Where has the best Gyros/Burgers/ Street food in T&T?

Re: Where has the best Gyros/Burgers/ Street food in T&T?

Postby MaxPower » September 25th, 2022, 5:29 pm

Jerky’s in Tacarigua still around?

Where has the best BBQ jerk?

Postby Rory Phoulorie » September 25th, 2022, 8:08 pm

MaxPower wrote:Jerky’s in Tacarigua still around?

That’s the roadside vendor on the left hand side of the Eastern Main Road when heading east just before Dinsley Junction?

Postby MaxPower » September 25th, 2022, 9:25 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:
MaxPower wrote:Jerky’s in Tacarigua still around?

That’s the roadside vendor on the left hand side of the Eastern Main Road when heading east just before Dinsley Junction?

Correct

Postby pugboy » September 25th, 2022, 9:39 pm

proper name is jerkys grill bites

viedcht

Postby viedcht » December 6th, 2022, 5:23 pm

Apologies up front for not staying on topic...
I trying to help someone who's out of work with ah lil self help/ job opportunity doing some fried chicken sandwich sales.
What's the usual price you fellas pay for a chicken sandwich nowadays? Talking basic hops bread and local chicken not tyson frozen ting.

Postby X_Factor » December 6th, 2022, 6:46 pm

if they are using arawak mixed parts for the chicken they will be paying approx 7.00 per serving, 1.00/hops
they could start around 15-16$ for a sandwich

viedcht

Postby viedcht » December 6th, 2022, 7:07 pm

Okay thanks, they sourcing local poultry chicken from Charlieville @3.90 a piece so maybe it smaller.

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » December 8th, 2022, 9:18 pm

Proper Neapolitan style pizza by Casali’s on the ave. Very very good 10/10 I’d give it… no store bought pizza sauce and stuff.

Postby pugboy » December 8th, 2022, 9:33 pm

yep, proper fermented hand stretched dough, they slightly too charred for me but you can tell them
coffee there is real good too

nick639v2 wrote:Proper Neapolitan style pizza by Casali’s on the ave. Very very good 10/10 I’d give it… no store bought pizza sauce and stuff.

FrankChag

Postby FrankChag » February 3rd, 2023, 3:31 pm

Something reminded me of this yesterday

Don't know if this was mentioned already, but a BIG part of who we buy from, depends on us trying to figure out where the street vendor goes to pee, and where they wash their hands. Especially true for doubles vendors who can just set up anywhere.

This btw is why I don't buy highway nuts or water or fruits (etc) from highway hustlers.

Postby Country_Bookie » March 19th, 2023, 5:43 pm

Anyone knows what happened with the food vendors in the Queen's Park Savannah? Plus all the other folks selling craft and plants etc. Haven't been there in a while but passed yesterday and it was clear..... except for 2 snow cone vendors.

Postby Chimera » March 19th, 2023, 5:56 pm

Country_Bookie wrote:Anyone knows what happened with the food vendors in the Queen's Park Savannah? Plus all the other folks selling craft and plants etc. Haven't been there in a while but passed yesterday and it was clear..... except for 2 snow cone vendors.
Probably clear them out as president inauguration is tmr and since Friday they practicing.

I went last week and everyone was there as usual

Postby pugboy » March 19th, 2023, 8:15 pm

i had the karims bbq in aranguez the other day
pretty decent

Postby maj. tom » March 19th, 2023, 8:31 pm

triniterribletim wrote:Surprised I haven't seen anyone mention Vid's Kitchen in Felicity and Macbean. Their BBQ is some of the best out there.

I tried Vid's twice. Consistent and good taste. Love the fried chicken. All meats were well seasoned down to the bone, bbq wasn't a set of sugary burnt up sauce either, very tender pre-cooked. The fried rice was good.

Man does put some rel homemade care into the food. Unlike most places out there. Hope that theme lasts while the business expands. See he open a new, better location in Felicity on the main road.

Postby pugboy » March 19th, 2023, 8:35 pm

where is vids?

Postby maj. tom » March 19th, 2023, 8:37 pm

Postby pugboy » March 19th, 2023, 9:25 pm

open normal hours?

