Increased Taxes coming for Turbocharged Vehicles next Budget!

ingalook

Increased Taxes coming for Turbocharged Vehicles next Budget!

Postby ingalook » April 13th, 2016, 7:47 pm

Iz not me, de shortman say so

Just giving tuners the heads up :shock:

gave the assurance yesterday speaking during debate of finance measures in the Senate.
However the Minister revealed that the tax hike on luxury vehicles would be widened next year.
Imbert last week announced an increase of 50 per cent in Customs duty and motor vehicle tax on luxury vehicles, starting with private vehicles with an engine size exceeding 1999cc. The measure took effect immediately.

However, he said yesterday the State would impose a tax on cars of an “appropriate horse-power” such as turbo-charged cars that may fall below the 1999cc engine size.

- See more at: http://news.power102fm.com/finance-mini ... rvNaE.dpuf

Re: Increased Taxes coming for Turbocharged Vehicles next Budget!

Postby Dave » April 13th, 2016, 7:48 pm

Was in the papers today

novastar1

Postby novastar1 » April 13th, 2016, 7:51 pm

What is this madness?

novastar1

Postby novastar1 » April 13th, 2016, 7:53 pm

Found it

http://newsday.co.tt/news/0,226446.

Hope this is one of those things they say and never do....... Like prosecute white collar criminals.

novastar1

Postby novastar1 » April 13th, 2016, 7:58 pm

What if I buy a VW 1.4L turbo super charged
Does that equate to a luxury vehicle...... Will I be taxed twice for two forced induction systems?
This place is full of sh#* now yes

I was watching news yesterday when some senator guy was saying something like " online shoppers evade tax, as if you buy something locally then you pay sales tax plus vat.... And he supports the end of this ridiculous behavior "

Where do these morons come from? Obviously has never bought anything in Trinidad and never brought anything into Trinidad

Postby desifemlove » April 13th, 2016, 8:01 pm

so what? since few people own them, i doh see the issue. people need to read up on progressive taxation. or make a case why it shouldn't be so.

ingalook

Postby ingalook » April 13th, 2016, 8:02 pm

Nope... This government is horribly efficient when it comes to introducing taxes

I knew something like this was coming when he said he was taxing over 1999cc "as a start"

novastar1

Postby novastar1 » April 13th, 2016, 8:07 pm

Turbos are a way to increase the efficiency of a heat engine.... Which is why more and more manufacturers are using
A turbo diesel is one of the most efficient setups.
Even F1 turned to turbos when they wanted to improve efficiency (and kill the sport)

I feeling to get a 1.3 NA rotary and just burn lots and lots of super.

I want to hear what all the 2.5 and 3.0 turbo hilux/navarra/sportero men think about this new development

ingalook

Postby ingalook » April 13th, 2016, 8:08 pm

Cars are already 3x to 4x times more expensive than the same car in the US when you factor in GDP per capita... But I guess they need to be more expensive

Government needs more revenue I guess

It's not like turbocharged cars are more fuel efficient or anything... Oh wait - they totally are

BRZ

Postby BRZ » April 13th, 2016, 8:12 pm

All yuh wait, rumor in the mills is that you will also have to pay a substantial Fee for changing your rims out to after market as well as going to bigger sizes, and if you don't then your insurance will be cancelled.

ingalook

Postby ingalook » April 13th, 2016, 8:15 pm

BRZ wrote:All yuh wait, rumor in the mills is that you will also have to pay a substantial Fee for changing your rims out to after market as well as going to bigger sizes, and if you don't then your insurance will be cancelled.

Wow... We becoming Germany - are they going to get rid of the speed limit on the highway as well?

Postby DVSTT » April 13th, 2016, 8:21 pm

BRZ wrote:All yuh wait, rumor in the mills is that you will also have to pay a substantial Fee for changing your rims out to after market as well as going to bigger sizes, and if you don't then your insurance will be cancelled.

Hope they tax/ticket/ impound and crush those noise boxes though.

novastar1

Postby novastar1 » April 13th, 2016, 8:22 pm

DVSTT wrote:

You suggesting a rice tax?

Postby gastly369 » April 13th, 2016, 8:31 pm

This gov just taking away all my 2nr kid dreams yes.....guess only rowls could pump in he bess ride.. *sigh

Advent

Postby Advent » April 13th, 2016, 8:41 pm

2ltr turbo tax or all?

