Where has the best Gyros/Burgers/ Street food in T&T?

Re: Where has the best Gyros/Burgers/ Street food in T&T?

Postby pugboy » March 30th, 2023, 8:13 pm

Is the original location the bar just after the veggie place on the corner?

I went there last year to try after hearing so much, a middle aged chap was there, son ?
same tasteless fried pork

If you in woodbrook and want a decent pork but not from chinese restaurant try the portugese place tapas on avenue
it is corner upstairs opp the popular hassan gyros place
fat properly rendered down, not the white waxy uncooked fat you get in other places

dogg

Postby dogg » March 30th, 2023, 9:03 pm

pugboy wrote:Is the original location the bar just after the veggie place on the corner?

I went there last year to try after hearing so much, a middle aged chap was there, son ?

If you in woodbrook and want a decent pork but not from chinese restaurant try the portugese place tapas on avenue
fat properly rendered down, not the white waxy uncooked fat you get in other places

huh? hey didn't open last week or something? Give it a few months nah, let things settle.

Postby pugboy » March 30th, 2023, 9:31 pm

nah quan kep around a while
originally from south and was in grand bazaar vendor strip for a few years then in yard off preysal exit

Postby De Dragon » March 30th, 2023, 9:44 pm

pugboy wrote:nah quan kep around a while
originally from south and was in grand bazaar vendor strip for a few years then in yard off preysal exit

That Craignish Village, Princes Town location that you mentioned was the original Quan Kep. Then they opened another at St, Julien, then another a short distance from the original one, also in Craignish. Later came the GB, and Preysal locales.

triniterribletim

Postby triniterribletim » March 30th, 2023, 11:21 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:He alive?

Sadly not anymore. IIRC he passed in the mid 2000s, things definitely went downhill after his son took over. He just didn't have the same culinary skills or attention to detail that his father did. The other branches then just fell off a cliff. So many lost flavours in T&T.

Postby De Dragon » March 31st, 2023, 12:32 am

triniterribletim wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:He alive?

Sadly not anymore. IIRC he passed in the mid 2000s, things definitely went downhill after his son took over. He just didn't have the same culinary skills or attention to detail that his father did. The other branches then just fell off a cliff. So many lost flavours in T&T.

We would pool our school money and Friday evenings was Kep pork sandwiches and Cokes :lol:

Postby Rovin » March 31st, 2023, 5:41 pm

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » March 31st, 2023, 8:56 pm

dogg wrote:
pugboy wrote:Is the original location the bar just after the veggie place on the corner?

huh? hey didn't open last week or something? Give it a few months nah, let things settle.

The upstairs Lounge was open a few months now, he acquired the downstairs where sumn nice was and it’s now the sports bar section

Postby Rovin » April 8th, 2023, 4:05 pm

today i had a strims roti from d roti shop upstairs mid center mall chaguanas - it taste good ...

Postby Rovin » May 28th, 2023, 4:19 pm

Postby MaxPower » May 28th, 2023, 4:25 pm

^ what they meant to say is 25+ pies that taste different everytime.

#noconsistency

Musical Doc

Postby Musical Doc » May 29th, 2023, 11:59 am

Hannah's burgers in marabella. Recently found out about them and haven't been disappointed yet! Everyday has different specials

Postby eliteauto » May 29th, 2023, 2:46 pm

That pie truck usually has a crowd, never had it but my son said it was decent

Postby Dizzy28 » May 29th, 2023, 4:19 pm

Only ever had their bake and shark.
The other pie truck in Eddie Hart (the original one) is the one I usually buy from.

dogg

Postby dogg » May 29th, 2023, 8:54 pm

MaxPower wrote:^ what they meant to say is 25+ pies that taste different everytime.

#noconsistency

Do you Guyanese refer to aloo pie "pie aloo" in Guyana?

toscati

Postby toscati » June 10th, 2023, 5:36 am

Anyone knows where Shawn's doubles gone? He was usually by Grand Bazaar right as you turn off the Churchill Roosevelt highway heading west. Would come out early too - would set up around 3 AM and be gone by 8 or 9.

Gixxerrider

Postby Gixxerrider » June 10th, 2023, 9:29 am

He migrated :( Jimmy's took his spot but not ready for Shawn

toscati

Postby toscati » June 10th, 2023, 1:41 pm

:shock: But what !!!. . .
Happy for him, but he was the best in the area
Thanks for the info Gixxerrider

Postby pugboy » June 19th, 2023, 7:30 pm

where have a bonafide cripsy smashed burger?

death365

Postby death365 » June 26th, 2023, 7:51 am

Anyone in trinidad does do the deep fried candy bars ... local bars...

Catch peanola cococrisp etc ?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 27th, 2023, 6:17 am

Been seeing all these food trucks by Eddie hart but never tried one. Any recommendations? I doh really buy road side food unless I know the person real good. I only have one doubles man and that's about it tbh

Postby MaxPower » June 27th, 2023, 6:42 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Been seeing all these food trucks by Eddie hart but never tried one. Any recommendations? I doh really buy road side food unless I know the person real good. I only have one doubles man and that's about it tbh

Yeh shakes,

Usual ting with Trini food businesses….hit and miss. I fraid to recommend any because of the inconsistency.

But check it out man, you might get lucky.

Postby pugboy » June 27th, 2023, 7:02 am

pricey too
very hit and miss

carts have nice graphics tho

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 27th, 2023, 7:16 am

Hit and miss allyuh say....I good

death365

Postby death365 » June 27th, 2023, 8:12 am

leh meh tell alyuh ah story

meh uncle does do garden wok (a registered farmer, all his life) he was working with a few trucks and other food places to supply lettuce tomatoes and cucumber. the price of all agricultural inputs gone up nearly 300 % - from the seedings/seeds, medicine and other sundries so his price had to go up too.

more than 60 % of the people he supply say it was too high and stop taking form him. I used to buy from one of the places he supply , the quality so bad now i had to stop.

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Been seeing all these food trucks by Eddie hart but never tried one. Any recommendations? I doh really buy road side food unless I know the person real good. I only have one doubles man and that's about it tbh

Yeh shakes,

Usual ting with Trini food businesses….hit and miss. I fraid to recommend any because of the inconsistency.

But check it out man, you might get lucky.

Postby pugboy » June 27th, 2023, 8:16 am

inflated prices in there for the ambiance

in there you will pay $60-70 for what you would pay $40-50 elsewhere

Postby MaxPower » July 20th, 2023, 7:33 am

IMG_1871.JPG

Thanks so much for your continued support.

Postby pugboy » July 20th, 2023, 8:09 am

heard the 1% say they giving 50% off all snack box

triniterribletim

Postby triniterribletim » July 20th, 2023, 1:59 pm

I've been watching some of those Trini food review videos on YouTube and I dunno if the year and a half I've been away has made any difference but the prices I see people paying for things seems outrageous. People eating 60 TTD hot dogs and 90 TTD burgers and 50 TTD gyros. I see doubles is 7 TTD now and chicken roti is 30-35 TTD. Has fast/street food really become so unaffordable in Trinidad?

Postby maj. tom » July 20th, 2023, 2:06 pm

Well everyone still buying, so I don't know if it's unaffordable.

But the prices are definitely inflated. Doubles is still $5 in a few places still, and I see some places still selling normal chicken roti for $15-$20. A beef burger and fries combo is $50. And they are still surviving and still in business.

Trini consumers can just not buy if the price get too high.... but nah not really.