600 lose jobs at Arcelor Mital

Re: 600 lose jobs at Arcelor Mital

Postby zoom rader » August 28th, 2019, 6:16 pm

Country_Bookie wrote:Is this the same Unanan Persad who used to be in politics? I can't remember the exact story but I recall some big bachannal when Panday had kick him out of UNC. Could have been 15 -20 years ago.
Yeah dat him

Postby pugboy » August 28th, 2019, 6:25 pm

Don't think he ever dip his foot back in politics since

Postby The_Honourable » March 11th, 2020, 4:04 pm

Ex-ArcelorMittal workers stage stand-in at RBL

Former ArcelorMittal workers are currently engaged in a stand-in protest at Republic Bank’s Park Street, Port-of-Spain branch, in protest over an alleged plan by the bank to convert their pensions to an annuity plan.

According to the workers, who were all attached to the Steel Workers’ Union before the steel giant company closed its door in 2016, they turned up at the bank on Wednesday morning seeking to get their money only to be told of the planned action by the bank. However, they said they wanted their pension payout, said to be $16.5 million and refused to leave after security asked them to until they saw one of the bank’s managers.

The workers turned up at the bank on the exact anniversary date of the closure of the company here in Trinidad.
ArcelorMittal, the world’s largest steel-making company, closed its doors in T&T on March 11, 2016, citing incurring losses since 2009 and a then debt of TT$1.3 billion (US$198.6 million). Some 644 workers lost their jobs at the time.

Postby pugboy » March 11th, 2020, 4:25 pm

imps will likely tax them if they are able to pull out the funds whole
just like how he did it with TISP quietly
bastard short idiot

Postby The_Honourable » March 3rd, 2021, 10:43 am

Third attempt to sell ArcelorMittal assets

CHRISTOPHER Kelshall, the liquidator of the ArcelorMittal company on the Point Lisas Industrial Estate, is making a third attempt to sell the iron and steel-manufacturing assets, which were mothballed in March 2016.

T&T’s largest non-energy, manufacturing exporter, Luxemburg-based ArcelorMittal decided to close its operations at Point Lisas on March 11 2016, throwing its direct workforce of 644 into unemployment, causing the National Gas Company, WASA, PLIPDECO and T&TEC to forego hundreds of million in fees and tariffs and leading to almost US$800 million in estimated export earnings lost over three years, according to four Central Bank economists.

The iron and steel facility, which was acquired by current ArcelorMittal chairman and CEO, Lakshmi Mittal, in 1994 for US$70 million, cost T&T over US$1 billion in investment dollars to commission and operate between 1980 and 1985, according to former finance minister, Wendell Mottley, in his book Trinidad and Tobago Industrial Policy 1959 to 2008.

Six local and international companies responded to Kelshall’s third request for expressions of interest in the assets of the iron and steel facility, including the Luxemburg-based owner of the assets, ArcelorMittal, and Nu-Iron, the Point Lisas-based subsidiary of the US steel giant Nucor Corporation.

Neither Arcelor nor Nu-Iron eventually submitted bids, sources close to the process told Express Business.

The liquidator has received, and is considering, three bids, including one from Aeternus Steel Company, a local company incorporated in March 2019. A joint venture of Aeternus Steel and the Dubai-based Cassia Group, was named the preferred bidder in the 2019 sales process, which ended without any company being selected.

Asked to provide an update of the liquidation and pension processes, Kelshall on Friday said in an email: “I am in the process of evaluating bids received from several local and overseas bidders for the plant, to determine a preferred bidder. The process is at an advanced stage and delicate at this time. I expect a determination to be made within the next month.”

Questioned about the sale of the assets, Steel Workers Union president, Timothy Bailey said the union welcomed the possibility as its entire membership from the steel industry were deprived of their separation benefits.

