Millipede looking thing? Help.

christopherwilliams2

Millipede looking thing? Help.

Postby christopherwilliams2 » February 23rd, 2016, 7:20 am

I have had an invasion of these things in my yard and they sneak into my home. I can't stand them.
Does anyone know what to do to get rid of them from the yard? I checked for a nest but didn't find one. They seem to come out of the ground or something. Can I treat my grass or something. I usually have my yard clean and grass low but there are empty lots next to where I live.

Anyone dealt with these before?
Thanks.
1456226270979.jpg

Re: Millipede looking thing? Help.

Postby RBphoto » February 23rd, 2016, 8:38 am

They are harmless. just sweep them out or collect them in a bottle.

Advent

Postby Advent » February 23rd, 2016, 8:39 am

see them all the time, dont squash them they dont smell good lol

Postby timelapse » February 23rd, 2016, 8:42 am

What kinda trini you is?
Thats a congoree. Have you or a neighbour brought home manure lately? Or new house plants?
They are usually attracted to that.They are harmless.If you sweep them with a soft broom, they curl up in a ball and you can sweep them outside.OR, spray around your yard with diazanon

Postby Les Bain » February 23rd, 2016, 8:59 am

Diazanon, OP. I think it holds for 2 weeks and it keeps them yard critters away.
But congoree eh that bad, unless there's truth to the talk they could crawl into yuh ears when you sleeping :skurry:

Coppershot

Postby Coppershot » February 23rd, 2016, 8:59 am

Put 7 powder around your house. Not sure what is the real name of product.
They harmless, smell stink when you crush them. Usually i let them walk on a piece of paper. Then lift up and shake it off outside.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » February 23rd, 2016, 9:14 am

It was nice knowing you OP.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 23rd, 2016, 9:14 am

Coppershot wrote:Put 7 powder around your house. Not sure what is the real name of product.
They harmless, smell stink when you crush them. Usually i let them walk on a piece of paper. Then lift up and shake it off outside.
7 powder!!!!! :lol:

It's called Sevin Powder or Sevin Dust

Carbaryl (1-naphthyl methylcarbamate) is a chemical in the carbamate family used chiefly as an insecticide. It is a white crystalline solid commonly sold under the brand name Sevin, a trademark of the Bayer Company.- wikipedia

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » February 23rd, 2016, 10:28 am

lol at 7 powder , u eh tell d man what kinda 7 different powder to buy ... :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby Kenjo » February 23rd, 2016, 10:51 am

look up Bhopal India Sevin factory accident . A security guard saw the place burning but ran away rather than inform anyone I think is the story was in a yellow chemistry CXC textbook

Coppershot

Postby Coppershot » February 23rd, 2016, 11:45 am

- Rovin's car audio - wrote:lol at 7 powder , u eh tell d man what kinda 7 different powder to buy ... :lol: :lol: :lol:

I don't know the correct name, that what granny tell me to ask for in the shop. It used to come in a clear bag, no label.
it kill everything though. Some ppl it causes to skin to peel on foot when you walk on it.

xaira

Postby xaira » February 23rd, 2016, 12:23 pm

they are harmless unless they feel extreemly threatened in which case they release a orange liquid that is slightly irritatiing, but harmless to humans...just chook it...it will roll into a ball and you can just sweep it into something and put it outside without u damaging the legs...but theyre harmless...i just leave them alone.

Postby RBphoto » February 23rd, 2016, 1:56 pm

Next thing man buying 7 kinda insecticide and thing.

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » February 23rd, 2016, 2:09 pm

My nephew put one of this in his mouth once :-o. He's still alive :-D

Postby j.o.e » February 23rd, 2016, 2:22 pm

Have a upgraded one now ..... 8
Lol

aka

Postby aka » February 23rd, 2016, 2:45 pm

mmm, they add a real nice flavor to stew chicken. *licks lips*

IdleMind2504

Postby IdleMind2504 » February 23rd, 2016, 3:49 pm

get some fowl

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » February 23rd, 2016, 3:57 pm

Yes, I have been just brushing them away or crushing under shoe. I know they aren't really harmful but they just have that ewww look. I know the powder may work too but I have kids on the outside regularly so that's maybe a last resort. Bess I really invite some chicken.

Postby meccalli » February 23rd, 2016, 4:56 pm

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » February 23rd, 2016, 5:12 pm

steeeeuuppssss
boy that is called a congorie. just leave it alone. if u pick it up it will poop. if u squish it it becomes poop. to get rid of them ull have to sevin powder ur whole house.

Postby stev » February 23rd, 2016, 5:54 pm

8 powder works well...

if u can't stand the smell then better to use 6 powder...

TrEnD$eTt@

Postby TrEnD$eTt@ » February 23rd, 2016, 6:00 pm

had the same problem some years ago, they can be very irritating especially when they get inside the house, tried all those stuff above an got very little relief, however i got a little bit of liquid less than 1/8 chubby bottle from the commercial pest control guy think it was terminx sprayed that around the edge of the house and havent seen them since. just ask one of the pest control guys that come to spray at your work place they can help.

Postby Spitfir3 » February 23rd, 2016, 6:13 pm

r.i.p op

axe

Postby axe » February 23rd, 2016, 6:33 pm

sevin powder is very poisonous...people have been known to bathe pets with it to kill fleas and poisoned their pets. I wouldnt use it if kids and pets around. Any soil insecticide with residual effect can keep away those millipedes.....or just spray diesel in the soil around your house...

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » February 23rd, 2016, 6:36 pm

TrEnD$eTt@ wrote:had the same problem some years ago, they can be very irritating especially when they get inside the house, tried all those stuff above an got very little relief, however i got a little bit of liquid less than 1/8 chubby bottle from the commercial pest control guy think it was terminx sprayed that around the edge of the house and havent seen them since. just ask one of the pest control guys that come to spray at your work place they can help.

Excellent, this is more what I was looking for. I'll try it.

zaria

Postby zaria » February 23rd, 2016, 7:30 pm

I know that as a millipede.
Congoree as I know it different.small abt 1 to 1.5 cm
If I remember correctly grey to black dull color.
Smell stinky when you crush them.
And I remember my parents told me they crawl into your ear.
Had me really scared in my young days..

neexis

Postby neexis » February 23rd, 2016, 8:17 pm

If your property is insured, you can just burn it down entirely. No home, no problem

link

Postby link » February 23rd, 2016, 10:08 pm

xaira wrote:they are harmless unless they feel extreemly threatened in which case they release a orange liquid that is slightly irritatiing, but harmless to humans...just chook it...it will roll into a ball and you can just sweep it into something and put it outside without u damaging the legs...but theyre harmless...i just leave them alone.

dat's d 'cane millipede'..........a pest..before PNM shut dong Caroni..........

mark2.0

Postby mark2.0 » February 24th, 2016, 6:06 am

Spray some insecticide around your house

mark2.0

Postby mark2.0 » February 24th, 2016, 6:20 am

Spray some insecticide around your house