BED MATTRESS...

mark2.0

BED MATTRESS...

Postby mark2.0 » March 19th, 2016, 6:26 am

Tuners recommend a good mattress, something to ease the spine, to give yuh a good nights rest.
Any experience good and bad, so one can avoid.

cherrypopper

Re: BED MATTRESS...

Postby cherrypopper » March 19th, 2016, 6:57 am

Price mart have the serta for good price. . Pillow top made in usa..

Postby teems1 » March 19th, 2016, 8:07 am

mark2.0 wrote:Tuners recommend a good mattress, something to ease the spine, to give yuh a good nights rest.

Always spend the money on things which separate you from the ground.

Shoes, tires, mattress.

As much as I'd like to support Trinidad, I'd avoid the local made ones from Lensyl. They can't compare to the Serta mattresses in Pricesmart/Standards/etc.

neexis

Postby neexis » March 19th, 2016, 8:15 am

+1 for Serta

Was not aware that price smart sold them.. had gotten mine from this furniture store just off Mon Repos roundabout a few years back at a really good price.

Postby K74T » March 19th, 2016, 8:28 am

neexis wrote:+1 for Serta

Was not aware that price smart sold them.. had gotten mine from this furniture store just off Mon Repos roundabout a few years back at a really good price.

Comfort Zone, now where the chinese grocery is.

Serta hands down, I purchased this one back in 2003 from Standards and haven't had the need to change it since.

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1458390501.578553.jpg

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » March 19th, 2016, 3:51 pm

OP years ago when I was in your position, it seemed as though quite a lot of mattresses were coming from Advanced Foam in Orange Grove, and they just sell to the regular list of distributors. If you have back problems, I would recommend going to a store with the mattress on display rather than simply stacked like PriceSmart, and actually lie down on it. You might get some funny looks but this is for you. I ended up getting mine from Fens; I think it's from Therapedic International or something so.

Postby zoom rader » March 19th, 2016, 5:59 pm

Hoss, coconut huss is the best bed you can ever sleep on.

Postby Morpheus » March 19th, 2016, 7:17 pm

LoL nah man. That does real chook up yuh backside....

Postby equipped2ripp » March 19th, 2016, 8:06 pm

mark2.0 wrote:Tuners recommend a good mattress, something to ease the spine, to give yuh a good nights rest.

you should not let anyone recommend a mattress for you, everyone is different.
your best bet would be to visit different furniture stores and lie down and roll on it yourself and choose from there.

Postby meccalli » March 19th, 2016, 8:24 pm

Sheet on the floor and a pillow. Floor is the best bed, literally been sleeping like this for 3 years, much more refreshing sleep than a bed.

Postby Mark! » March 19th, 2016, 10:53 pm

SPONGE

Postby eliteauto » March 19th, 2016, 11:01 pm

IIRC Priesmart's Sertas are made by Advance Foam just like any other store

Postby equipped2ripp » March 19th, 2016, 11:24 pm

eliteauto wrote:IIRC Priesmart's Sertas are made by Advance Foam just like any other store

and Sealy as well

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » March 20th, 2016, 8:07 am

'pricemark' have dem air matress with pump too.

cherrypopper

Postby cherrypopper » March 20th, 2016, 9:02 am

eliteauto wrote:IIRC Priesmart's Sertas are made by Advance Foam just like any other store

Dunno who is the supplier now .. but the main reasons I bought the serta in pricemart was that it was cheaper and made in usa..

All the other stores serta were made in macoya..

This was in 2011 though. .

philliprock

Postby philliprock » December 15th, 2019, 6:19 pm

i do some serious research in shopping for a new mattress.
always go for 1) SERTA aka Perfect Sleeper line, 2) SEALY aka Posturepedic line or 3) SIMMONS - aka the Beautyrest line
you cannot go wrong with these manufacturers, who in d game years now.
go with serta, other mattress related posts here have recommended serta to be the cream of the crop.
got the brand down...
now how much you walkin with...
i cah stress enough to people do cheap out on a mattress... your gonna be using it for the next 7-10years for about 6hrs for sleep and for other bedroom activities :)
ive looked around in south... sleep store by fens, courts, ashleys, pricemart, standards... the best stores for me was courts even tho i doh like mr fens alot... they actually have pretty similar prices... not off by a few $100s, pretty close in price.
my price range would easily be around $4-5000 tt, most people i know spend up to $1500-2500... these mattresses are really rock hard mattresses... you want to sleep in comfort and waking up feeling replenished? dont skimp on the mattress...
another one is to actually test around... but for me actually tested it with my hands... like i making ah roti :P seriously... but within that $4-5000 price range and that 3brands to choose from it would be pretty easy which one to choose from... then you lie down. then you go buy and enjoy...
personally... before i got my new bed i slept on the floor afew years on a piece of sponge, it sucked my back ached... my body trembled... it just sucked. then i just googled abunch of mattress videos on youtube... and well here i am lol..
anyways get yourself a new pillow... i got the bamboo serenity pillow :) & a nice duvet...
make sure to AC d bedroom eh... it not right for ah man to be wuking hard whole day an come home to a boiling hott room... i telling yuh, dont cheap out peoples...