“We have seen what has happened to the former workers and are supportive of any initiative that allows the opportunity for employment. We believe that considering our economic situation currently as a country. The need for stimulating the economy with new and sustainable investment where sustainable employment coupled with the possible availability of foreign exchange should be taken in consideration by the Government and liquidator. This should be the deal breaker when any decision is made on choosing a entity,” said Bailey

Given the price of electricity and issues over the availability of natural gas, the reopening is likely to be of ArcelorMittal’s two Direct Reduce Iron (DRI) plants only (See list of assets sidebar).

A Point Lisas source said a successful reopening of the DRI facility requires clarity on the supply of natural gas, a competitive electricity rate and the expeditious grant of the Foreign Investor’s Licence. The issue of the Foreign Investor’s Licence has been promoted to significance because of the perception that the Ministry of Finance took too long to consider the licence for the preferred bidder of the 2019 attempt.

Forex earnings

In a January 2020 working paper, entitled ‘Impact of the closure of a large foreign direct investment: The case of ArcelorMittal in T&T,’ four Central Bank economists estimated that the potential annual export earnings foregone by the domestic economy amounted to US$259.2 million over the three years 2016, 2017 and 2018.

The export earnings contribution of the DRI plant alone would have been US$146.3 million, according to the Central Bank economists, Ashley, Lauren Sonnylal, Kester Thompson and Reshma Mahabir.

The economists also projected that if ArcelorMittal remained in operation, non-energy export earnings would have increased, resulting in a smaller current account deficit of US$748.2 million in 2016 compared to US$979.5 million.

“The current account surplus would have further improved in 2017 and 2018 to US$1,495.2 million and US$2,260.5 million compared to US$1,236.1 million and US$1,190.7 million, respectively,” stated the Central Bank economists.

They counter-balanced the positive impact on T&T’s export earnings by noting that “improvements to the current account from higher export earnings may have been offset by the repayment of ArcelorMittal debt to external parties.”

Source: https://trinidadexpress.com/business/lo ... 7d7ba.html

Postby De Dragon » March 6th, 2021, 12:46 pm

The_Honourable wrote:Third attempt to sell ArcelorMittal assets

CHRISTOPHER Kelshall, the liquidator of the ArcelorMittal company on the Point Lisas Industrial Estate, is making a third attempt to sell the iron and steel-manufacturing assets, which were mothballed in March 2016.

T&T’s largest non-energy, manufacturing exporter, Luxemburg-based ArcelorMittal decided to close its operations at Point Lisas on March 11 2016, throwing its direct workforce of 644 into unemployment, causing the National Gas Company, WASA, PLIPDECO and T&TEC to forego hundreds of million in fees and tariffs and leading to almost US$800 million in estimated export earnings lost over three years, according to four Central Bank economists.

The iron and steel facility, which was acquired by current ArcelorMittal chairman and CEO, Lakshmi Mittal, in 1994 for US$70 million, cost T&T over US$1 billion in investment dollars to commission and operate between 1980 and 1985, according to former finance minister, Wendell Mottley, in his book Trinidad and Tobago Industrial Policy 1959 to 2008.

Six local and international companies responded to Kelshall’s third request for expressions of interest in the assets of the iron and steel facility, including the Luxemburg-based owner of the assets, ArcelorMittal, and Nu-Iron, the Point Lisas-based subsidiary of the US steel giant Nucor Corporation.

Neither Arcelor nor Nu-Iron eventually submitted bids, sources close to the process told Express Business.

The liquidator has received, and is considering, three bids, including one from Aeternus Steel Company, a local company incorporated in March 2019. A joint venture of Aeternus Steel and the Dubai-based Cassia Group, was named the preferred bidder in the 2019 sales process, which ended without any company being selected.

Asked to provide an update of the liquidation and pension processes, Kelshall on Friday said in an email: “I am in the process of evaluating bids received from several local and overseas bidders for the plant, to determine a preferred bidder. The process is at an advanced stage and delicate at this time. I expect a determination to be made within the next month.”

