Re: Gas prices in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby Kickstart » September 28th, 2022, 7:15 am

All this beat up over gas prices and you all still rushing to vote to PNM

Postby Ben_spanna » September 28th, 2022, 7:22 am

Out of curiousity, how much is the monthly allowance on Average for a Minister for his travelling expenses? Whats their cap per month for gas???

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » September 28th, 2022, 7:36 am

Reality is as history has shown PNM are much much more likely to change their vote .

Actually all changes in government so far has been due to that swing PNM vote

Unc diehards vote one way always

Remember NAR 1986
Panday 2001
PP 2010

Those swing PNM will do the right as always and vote out PNM

Postby Dizzy28 » September 28th, 2022, 8:16 am

PariaMan wrote:Reality is as history has shown PNM are much much more likely to change their vote .

Remember NAR 1986
Panday 2001
PP 2010

This would be a nice hypothesis if it were true.

Swing votes not swing PNM votes won the elections for the PP in 2010.
You do know in 2007 PNM won an election with 299k votes and they lost winning 12 seats in 2010 with 284k votes.

There was no mass exodus of die hard PNMs.

If anything UNC die hards swung harder between 2002 and 2007.
The vote loss to the UNC was 71k in 2007 while the PNM actually gained votes between 2002 and 2007. This is with a reasonably well positioned 3rd party.

Tell me more about die hards though!!!!

Note: Given the static demography the nice thing is our electorate changes marginally.

Postby hover11 » September 28th, 2022, 9:27 am

"He is showing no regard to what the average citizen faces, the amount of time we spend in traffic, the amount of money we spend in fuel – which is going to increase because of the removal of the subsidy – and not only is it insensitive, it really shows that politicians just don't care about the lives of an average citizen."

https://newsday.co.tt/2022/09/28/outrag ... me-policy/

After 7 years they now realize the type of leader we have ....

Postby VexXx Dogg » September 28th, 2022, 9:51 am

PariaMan wrote:Reality is as history has shown PNM are much much more likely to change their vote .

Remember NAR 1986
Panday 2001
PP 2010

You do know in 2007 PNM won an election with 299k votes and they lost winning 12 seats in 2010 with 284k votes.

The vote loss to the UNC was 71k in 2007 while the PNM actually gained votes between 2002 and 2007. This is with a reasonably well positioned 3rd party.

Note: Given the static demography the nice thing is our electorate changes marginally.

_Formerly_ static demography.
Latinx getting citizenship and making new citizens. Voting patterns will change over time. Maybe as short as the next 2-3 election cycles. Political strategy will have to shift to pander to this new subpop.

Postby Dizzy28 » September 28th, 2022, 10:34 am

Yup - The census next year would be quite key to a lot of planning that needs to happen including political party strategies.

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » September 28th, 2022, 10:42 am

hover11 wrote:.

Hmmm he getting real mash up by the Guardian. Suprising.

Postby j.o.e » September 28th, 2022, 11:53 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:

Remember NAR 1986
Panday 2001
PP 2010

Latinx getting citizenship and making new citizens. Voting patterns will change over time. Maybe as short as the next 2-3 election cycles. Political strategy will have to shift to pander to this new subpop.

It’s not significant enough. Let’s say 20k people spread around multiple constituencies. A bulk of new votes with a known voting preference in a marginal might matter. But that’s not the case. More Vennies in central for e.g not gonna help any party.

Kickstart

Postby Kickstart » September 28th, 2022, 1:58 pm

j.o.e wrote:
VexXx Dogg wrote:

Remember NAR 1986
Panday 2001
PP 2010

It’s not significant enough. Let’s say 20k people spread around multiple constituencies. A bulk of new votes with a known voting preference in a marginal might matter. But that’s not the case. More Vennies in central for e.g not gonna help any party.
PNM gets votes by appealing to the urban youth which is left foot right foot and other Gangster songs or 6ixx or whatever its called

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » September 29th, 2022, 1:26 am

death365 wrote:5 more days till all is forgotten ... back to normal

or KFC raise prices and all yellow head change direction an beat up over that or they introduce a new special as a budget bucket and all red head forget about the gas price increase as they go mop a drop to the nearest kfc.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » September 29th, 2022, 4:26 am

The price of delivery for KFC and Pizza Hut has gone up by $5.

Prestige Holdings Ltd CEO Simon Hardy says while some customers would not be pleased with the increase, it was necessary to balance costs to the company.

Speaking with Newsday on Wednesday, Hardy said the delivery fee for KFC and Pizza Hut meals had been increased to $25 on September 20.

"At the end of the day, I hate raising prices, and we acknowledge it will mean an extra cost to those delivery customers.

