IADB to fund building Toco to Valencia Highway

Re: IADB to fund building Toco to Valencia Highway

Postby rspann » October 14th, 2018, 7:07 pm

When? That is the big question. It took five years or more for Curepe. Grand bazaar was more I think. All these plans are fine ,but implementation takes money and time. What we going to do in the short to medium term? You see this coming to pass any time soon? Whichever govt in office needs to do some short term work to make life easier.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 14th, 2018, 7:07 pm

This 2-5 billion dollar thing is bs...simple way to thief money...why d fck deh doh just fix the existing road??? same applies with grande to manzan...just fix d fcking road...we doh need highways

ElSoc

Postby ElSoc » October 15th, 2018, 12:43 am

rspann wrote:When? That is the big question. It took five years or more for Curepe. Grand bazaar was more I think. All these plans are fine ,but implementation takes money and time. What we going to do in the short to medium term? You see this coming to pass any time soon? Whichever govt in office needs to do some short term work to make life easier.

Honestly I only see words and until a project is completed that's what I see. It's a shame because we live on such a small island which has resources but we all know this. Perhaps we need more visionary and innovative urban planners/architects/engineers who look specifically at problems faced in Trinidad and Tobago and deal accordingly by providing smart solutions. Not necessarily expensive solutions but things like you say will be a quick fix for the interim.

On top of that a govt willing to listen and implement. Goes out to all the parties by the way not just this pnm vs pp ting.

ElSoc

Postby ElSoc » October 15th, 2018, 12:57 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:This 2-5 billion dollar thing is bs...simple way to thief money...why d fck deh doh just fix the existing road??? same applies with grande to manzan...just fix d fcking road...we doh need highways

Tiefing money...yeah probably
Fix d forking road...yeah definitely
We doh need highway... I beg to differ

If they going to have a port in Toco to support that amount of new traffic we definitely have to upgrade the existing road into at least some kinda dual carriageway or something.

Highways guna development and Toco will be opened up to tourism etc and I'm sure Grande will benefit indirectly. The ferry will be able to be a more viable option. Taking 45mins/1hr to Tobago.... Only thing I'm dreading is how Trinis will litter and make de place stink.

If yuh think about it they seem to maintain highways better than normal roads so if they build a highway down to manzan dey hadda maintain that.

INHUMAN

Postby INHUMAN » October 15th, 2018, 1:08 am

Might as well name it the Donald Trump highway

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 15th, 2018, 4:56 am

ElSoc wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:This 2-5 billion dollar thing is bs...simple way to thief money...why d fck deh doh just fix the existing road??? same applies with grande to manzan...just fix d fcking road...we doh need highways

If they going to have a port in Toco to support that amount of new traffic we definitely have to upgrade the existing road into at least some kinda dual carriageway or something.

Highways guna development and Toco will be opened up to tourism etc and I'm sure Grande will benefit indirectly. The ferry will be able to be a more viable option. Taking 45mins/1hr to Tobago.... Only thing I'm dreading is how Trinis will litter and make de place stink.

If yuh think about it they seem to maintain highways better than normal roads so if they build a highway down to manzan dey hadda maintain that.

you really feel all those things finishing before election in 2020???

Postby sMASH » October 15th, 2018, 5:23 am

So, to expand in the north east, they hadda build highway, port, and slow boat.

Which one was fastest to get?

The slow boat.

What time frame u might expect to sail to and from toco?
5 to 7 years.

When we cars mashing up on main road?
All now,

Should have just take the money, buy some faster boats, and pave up all the major roads. Then if I need to build port on the windward side of the island, go ahead.

Postby matr1x » October 15th, 2018, 8:37 am

They will call it...ching Chong way

ElSoc

Postby ElSoc » October 15th, 2018, 9:37 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
ElSoc wrote:

Definitely not that would be wishful thinking. I give it 4-5years.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 15th, 2018, 9:52 am

ElSoc wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
ElSoc wrote:

Definitely not that would be wishful thinking. I give it 4-5years.

daz providing pnm win the next election cuz yuh know we retarded politicians does never continue the work from someone else

Postby The_Honourable » January 11th, 2019, 3:48 pm

Sinanan: Valencia highway to start at end of January

WORKS and Transport Minister Rohan Sinanan has announced that the Valencia Highway will begin at the end of the month.

He was speaking on Thursday night at Coversations with the Prime Minister held at Exodus Panyard, Tunapuna.

One of the attendees asked signboards he saw in Valencia area for the highway to Toco. Sinanan responded saying for years the eastern seaboard has been neglected and he had brought to Cabinet statistics showing that unemployment in the area was the highest in TT and salaries earned lowest in the entire country.

"This Government took a decision to build a port in Toco. It will open up the entire seaboard and bring Tobago closer to Trinidad. In doing that we have to develop the infrastructure."