Postby pete » April 13th, 2016, 9:09 pm

Maybe they will use a factor like in motor racing like 1.4x the cc rating for turbocharged vehicles to determine the n/a equivalent cc. So that 1.0 turbo fiesta wouldnt be affected.

ingalook

Postby ingalook » April 13th, 2016, 9:33 pm

Maybe... they used motor racing calc. for rotary engines in the past

If they use 1.4 like racing @ current taxes (12.5% VAT after all duties, shipping etc)

2.0T = 2.8L MVT $105,000 Import Duty 60%
1.8T = 2.52L MVT $ 94,500 Import Duty 60%
1.6T = 2.24L MVT $ 84,000 Import Duty 60%
1.5T = 2.1L MVT $ 78,750 Import Duty 60%
1.4T = 1.96L MVT $ 29,400 Import Duty 35%

Curiously this heavily favors a particular car :)

Get your Evos and STis while you can guys

Postby Morpheus » April 13th, 2016, 9:42 pm

De Morrocoy?

Postby DVSTT » April 13th, 2016, 9:44 pm

[video][/video]
novastar1 wrote:
DVSTT wrote:

You suggesting a rice tax?

More like a nuisance tax.

4kin4kar

Postby 4kin4kar » April 13th, 2016, 10:12 pm

This government is so stupid. With the removal of the fuel subsidy they should reduce the tax on larger engines hence selling more gas and making more money. My guess is somebody trying to sell hybrids or cng vehicles. Monopoly again.

novastar1

Postby novastar1 » April 13th, 2016, 11:13 pm

ingalook wrote:Maybe... they used motor racing calc. for rotary engines in the past

If they use 1.4 like racing @ current taxes (12.5% VAT after all duties, shipping etc)

2.0T = 2.8L MVT $105,000 Import Duty 60%
1.8T = 2.52L MVT $ 94,500 Import Duty 60%
1.6T = 2.24L MVT $ 84,000 Import Duty 60%
1.5T = 2.1L MVT $ 78,750 Import Duty 60%
1.4T = 1.96L MVT $ 29,400 Import Duty 35%

Curiously this heavily favors a particular car :)

Get your Evos and STis while you can guys

Like vat+ engine tax+ import duty+ customs fees aren't

This will defeat the purpose of buying 2L turbo
turbo..... May as well buy a NA V8

We move further away from the first world method of recession of taxing cars based on

I agree with the guy who said they should decrease engine tax and thus sell more gas ( without a fuel subsidy)

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » April 13th, 2016, 11:21 pm

let me pretend like if I was gonna buy a turbo car anyways

hear goes: omg allyuh for real? PNM on sheit, this govt not serious

/end

Postby Redman » April 13th, 2016, 11:22 pm

How does this sync with the PNM s hard on for down stream Aluminum biz?

ingalook

Postby ingalook » April 13th, 2016, 11:32 pm

Ford was going to import the 2.3L ecoboost Mustang - there goes that idea

No Fiesta ST for me either :(

ingalook

Postby ingalook » April 13th, 2016, 11:44 pm

For fun

Fiesta ST (1.6Turbo)

Starting MSRP $21,000 USD

$138,810 TTD before taxes

$83,286 Import Duty
$84,000 MVT
$38,262 VAT

$334,358 Total

So - The Government collects almost $200K on a car that cost $139K from the showroom in the US

That seems justified, we have to protect our local car manufacturing sector after all :roll:

Postby De Dragon » April 14th, 2016, 12:07 am

The fact that they could even make a dotish statement like this shows the cluelessness of Bimbert and Co. I'd really like to know who advises them on these things to reach these conclusions. Over 2.0 L luxury? Turbo luxury? The fackery is astounding.

Postby pete » April 14th, 2016, 6:38 am

But the majority of new cars sold are under 2L so how is over 2l not a luxury?

ingalook

Postby ingalook » April 14th, 2016, 6:52 am

pete wrote:But the majority of new cars sold are under 2L so how is over 2l not a luxury?

I believe the existing engine tax had something to do with that phenomenon

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 14th, 2016, 7:38 am

look how prices to go drags going up

cherrypopper

Postby cherrypopper » April 14th, 2016, 7:49 am

Allyuh eh put down for Allyuh cng Honda city yet from the real world boss ( ansa mcal)...