your belly?
https://www.facebook.com/Gigoloism/phot ... =3&theater

If you missing trinidad, come down for Christmas/carnival and then go back up.

Postby zoom rader » October 22nd, 2015, 12:44 pm

Danny101, coming down to trin for a holiday is all and well but living here is another thing. Lots of abroad trins come for a holiday and they find they can live here but that's not reality. I know of older retired folk that lived years aboard and just could not readapt to living here.

If your serious then you need to spend at least 3 months and observer daily life while doing some research if you can make living here. If your well off then that will help you but if starting off from scratch then that another thing.

Postby 88sins » October 22nd, 2015, 1:09 pm

I srsly doubt he could learn to cope & deal wit all the bs, corruption & chupidness that goes on here in a measly 3 months. A year maybe.

is only cause we in it from d day we born we have a extremely high tolerance for it.
certain tings we does tolerate & accept as normal here go have op like :headbang:

Postby Habit7 » October 22nd, 2015, 1:25 pm

I think some of you all live on "yeah a get meh visa" and "wow I going and shop for 2wks" life you all don't know the reverse. While Canada might be developed and efficient it is also cold and empty. We take for granted the good weather we experience, not feeling like a foreigner in your country, having warm neighbours and having a moderate pace of life.

OP won't be the first to move back, in the same way some of you might not what to work like a dog here but will willingly work like a dog abroad and have no one to share it with except to come home ever so often and boast to your family. No where is perfect, but having lived both in countries more developed than T&T and less developed than T&T, T&T is a great place to live.

Daran

Postby Daran » October 22nd, 2015, 1:26 pm

You only come trini for woman, food and easy money (once you have connections).

danny101

Postby danny101 » October 22nd, 2015, 1:28 pm

Daran wrote:You only come trini for woman, food and easy money (once you have connections).

Well I'm a female so....

Daran

Postby Daran » October 22nd, 2015, 1:30 pm

danny101 wrote:
Daran wrote:You only come trini for woman, food and easy money (once you have connections).

Well I'm a female so....

Well if you're bi or lesbian......trini isn't the most gay friend place, however we are far more accepting of hot lesbians than gay men.

If you looking for business ideas, PM me. I have a host of ideas that I will not divulge liberally.

Postby 88sins » October 22nd, 2015, 1:33 pm

Daran wrote:
If you looking for business ideas, PM me. I have a host of ideas that I will not divulge liberally.

nobody tryin to hear bout yuh standpipe carwash business dreams dan.

TurboSingh12

Postby TurboSingh12 » October 22nd, 2015, 1:57 pm

danny101 wrote:

Well I'm a female so....

Pics plz

danny101

Postby danny101 » October 22nd, 2015, 2:04 pm

Daran wrote:
danny101 wrote:

Well I'm a female so....

Well if you're bi or lesbian......trini isn't the most gay friend place, however we are far more accepting of hot lesbians than gay men.

Woah!!!! I never said I was a bi, I was only implying that I'm not a male. I am 100% heterosexual!

allrotor

Postby allrotor » October 22nd, 2015, 2:05 pm

yeah pics and will tell u if it make sense or not

Advent

Postby Advent » October 22nd, 2015, 2:12 pm

asking for pics has arrived in the thread LOL

Postby teems1 » October 22nd, 2015, 2:17 pm

Habit7 wrote: We take for granted the good weather we experience, not feeling like a foreigner in your country, having warm neighbours and having a moderate pace of life.

wat?

Canadians are known for being friendly, sometimes too friendly. I guess it's due to the harsh cold.

When the winters can reach -40C and something happens to your heat or radiator, the last person you want to have as an enemy is your neighbour.

Postby Spitfir3 » October 22nd, 2015, 2:42 pm

Canadians are very nice people from my experience from the people ive known who were back and forth the ones who opted to stay here only did so because they couldn't take the weather up there

if you're starting from scratch in trini expect to work like a dog of course if you've been living that Canadian life then you're probably accustom to that already

BRZ

Postby BRZ » October 22nd, 2015, 2:49 pm

RENT is HIGH, you NEED a car to get around Trinidad, insurance for it, crime is the usual.

Postby sliderz1 » October 22nd, 2015, 2:52 pm

returning citizen..... bring in fassup car

Postby *KRONIK* » October 22nd, 2015, 2:59 pm

sliderz1 wrote:returning citizen..... bring in fassup car

Endorsed

STORM1234

Postby STORM1234 » October 22nd, 2015, 3:04 pm

delete
Last edited by STORM1234 on September 19th, 2018, 2:35 am, edited 1 time in total.

Daran

Postby Daran » October 22nd, 2015, 3:14 pm

danny101 wrote:
Daran wrote:
danny101 wrote:

Well I'm a female so....

Woah!!!! I never said I was a bi, I was only implying that I'm not a male. I am 100% heterosexual!

wishful thinking,lol

But can we ask why do you want to move back to Trinidad? You may be in for some reverse culture shock.

danny101

Postby danny101 » October 22nd, 2015, 3:28 pm

Daran wrote:
danny101 wrote:
Daran wrote:
danny101 wrote:

Well I'm a female so....

wishful thinking,lol

But can we ask why do you want to move back to Trinidad? You may be in for some reverse culture shock.

Honestly the so called "family" I live with right now are more or less the devils themselves and Im tired of living with them and would rather go back home than endure having to put up with their crap any longer ( I was a minor at the time so couldn't really do much about my living conditions).

Postby ismithx » October 22nd, 2015, 3:33 pm

88sins wrote:op, here's my advice

don't

seconded

cliffs of abroad:
people may not be as neighborly as down here
higher pay and higher living costs
better civilized

cliffs of here:
everything cheap
rat race mentality

Postby Country_Bookie » October 22nd, 2015, 3:45 pm

Are you coming here to study or to work? As a citizen, the biggest pro to coming back is GATE which covers ur full tuition for a 1st degree. However rent is expensive especially around UWI and USC.

TT is in a recession, so unless u have a new business model or untapped niche market in ur start up business, it will take a lot of hard work to succeed.

My $0.02 would be to start ur studies, and while here u can figure out which type of business is most suitable to ur skills.

Daran

Postby Daran » October 22nd, 2015, 3:48 pm

ismithx wrote:

don't

seconded

cliffs of abroad:
better civilized

cliffs of here:
everything cheap
rat race mentality

Firstly, Trinidad is not cheap, not by a long shot. I found the US, even the UK (factoring bills, taxes and sh*t) cheaper.

Rat Race mentality is right though. Everyone and they nanny go be up in your business.

If it's an option, move out from them so called family in Canada and get your own place and job.

Postby A172 » October 22nd, 2015, 3:49 pm

trini bess op doh study dem cyakers

Postby zoom rader » October 22nd, 2015, 4:05 pm

Daran wrote:
ismithx wrote:

don't

seconded

cliffs of abroad:
better civilized

cliffs of here:
everything cheap
rat race mentality

Firstly, Trinidad is not cheap, not by a long shot. I found the US, even the UK (factoring bills, taxes and sh*t) cheaper.

Rat Race mentality is right though. Everyone and they nanny go be up in your business.

If it's an option, move out from them so called family in Canada and get your own place and job.

UK is cheaper? no way pal.