Questioned about the sale of the assets, Steel Workers Union president, Timothy Bailey said the union welcomed the possibility as its entire membership from the steel industry were deprived of their separation benefits.

“We have seen what has happened to the former workers and are supportive of any initiative that allows the opportunity for employment. We believe that considering our economic situation currently as a country. The need for stimulating the economy with new and sustainable investment where sustainable employment coupled with the possible availability of foreign exchange should be taken in consideration by the Government and liquidator. This should be the deal breaker when any decision is made on choosing a entity,” said Bailey

Given the price of electricity and issues over the availability of natural gas, the reopening is likely to be of ArcelorMittal’s two Direct Reduce Iron (DRI) plants only (See list of assets sidebar).

A Point Lisas source said a successful reopening of the DRI facility requires clarity on the supply of natural gas, a competitive electricity rate and the expeditious grant of the Foreign Investor’s Licence. The issue of the Foreign Investor’s Licence has been promoted to significance because of the perception that the Ministry of Finance took too long to consider the licence for the preferred bidder of the 2019 attempt.

Forex earnings

In a January 2020 working paper, entitled ‘Impact of the closure of a large foreign direct investment: The case of ArcelorMittal in T&T,’ four Central Bank economists estimated that the potential annual export earnings foregone by the domestic economy amounted to US$259.2 million over the three years 2016, 2017 and 2018.

The export earnings contribution of the DRI plant alone would have been US$146.3 million, according to the Central Bank economists, Ashley, Lauren Sonnylal, Kester Thompson and Reshma Mahabir.

The economists also projected that if ArcelorMittal remained in operation, non-energy export earnings would have increased, resulting in a smaller current account deficit of US$748.2 million in 2016 compared to US$979.5 million.

“The current account surplus would have further improved in 2017 and 2018 to US$1,495.2 million and US$2,260.5 million compared to US$1,236.1 million and US$1,190.7 million, respectively,” stated the Central Bank economists.

They counter-balanced the positive impact on T&T’s export earnings by noting that “improvements to the current account from higher export earnings may have been offset by the repayment of ArcelorMittal debt to external parties.”

Source: https://trinidadexpress.com/business/lo ... 7d7ba.html

Doesn't AM facility have 3 DRI plants?
The denial of the FIL, meant that the revenues, though not all described in the article would have already been going to us for a full year already. Chain up from Maccari meant dotish Impsy and the LFD RFD PNM missed the boat again :roll:

Postby Dizzy28 » June 7th, 2023, 4:03 pm

THE TT Iron Steel Company Limited has signed a sales and purchase agreement to acquire the Arcelor Mittal Point Lisas iron and steel plant at the Point Lisas Industrial Estate in Couva.

The company announced its acquisition in a release, saying it will begin refurbishing the plant over the next 24 months at a cost of TT$ 1-1.4 billion (US$150-200 million).

“The plant is one of the Western Hemisphere’s largest steel mills pairing low carbon emission, natural gas based direct reduced iron technology with electric arc furnaces for steelmaking,” the release said.

Founder and Group CEO Gus Hiller said there was great potential
https://newsday.co.tt/2023/06/07/arcelo ... -steel-co/

Postby pugboy » June 7th, 2023, 4:57 pm

i thought they tief out most of the plant for scrap

Postby Dizzy28 » June 9th, 2023, 10:25 am

pugboy wrote:i thought they tief out most of the plant for scrap

Plant was never fully empty. There was a small crew of Engineers and technicians to do rotations of equipment and other maintenance as needed and the office still had accounting (Rent still hadda run, wages paid etc)

Postby foss » June 9th, 2023, 11:34 am

We used to supply Mittal with a lot of equipment spares...

I wish this new company the best...

Postby sMASH » June 9th, 2023, 11:49 am

Lets hope this time they get this company right.
Country could use it.

Even if is bobol, get it going and let a next administration do the investigations.

