Re: LF: For a place to sharpen some blades/knives

Postby pugboy » November 13th, 2021, 9:41 am

bought one of them edge pro clones a while back
a pretty decent device

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 15th, 2021, 10:58 am

I had a 10 year old Martindale cutlass pack down for the last 5 years (I oiled it and left it), seems as though there was a couple water spills in the storage, I pulled it this weekend and it was a rusted mess. Somebody like they borrowed it and **cringe** put duct tape on the handle. I dunno what they tried to cut, but they chipped part of the edge. I hate when people borrow my sheit without asking.

I only had a wetstone and sandpaper, but it was almost therapeutic cleaning it and bringing it back to some degree of usability. Still not finished, but the rust is gone and it looks like fresh carbon steel now. Cleaning the wooden handle took some doing, but between soap, alcohol, and axion I was able to get the residue out. I just put some autosol on the blade to keep the moisture away until I figure out stage 2.

Postby Chimera » November 15th, 2021, 12:18 pm

buy a panel van and wrap it with signage

park up outside all them indian weddings in deep south, malick, cunupia, chase village etc offering blade sharpening on the spot

yuh will make real $$$$

Postby timelapse » November 15th, 2021, 6:11 pm

There was a dude down La Romain that used to do this on a bicycle.

Postby X_Factor » December 9th, 2021, 3:25 pm

zakz wrote:
timelapse wrote:
timelapse wrote:Anybody have experience sharpening a straight razor?

Couple questions.
True straight razor?
You got a strop with it? If not you can make one easy.
True straight razor.Did not get a strop, nor can I find one locally.It needs proper sharpening.The blade was not live when I got it

Can you dm me on ig? I can see what i can do. Zaksharpening
Cost to sharpen this ?
IMG_20211209_152516.jpg

zakz

Postby zakz » January 21st, 2022, 10:57 am

X_Factor wrote:
zakz wrote:
timelapse wrote:

Couple questions.
True straight razor?
True straight razor.Did not get a strop, nor can I find one locally.It needs proper sharpening.The blade was not live when I got it

Cost to sharpen this ?IMG_20211209_152516.jpg

late response sorry, not very active on here. Nice blade, that would be $50 to sharpen. shoot me a dm on instagram nah?

Postby X_Factor » January 21st, 2022, 11:16 am

^^ i did, but ended up selling it to someone

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » January 21st, 2022, 3:56 pm

X_Factor wrote:
zakz wrote:
timelapse wrote:

Couple questions.
True straight razor?

Cost to sharpen this ?
IMG_20211209_152516.jpg
Which skybox brought this in or was it purchased locally?

Postby nervewrecker » January 21st, 2022, 6:58 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:buy a panel van and wrap it with signage

park up outside all them indian weddings in deep south, malick, cunupia, chase village etc offering blade sharpening on the spot

yuh will make real $$$$

Hilux, Hilux dude....indian drawn to hilux.

some parts of barrackpore, you leaving with the bride too.

Postby X_Factor » January 21st, 2022, 9:26 pm

kamakazi wrote:
X_Factor wrote:
zakz wrote:
timelapse wrote:

Couple questions.
True straight razor?

Cost to sharpen this ?IMG_20211209_152516.jpg
Which skybox brought this in or was it purchased locally?

RPM express, brought a few knives before with no issue

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » January 22nd, 2022, 10:28 am

Thanks for the response

Postby 88sins » November 26th, 2022, 10:32 am

Anyone know where sells decent otf or spring assisted knives locally?

Postby Rovin » November 26th, 2022, 12:16 pm

i NOT a knife sharpening expert though i have watched alot of YT about it with all dem sanding flat stones, diamond plates etc but for me a few seconds on a worn down 400 grit belt on my wen benchtop belt sander puts back a decent enough edge on my econo kitchen aid knives , once it cuts thru paper or plastic it good enough for me

if yall want to buy some sort of sharpening device Project Farm has a few videos on some he tested ...