LF pineapple plant

devsingh

LF pineapple plant

Postby devsingh » February 18th, 2016, 8:34 am

Anyone knows where I can get a pineapple plant ?

cueball1990

Re: LF pineapple plant

Postby cueball1990 » February 18th, 2016, 8:52 am

Buy a pineapple and plant d top boss

devsingh

Postby devsingh » February 18th, 2016, 8:58 am

Feel like a aSS now but thanks

Postby Strugglerzinc » February 18th, 2016, 9:16 am

cueball1990 wrote:Buy a pineapple and plant d top boss

This. Your new pineapple will be available in 3-5 years.

nissan4life

Postby nissan4life » February 18th, 2016, 9:40 am

^^^^ what BS you talking, pineapple bear in 12 to 18 mnths for first plant and another 10-12 mtnhs for second bear after that its useless.

Postby DVSTT » February 18th, 2016, 10:11 am

nissan4life wrote:^^^^ what BS you talking, pineapple bear in 12 to 18 mnths for first plant and another 10-12 mtnhs for second bear after that its useless.

That's what I thought.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » February 18th, 2016, 10:45 am

imo doesnt make sense for average joe to plant cause it takes nearly 2yrs & u getting pine so cheap in d market ...

Postby SMc » February 18th, 2016, 2:58 pm

We eat plenty(ish) pineapple home, so I just stick the tops in the bit of soil along the driveway and let them grow, dont have to to much and they are nice looking plants either way...but yeas they do take along time to bear fruit.

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » February 18th, 2016, 3:06 pm

And pineapple is the right kinda plant for dry weather.

zaria

Postby zaria » February 18th, 2016, 3:40 pm

Don't bother with the top of the pine.takes forever to bear.
Find someone who has and take a plant or two.bigger the better.it will bear faster
I planted and in 3 months it had fruit.but it was a really big plant.

Postby ruffneck_12 » February 18th, 2016, 8:06 pm

buy a pineapple

but plant the whole thing, maybe it might bear faster

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » February 19th, 2016, 12:27 am

the top grows nd you will get pineapple but is takes ages
The pineapple plant is located on the bottom of the pineapple there is normally a few plants in each pineapple , but they normally break those off before they reach to the market
I am trying to get some also

Postby MG Man » February 19th, 2016, 11:26 am

nissan4life wrote:^^^^ what BS you talking, pineapple bear in 12 to 18 mnths for first plant and another 10-12 mtnhs for second bear after that its useless.

not when u chop off a pine head and plant it.....those take forever

Postby mitsu_chick941 » February 19th, 2016, 11:29 am

go tableland

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » February 19th, 2016, 12:10 pm

devsingh wrote:Feel like a aSS now but thanks

lol came to say the same. the top does regrow pineapple. just buy a nice on on the side of the road. pineapple sellin cheap these days.

Postby timelapse » February 19th, 2016, 12:37 pm

Like yuh want to pick pineapples?

Postby rfari » February 19th, 2016, 11:04 pm

When u replant the crown wait for it to spring the main and about 5-7 laterals (don't reap the fruit). Twist off the laterals and plant. These tend to be more viable than the crown from the reaped fruit.

zaria

Postby zaria » February 20th, 2016, 8:47 am

rfari wrote:When u replant the crown wait for it to spring the main and about 5-7 laterals (don't reap the fruit). Twist off the laterals and plant. These tend to be more viable than the crown from the reaped fruit.

Agreed...
But my method is to leave those little shoots and let the main plant nourish it until it leans over
It's better.grows much faster this way.

Postby rfari » February 20th, 2016, 10:32 am

zaria wrote:
rfari wrote:When u replant the crown wait for it to spring the main and about 5-7 laterals (don't reap the fruit). Twist off the laterals and plant. These tend to be more viable than the crown from the reaped fruit.

Agreed...
But my method is to leave those little shoots and let the main plant nourish it until it leans over
It's better.grows much faster this way.

Till the shoots grow into mini pineapples?

zaria

Postby zaria » February 21st, 2016, 3:22 pm

Well I usually just leave when I remove the pine.the shoots keep growing from the the stalk
Until the stalks fall over and the shoots form roots.
If I'm going to transplant I'll allow to get to 12-18".
Really easy to transplant as the roots are really shallow.

Postby MG Man » February 22nd, 2016, 11:35 am

good info

Postby MG Man » February 22nd, 2016, 11:36 am

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1456155355.410440.jpg

Planted maybe 6 weeks ago

screwbash

Postby screwbash » February 23rd, 2016, 6:22 am

check under the sea. over 10 year now a sponge living in one under the sea

Postby rfari » February 23rd, 2016, 12:55 pm

zaria wrote:Well I usually just leave when I remove the pine.the shoots keep growing from the the stalk
Until the stalks fall over and the shoots form roots.
If I'm going to transplant I'll allow to get to 12-18".
Really easy to transplant as the roots are really shallow.

Ahh nice. Good stuff. Another tip for pineapple crown growers.
Shave the lowest layer of leaves off and place bottom of crown in water for about two weeks before transplanting. This accelerates root development

Postby MG Man » February 23rd, 2016, 2:14 pm

any advice on ornamental pineapple plants?
Someone gave me one, and it's struggling...the oldest leaves have withered away....it's in a spot that gets good sunlight, and I give it a bit of water every few days.....the newest leaves are taking forever to grow, so I don't know if it just naturally grows very slowly...

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » February 23rd, 2016, 3:26 pm

MG Man wrote:any advice on ornamental pineapple plants?
Someone gave me one, and it's struggling...the oldest leaves have withered away....it's in a spot that gets good sunlight, and I give it a bit of water every few days.....the newest leaves are taking forever to grow, so I don't know if it just naturally grows very slowly...

if its planted like those in ur pic then its probably being strangled by weeds. each plant should have a reasonable circumference of clearance for healthy growth.

Postby rfari » February 23rd, 2016, 6:46 pm

Mg, what kind of soil? First time hearing about ornamental pineapples but Google saying this
http://www.gardenguides.com/109064-mini ... -care.html

Worse case, dig it up and jumpstart the roots like in my post above then replant as directed