Kickstart

Postby Kickstart » June 9th, 2023, 5:24 pm

sMASH wrote:Lets hope this time they get this company right.
Country could use it.

Even if is bobol, get it going and let a next administration do the investigations.
PNM will be running the plant, it's doomed to fail again.

Expect PNM stooges to be running the plant

Postby sMASH » June 9th, 2023, 5:54 pm

Hopppppefully 2025 we sumtung different

Postby maj. tom » January 24th, 2024, 8:30 am

Calls for probe into iron plant mishap – ENGINEER SUFFERS BURNS, DIES

https://newsday.co.tt/2024/01/23/calls-for-probe-into-iron-plant-mishap-engineer-suffers-burns-dies/

THERE must be no attempt to cover up the circumstances surrounding the death of electrical engineer Rossi Mansingh, both the Opposition and a major trade union are demanding.

Mansingh died on Monday night, four days after suffering electrical burns while working on the site of the former Arcelor Mittal steel plant in the Point Lisas Industrial Estate. He died at the San Fernando General Hospital.

Mansingh, who was said to be in his 30s, was the husband of Parvani Rooplal and son of Dave and Shirley Mansingh of Fyzabad. He was being treated at the intensive care unit (ICU) of the hospital up to the time of his death. His father confirmed Mansingh's death but said he was too distraught to be interviewed.

President of the Steel Workers Union (SWUTT) Timothy Bailey told Newsday his information was that Mansingh was put in a private vehicle and taken to hospital.

Bailey said he spoke to Christopher Kelshall, the appointed liquidator to oversee the winding up of Arcelor Mittal and its transition to the TT Iron and Steel Co, who confirmed that Mansingh had been retained after Arcelor Mittal ceased operations, to assist in refurbishing the plant.

“He told me an investigation is ongoing, but I am curious to know what activities were actually taking place on the plant,” Bailey said.

Both Pointe-a-Pierre MP David Lee, and Oilfield Workers Trade Union (OWTU) education and research officer Ozzi Warwick made separate calls for an in-depth investigation, when contacted for comment by Newsday on Tuesday.

They called for the investigation to be public, open and transparent – and if anyone or any entity is found culpable, then let the chips fall where they may, they said.

They also called for Government to get serious about implementing stringent safety measures at the workplace – especially in the energy sector – in accordance with the Occupational Safety and Health Act.

Postby zoom rader » January 24th, 2024, 11:50 am

maj. tom wrote:
Calls for probe into iron plant mishap – ENGINEER SUFFERS BURNS, DIES

https://newsday.co.tt/2024/01/23/calls-for-probe-into-iron-plant-mishap-engineer-suffers-burns-dies/

THERE must be no attempt to cover up the circumstances surrounding the death of electrical engineer Rossi Mansingh, both the Opposition and a major trade union are demanding.

Mansingh died on Monday night, four days after suffering electrical burns while working on the site of the former Arcelor Mittal steel plant in the Point Lisas Industrial Estate. He died at the San Fernando General Hospital.

Mansingh, who was said to be in his 30s, was the husband of Parvani Rooplal and son of Dave and Shirley Mansingh of Fyzabad. He was being treated at the intensive care unit (ICU) of the hospital up to the time of his death. His father confirmed Mansingh's death but said he was too distraught to be interviewed.

President of the Steel Workers Union (SWUTT) Timothy Bailey told Newsday his information was that Mansingh was put in a private vehicle and taken to hospital.

Bailey said he spoke to Christopher Kelshall, the appointed liquidator to oversee the winding up of Arcelor Mittal and its transition to the TT Iron and Steel Co, who confirmed that Mansingh had been retained after Arcelor Mittal ceased operations, to assist in refurbishing the plant.

“He told me an investigation is ongoing, but I am curious to know what activities were actually taking place on the plant,” Bailey said.