He explained the Valencia to Toco Highway will basically start with the Valencia junction. He said for the last year designs were done for the highway but it will take some time because Environmental Management Authority approvals have to be applied for.

"That is an ongoing process while the designs are going on. But we decided to start the construction from the Valencia roundabout because that road is in a deplorable condition and thousands of people use that road on a daily basis to get into Toco, to come out from Toco, even to get to Port of Spain, to Arima."

Source: https://newsday.co.tt/2019/01/11/sinanan

Postby zoom rader » January 11th, 2019, 6:00 pm

Well there goes Toco, laventille will invade as they did in chag and Tompson San Do

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 11th, 2019, 7:07 pm

That not finishing by next year...might end up like the point fartin highway....same with the manzan highway

Postby rspann » January 11th, 2019, 9:31 pm

Wha wrong wid you dan? PNM doh tief.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 12th, 2019, 5:48 am

rspann wrote:

Wha wrong wid you dan? PNM doh tief.

Tru....they just accidentally take

Postby maj. tom » January 12th, 2019, 7:24 am

How you all could say that we don't need highways?

The people living in those areas don't deserve communication access? The Americans didn't need to build the CR highway either. Why they didn't just fix what the British already had? But we have it now, will always have it, and more people are able to access more resources because of it. Don't think so selfishly. Infrastructure investment like that is vital and will always be there for the future generations.

Corruption aside, infrastructure development is necessary for the country to move forward. Despite that the PNM always takes us 2 steps back.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 12th, 2019, 8:02 am

maj. tom wrote:How you all could say that we don't need highways?

The people living in those areas don't deserve communication access? The Americans didn't need to build the CR highway either. Why they didn't just fix what the British already had? But we have it now, will always have it, and more people are able to access more resources because of it. Don't think so selfishly. Infrastructure investment like that is vital and will always be there for the future generations.

Corruption aside, infrastructure development is necessary for the country to move forward. Despite that the PNM always takes us 2 steps back.

the highway is not the issue my friend....just doh tell people the country ha no moarney for other important stuff but spend 2-5bil on a highway...if d country have no money as they say, just pave the existing roads...those so called highways not going to finish before the general election and history in this country has shown us if another party comes into power they are not going to finish what the other started....

Just look at the Couva hospital and the list continues

Postby zoom rader » January 12th, 2019, 9:07 am

maj. tom wrote:How you all could say that we don't need highways?

People don't pay attention when I tell them a vote for PNM is one step forward and two steps backwards.

Glad you are seeing the light

Postby The_Honourable » March 27th, 2019, 3:54 pm

Offical sod turning ceremony has started, for the construction of the Valencia Toco Highway Link Road. PM Dr. Keith Rowley and ministrial colleagues, as well as members of the SGRC.

Source: https://www.facebook.com/ttnewsday/phot ... 854692685/

Postby zoom rader » March 27th, 2019, 4:03 pm

^^^ oh well more coke to pass in and out

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 27th, 2019, 5:22 pm

Would love to know when that supposed to finish

Postby maj. tom » March 27th, 2019, 5:29 pm

I can only hope that by 2050 the Government will have plans and completely link the entire country with a highway system. Grande to Rio Claro, through P-town and Debe to Pt. Fortin back to Sando. Real population explosion and rural development if that happens. That Sunday drive cruise would be sweet for when the next generation gets old.

Hopefully by then Tobago would have a working and reliable ferry.

francis1979

IADB to fund building Toco to Valencia Highway

Postby francis1979 » March 27th, 2019, 8:06 pm

Anyone has the proposed route for the highway

link

Postby link » March 27th, 2019, 10:11 pm

francis1979 wrote:Anyone has the proposed route for the highway

d 1% had that since 2000
u shud chk who ACTUALLY owns all the surrounding properties at the proposed port site ?
BTW
it's a road upgrade, eh....NOT a highway.........

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 28th, 2019, 5:00 am

this rohani nanni is the worrsssssttttt yes....man say he doh see why one gov't should hold up on projects that another gov't started.....so am rohani wah happen to Couva hospital...

back to the highway story, according to the report, the first phase should be completed by late 2020, so it is clearly up to the next gov't to finish...yawnnnn

Postby mero » March 28th, 2019, 7:29 am

What next government?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 28th, 2019, 7:51 am

mero wrote:What next government?

Well you have a point...cuz unc aint winning one mc.

Postby zoom rader » March 28th, 2019, 7:58 am

mero wrote:What next government?
PNM words of wisdom

Tighten you belt
Watch TV
Vote PNM

Postby The_Honourable » March 28th, 2019, 12:38 pm

Sinanan tells Toco/Manzanilla constituents

Don’t let opposition stop $196m project

Works and Trans­port Min­is­ter Ro­han Sinanan yes­ter­day called on con­stituents of To­co/San­gre Grande to fight back if the Op­po­si­tion tries to stop the $196 mil­lion Va­len­cia to To­co High­way road up­grade project which is be­ing man­aged by the Pro­gramme for Up­grad­ing Road Ef­fi­cien­cy.