"However, it is bringing convenience to people.

"Again, we hate to have to increase costs, but we also have to balance our costs with the service we provide, and this is what we felt was best. It went into effect before (the budget): when the last change in gasoline prices happened we increased the rates to our drivers.

"Delivery is a very expensive channel and we subsidise every meal we deliver but we can no longer absorb that kind of subsidy."

Prestige Holdings Ltd is the franchise holder for KFC, Pizza Hut, TGI Fridays, Subway and Starbucks.

In March, KFC introduced a charge of $2 for three packets of ketchup or mustard. The decision sparked widespread criticism on social media and in April a media release announced the charge would be dropped.

death365

Postby death365 » September 29th, 2022, 8:27 am

Hijack thread time... for the Super vs Premium gas question again.

so yesterday i finally got my new vehicle and the EVIL book and dealership says that it has to use 95 premium and not super. the question is can i use our local super gas with little or no consequences?

Postby maj. tom » September 29th, 2022, 9:01 am

You should use the RON stated in the owners manual.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » September 29th, 2022, 9:05 am

death365 wrote:Hijack thread time... for the Super vs Premium gas question again.

so yesterday i finally got my new vehicle and the EVIL book and dealership says that it has to use 95 premium and not super. the question is can i use our local super gas with little or no consequences?
Use what is recommended in the book. What kind of vehicle is it

Postby timelapse » September 29th, 2022, 9:13 am

death365 wrote:Hijack thread time... for the Super vs Premium gas question again.

Use puncheon bhai

death365

Postby death365 » September 29th, 2022, 9:20 am

its a Subaru XV 1.6 ... book says 95 Ron

Postby nervewrecker » September 29th, 2022, 10:34 am

death365 wrote:its a Subaru XV 1.6 ... book says 95 Ron
I don't know if you can flash and remap the ECU in these like the older models but the ECU has been very flexible in adjusting for octane levels in older models. They adjust for the lower octane but it's always wise to retune for longevity.

Water meth (good ole methanol, a universal solution as of late) is also an option. Iirc stage 2 that progressively injects meth with iirc injector duty cycle, map or something so. Stage one is on / off with a boost pressure sensor. Xv is not boosted unless you got the fb16 turbo under there....do you?

Postby eliteauto » September 29th, 2022, 11:01 am

Considering the cost benefit ratio is better you use the recommended fuel. Is the price difference between super and premium great enough to contribute to huge savings over time? Would the ecu compensate for the lower RON by dumping more fuel which would negate the savings? Would the potential less than optimal operating conditions negate the savings? I think it's better to use the premium and tune your ankle for smarter driving

Postby j.o.e » September 29th, 2022, 11:17 am

So you bought a NEW car and would like to save a few dollars by not using the recommended fuel ?
The price between the two is nominal. You think the dealer and users manual conspiring against you?
This is so confusing and pathetic at the same time.

Postby nervewrecker » September 29th, 2022, 11:25 am

eliteauto wrote:Considering the cost benefit ratio is better you use the recommended fuel. Is the price difference between super and premium great enough to contribute to huge savings over time? Would the ecu compensate for the lower RON by dumping more fuel which would negate the savings? Would the potential less than optimal operating conditions negate the savings? I think it's better to use the premium and tune your ankle for smarter driving

I think it retards timing to prevent pre-ignition not dump more fuel. Its only so much the ECU can do as is based on feedback and learning. First time premium raised a lot of men tuned for super by remapping and the rest opted for water meth and retune to compensate for lower octane gasoline and high octane meth. The rest sold their rides and cried.

Postby rollingstock » September 29th, 2022, 1:38 pm

Honestly the super is crap anyway. The higher cost of the premium negates itself with the extra mileage gained compared to the super for me

death365

Postby death365 » September 29th, 2022, 1:51 pm

@ j.o.e yes i cheap .... that cheapness is what allowed me to buy the new car in d 1st place, if yuh don spend $, u have it to save/invest

its averaging to an extra $30 - 40 ah week 1700 - 1800 ah yeah.

Postby S_2NR » September 29th, 2022, 3:52 pm

I think the type of gas needed for a vehicle should be confirmed before purchase, and not after.
The dealership has nothing to gain by lying to you about the required gas. They most likely seen issues with people using super and trying to save you and them the future headache.

Postby redmanjp » September 29th, 2022, 4:24 pm

rollingstock wrote:Honestly the super is crap anyway. The higher cost of the premium negates itself with the extra mileage gained compared to the super for me

i'm guessing this doesn't apply to old 1990 Y10s right?

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » September 29th, 2022, 4:28 pm

cng is the way forward