Both Pointe-a-Pierre MP David Lee, and Oilfield Workers Trade Union (OWTU) education and research officer Ozzi Warwick made separate calls for an in-depth investigation, when contacted for comment by Newsday on Tuesday.

They called for the investigation to be public, open and transparent – and if anyone or any entity is found culpable, then let the chips fall where they may, they said.

They also called for Government to get serious about implementing stringent safety measures at the workplace – especially in the energy sector – in accordance with the Occupational Safety and Health Act.

Sweep under the carpet as usual

Postby nervewrecker » January 24th, 2024, 12:43 pm

Is like something out of final destination yes. The day before me and a guy talking how we does laugh now but he get burn up and live. We talking and laughing how funny it sounds now. Same day I showing the guys to not take chance and always stand on the side when flipping a breaker. I always turn my face too and we MUST ALWAYS respect a live system.

Same evening I pass Rossi and his wife walking the two Huskies. Next evening he in the ICU. My mother freaking out because she knows HV does be part of my daily routine sometimes and it's not the first or last time I de-energize and normalise systems. It's a risk you have to understand and be trained to work around.

Rossi was a bright guy, we went same primary sch and high school. I don't know the circumstances but I'm already seeing talk of no ppe and working on the 12KV live. Something not adding up there.

Sent from my VOG-L29 using TriniTuner mobile app

Postby maj. tom » January 24th, 2024, 12:45 pm

Seems like many companies in TT don't take the OSHA seriously at all. Any probably no real consequences that's why.

wing

Postby wing » January 24th, 2024, 12:52 pm

nervewrecker wrote:Is like something out of final destination yes. The day before me and a guy talking how we does laugh now but he get burn up and live. We talking and laughing how funny it sounds now. Same day I showing the guys to not take chance and always stand on the side when flipping a breaker. I always turn my face too and we MUST ALWAYS respect a live system.

Same evening I pass Rossi and his wife walking the two Huskies. Next evening he in the ICU. My mother freaking out because she knows HV does be part of my daily routine sometimes and it's not the first or last time I de-energize and normalise systems. It's a risk you have to understand and be trained to work around.

Rossi was a bright guy, we went same primary sch and high school. I don't know the circumstances but I'm already seeing talk of no ppe and working on the 12KV live. Something not adding up there.

As an electrical engineer, surely he would have known the risks involved and done EVERYTHING in his power to mitigate against such. He even has the power to refuse if he's concerned about his safety.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » January 24th, 2024, 12:55 pm

wing wrote:
nervewrecker wrote:Is like something out of final destination yes. The day before me and a guy talking how we does laugh now but he get burn up and live. We talking and laughing how funny it sounds now. Same day I showing the guys to not take chance and always stand on the side when flipping a breaker. I always turn my face too and we MUST ALWAYS respect a live system.

As an electrical engineer, surely he would have known the risks involved and done EVERYTHING in his power to mitigate against such. He even has the power to refuse if he's concerned about his safety.

We don't know what happened, I hope this gets investigated properly.

I think I knew Rossi in UWI, was a bit younger, but I remember him being a really quiet and a decent guy. Totally forgot his name, but recognised him immediately from those pics.

RIP.

Postby bluefete » January 24th, 2024, 12:58 pm

nervewrecker wrote: Same day I showing the guys to not take chance and always stand on the side when flipping a breaker. I always turn my face too and we MUST ALWAYS respect a live system.

Nerve: is that like the circuit breakers in the panels at home?

wing

Postby wing » January 24th, 2024, 1:46 pm

My point is, in industry, everything has the potential to kill you. The company could have the best safety system or have paria level oversight. At some point, you have to remember that people are depending on you to return home and you are responsible for your own safety, even if it means refusing or being victimized for it. At the end of the day, you dead and the company will eventually resume its activities. PS, for him to be burned like that, seems like a case of arc blast. Once again, he's working on systems that were abandoned 7 years ago, you have to be very sure about your isolation and testing before working.

