Buying Land

fjsrl279

Buying Land

Postby fjsrl279 » April 9th, 2016, 5:34 pm

We recently went to a housing development in cumuto. At the appointment they said they sold the lot we wanted to buy, and that the discount will soon run out. They started the building process on December but when we were there they were berely clearing down the lots, and partially building the drainage system. I checked the bureau of business and check if the real state company was registered. I asked for prior development projects to see a finish product from them. They registered the real state company on 2014. They say they have an office in Diego martin but when I put the address on a search engine the address does not match a business. They want a 20% down payment and we will get paperwork once we pay the down payment.
We asked for a estimated time or deadline of completion for the development but they say firs 6months then 8months and then that they don't have a deadline for completion. I asked if we could get part of our down payment if we decide to not pursue the land, and they said they will not give the money back.
I sent an email to the real state agent asking for information so we can do our own research on the validity of the development. The agent has not responded yet.

Is this a scam? I not from this country so I don't know how things work in Trinidad. I want to know if anyone has gone through a similar process.

Re: Buying Land

Postby *KRONIK* » April 9th, 2016, 5:37 pm

This is the development near the junction?
Near the bridge?

Miktay

Postby Miktay » April 9th, 2016, 5:38 pm

1. Get it in writing.

2. Hold onto ur wallet with both hands.

Postby rspann » April 9th, 2016, 7:13 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:This is the development near the junction?
Near the bridge?

You talking about Serenity@ Bedes Buxo?.Hold strain,A next one coming soon.

Re: RE: Re: Buying Land

Postby *KRONIK* » April 9th, 2016, 7:40 pm

rspann wrote:
Near the bridge?

No..thats on the guaico tamana rd.

There is another 1 near the junction in cumuto itself....near police station/health centre

Postby Country_Bookie » April 10th, 2016, 6:43 pm

based on the unprofessional approach of the developer I'd run as far away from that development as possible. there's no guarantee on when they're going to finish the work because they're likely depending on ppl down payments to finance the development. if enough ppl don't buy, they'll likely not have enough to finish the development unless a bank willing to lend them.

mark2.0

Postby mark2.0 » April 11th, 2016, 11:15 pm

Welcome to Trinidad the scam of the Caribbean.

Postby supercharged turbo » April 12th, 2016, 1:30 am

If at any point in the interview you gave them the impression that you're not from here then more than likely they trying to take your money with no real deadline in place.As another tuner said,they are looking for downpayments to finance the development.

devsingh

Postby devsingh » April 12th, 2016, 6:43 am

Ask for the deed, cert of assessment, outline approval (if final have not been granted), copies of the engineering drawings for the roadway and drainage (needed if they have applied for final approval)
Have a GOOD attorney draft sales purchase agreement based n the conditions that:

the infrastructural works have been completed as per drawings
The town and country final approval have been granted in a specified time frame
The down payment will be held in escrow until you have decided to proceed with the deal
If in any default of the vendor, the d/payment will be returned to you.

if vendor is unwilling, find another development

fjsrl279

Postby fjsrl279 » April 17th, 2016, 12:33 am

devsingh wrote:Ask for the deed, cert of assessment, outline approval (if final have not been granted), copies of the engineering drawings for the roadway and drainage (needed if they have applied for final approval)
Have a GOOD attorney draft sales purchase agreement based n the conditions that:

the infrastructural works have been completed as per drawings
The town and country final approval have been granted in a specified time frame
The down payment will be held in escrow until you have decided to proceed with the deal
If in any default of the vendor, the d/payment will be returned to you.

if vendor is unwilling, find another development

Thank you for the advice. I really appreciated. Yes, I actually asked for all the paperwork related to the land and they did not provide anything, just excuses and assurances that they were all legit. We dropped our interest in the land. The development was at the Bedes buxo in cumoto. I feel for the people that have already invested in the development. I Just pray that their investment with that development goes according to plan. But there is way too much evidence and redflags to suggest the contrary. We just did want to take that risk, even when the land we saw was perfect for our future needs.

fjsrl279

Postby fjsrl279 » April 17th, 2016, 12:49 am

mark2.0 wrote:Welcome to Trinidad the scam of the Caribbean.

Haaaa. Scams are everywhere amigo. No country is perfect. Its the responsibility of its citizens to get informed and take the necessary steps to prevent from getting scammed. And its also the responsibility of the government to informed and protect its citizens from such scams. I love the country so far cant complain. And I am real glad that I found this forum. Thank You all for your help.

fjsrl279

Postby fjsrl279 » April 17th, 2016, 12:52 am

rspann wrote:
Near the bridge?

Bedes Buxo. Is the one I was talking about. How did you know? What do you know about it?

Postby rspann » April 17th, 2016, 6:26 am

That belongs to a former honcho in Home Construction Ltd. The land on the opposite side, just before his , is mine. He made me all kind of offers when both of us were planting plantains on the lands,told me he going into agriculture in a big way.

Re: RE: Re: Buying Land

Postby *KRONIK* » April 17th, 2016, 6:31 am

fjsrl279 wrote:
rspann wrote:
Near the bridge?

