Where has the best Gyros/Burgers/ Street food in T&T?

Re: Where has the best Gyros/Burgers/ Street food in T&T?

Postby K74T » March 22nd, 2023, 10:26 pm

Tapas Barbados FTW.

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 23rd, 2023, 9:01 am

A172 wrote:
VexXx Dogg wrote:Heard about vid's. I'll have to check them out.
Hard to get good BBQ these days unless you making it home.
doh waste your time/money, had it today & neveragain/10

cyros in waterloo way better

Yea cyros is vibes. Long time I eh pass there.
But oh gad, Vid that bad :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

dogg

Postby dogg » March 23rd, 2023, 11:11 am

Any reviews on the Jerk outlet at the old Chow's location?

Postby Rovin » March 23rd, 2023, 11:23 am

Nexus wrote:Out of desperation and hunger today, I stopped off at mid Centre mall looking for something to eat. Well the good court upstairs almost fully dead, but there is a burger place there, looks new with no proper signage but Wow!
Had a chicken burger which is something that is usually failure elsewhere, but these were made out of chunks and not mince chicken it seems, very thick and well seasoned; not over done at all! Nice bun, not sure if it was house made or what and the rest of the burger was well put together with grilled onions, Swiss cheese. Only negative I find was it had too much sauce, it really doesn’t need it

my store is in d heart of chaguanas & i dont buy lunches around here, i bring from home cause like u said plenty food places is failure

i dont really go inside mid center but if u gave a good review theres an old saying : when a new place open things does be good but after a while & reality hit them how they have to make ends meet d standards drop ... hope its not d case there & wish them all d bess

Postby Chimera » March 23rd, 2023, 11:58 am

mid center mall have a food court? since when

Postby maj. tom » March 23rd, 2023, 12:58 pm

Upstairs. On Mario's side.
But really HiLo take over now for the lunch crowd.

Postby eliteauto » March 23rd, 2023, 1:19 pm

dogg wrote:Any reviews on the Jerk outlet at the old Chow's location?
Had it during Carnival, wasn't bad, a bit dry. Probably a 6/10 bear in mind I give most of POS jerk between 4-6

dogg

Postby dogg » March 23rd, 2023, 1:35 pm

eliteauto wrote:
Had it during Carnival, wasn't bad, a bit dry. Probably a 6/10 bear in mind I give most of POS jerk between 4-6

Where can I find good jerk? The most consistent I've found is in POS on French St. next to Massy stores.
He comes out on weekends.

Irie Bites used to be good years ago, but these days they doing the old steam and bake with jerk seasoing and calling that jerk.
No char, no coals. Waste of time.

Postby Dizzy28 » March 23rd, 2023, 1:36 pm

Visited 139 WY two Sundays ago for the 1st time. The wife had the jerk chicken from that place with macaroni salad and festival as her two sides. She more or less liked it. I tasted some of her food and it was ok. Would go with Elite's rating.

Postby Chimera » March 23rd, 2023, 1:58 pm

cyros have consistently good bbq years now

always

Postby pugboy » March 23rd, 2023, 2:00 pm

yeah the one by chow yard not bad
the one by lady young is decent and he have a real slow cooker

most trini who trying to sell jerk think jerk is just plenty pepper

Postby Dizzy28 » March 23rd, 2023, 2:10 pm

pugboy wrote:yeah the one by chow yard not bad
the one by lady young is decent and he have a real slow cooker

most trini who trying to sell jerk think jerk is just plenty pepper

Dunno if it changed but the Lady Young Road one only sold leg and thighs.
That's a real deal breaker for me.

Woodbrook Yard has breast/wing as well as thighs/legs

Postby pugboy » March 23rd, 2023, 2:45 pm

correct
yardie jerk with yankee fowl

trinigamer

Postby trinigamer » March 23rd, 2023, 4:41 pm

Persaud's on the SMR in Curepe not bad for jerk. Also has some Jamaican guys near the corner of Madras Road in St. Helena that sell jerk chicken, with jerk potatoes and roast breadfruit, was good, but that was a year ago...

Had Irie Bites a few months ago and never again, as mentioned just steam and throw on the grill with some sauce.

Postby pugboy » March 23rd, 2023, 4:54 pm

the sad part irie bite has a fancy smoker which is more than capable of producing authentic jerk meat

thebigK

Postby thebigK » March 23rd, 2023, 5:35 pm

eliteauto wrote:
thebigK wrote:D Avenue. Is like Trini's culinary hub for food local and immigrant (Arab/Syrian, Cuban, Italian, French, Indian and Nigerian, Ethiopian and Chinese). What I doh like though, is when d local Arabs (Lebanese) pretend to be Italian (Buzo), Spanish (Aioli), Greek and stuff.

"Pretend"? Been to Buzo with Italians and the cuisine was spot on or pretty close in their opinion, Aioli doesn't pretend to be Spanish either, they have lots of "fusion" cuisine btw the word Aioli is French not Spanish, basically an emulsion similar to mayonnaise. Once the cuisine is legit who cares who the owners are?