Supra GT-FOUR

Postby Supra GT-FOUR » January 24th, 2024, 4:26 pm

bluefete wrote:
nervewrecker wrote: Same day I showing the guys to not take chance and always stand on the side when flipping a breaker. I always turn my face too and we MUST ALWAYS respect a live system.

No it isnt.
It's a large unit which is levered mechanically (via screw mechanism) into connected/test/disconnected positions onto a distribution switchboard.

Postby goalpost » January 24th, 2024, 4:32 pm

Work with 12 kV, 33 kV and 66 kV circuit breakers right thru. We try our best never to operate the switches in front the breaker but rather thru a remote panel located in a different room or via SCADA.
However just 2 weeks ago i remember a 12 kV CB trip out and went to close it. Couldnt close it remotely or via SCADA. Went in front the CB and press close and run. Nothing happened so i open the cubicle only for it to suddenly close. Thankfully nothing happened. Boi but the minute i report that, all kinda crews come down to fix the issues and it was sorted out in a day.

AlphaMan

Postby AlphaMan » January 24th, 2024, 5:23 pm

Rip to the guy but as usual nothing going too come out of this.
Obviously an investigation gonna be launched but that report will take 3 years to finish.

Postby gastly369 » January 24th, 2024, 5:52 pm

Hadda have good heart and frame of mind.. That Arc flash no joke

Postby paid_influencer » January 24th, 2024, 8:38 pm

wing wrote:My point is, in industry, everything has the potential to kill you. The company could have the best safety system or have paria level oversight. At some point, you have to remember that people are depending on you to return home and you are responsible for your own safety, even if it means refusing or being victimized for it. At the end of the day, you dead and the company will eventually resume its activities. PS, for him to be burned like that, seems like a case of arc blast. Once again, he's working on systems that were abandoned 7 years ago, you have to be very sure about your isolation and testing before working.

I know I going to sound like a broken record, but that is fear of victimization is real and the solution is a union. it shows how important it is for workers to have rights, not just legal rights, but the power of a union backing them so a worker can walk off without fear of victimization or not getting their contract renewed. capital only respects leverage and a union is the only way workers get leverage.

Postby nervewrecker » January 24th, 2024, 9:39 pm

Supra GT-FOUR wrote:
bluefete wrote:

No it isnt.
It's a large unit which is levered mechanically (via screw mechanism) into connected/test/disconnected positions onto a distribution switchboard.
Correct, the moveable part in some weigh maybe about the same as a Tiida engine or probably more. That system blow out it's hot gas expanding, heat, electrical arc, sound, molten metal, solid metal and probably some other stuff.

As said, Rossi is a quiet guy, I don't know if someone trying to spin the story and place blame on him. I wasn't there so I don't know what took place but I do know it have a lot of crazy people in the industry. There was an incident some time back at Powergen where a guy went in a system and it was live. They told him it was off or knew he didn't turn it off because off on those system is center and on is top or bottom. He carried it all the way turning it from on to off to on again and got toasted. So I don't know if some idiot told him the system was de-energized and he went ahead. Yes I agree the onus is on you to do your tests to verify such but let's face it, there are crazy people out here and instructions can get distorted as it goes from person to person. We don't even know if he went to do tests and got complacent thinking it dead and touched the bus bars. I'm not at liberty to say anything anyways.

I hinted of this in the paria thread. if he didn't die, nobody would have known about it.

Postby zoom rader » January 25th, 2024, 9:32 am

wing wrote:

U ever wuk in industry and especially the steel industry?

Why u don't hush lil kant

wing

Postby wing » January 25th, 2024, 9:36 am

wing wrote:

Actually yes, for 10 years you big hen.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » January 25th, 2024, 1:46 pm

wing wrote:
wing wrote:

Actually yes, for 10 years you big hen.

Why we fighting guys? A guy is dead, we need a proper investigation into it