Gravity waves detected

Postby sMASH » February 11th, 2016, 9:55 pm

Scientists have decided to declare that they have detected gravity waves. Rumors have circulated months now that they might have detected them, but as is usually the case, they delayed announcement to check and double check and independently verify the data.

It was the last, and hardest prediction of general relativity to be proved.

I don't know the implications, kinda difficult for me to post explanitory videos. Ill try when I get home.

Big news? Yes, but not for us.

The Paleontologist

Re: Gravity waves detected

Postby The Paleontologist » February 11th, 2016, 10:26 pm

Nice!!
:ugeek::geek:

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 11th, 2016, 11:12 pm

simple explanation here

cracker

Postby cracker » February 12th, 2016, 8:44 am

This is when two black holes collide. much is written on this subject. Google stephen hawking and kip thorne. Also i would recommend u watch the movie interstellar

NicholasM.

Postby NicholasM. » February 12th, 2016, 10:48 am

WarrLordd

Postby WarrLordd » February 12th, 2016, 1:16 pm

49205703.jpg
49205703.jpg (83.18 KiB) Viewed 5242 times

Postby RBphoto » February 12th, 2016, 2:24 pm

I farted.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » February 12th, 2016, 6:38 pm

Interesting find this. Made me start reading "A brief history of time" again.

Postby shogun » February 12th, 2016, 6:57 pm

Just makes Einstein all the more amazing. Great stuff

Postby sMASH » February 13th, 2016, 7:19 am

cracker wrote:This is when two black holes collide. much is written on this subject. Google stephen hawking and kip thorne. Also i would recommend u watch the movie interstellar
it is NOT when two black holes collide, but rather when you have extremely massive objects moving quickly enough that they cause a ripple in the space-time. Two black holes in a death dance, circulating each other very quickly before they merge, is one source of it.

Think about it like this, u have a big long rubber band and u stretch it and let it go. From one end to the other the band going to move towards the pulling side when pulled and move back towards the stationary side when normalized. Stretch and release very quickly and the band in between both points react accordingly.
But, if u Do it so quickly and with such force that any part of the band doesn't have time to change direction compared to the action of either pulling of releasing, is like a wave in the rubber band. I.e. when pulling, some parts of the band still retracts, and when releasing some parts of still stretch.

Although traveling at the speed of light, they said its within the audible range, and from the tones they simulated it with, I'd say is between 500 and 5000 Hz.

playerskrew

Postby playerskrew » February 13th, 2016, 9:30 pm

Humans can only speculate. With our technology we can't even scratch the surface of space.
Time only exists to humans because they created it.

playerskrew

Postby playerskrew » February 13th, 2016, 9:32 pm

cracker wrote:This is when two black holes collide. much is written on this subject. Google stephen hawking and kip thorne. Also i would recommend u watch the movie interstellar

Interstellar goin on channel 252 (flow)

Postby maj. tom » February 13th, 2016, 9:38 pm

We know time exists and only goes forward because we observe entropy everywhere in the universe. It's not a human concept. Hence that whole 2nd law of Thermodynamics thing.

playerskrew

Postby playerskrew » February 13th, 2016, 10:08 pm

maj. tom wrote:We know time exists and only goes forward because we observe entropy everywhere in the universe. It's not a human concept. Hence that whole 2nd law of Thermodynamics thing.

Time is an illusion.

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=_vrwsXFcREY

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » February 14th, 2016, 12:18 am

playerskrew wrote:
maj. tom wrote:We know time exists and only goes forward because we observe entropy everywhere in the universe. It's not a human concept. Hence that whole 2nd law of Thermodynamics thing.

Time is an illusion.

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=_vrwsXFcREY

If time was an illusion gravity would have ZERO effect on it. However time dilation due to gravity has been measured already and proven to be real.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gravitati ... e_dilation

Postby Redman » February 14th, 2016, 5:03 am

We know this long time.....if a big bamsee red ting pass close....I does feel de pull...and de ripple in meh pants...

And then time stops cuz de wife knock me to fack out fuh drooling.

The joys of marriage...leading science.

Postby sMASH » February 14th, 2016, 9:53 am

playerskrew wrote:Humans can only speculate. With our technology we can't even scratch the surface of space.
time IS real, more or less :)

jabs

Postby jabs » February 14th, 2016, 10:39 am

Hahaha. This man have the correct proof and definition of gravity. Thats how it affects us in real life.

Postby sMASH » February 15th, 2016, 7:56 am

^^ applied gravity

Advent

Postby Advent » February 15th, 2016, 9:42 am

playerskrew wrote:Humans can only speculate. With our technology we can't even scratch the surface of space.

you graduate from the United Federation of Planets and talking this crap ? :?

playerskrew

Postby playerskrew » February 15th, 2016, 7:55 pm

Advent wrote:

Do you see anyone wearing a watch in any scifi movies?
Can anyone physically prove otherwise?
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=vrqmMoI0wks

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » February 15th, 2016, 8:03 pm

playerskrew wrote:
Advent wrote:

Do you see anyone wearing a watch in any scifi movies?
Can anyone physically prove otherwise?
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=vrqmMoI0wks

You choose to ignore. That is all.