Postby eliteauto » December 15th, 2019, 10:01 pm

Those 3 brands are the same manufacturer ( Advance foam) good quality from them, bought a new mattress today and decided to try something different, actually went to buy a Sealy Eurotop and got an Allnight ( Lensyl) instead, one with no coils, it uses high density and ultra high density foam with a memory foam pillowtop and cooling gel ( whatever that is) I agree with your point, don't skimp on the mattress you buy. The quality of your sleep is very important

Postby MG Man » December 15th, 2019, 11:11 pm

doh matter how good le mattress is if de bed frame allows it to sag....if you have a frame with planks of board to support the mattress, do yourself a favour and add some 1 x 2 RHS between the planks

Postby bluefete » December 16th, 2019, 7:36 am

MG Man wrote:doh matter how good le mattress is if de bed frame allows it to sag....if you have a frame with planks of board to support the mattress, do yourself a favour and add some 1 x 2 RHS between the planks

Good advice there. Had a bed frame custom made over 20 years ago. Boards properly joined together so no spacing or moving. Frame is heavy like so but still in excellent condition.

zoomedic

Postby zoomedic » December 16th, 2019, 9:01 am

palos did you ever see bruce lee the greatest sleep on any serta ????

right soooo just spread a sheet if you want and sleep on the ground

if you want you could even get a piece of cardboard and restit down before you rest down to sleep
don't get caught up in foam and serta and lensyl all if any one never tell you is the same composite foam so your best bet is just what I tell you and always remember if bruce lee the great could do it you can ,,,, bless

lalloboy101

Postby lalloboy101 » December 16th, 2019, 9:27 am

bought a sealy and a mahogany frame (king size) from fens store marabella, ended up costing over 16k.

Postby hydroep » December 16th, 2019, 9:35 am

Foam mattress on the floor for bess back support...if yuh eh mind li'l cockroach and rat running over yuh now and again...:|

Postby VexXx Dogg » December 16th, 2019, 11:42 am

My experience with Sealy (courts) is poor compared with Serta (standards)

Sealy lasted 3 years before it was completely dead.
Serta hit 10 and it's now time to replace. Going back Serta.

Postby Dizzy28 » December 16th, 2019, 11:55 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:My experience with Sealy (courts) is poor compared with Serta (standards)

Sealy lasted 3 years before it was completely dead.
Serta hit 10 and it's now time to replace. Going back Serta.

I have a Serta from Fens will make 3 years in March and tbh I am not that impressed by it. Had a Serta from Furniture Plus that gave 8 years before I gave it away and that one was much better even at the point I switched. With both I followed the general rules of rotation to keep the springs fresh.

Seeing as Advanced Foam is Furniture Plus maybe they keep the very best for themselves??

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » December 16th, 2019, 1:41 pm

Which mattress good for hiding de new hundred dollars?

Postby eliteauto » December 16th, 2019, 3:12 pm

vaiostation wrote:Which mattress good for hiding de new hundred dollars?
Allnite have some mattresses with removable zippered cases, could always add a polymer pillowtop for that opulent sleep

Postby 88sins » December 18th, 2019, 8:04 am

MG Man wrote:doh matter how good le mattress is if de bed frame allows it to sag....if you have a frame with planks of board to support the mattress, do yourself a favour and add some 1 x 2 RHS between the planks

dis brings back so many fond memeories of my youthful bed breaking days :lol:
didn't like the idea of the steel so I used 2x2 wood. after some years a few end up getting bent & two crack

Postby MG Man » December 18th, 2019, 8:29 am

dis brings back so many fond memeories of my youthful bed breaking days :lol:
didn't like the idea of the steel so I used 2x2 wood. after some years a few end up getting bent & two crack

yeah lumber always bends...the 1 x 2 RHS basically cured the back pains I was getting....the boards were bending ever so slightly, but enough to cause pain

Postby MaxPower » December 18th, 2019, 8:50 am

88sins wrote:dis brings back so many fond memeories of my youthful bed breaking days

Fond for you, definitely not for she.

You raping since yuh did small?

screwbash

Postby screwbash » November 6th, 2020, 3:29 pm

jus doh go to no furniture place that say u get someting plus with the furniture. i buy a king from them, they sen the wrong ting, back and forth finally get change and 8 months after base break and dey saying its my fault. i open up and is box board in dey.