As for culinary hub, there's more diversity in Eddie Hart food court than on the Avenue, even the Lady Young Lookout is getting a buzz now

I get what you're saying, I just think that cultures, like the Arabs and the owners of Arazzi, should think twice before purporting to be other nationalities, especially Mediterranean European. I'll support local Franco-, Luso- and other hyphenated Trinidadian families instead. It's like when the Chinese attempted to open a Japanese restaurant under false pretenses...not right.

PS I know aioli to be Andalusian, hence Spanish (by Spanish I mean from Spain, not the Trini meaning of Spanish ie Latino lol)

thebigK

Postby thebigK » March 23rd, 2023, 5:38 pm

pugboy wrote:ethnicity of owners have nothing to do with the restaurant
buzo and amara are tops
buzo barbados is failure

I'm surprised someone on this forum is saying that, when they were so angry that a Canadian was selling doubles in Canada.

I would much rather Angelo's or the Italian restaurant in St Clair, owned by actual Italians. Same goes for French and other cuisine.

Postby pugboy » March 23rd, 2023, 6:41 pm

in a sense
this come like saying your ethnicity dictates what you capable of cooking
so dougla and mixed ppl can’t cook anything?

Postby Chimera » March 23rd, 2023, 6:45 pm

pugboy wrote:in a sense
this come like saying your ethnicity dictates what you capable of cooking
so dougla and mixed ppl can’t cook anything?
Pelau

Postby De Dragon » March 23rd, 2023, 10:40 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:
A172 wrote:

But oh gad, Vid that bad :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Same Cyros people from the Croisee in St Mary's?

Postby A172 » March 23rd, 2023, 11:27 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:
A172 wrote:

But oh gad, Vid that bad

Same Cyros people from the Croisee in St Mary's?
nah croisee is the big son one, failure there

original cyros is from waterloo

Postby MaxPower » March 24th, 2023, 1:13 am

Who is responsible for the nationwide food inconsistency?

Trini workers need to take more prude in their assignments.

Postby De Dragon » March 24th, 2023, 5:22 am

MaxPower wrote:Who is responsible for the nationwide food inconsistency?

I agree, look how you does have de KFC yuh wukkin in humming :lol:

dogg

Postby dogg » March 24th, 2023, 7:56 am

Iz allyuh illegal Guyanese causing that. Waste of time workers.

Postby MaxPower » March 24th, 2023, 8:03 am

dogg wrote:

Iz allyuh illegal Guyanese causing that. Waste of time workers.

Crapo smoke yuh pipe if you have Trinis or Guyanese preparing food for you and conducting sales…

So many Trini businesses have failed due to this poor work ethic.

triniterribletim

Postby triniterribletim » March 24th, 2023, 12:59 pm

thebigK wrote:
pugboy wrote:ethnicity of owners have nothing to do with the restaurant
buzo and amara are tops
buzo barbados is failure

I'm surprised someone on this forum is saying that, when they were so angry that a Canadian was selling doubles in Canada.

I would much rather Angelo's or the Italian restaurant in St Clair, owned by actual Italians. Same goes for French and other cuisine.

Didn't Angelo's close their doors? Was sad when I saw that, Angelo's was the peak of Italian cuisine in T&T.

dogg

Postby dogg » March 30th, 2023, 10:50 am

Due to external work outings, company paid for lunch a few times this week. I had:

Jerk boyz, Woodbrook- 6.5/10
Quan kep, Woodbrook - 8/10
Adam's burger -9/10

Jerk boyz- I had jerk pork, no sides. $45 for the portion. Fair price.The jerk flavour was mild, but at least it was properly cooked over coals and not steam and bake like Irie Bites. Pepper sauce was generic but mild. The bbq sauce was too sweet and overdone. The jerk sauce was acceptable. The guy near Massy on French St. is still tops in jerk for now. Would have again if in the mood.

Quan Kep- I had the pepper pork and fries for $60. I dunno why I took fries, cuz I rarely have heavy carbs in meals. Needless to say, I couldn't finish it. I finished the pork though. Pepper has a nice flavour, but not very hot. The "pepper" pork was not hot. The seasoning on the pork was very mild. Would have again if in the mood.

Adam's burger- a pleasant surprise. Double patty for $75. I expected a patty that tasted like cardboard and the burger to have minimal toppings but this one had bacon, sauteed onions, swiss and blue cheese. The patty was top quality, not mass produced flavourless junk. 100% would have again when in the area. A very satisfying meal that.

Postby pugboy » March 30th, 2023, 4:31 pm

quan kep is failure, pepper mouth ppl like it because they toss it up in peppers/onions
but aside the pork is just plain pork deep fried
you get better crispy pork in any chinese restaurant

triniterribletim

Postby triniterribletim » March 30th, 2023, 7:20 pm

The old man from the original Quan Kep in Princes Town would not be happy to see what happened to his legacy. Back then you would get proper spicy pork with Sichuan peppercorns and proper Chinese spices. Nowadays it's a fry up with any old run of the mill pepper. Different flavor entirely if you ever had the original many moons ago.

Postby Chimera » March 30th, 2023, 7:21 pm

He alive?