Bedes Buxo. Is the one I was talking about. How did you know? What do you know about it?

Bro...Bedes Buxo is not cumuto eh...
Thats on the guaico tamana road.

I havent gotten any feedback from anyone as regards purchasing from the property. But EVERYONE has 1 sentiment....something fishy about it.

Check PM

Postby nervewrecker » April 17th, 2016, 12:09 pm

Was checking a few lots at $250k a lot. Suddenly the agent disappear again.
Had a feeling that was not the agent cuz she dont know jack sheit and beat this - the ad was in the papers eh. So real people maybe get scammed.

Postby rspann » April 17th, 2016, 12:40 pm

Kronik, I don't know what the argument is about. The man talking about the same place I asked about, and Bedes Buxo is not on Guaico Tamana Rd it is on Little Coora Rd. The address is Cumuto.

York

Postby York » April 17th, 2016, 11:41 pm

Govt needs to speed up approvals of lands and house plans to encourage lower selling price of land due to competition and to promote work in the home construction sector (not the company HCL).

Ppl need to tell dem developers to haul their a$$3$ when dey want u to pay full price with a promise to deliver approved land in X amt of time. Tell them ull pay dem what d land is valued now, nothing more.

urbandilema

Postby urbandilema » April 18th, 2016, 6:10 am

Hmm I really saw that sign ah padna from work living on the other side by...hmm scams and tanks alot for the info cuz I too my self on the scene looking for residential land

York

Postby York » April 18th, 2016, 8:49 am

i have 7000sq ft of APPROVED RESIDENTIAL LAND for sale in Bank Village, Carapichaima - close to waterloo secondary school @ $75 per sf = $525,000.00. approx 63ft x 110ft. 63ft road frontage. paved road access less than 1/2 km from waterloo main road. pm me if interested.

fjsrl279

Postby fjsrl279 » April 18th, 2016, 5:17 pm

We are looking for at least 12,000sqft. We cash buyers. Budget for land is around 500,000TT. We like the Cumuto area. If anyone know of anyone selling land in that area or any area that will fit our budget please send me a PM. Thanks.

York

Postby York » April 21st, 2016, 10:11 pm

Do your research, cumuto is cheap yes but may be flood prone. View on google maps. Caroni river right there. When bank burst, well pressure...

francis1979

Postby francis1979 » April 30th, 2016, 9:54 pm

Postby rspann » April 30th, 2016, 10:27 pm

York wrote:Do your research, cumuto is cheap yes but may be flood prone. View on google maps. Caroni river right there. When bank burst, well pressure...

Google flooding in Carapichima, and tell me if The land you have for sale in Carapichima any better. I have personally seen the whole area under water. Little Coora sits on top of a hill though ,Guaico ,Tamana etc has no flooding.

Postby rspann » April 30th, 2016, 10:31 pm

fjsrl279, drive up little Coora rd and when you pass Bedes Buxo,about a half mile or a little more,look out for a sign, lots for sale, I think it is also financed by Scotiabank.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » May 1st, 2016, 3:24 am

LOL had ah Guyanese man few months ago selling state land somewhere up Grande claiming it to be his he make a few million and buss out.

York

Postby York » May 1st, 2016, 6:29 am

rspann wrote:
York wrote:Do your research, cumuto is cheap yes but may be flood prone. View on google maps. Caroni river right there. When bank burst, well pressure...

Google flooding in Carapichima, and tell me if The land you have for sale in Carapichima any better. I have personally seen the whole area under water. Little Coora sits on top of a hill though ,Guaico ,Tamana etc has no flooding.

In the "50 year" flood, many areas will flood but was speaking about Cumuto specifically. The entire Caroni plain is low lying. The Caroni river bursting its bank is a hell of a difference from a small ravine in Carapichaima.

Advice to OP is to buy land that is generally not always waterlogged in the rainy season with drains always full of water. Consider development and how it will change the run off of water. If you buying land, buy where the drains start, not where everybody water collects before exiting the development. When building raise ur foundation 2ft above the existing ground level.

Climate change is real, global warming, varying rainfall patterns are affecting countries around the globe. Look at floods in recent years in US, Australia, for example.

Gran Couva is still fair for half or one acre plots, in a hill, close to highway. Unless OP looking for Grande side, should be good for POS and Sando access if working there.

fjsrl279

Postby fjsrl279 » June 6th, 2016, 2:04 pm

Anyone know a contractor to give an approximate estimate of the cost of a four bedroom flat house with 3bathrooms, good size kitchen,Granite coutertops, one big living room, tiled floors, and a potential 20,000 square pool. In the cunupia chaguanas areas. Thanks.

francis1979

Postby francis1979 » June 6th, 2016, 9:40 pm

This is why you need to be cautious in purchasing pre-development property

http://www.tv6tnt.com/sevenpm-news/Brok ... 39711.html
http://www.tv6tnt.com/sevenpm-news/Brok ... 39051.html

Postby rspann » June 6th, 2016, 9:41 pm

20,000 sq pool ?

MADMAN1

Postby MADMAN1 » June 9th, 2016, 11:17 am

Any1 know of PETER JAGROOPSING selling land in Cunupia???