The sod for the project was turned on Wednes­day by Prime Min­is­ter Dr Kei­th Row­ley, Sinanan and To­co/San­gre Grande MP Glen­da Jen­nings-Smith in Va­len­cia.

Ad­dress­ing guests, Sinanan said the road up­grade was im­per­a­tive due to the grow­ing num­ber of ve­hi­cles in T&T.

The road will pro­vide ac­cess to the pro­posed To­co Port of which pre­lim­i­nary de­signs have al­ready been com­plet­ed.

“This new road will link di­rect­ly to the Churchill Roo­sevelt High­way ex­ten­sion to Man­zanil­la cur­rent­ly be­ing built through an in­ter­change at Ojoe Road, just north of San­gre Grande,” Sinanan said.

The high­way starts at the Va­len­cia in­ter­sec­tion and ends on the To­co Main Road. It would help re­duce the trav­el­ling time for mo­torists from 90 to 40 min­utes.

Sinanan said short­ly af­ter turn­ing the sod for the $400 mil­lion Cu­mu­to to Man­zanil­la High­way, the 2017 project had to be halt­ed af­ter Fish­er­men and Friends of the Sea raised con­cerns about the high­way be­ing built on a buffer zone of the Aripo Sa­van­nas and took the mat­ter to court.

Af­ter a year-long court bat­tle, Sinanan said his min­istry was giv­en clear­ance by the Court of Ap­peal to con­tin­ue with the project last year.

“The project was de­layed for over a year sim­ply be­cause some el­e­ments who do not re­side in this part of the is­land thought that we do not de­serve bet­ter in­fra­struc­ture. That project went to the Privy Coun­cil, and fi­nal­ly, the min­istry was giv­en the okay to re­sume work,” Sinanan said.

In Jan­u­ary, ap­prox­i­mate­ly 150 Cu­mu­to res­i­dents were al­so giv­en no­tices to va­cate their lands, as their homes were in the di­rect path of the high­way.

“I ex­pect that some of these peo­ple will come back to stop this (new) project. You have to speak about it. If you want this project. If you want to get part of the coun­try...to stand proud to say that I am from the east­ern seaboard, this is the time that your voice has to be heard. Let us not al­low peo­ple who do not know who we are, where we live and what we want to come and tell us what is good for us. I ex­pect when they come you will make your voic­es heard,” Sinanan said.

Speak­ing to re­porters fol­low­ing the cer­e­mo­ny, Sinanan said the up­grade project was ap­proved by Cab­i­net last year and work be­gan a month ago.

The fi­nal cost of the project, Sinanan said will be de­ter­mined once com­plet­ed.

Asked if the re­al­i­sa­tion of the project de­pends on win­ning the 2020 gen­er­al elec­tion, Sinanan re­spond­ed “you don’t gov­ern a coun­try based on win­ning an elec­tion. You gov­ern a coun­try for its im­prove­ments.”

Who­ev­er wins the next elec­tion, Sinanan said he hopes will con­tin­ue the project.

“I am very con­fi­dent that this Gov­ern­ment will be there in 2021, 2022 and 2023. I am sure this Gov­ern­ment will con­tin­ue the project.”

Sinanan ex­pects no land ac­qui­si­tion chal­lenges by home and busi­ness­es own­ers whose prop­er­ties may fall in the path of the project.

If any­one has to be re­lo­cat­ed, Sinanan said: “It’s not go­ing to be any sig­nif­i­cant amount.”

As for ven­dors who ply their trade along the high­way’s path, Sinanan said they were able to re­lo­cate one so far to the Namde­v­co mar­ket.

He as­sured his min­istry will try to min­imise all in­con­ve­niences caused.

Mean­while, pres­i­dent of the San­gre Grande Cham­ber of Com­merce Ri­car­do Mo­hammed yes­ter­day wel­comed the con­struc­tion of the road­way.

“This project will boost busi­ness for this area. We wel­come the traf­fic flow we will get from this. We look for­ward to this project,” said Mo­hammed, who at­tend­ed the cer­e­mo­ny.

Mo­hammed said the busi­ness com­mu­ni­ty will do what­ev­er it can to im­prove de­vel­op­ment and growth in the north­east­ern re­gion.

Source: http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/sinanan- ... bf3927b0a7

francis1979

Postby francis1979 » March 28th, 2019, 7:54 pm

link wrote:
francis1979 wrote:Anyone has the proposed route for the highway

d 1% had that since 2000
u shud chk who ACTUALLY owns all the surrounding properties at the proposed port site ?
BTW
it's a road upgrade, eh....NOT a highway.........

I know - but I am assuming the routes will needs to be changed in some location to achieve the required speed limit for a highway