Where has the best Gyros/Burgers/ Street food in T&T?

Re: Where has the best Gyros/Burgers/ Street food? Lockdown recommendations needed

Postby K74T » May 8th, 2021, 1:05 pm

FB_IMG_1620493378790.jpeg

FB_IMG_1620493376652.jpeg

FB_IMG_1620493364015.jpeg

Re: Where has the best Gyros/Burgers/ Street food? Lockdown recommendations needed

Postby K74T » May 8th, 2021, 1:06 pm

Lol $40 for a boneless chicken roti is a rip off.

Worse yet Patraj.

Postby redmanjp » May 8th, 2021, 1:09 pm

Location?

Postby K74T » May 8th, 2021, 1:10 pm

St. Christopher's

Postby Country_Bookie » May 8th, 2021, 1:12 pm

Fry bake is not something that stays good for very long. Where selling those? Massy?

Postby Dizzy28 » October 30th, 2021, 8:58 pm

A partner now telling me Lou the Pow Man from Tunapuna passed away.

He was an institution

agent007

Postby agent007 » October 30th, 2021, 11:18 pm

Never heard of him but may he rip!

I tried Krish Fried Chicken from Waterloo and it tasted good. Anybody else went there or know of there?

Postby eliteauto » October 30th, 2021, 11:39 pm

If Mr.. Lou has passed, that's a Tunapuna institution gone. I've been buying pows from him over 20 years. Last time was August last R.I.P.
Screenshot_20211030-233605_WhatsApp.jpg

hindian

Postby hindian » October 31st, 2021, 12:49 am

That's a rumor according his Facebook page
Screenshot_20211031-004833_Facebook.jpg

Postby Dizzy28 » October 31st, 2021, 8:51 am

Good ..after Divali I'll make a pass by him.
hindian wrote:That's a rumor according his Facebook page
Screenshot_20211031-004833_Facebook.jpg

Postby goalpost » October 31st, 2021, 12:10 pm

agent007 wrote:Never heard of him but may he rip!

I tried Krish Fried Chicken from Waterloo and it tasted good. Anybody else went there or know of there?

Yeah I liked it.

Postby Rovin » November 6th, 2021, 7:01 pm

if u doh eat pork well doh read further :|

i see a few of my fb friends recommending a new food vendor so this evening i tried it : D Roast Boss

see pictures , menu & prices here ,,, https://www.facebook.com/D-Roast-Boss-103633102105694

i bought d $40 roast pork, fries & salad combo , pork is very thinly sliced no bones but overall u get a fair amt of food , its tasty though , so if u in chaguanas\chase village area try it

its a small shed so look out for it opposite Hao-Li Supermarket right by d fat water pipes near d roadside , if u coming from d triangle side its on ur left side just after lime head road ...

carluva

Postby carluva » November 6th, 2021, 9:04 pm

Yes. Krish Fried Chicken is really good. Tastes home made and the box is packed.
agent007 wrote:Never heard of him but may he rip!

Postby Chimera » November 6th, 2021, 9:40 pm

krish bess
better than kfc

Postby timelapse » November 7th, 2021, 6:56 am

Krish real good.If yuh looking for bbq, try the place opposite Chait's bar in preysal

Postby pugboy » November 7th, 2021, 7:06 am

yeah it is a good fry bird
bit salty but good, supposedly the other place was the orig or some story like that

Postby timelapse » November 7th, 2021, 7:36 am

pugboy wrote:yeah it is a good fry bird
bit salty but good, supposedly the other place was the orig or some story like that
Same owners.Rishi's Fried chicken, Krystal's fried chicken, place in the middle Krish's fried chicken.See what they did there?

Postby MaxPower » November 7th, 2021, 8:05 am

What is the consistency like with these local fast food places?

I find when Trinis selling food one day it tasting good, the next day it’s failure.

Doubles is a prime example.

Postby pugboy » November 7th, 2021, 8:11 am

you have to remember we does soak down the food with plenty ketchup garlic sauce and pepper
so that covers up all inconsistencies also helps yesterday’s food taste like tomorrow’s

MaxPower wrote:What is the consistency like with these local fast food places?

I find when Trinis selling food one day it tasting good, the next day it’s failure.

Doubles is a prime example.

Postby Dizzy28 » November 7th, 2021, 10:02 am

Isn't Krish the original and the others his kids or something.

I ate it once back in maybe 2009 around there and tbh didn't find it was all that. But it was really hyped by those that did eat it before so probably that was part of the problem.
timelapse wrote:
pugboy wrote:yeah it is a good fry bird
Same owners.Rishi's Fried chicken, Krystal's fried chicken, place in the middle Krish's fried chicken.See what they did there?

Postby K74T » November 7th, 2021, 1:58 pm

So is like a Japs/Darryl's scene then?

Postby timelapse » November 7th, 2021, 4:33 pm

K74T wrote:So is like a Japs/Darryl's scene then?
Nah , is a rumshop plus food

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » November 7th, 2021, 11:46 pm

All the rate up Pappy's getting from the town ppl.. da fry chicken is a folly yes.. 5/10.. I waste my money on that..

@rovin, yea i second recommend Roast Boss, solid amount of food and really tasty pork, I didn't even try his chicken yet na

Postby gastly369 » November 8th, 2021, 8:43 am

nick639v2 wrote:All the rate up Pappy's getting from the town ppl.. da fry chicken is a folly yes.. 5/10.. I waste my money on that..

@rovin, yea i second recommend Roast Boss, solid amount of food and really tasty pork, I didn't even try his chicken yet na
Thanks for saving me the trip

Postby Dave » November 8th, 2021, 8:48 am

Question with Pappy's..is it really seasoned or the fry pepper oil he fries the chicken in is the cover up?

Postby Dizzy28 » November 8th, 2021, 8:52 am

Dave wrote:Question with Pappy's..is it really seasoned or the fry pepper oil he fries the chicken in is the cover up?

I had Pappy's once just before the lockdown this year. To me the chicken itself is normal and they really depend on the two pepper sauces - the mother in law and the father in law (roasted one, looks black). I have what I think is a high tolerance for pepper but that roasted one did me in though. Not me an that again.

Postby pugboy » November 8th, 2021, 8:57 am

it is really just a fry dry cutters type thing

triniterribletim

Postby triniterribletim » November 8th, 2021, 9:23 am

Felicity opposite the Presbyterian School, they have the best geera pork and chicken on Friday and Saturday evenings. That is one of the things I will definitely miss about Trinidad.

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 8th, 2021, 9:25 am

I never had quan kep, and that name is synonymous with pork in trinidad.
They open a place in Couva, anyone try it yet?

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » November 8th, 2021, 10:12 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:I never had quan kep, and that name is synonymous with pork in trinidad.
They open a place in Couva, anyone try it yet?
That's the same ppl from by grand bazaar? If so, decent 7.5/10 for their roast pork the one time I had. The pudding tho ain't all that, better one could be found MC bean opposite the temple.