Postby Dave » March 19th, 2023, 10:13 pm

Heard good things.
Had a few mths ago and was ok. Didn't match up to what I was hearing at the time.
pugboy wrote:i had the karims bbq in aranguez the other day
pretty decent

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 20th, 2023, 9:33 am

Heard about vid's. I'll have to check them out.
Hard to get good BBQ these days unless you making it home.

Postby Dizzy28 » March 20th, 2023, 11:02 am

Vid's is good but you have to go early because they sell out really quickly with the non fries sides also going quicker than the fries. I have had their fried chicken once and BBQ a few times and they have been consistent in those few times.

They are also the real deal with customer service though. Last time I went they had already sold out and they still gave us a box with a fried chicken leg and some sides for my son at no charge since we were already there.

The first time we ever went they were already sold out on sides except fries and this was when my son wasn't eating meat yet and they made up a vege box for him with some sides they kept for a call in order and also didn't charge us.

triniterribletim

Postby triniterribletim » March 20th, 2023, 12:27 pm

Bruh, I didn't know that Vid's took over that spot. Must have been after I left. The restaurant that was formerly there was one of the best Chinese restaurants in all of Central, maybe even in Trinidad. Somewhere in the upper tier of the top ten. I wonder where they moved to?

Postby Chimera » March 20th, 2023, 12:40 pm

there always ram out with people, that less than 5 mins from me and first time i hearing about them

Postby Rovin » March 20th, 2023, 1:48 pm

hmmm chaguanas branch location looking like dise right down d road & i didnt even know

thats by d new housing area [what its name again ?] right ? ...
Last edited by Rovin on March 20th, 2023, 1:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Chimera » March 20th, 2023, 1:50 pm

Thats on the main road by Calcutta #1. Near green door bar

Postby A172 » March 21st, 2023, 4:44 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:Heard about vid's. I'll have to check them out.
Hard to get good BBQ these days unless you making it home.
doh waste your time/money, had it today & neveragain/10

cyros in waterloo way better

Nexus

Postby Nexus » March 21st, 2023, 8:32 pm

Out of desperation and hunger today, I stopped off at mid Centre mall looking for something to eat. Well the good court upstairs almost fully dead, but there is a burger place there, looks new with no proper signage but Wow!
Had a chicken burger which is something that is usually failure elsewhere, but these were made out of chunks and not mince chicken it seems, very thick and well seasoned; not over done at all! Nice bun, not sure if it was house made or what and the rest of the burger was well put together with grilled onions, Swiss cheese. Only negative I find was it had too much sauce, it really doesn’t need it

thebigK

Postby thebigK » March 22nd, 2023, 9:11 pm

D Avenue. Is like Trini's culinary hub for food local and immigrant (Arab/Syrian, Cuban, Italian, French, Indian and Nigerian, Ethiopian and Chinese). What I doh like though, is when d local Arabs (Lebanese) pretend to be Italian (Buzo), Spanish (Aioli), Greek and stuff.

Postby pugboy » March 22nd, 2023, 9:19 pm

avenue ain’t all that, average

Postby eliteauto » March 22nd, 2023, 9:22 pm

thebigK wrote:D Avenue. Is like Trini's culinary hub for food local and immigrant (Arab/Syrian, Cuban, Italian, French, Indian and Nigerian, Ethiopian and Chinese). What I doh like though, is when d local Arabs (Lebanese) pretend to be Italian (Buzo), Spanish (Aioli), Greek and stuff.

"Pretend"? Been to Buzo with Italians and the cuisine was spot on or pretty close in their opinion, Aioli doesn't pretend to be Spanish either, they have lots of "fusion" cuisine btw the word Aioli is French not Spanish, basically an emulsion similar to mayonnaise. Once the cuisine is legit who cares who the owners are?

As for culinary hub, there's more diversity in Eddie Hart food court than on the Avenue, even the Lady Young Lookout is getting a buzz now

Postby pugboy » March 22nd, 2023, 9:25 pm

ethnicity of owners have nothing to do with the restaurant
buzo and amara are tops
buzo barbados is failure